119 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Basic Intake and Exhaust Modification Guide, for normal aspirated cars v1.0

howiechoo
post Aug 4 2006, 08:32 AM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

i had heard that stainless steeel is not so good in NA car...it dissipate heat too fast and make the engine cold...thus we loss power when cold day...is it true?
m|ng
post Aug 4 2006, 09:14 AM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Aug 4 2006, 12:48 AM)
Changing extractor definately helps, it frees the engine up and gives better torque at low revs for a 4-2-1 config, just don't oversize the rest of the piping.
But my Extractor is already 4-2-1...Er..Stock lar of coz..
I saw Hotbits extractor.. Not very exp..i think like rm300+..
But Dont know how good is the performance increase..
Heard of Powerzone extractors..but dont know where in Penang can I get it.

And another concern for me is, Will the original heatshield be fixed back after I change extractor? Some have took it off coz it wudnt fit anymore as the extractor piping is a bit diffrent in length and curve.
sakaic
post Aug 4 2006, 12:43 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Aug 4 2006, 08:32 AM)
i had heard that stainless steeel is not so good in NA car...it dissipate heat too fast and make the engine cold...thus we loss power when cold day...is it true?
Its the reverse. Stainless steel releases heat slower and has a rather high heat capacity so the heat from the exhaust doesn't make the engine any hotter than it needs to be.
rcracer
post Aug 4 2006, 02:16 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(m|ng @ Aug 4 2006, 09:14 AM)
But my Extractor is already 4-2-1...Er..Stock lar of coz..
I saw Hotbits extractor.. Not very exp..i think like rm300+..
But Dont know how good is the performance increase..
Heard of Powerzone extractors..but dont know where in Penang can I get it.

And another concern for me is, Will the original heatshield be fixed back after I change extractor? Some have took it off coz it wudnt fit anymore as the extractor piping is a bit diffrent in length and curve.
Stock one still not as free flowing as aftermarket ones which have their length tuned also. The heatshield IIANm cannot be fitted back.
shackks
post Aug 4 2006, 03:20 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Aug 4 2006, 02:16 PM)
Stock one still not as free flowing as aftermarket ones which have their length tuned also. The heatshield IIANm cannot be fitted back.
some are able to fix back which really puzzle me.
m|ng
post Aug 4 2006, 07:29 PM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Aug 4 2006, 02:16 PM)
Oh, If thats the case..what's the remedy? Buy those heat insulation wraps?
Coz If left as it is, The engine bay can get quite hot rite? as the extractor is normallly very hot.
rcracer
post Aug 5 2006, 12:54 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(m|ng @ Aug 4 2006, 07:29 PM)
Oh, If thats the case..what's the remedy? Buy those heat insulation wraps?
Coz If left as it is, The engine bay can get quite hot rite? as the extractor is normallly very hot.
Don't heat wrap your extractors, it kills them faster because it pushes the temp up close to material limits.
farique
post Aug 5 2006, 09:56 AM

8_8
2,147 posts

guys, what do you think of this setup for my 1.0 A Kelisa.
-3-2-1 exhaust manifold
-1.8" piping from exhaust manifold through 1 centre bullet until the muffler
-using original piping route

what do you guys think? shall I decrease the size of the piping? what a good decent muffler brand that really recude the noise?

Thanks. smile.gif
any comment? smile.gif
crazeeclan
post Aug 5 2006, 10:08 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(farique @ Aug 4 2006, 07:48 AM)
guys, what do you think of this setup for my 1.0 A Kelisa.
-3-2-1 exhaust manifold
-1.8" piping from exhaust manifold through 1 centre bullet until the muffler
-using original piping route

what do you guys think? shall I decrease the size of the piping? what a good decent muffler brand that really recude the noise?

Thanks. smile.gif
wut i think is u need to reduce the size of ur kelisa piping la...1.8"is way to big....im driving a 1.3 carb using 1.5 piston size and block and im using only 1.7" only.....my setup...cap ayam 4-2-1 extractor...twisted hotbits bullet...datco muffler...1.7" s flow route piping....power...low rev ok ok...not bad.....high rev can feel more kick in....
SUSdandan
post Aug 5 2006, 10:04 PM

290 posts

not interested to change the whole exhaust system

do you advice me to change one chap ayam muffler tip?

Very nice and many in lelong like HKS

Does it provide me power ?

And how is the FC?

Sound?

1.6 auto
m|ng
post Aug 5 2006, 11:18 PM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

Hi dandan,

See ya have a corolla SEG 1.6?
THe meter looks aufully familiar biggrin.gif
doing 120km/h at below 3k is cool rclxms.gif
My wira har... 110km/h already 3.5k..kenot tahan..

What effect does changing the bullet have?
Was recomended to change that if I want a 'cheap and good' performance increase in my car. If so, what size of a bullet to change to? notworthy.gif
farique
post Aug 6 2006, 10:30 AM

8_8
2,147 posts

QUOTE(crazeeclan @ Aug 5 2006, 10:08 AM)
wut i think is u need to reduce the size of ur kelisa piping la...1.8"is way to big....im driving a 1.3 carb using 1.5 piston size and block and im using only 1.7" only.....my setup...cap ayam 4-2-1 extractor...twisted hotbits bullet...datco muffler...1.7" s flow route piping....power...low rev ok ok...not bad.....high rev can feel more kick in....
yea.. its kinda big. how about going for 1.6"? i think its already nice? u are using original piping route right? Datco muffler? is it those N1 type or the big² size type?
hows the sound of the exhaust? loud?
I dont want loud sound and wondering if there is any good muffler. Not the N1 type..

QUOTE(m|ng @ Aug 5 2006, 11:18 PM)
What effect does changing the bullet have?
Was recomended to change that if I want a 'cheap and good' performance increase in my car.  If so, what size of a bullet to change to?  notworthy.gif
bullets have sizes?
SUSdandan
post Aug 6 2006, 12:36 PM

290 posts

i have changed my mushroom to the original air filter

going to test out from 0-100

see which one better

because mushroom head sucking hot air!!
unitron
post Aug 6 2006, 08:34 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(dandan @ Aug 6 2006, 12:36 PM)
i have changed my mushroom to the original air filter

going to test out from 0-100

see which one better

because mushroom head sucking hot air!!
why dun u install a heatshield for your mushroom open pod filter... that should help with the heat problem..
m|ng
post Aug 8 2006, 09:01 AM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

Adding stuff like airfilter can reduce ur RPM at high speed?
I tought its the gearbox's settings?

My dad's Corolla SEG pumps 3.5k rpm at 120km/h/
Then ur car shud be very fuel efficient?
rcracer
post Aug 8 2006, 10:13 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(m|ng @ Aug 8 2006, 09:01 AM)

Air filter doesn't affect engine RPM.
SUSdandan
post Aug 8 2006, 01:46 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(m|ng @ Aug 8 2006, 10:01 AM)

my 120 can go around 3k...not more
sledgehammer
post Aug 11 2006, 07:10 PM

664 posts

what is cat back exhaust anyway?
soggie
post Aug 11 2006, 07:21 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

cat back exhaust means moving the cat all the way to the end of the exhaust pipes - which is also known as a straight-out setup or whatever you wish to call it. If you look underneath the car, you'll only see a straight pipe connecting from the exhaust manifold all the way to the muffler. That's a cat-back setup. No cats, mid boxes or bullets in the middle.
crazeeclan
post Aug 12 2006, 12:56 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(farique @ Aug 6 2006, 10:30 AM)
yea.. its kinda big. how about going for 1.6"? i think its already nice? u are using original piping route right? Datco muffler? is it those N1 type or the big² size type?
hows the sound of the exhaust? loud?
I dont want loud sound and wondering if there is any good muffler. Not the N1 type..
bullets have sizes?
1.6" ar...i think ok gua...my fren kelisa using 1.5 inch.....me not using original route piping....straight in the middle...then a "S" shape at the end...but not straight flow la..Big type muffler...sound ar...bassy sound lor....but when i high rev got abit like beezzz sound....bullets for wut i noe...got short n long for my hotbits bullet....n the inlet for short abit smaller..mine is long wan..the inlet is 2inch...so tht guy mod abit to the inlet for me.....

119 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0158sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:38 AM