Basic Intake and Exhaust Modification Guide, for normal aspirated cars v1.0

saru04
post Dec 6 2011, 04:09 PM

1,358 posts

I'm driving a Gen 2 1.6 Campro IAFM engine. All stock parts but planning to start changing the exhaust system.

I need advice on what to change / buy.

and if possible recommend some shops for me to change it as I live in K.L area.

Thank you.
saru04
post Dec 6 2011, 05:18 PM

1,358 posts

oh, okay. thank you.

but apart from him, is there anyone else?

any other reccomendations?

saru04
post Dec 6 2011, 10:15 PM

1,358 posts

so in other words mfa quality is better compared to kweng?
saru04
post Dec 7 2011, 11:14 AM

1,358 posts

omg. means i must choose between good workmanship and good quality?
saru04
post Dec 8 2011, 11:32 AM

1,358 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Dec 7 2011, 12:36 PM)
You can have both at Everco, Jaffar, Jian Hang with a price to pay.

As to my previous question, anyone can help or give suggestion whether if changing to a smaller flexible pipe will increase the torque?
those shops located in sunway is it?

I've only heard of Everco.
saru04
post Dec 8 2011, 02:21 PM

1,358 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Dec 8 2011, 02:13 PM)
My setup almost same as u.juz my extractor is powerzone 421,straight 12inch bullet,12inch midbox,s flow muffler.piping remain stock..pick up nice,but after 180 difficult to climb more oledi.my car is persona auto.
bro, where can i get powerzone 421 extractor for gen 2?

This post has been edited by saru04: Dec 8 2011, 03:13 PM
saru04
post Dec 8 2011, 04:40 PM

1,358 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Dec 8 2011, 03:46 PM)
U search d powerzone at google.then u get d address from their website.at shah alam
You mean there arent any workshop outside which sells it ?
saru04
post Dec 8 2011, 06:16 PM

1,358 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Dec 8 2011, 05:10 PM)
As i knw,its no
Okay okay. But if you do find out do let me know.
saru04
post Apr 28 2012, 12:12 AM

1,358 posts

Hey guys, anyone know the price for Superstreet Campro IAFM extractor?

I plan to change my extractor first, will. I feel any difference?

My car is Gen 2 1.6 Auto Campro IAFM engine.

Really need help on this.
saru04
post Apr 30 2012, 02:11 PM

1,358 posts

I know is not cheap but if their extractor is really good I don't mind paying it as it is long term.

I can't possibly ask them for a feedback on their own product that's why i need to ask a third party.

anyone here heard / tried / using their extractor?
saru04
post May 1 2012, 07:22 AM

1,358 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Apr 30 2012, 08:53 PM)
Anything you change on the front of the exhaust system will give you substantial difference (compared to anything on the rear for a start) biggrin.gif As to whether it gives positive/negative difference, it would depends on the design. Please remember that car manufacturers have proper equipments to test and do calculations to come up with an optimized exhaust design. Those kedai Ah Beng exhaust shops have nothing but mufflers/piping hanging all over which claims they can do wonders.

If you can find proper design/tuned exhaust for your engine, it would be your best bet. However it would cost you a bit more smile.gif
so in other words are you saying that superstreet extractor is good / reliable?

cos since I'll be using quite some amount there I really hope not to make a mistake.
saru04
post May 4 2012, 03:47 PM

1,358 posts

so review on superstreet extractor?
saru04
post Jun 20 2012, 07:28 PM

1,358 posts

Hey guys, I'm planning to change my exhaust system.

But there is a problem as the extractor I'm getting it from a different shop from the piping and mufflers.

So my question is which do I get it changed first?

Change my extractor then only head to the other shop to change my piping and muffler?

OR

Change my piping and muffler then only head to the other shop to change my extractor?

Which is better? or which will you all choose?
saru04
post Jun 22 2012, 02:48 PM

1,358 posts

okay, I was told to go to extractor shop first then only piping and muffler.

I have more confidence in the extractor shop's workmanship.

But piping and muffler shop can get cheap but workmanship not so good.

So is it okay to just go extractor first then piping and muffler?
saru04
post Jun 22 2012, 05:55 PM

1,358 posts

And also another question,

My car engine is all stock no major modification, only change spark plug and air filter (drop in).

May I know whether is it okay to remain a stock piping on my Proton Gen 2 and just change xtractor, muffler and add mixbox?

Or without midbox but change the piping?
saru04
post Jun 23 2012, 09:35 AM

1,358 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Jun 23 2012, 02:18 AM)
bro,exhaust system is quite subjective to a person needs la..
u need to try and decide which one is the best suites u..
for now why dont u try the extractor first..see how's the performance increase..
if not like what u want,then go for piping mod..etc etc..
okay, but I just want to know bout the piping part.

I mean as which is better. Need personal opinion.

Add midbox and muffler changed or piping and muffler change without adding midbox.

Cos I was told adding midbox and change muffler is better than changing the piping and muffler but don't add midbox.

That's why now I'm confused.
saru04
post Jun 23 2012, 12:57 PM

1,358 posts

I'm driving Proton Gen 2 auto Campro IAFM engine.

What I know is ppl always go for extractor, piping and muffler.

But what my friend told me to change is extractor, muffler and add midbox.

I was told to get straight flow with midbox and maintain stock piping and 4-2-1 extractor.
saru04
post Jun 23 2012, 02:24 PM

1,358 posts

QUOTE(wandzul @ Jun 23 2012, 01:36 PM)
for daily drive maintain stock piping & go for s-flow (everco)
gen2 auto owner here..
okay, but what if I want more on performance?

any recommendation?
saru04
post Jun 23 2012, 06:24 PM

1,358 posts

I'm more to low end.

But my extractor would cost too much if it is custom made for 4-1.

Current plan is extractor 4-2-1, muffler (straight flow) and midbox.

Pls do recommend.
saru04
post Jun 23 2012, 06:39 PM

1,358 posts

I see.

for extractor for now i plan to go to Super Street 4-2-1.

I asked if they sell 4-1 extractors but they said it'll cost a lot as they have to custom make it for me.

As for piping size, I was told to change to 1.7 or 1.8 inch.

Muffler straight flow.

But I was told by my friend that stock piping is okay, and he asked me to just change my extractor to 4-2-1, muffler straight flow and add a midbox.

He stated that in terms of performance will be better than changing my piping as I did not make any major mod on my engine.

That statement of his is something new to me as I am a newbie in this.

That's why i needed a third party advice.

0.0476sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:41 PM