QUOTE(wandzul @ Jun 23 2012, 01:36 PM)
okay, but what if I want more on performance?any recommendation?
Basic Intake and Exhaust Modification Guide, for normal aspirated cars v1.0
Jun 23 2012, 02:24 PM
1,358 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Jun 23 2012, 05:18 PM
152 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Perak |
Jun 23 2012, 06:24 PM
I'm more to low end.
But my extractor would cost too much if it is custom made for 4-1. Current plan is extractor 4-2-1, muffler (straight flow) and midbox. Pls do recommend. |
Jun 23 2012, 06:29 PM
3,910 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Andy @ London.com Status: N/A |
QUOTE(saru04 @ Jun 23 2012, 06:24 PM) I'm more to low end. mind to share where is the extractor shop you mentioned? they can do mandrel bend? But my extractor would cost too much if it is custom made for 4-1. Current plan is extractor 4-2-1, muffler (straight flow) and midbox. Pls do recommend. by the way, like what bro wandzul replied. change your extractor, midbox(to replace catcon) and even muffler first. dont touch the piping unless you know what you want. was using 2" piping and i need to waste money to change back to stock size. it's your call anyway. |
Jun 23 2012, 06:39 PM
I see.
for extractor for now i plan to go to Super Street 4-2-1. I asked if they sell 4-1 extractors but they said it'll cost a lot as they have to custom make it for me. As for piping size, I was told to change to 1.7 or 1.8 inch. Muffler straight flow. But I was told by my friend that stock piping is okay, and he asked me to just change my extractor to 4-2-1, muffler straight flow and add a midbox. He stated that in terms of performance will be better than changing my piping as I did not make any major mod on my engine. That statement of his is something new to me as I am a newbie in this. That's why i needed a third party advice. |
Jun 24 2012, 01:55 AM
QUOTE(saru04 @ Jun 23 2012, 06:39 PM) I see. You might not believe me but, if you really want low end then can consider this setupfor extractor for now i plan to go to Super Street 4-2-1. I asked if they sell 4-1 extractors but they said it'll cost a lot as they have to custom make it for me. As for piping size, I was told to change to 1.7 or 1.8 inch. Muffler straight flow. But I was told by my friend that stock piping is okay, and he asked me to just change my extractor to 4-2-1, muffler straight flow and add a midbox. He stated that in terms of performance will be better than changing my piping as I did not make any major mod on my engine. That statement of his is something new to me as I am a newbie in this. That's why i needed a third party advice. 4-2-1 (since u already have one) > 1.6" piping > spiral bullet > s-flow (may add a midbox after bullet if u want more silent exhaust note) 1.6" piping is as per r3 piping size.. used this myself and low end was good.. now i've changed to 2.0" piping rojak with 1.8" piping in favour of mid-top end (since i've had few ponies added), resulting of losing a bit of torque.. feels like wanna use back 1.6" piping but have no budget allocated for this yet.. This post has been edited by wandzul: Jun 24 2012, 01:56 AM |
Jun 24 2012, 02:39 AM
I see.
Sorry that this question may have already been asked and answered but what does a spiral bullet do? If I only change my extractor, piping to 1.6 and s-flow, will it be okay as my budget can't include midbox. I can only pick between midbox and piping. |
Jun 24 2012, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(saru04 @ Jun 24 2012, 02:39 AM) I see. help provide backpressure.. which also translates to better low end..Sorry that this question may have already been asked and answered but what does a spiral bullet do? If I only change my extractor, piping to 1.6 and s-flow, will it be okay as my budget can't include midbox. I can only pick between midbox and piping. up to you, if u want to buy midbox, get one that has smaller piping in it (a bit more backpressure) if you're not sure then go for piping job my 2 cents This post has been edited by wandzul: Jun 24 2012, 11:18 AM |
Jun 24 2012, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(wandzul @ Jun 24 2012, 11:17 AM) help provide backpressure.. which also translates to better low end.. Okay. Means midbox over piping? Just to confirm.up to you, if u want to buy midbox, get one that has smaller piping in it (a bit more backpressure) if you're not sure then go for piping job my 2 cents What size of piping would be good for low to mid? (Just curious). And from what I see, s-flow mufflers are like really big as compared to straight flow. |
Jul 16 2012, 04:04 PM
1 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Hi all sifus out there, I currently got wira 1.6 auto efi, how can I mod the exhaust system to gain better pickup and save fuel?? Currently is stock system wif 4-2-1 output. My location is Johor bahru, any reputable workshop I can visit??
Jul 17 2012, 01:35 PM
23 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Bro, i'm currently driving honda city 2009. I been using the K&N drop-in air filter for my. I'm planning to change the intake system to Open pod type. What i'm afraid now is is open pod filter suitbale for auto tranny car like mine? Afraid that instead of improvement, it lose powerusing it.
Note that there is no other modification of exhaust system done on this car so far. Please advice. TQ This post has been edited by devilkevin: Jul 17 2012, 01:36 PM |
Jul 26 2012, 02:49 AM
1,008 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Shah Alam SDE |
QUOTE(devilkevin @ Jul 17 2012, 01:35 PM) Bro, i'm currently driving honda city 2009. I been using the K&N drop-in air filter for my. I'm planning to change the intake system to Open pod type. What i'm afraid now is is open pod filter suitbale for auto tranny car like mine? Afraid that instead of improvement, it lose powerusing it. open pod will make ur engine noisier then before, why wanna change to open pod? i think K&N filter replacement is better enough.. summore auto tranny, scared u will lose a bit torque bro.. Note that there is no other modification of exhaust system done on this car so far. Please advice. TQ to use open pod u must combine with suitable extractor, piping, n muffler system.. if not there's no use in using open pod.. intake n exhaust need to synchronised, then u have better setup compare standard.. Added on July 26, 2012, 2:52 am QUOTE(flyinbear @ Jul 16 2012, 04:04 PM) Hi all sifus out there, I currently got wira 1.6 auto efi, how can I mod the exhaust system to gain better pickup and save fuel?? Currently is stock system wif 4-2-1 output. My location is Johor bahru, any reputable workshop I can visit?? try add another mid-bullet to increase back-pressure inside ur piping.. for NA engine, back-pressure is important especially NA with auto tranny.. wanna save fuel just control ur right foot bro..This post has been edited by amad108: Jul 26 2012, 02:52 AM |
Jul 26 2012, 02:09 PM
320 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Hello guyz, am currently driving saga fl 1.3.
Was planning to change full exhaust system. My aim was to get more power n improve fc. Is it advisable? Thank you. |
Jul 30 2012, 07:44 PM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
Just got this in the mail.
![]() Full Race Motorsport TIG robot welded goodness in Twin Scroll config. Tomorrow it leaves for ceramic plasma coating, honing and if I get enough money, a Magnaflux check. To be mated to a Garrett GTX3076R. |
Aug 6 2012, 05:31 PM
23 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(amad108 @ Jul 26 2012, 02:49 AM) open pod will make ur engine noisier then before, why wanna change to open pod? i think K&N filter replacement is better enough.. summore auto tranny, scared u will lose a bit torque bro.. Is it possible that I just change the extractor and add in bullet only? I dun wanne change my muffler coz I dun wan it to be noisy and attract the authorities.to use open pod u must combine with suitable extractor, piping, n muffler system.. if not there's no use in using open pod.. intake n exhaust need to synchronised, then u have better setup compare standard.. Added on July 26, 2012, 2:52 am try add another mid-bullet to increase back-pressure inside ur piping.. for NA engine, back-pressure is important especially NA with auto tranny.. wanna save fuel just control ur right foot bro.. |
Aug 6 2012, 08:58 PM
1,008 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Shah Alam SDE |
QUOTE(devilkevin @ Aug 6 2012, 05:31 PM) Is it possible that I just change the extractor and add in bullet only? I dun wanne change my muffler coz I dun wan it to be noisy and attract the authorities. can why not.. last time i did change piping to 2' size with standard muffler n 1 spiral bullet at mid.. extractor stock coz wanna keep the normal response for daily use.. usually change extractor can increase exhaust flow which benefit for mid to high rpm, but sacrifice a bit at low end torque.. |
Aug 7 2012, 05:48 PM
I am very interested in this "spiral bullet" that people keep talking about here.
Can someone post a picture here? What is it for? What is it supposed to do? |
Aug 7 2012, 07:44 PM
5,367 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 7 2012, 05:48 PM) I am very interested in this "spiral bullet" that people keep talking about here. from what i heard and very basic/shallow understanding, it is supposed to increased the flow velocity by artificially having it to swirl and having minor bump like "resistance". think of water fall, how rocks and such caused water to flow more rapidly.Can someone post a picture here? What is it for? What is it supposed to do? now. whether that actually helps on performance, i dont have a single clue about it. google: http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/car...-corner-19.html scroll down for pic http://ritzzuan.blogspot.com/2010/09/my-el...m-upgrades.html also scroll for pic =edit= after some reading, apparently it is to create back pressure? wouldn't a s-flow do a better job? or they want a straight flow but still want a bit of back pressure? ...? This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 7 2012, 07:49 PM |
Aug 7 2012, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 7 2012, 07:44 PM) from what i heard and very basic/shallow understanding, it is supposed to increased the flow velocity by artificially having it to swirl and having minor bump like "resistance". think of water fall, how rocks and such caused water to flow more rapidly. Thanks for the pics!now. whether that actually helps on performance, i dont have a single clue about it. google: http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/car...-corner-19.html scroll down for pic http://ritzzuan.blogspot.com/2010/09/my-el...m-upgrades.html also scroll for pic Flow and CFD happen to be one of things I do for a living, that's why I'm quite interested in how it works, although my skill level is borderline retarded. Given the Reynolds number of typical exhaust gas (composition tikamed with AGA-8) and the bend factor, I'm not sure how it would increase velocity via the swirl. I guess the velocity would increase from the restriction but the swirl would create more turbulence, sapping it of kinetic energy. But I guess I'm not qualified enough to give a final answer, given the shape of the thing. Just dreaming of a good exhaust after my friends at CEEFC threw around the idea of a few of us quitting our jobs and building high performance Inconel manifolds and titanium exhausts. The best way to create backpressure for a system without turbulence or disturbing the pulse or lamellar flow is with a venturi type of restriction. Preferably cast or machined rather than rough welded. This post has been edited by empire23: Aug 7 2012, 08:10 PM |
Aug 7 2012, 09:29 PM
5,367 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 7 2012, 08:07 PM) Thanks for the pics! you're way too humble if you consider your skill (that you do for a living) borderline retarded. hell, a lot of the terms you mentioned in your reply i sure as hell don't get less i google them up myself lol!Flow and CFD happen to be one of things I do for a living, that's why I'm quite interested in how it works, although my skill level is borderline retarded. Given the Reynolds number of typical exhaust gas (composition tikamed with AGA-8) and the bend factor, I'm not sure how it would increase velocity via the swirl. I guess the velocity would increase from the restriction but the swirl would create more turbulence, sapping it of kinetic energy. But I guess I'm not qualified enough to give a final answer, given the shape of the thing. Just dreaming of a good exhaust after my friends at CEEFC threw around the idea of a few of us quitting our jobs and building high performance Inconel manifolds and titanium exhausts. The best way to create backpressure for a system without turbulence or disturbing the pulse or lamellar flow is with a venturi type of restriction. Preferably cast or machined rather than rough welded. eitherway yes, machined casting/welding is definitely going to be more precise, and even easier on "troubleshooting/tinkering" (trial and error?) than rough welding. as your results will at least be linear and not have another random variable of human error to worry about. eitherway, good luck on your venture should you proceed with it. i'll just watch from the sidelines! (definitely cant afford titanium exhaust, so... yeah lol) |
| Change to: | 0.0234sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:27 PM |