117 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V2, Officially available in msia! RM999/16GB

pinan
post Sep 21 2012, 12:23 AM

122 posts

It just seems weird to me when we laugh off consumers who demand lower prices so this is my 2 cents on this,

1. The current local android tablet market is not competitive in terms of price and quality. To those whom are citing other android tablets with lousier specs costing more. That is exactly the point, you are right, they suck and are also WAY WAY over priced and NO ONE is buying them. This is why we don't have a competitive android tablet market in Malaysia currently. The choices are either over-priced (Transformer prime) or lags like hell (Samsung tabs). If the Nexus is made cheaper, and it definitely can be, it will sell tons and change the local market. BIG WIN for local consumers.

2. Could they've made it cheaper? looking at the price its being sold at in other countries (around RM800-900, not RM1000), I would say they definitely could have done so in a way that makes financial sense to them. Its just that the Malaysian Android tablet market market is so not competitive right now they might think it is safe for them to charge this price. Look at the iPad, its 499$ in the US and its RM1499 in Malaysia. If Apple can make it work, and if Asus wants to compete with Apple, then I think it is reasonable to demand them to be as good. Right?

3. I believe everyone is familiar with the phrase buyers remorse. It a completely irrational emotional response yet it often creeps into our minds subconsciously. To people whom already bought and own one, perhaps seeing Asus sell it at a high price makes you feel more justified with your purchase? I just wanna say that the value of a product in terms of quality and price are two totally separable things. Yes, in this currently uncompetitive market the Nexus 7 at RM999 is still probably a bargain, but since Asus could sell it cheaper is there anything wrong in demanding for it to be cheaper? You still own the exact same quality hardware regardless of how much asus sells it for!

4. And don't you think the people complaining about the price are those that have a huge interest at buying the product? They are not trying to insult your beloved Nexus 7 that you had bought and enjoyed so much. In fact, they want it so much, they are so disappointed that Asus over-priced it that they cared to complain about it. They probably wont give a damn if someone over-priced a random Acer iconia.

5. Which brings me to my last point, that we should condemn companies that over charges!
like someone mentioned above, no sane company is going to be stupid enough to sell stuff at a loss, but If no one complains about the high price, they will definitely try to over charge if they can! I mean, why not? They set their prices based on how competitive the market is So of course we should voice out. Why wouldn't you want the price to be cheaper? No one is asking for Asus to be stupid and sell it at unreasonably low prices.

Again, regardless of what price tag Asus put on the Nexus 7 doesn't change the quality of the tablet in your hands now. But if they made it cheaper it is definitely a win for the consumers. And if consumers don't complain about over-priced products=companies happily over-charges, or they lose sales and both sides no one wins
TSmtxx
post Sep 21 2012, 12:38 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(pinan @ Sep 21 2012, 12:23 AM)
It just seems weird to me when we laugh off consumers who demand lower prices so this is my 2 cents on this,

3. I believe everyone is familiar with the phrase buyers remorse. It a completely irrational emotional response yet it often creeps into our minds subconsciously. To people whom already bought and own one, perhaps seeing Asus sell it at a high price makes you feel more justified with your purchase? I just wanna say that the value of a product in terms of quality and price are two totally separable things. Yes, in this currently uncompetitive market the Nexus 7 at RM999 is still probably a bargain, but since Asus could sell it cheaper is there anything wrong in demanding for it to be cheaper? You still own the exact same quality hardware regardless of how much asus sells it for!

duno where you get the idea that current users that already purchased hoping that local price is more expensive.

this is not true. i hope the price is cheaper.
why? so more people buy, more users, more lively thread, more development, more accessories, more android users

i duwan to be long winded and keep repeating or quoting people.
so i make my point short.

n7=great tab, probably one of the best so far
in current msia market, best price for features.
ev1 hope 700+, but impossible.
if u feel expensive/cheated by asus, dun buy.

xerox8908
post Sep 21 2012, 12:43 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(carbike @ Sep 20 2012, 11:15 PM)
If Apple can do that, why can't Asus/Google? They songlap much?  thumbup.gif
I wonder why apple can sell a phone for Rm3000 while other better phone at most selling for 2k .
They songlap much ? thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSmtxx
post Sep 21 2012, 12:45 AM

5,011 posts

haiyo....why is this thread turning into a price arguing arena.

give up already la.
xerox8908
post Sep 21 2012, 12:49 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

Do you ever read those posts before replying wall of text ? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

1)All of us think the leaser the price the better , but its reasonable to have Rm999 .

2) Those ppl do have the option to buy imported set at less than RM900 .

3) They are whining unreasonably when there is such option .

4) They didnt even considering the 1+1 warranty

5) Apple use their iphone sales to balance it back . If you don know , malaysian ipad price is the cheapest around and its iphone price is on the high side .

p/s : try to make ur post short and clear as this isnt english article writing competition . Just like mine .
too long never read . whistling.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by xerox8908: Sep 21 2012, 12:55 AM
Sprit
post Sep 21 2012, 12:55 AM

278 posts

1. The current local android tablet market is not competitive in terms of price and quality. To those whom are citing other android tablets with lousier specs costing more. That is exactly the point, you are right, they suck and are also WAY WAY over priced and NO ONE is buying them. This is why we don't have a competitive android tablet market in Malaysia currently. The choices are either over-priced (Transformer prime) or lags like hell (Samsung tabs). If the Nexus is made cheaper, and it definitely can be, it will sell tons and change the local market. BIG WIN for local consumers.

2. Could they've made it cheaper? looking at the price its being sold at in other countries (around RM800-900, not RM1000), I would say they definitely could have done so in a way that makes financial sense to them. Its just that the Malaysian Android tablet market market is so not competitive right now they might think it is safe for them to charge this price. Look at the iPad, its 499$ in the US and its RM1499 in Malaysia. If Apple can make it work, and if Asus wants to compete with Apple, then I think it is reasonable to demand them to be as good. Right?

4. And don't you think the people complaining about the price are those that have a huge interest at buying the product? They are not trying to insult your beloved Nexus 7 that you had bought and enjoyed so much. In fact, they want it so much, they are so disappointed that Asus over-priced it that they cared to complain about it. They probably wont give a damn if someone over-priced a random Acer iconia.

5. Which brings me to my last point, that we should condemn companies that over charges!
like someone mentioned above, no sane company is going to be stupid enough to sell stuff at a loss, but If no one complains about the high price,  they will definitely try to over charge if they can! I mean, why not? They set their prices based on how competitive the market is So of course we should voice out. Why wouldn't you want the price to be cheaper? No one is asking for Asus to be stupid and sell it at unreasonably low prices.

Again, regardless of what price tag Asus put on the Nexus 7 doesn't change the quality of the tablet in your hands now. But if they made it cheaper it is definitely a win for the consumers. And if consumers don't complain about over-priced products=companies happily over-charges, or they lose sales and both sides no one wins
Great post! Your observation helped me understand my position better. Why I felt pricing the 16GB Nexus 7 at RM999 was shifting away from the affordable, must have Android tablet to the "meh, would buy if getting extra income this month" tablet.
TSmtxx
post Sep 21 2012, 12:57 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Xp3rT @ Sep 20 2012, 11:04 PM)
u can actually walk in to Directd and pay rm950 then bring your brand new nexus 7 and the extra rm50 to coffee shop enjoy RIGHT NOW. hahaha
what is directd?
a online shop?
soulseeker6187
post Sep 21 2012, 01:00 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 21 2012, 12:57 AM)
what is directd?
a online shop?
a seller in garage sales. also got retail shop at ss15.
bought from them few times
jtl
post Sep 21 2012, 01:04 AM

788 posts

I am sorry if this has been asked before but I can't seem to find it. For those who bought your units from US, how do you charge the device?

I have ordered 2 units from the States but I have yet to received them. I was just wondering whether I need a special converter and if so, where do I get it? Or can I just plug the USB cable into any local "USB plug charger"?
TSmtxx
post Sep 21 2012, 01:05 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Sep 21 2012, 01:04 AM)
I am sorry if this has been asked before but I can't seem to find it. For those who bought your units from US, how do you charge the device?

I have ordered 2 units from the States but I have yet to received them. I was just wondering whether I need a special converter and if so, where do I get it? Or can I just plug the USB cable into any local "USB plug charger"?
go hardware shop buy international adaptor. very cheap less than rm10.
or you can plug to any USB charger. phone charger works but will take longer time to charge.
any android tablet charger with usb female input can work also. tested with samsung tab series charger and it works fine.

Added on September 21, 2012, 1:07 amhttp://www.lowyat.net/v2/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=7368&Itemid=1

senQ selling 999, but with 1+1 year extra warranty.
not bad.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Sep 21 2012, 01:07 AM
jtl
post Sep 21 2012, 01:08 AM

788 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 21 2012, 01:05 AM)
go hardware shop buy international adaptor. very cheap less than rm10.
or you can plug to any USB charger. phone charger works but will take longer time to charge.
any android tablet charger with usb female input can work also. tested with samsung tab series charger and it works fine.
Great! Thanks. This means I can plug it to my Tab 7.7 usb charger?
TSmtxx
post Sep 21 2012, 01:10 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Sep 21 2012, 01:08 AM)
Great! Thanks. This means I can plug it to my Tab 7.7 usb charger?
yup, its the same power output 5V 2000mA.
confirm no problem
jtl
post Sep 21 2012, 01:18 AM

788 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 21 2012, 01:10 AM)
yup, its the same power output 5V 2000mA.
confirm no problem
Thanks so much smile.gif

ShengHow
post Sep 21 2012, 02:06 AM

455 posts

arghh
this tablet is tempting!
but sad case for me it doesn't have back camera and 3G
the price is not official 1 just ppl bought frm overseas and sell in msia is it?

SUSaaronsuarez95
post Sep 21 2012, 05:49 AM

huehuehue
721 posts

disappointed because i thought the price won't be so high sad.gif

Added on September 21, 2012, 5:52 amdisappointed because i thought the price won't be so high sad.gif

This post has been edited by aaronsuarez95: Sep 21 2012, 05:52 AM
mynewuser
post Sep 21 2012, 06:18 AM

2,549 posts

samsung 7.7 over priced their product. so the sales are very bad.

n7 with this price and not so complete spec. same fate as samsung 7.7.
SUSaaronsuarez95
post Sep 21 2012, 06:50 AM

huehuehue
721 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Sep 21 2012, 06:18 AM)
samsung 7.7 over priced their product. so the sales are very bad.

n7 with this price and not so complete spec. same fate as samsung 7.7.
yaya n7 is supposed to be cheap tablet with normal specs
kurtkob78
post Sep 21 2012, 07:01 AM

Do your best
3,833 posts

want cheap tablet. go buy china brand.

btw, will AP set have international warranty?
benny888
post Sep 21 2012, 07:17 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Sep 21 2012, 07:01 AM)
want cheap tablet. go buy china brand.

btw, will AP set have international warranty?
Irrespective where you buy it has international warranty
iamoracle
post Sep 21 2012, 08:03 AM

614 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 21 2012, 07:17 AM)
Can I claim income tax rebate if I bought it outside of Malaysia?

Added on September 21, 2012, 8:03 am
QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 21 2012, 07:17 AM)
Can I claim income tax rebate if I bought it outside of Malaysia?

This post has been edited by iamoracle: Sep 21 2012, 08:03 AM

117 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:56 AM