112 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

°°Official LYN Toyota Prius C Owners/Fans V2°°

TStimeonce
post Nov 9 2012, 07:57 AM

282 posts

Congrats ZaRR on your coming PC. ^^ Hope you will enjoy PC as all of us does.

to beck_ken,

Welcome back ^^ .

Want to join for next gathering ?

I was thinking a gathering at Putrajaya on 8 December 2012. Anyone is ok with it ?
wankf
post Nov 9 2012, 08:02 AM

QUOTE(RM1 @ Nov 8 2012, 09:10 PM)
BTW, the air filter of the PC is very small.  Even my Kawasaki Versys 650 air filter is larger than it.

Found a good site for Hybrid Toyota technical info
http://www.autoshop101.com/

They have updated with Prius information.
Thanks for the link. thumbup.gif
deckbuild
post Nov 9 2012, 08:37 AM

Hi, after my first servicing, my FC from from 28 to 25, same route same condition, anyone experience the same thing? I suspect they put W30 oil in instead of W20.
TStimeonce
post Nov 9 2012, 08:50 AM

282 posts

to deckbuild,

I think most of us experience same thing. No worries. It will go back up after your 3rd service ^^ .

As engine still run in.

I will try fully synthetic at 10k km then report in. Now 3750km clock in with my PC ^^ .
deckbuild
post Nov 9 2012, 09:11 AM

QUOTE(timeonce @ Nov 9 2012, 08:50 AM)
to deckbuild,

I think most of us experience same thing. No worries. It will go back up after your 3rd service ^^ .

As engine still run in.

I will try fully synthetic at 10k km then report in. Now 3750km clock in with my PC ^^ .
Timeonce, I'm currently on fully syn already. I believe when the car is built, Toyota put 20W into our brand new car, but after first service, service center put 30W thats why I'm experiencing very bad economy. Normally I drive with 5 min fuel consumption, the first bar from right can't seems to go beyond 30km/l when cruising as compare to before oil change, it's quite disturbing..

I might purchase some 20W oil during lunch and get it flush and observe the FC again. Will update the difference if I find any.
louis198920
post Nov 9 2012, 09:11 AM

476 posts

guys, for the 1000km service, if like 1300km++ go ok ah?
TStimeonce
post Nov 9 2012, 09:16 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(deckbuild @ Nov 9 2012, 09:11 AM)
Timeonce, I'm currently on fully syn already. I believe when the car is built, Toyota put 20W into our brand new car, but after first service, service center put 30W thats why I'm experiencing very bad economy. Normally I drive with 5 min fuel consumption, the first bar from right can't seems to go beyond 30km/l when cruising as compare to before oil change, it's quite disturbing..

I might purchase some 20W oil during lunch and get it flush and observe the FC again. Will update the difference if I find any.
Oh thought we got back the oil bottle. Did you see the bottle write 20W or 30W ? I check mine once i go home tonight.

QUOTE(louis198920 @ Nov 9 2012, 09:11 AM)
guys, for the 1000km service, if like 1300km++ go ok ah?
^^ can but best is within 1000km ^^ . I done mine in 1400 as when it 1000, its fully booked that day as i walk in at 7.30am on weekend. ^^

deckbuild
post Nov 9 2012, 09:18 AM

QUOTE(timeonce @ Nov 9 2012, 09:16 AM)
Oh thought we got back the oil bottle. Did you see the bottle write 20W or 30W ? I check mine once i go home tonight.
^^ can but best is within 1000km ^^ . I done mine in 1400 as when it 1000, its fully booked that day as i walk in at 7.30am on weekend. ^^
For Singapore side, they are using a whole drum of engine oil, we get back nothing, cry.gif

Can bring own oil, will give us some rebate during servicing.

The technician mention all Hybrid will be using 5w30 Castrol full syn oil shakehead.gif

Added on November 9, 2012, 9:22 amJust to share, if you are looking at changing your PC horn, the space is extremely tight, below is where I placed mine.

This post has been edited by deckbuild: Nov 9 2012, 09:22 AM
louis198920
post Nov 9 2012, 09:29 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(timeonce @ Nov 9 2012, 09:16 AM)
oo.. meaning if like 900km++ can go already lah? I'll be going KL next monday.. currently clock in around 380km like that.. one trip penang-kl should be 450km++ xD then come back penang another 450km++.. if already 900km something when Im in KL, can do service at Toyota SC there lo?
deckbuild
post Nov 9 2012, 09:51 AM

QUOTE(louis198920 @ Nov 9 2012, 09:29 AM)
oo.. meaning if like 900km++ can go already lah? I'll be going KL next monday.. currently clock in around 380km like that.. one trip penang-kl should be 450km++ xD then come back penang another 450km++.. if already 900km something when Im in KL, can do service at Toyota SC there lo?
Actually it's not recommended to travel long distance during run in period. If you have to do it, try to stop frequently to let the engine rest.
jscyl1980
post Nov 9 2012, 10:39 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(timeonce @ Nov 9 2012, 08:50 AM)
to deckbuild,

As engine still run in.

But the Toyota full synthetic is 5W40 Rite?? kinda thick for atkinson cycle engine because Atkinson Engine weak on low end torque,every time the engine start up to charge the battery the car feel very heavy to accelerate if we use thicker oil............ semi syn they give 10W30, wonder why they dun have full syn 5w30??
deckbuild
post Nov 9 2012, 10:44 AM

QUOTE(jscyl1980 @ Nov 9 2012, 10:39 AM)
But the Toyota full synthetic is 5W40 Rite?? kinda thick for atkinson cycle engine because Atkinson Engine weak on low end torque,every time the engine start up to charge the battery the car feel very heavy to accelerate if we use thicker oil............ semi syn they give 10W30, wonder why they dun have full syn 5w30??
I'm not sure about Toyota, but I know for Singapore side, they using 5w30 castrol in drums and now it's in my engine... I can feel the sluggish acceleration, and the 5min FC page, the right bar mostly below 20km/l instead of before servicing which maintains around 28 to 30km/l.

From what I search, the original oil that comes shipped with the Prius C is 0w20 or 5w20, and we are suppose to use that rating....

Also from reading this forum, I thought Malaysia Toyota provide W20 oil for Prius C?

RM1
post Nov 9 2012, 10:50 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(deckbuild @ Nov 9 2012, 08:37 AM)
Hi, after my first servicing, my FC from from 28 to 25, same route same condition, anyone experience the same thing? I suspect they put W30 oil in instead of W20.
Do check your brake lever, to see if they did any adjustment to it (should have less clicks after adjustment)? Happen to my wife's PC. Had them adjusted it back (more clicks) and car is better.

Oil viscosity would also increase FC, n that may be the cause too. In our hot weather, it's better to stick with W30 oil.
NewGUY
post Nov 9 2012, 10:51 AM

515 posts

IINM

W is for Winter temp for engine to start for eg 5W is at -38 C

20 is for operating temperature, the higher the no the harder to oil thing when hot

This just the shortest explanation, any taiko can enlighten if I get it wrong...
deckbuild
post Nov 9 2012, 11:04 AM

QUOTE(RM1 @ Nov 9 2012, 10:50 AM)
Do check your brake lever, to see if they did any adjustment to it (should have less clicks after adjustment)?  Happen to my wife's PC.  Had them adjusted it back (more clicks) and car is better. 

Oil viscosity would also increase FC, n that may be the cause too.  In our hot weather, it's better to stick with W30 oil.
For Prius, we can actually use W20 as our car engine is either assisted, or not running. For Prius owners with four season, they are using W20 through out the season as stated in their manual. During the summer, it's so much hotter than where we are.

As for the hand brake, no adjustment was done.
jscyl1980
post Nov 9 2012, 11:05 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(deckbuild @ Nov 9 2012, 10:44 AM)
I'm not sure about Toyota, but I know for Singapore side, they using 5w30 castrol in drums and now it's in my engine... I can feel the sluggish acceleration, and the 5min FC page, the right bar mostly below 20km/l instead of before servicing which maintains around 28 to 30km/l.

From what I search, the original oil that comes shipped with the Prius C is 0w20 or 5w20, and we are suppose to use that rating....

Also from reading this forum, I thought Malaysia Toyota provide W20 oil for Prius C?
My PC haven't clock 10k km yet, but oredi 7500km, still using mineral 10w30 for run in, what i noticed is FC not much different if compare to stock 0w20 , but engine noisier a bit, so if next service i will use 10w30 semi syn will be enuff, the key good FC for PC should be petrol and tire pressure, BHP/Caltex fuel + 33psi tire pressure give me at least 25-26km/L average fc every tank of fuel(50%city 50% highway).........

This post has been edited by jscyl1980: Nov 9 2012, 11:06 AM
deckbuild
post Nov 9 2012, 11:08 AM

QUOTE(NewGUY @ Nov 9 2012, 10:51 AM)
IINM

W is for Winter temp for engine to start for eg 5W is at -38 C

20 is for operating temperature, the higher the no the harder to oil thing when hot

This just the shortest explanation, any taiko can enlighten if I get it wrong...
I'm lazy to type because my main aim is the 20, there are 0w-20 and 5w-20. The 0 and the 5 is useful only for cold weather. The viscosity during extreme cold temp which is usless in our countries because we are always hot biggrin.gif

Mobil 1 actually have this test tube thing for comparing the 20 30 40 50 with a ball bearing inside. The ball bearing slight the fastest among all due to low viscosity.

Oil thin out when temperature, which is why we need certain viscosity, for Prius case, unless you always go beyond power zone, there is no benefit at all to use higher which causes more drag on the piston as well as those cranks and cams.

Added on November 9, 2012, 11:11 am
QUOTE(jscyl1980 @ Nov 9 2012, 11:05 AM)
My PC haven't clock 10k km yet, but oredi 7500km, still using mineral 10w30 for run in, what i noticed is FC not much different if compare to stock 0w20 , but engine noisier a bit, so if next service i will use 10w30 semi syn will be enuff, the key good FC for PC should be petrol and tire pressure, BHP/Caltex fuel + 33psi tire pressure give me at least 25-26km/L average fc every tank of fuel(50%city 50% highway).........
About the tire pressure, I actually up the front to 35psi and the rear 33 psi as of yesterday. So I don't believe it's the air pressure. Maybe I will drive home today and monitor it one last time before I drain and full it with W20 and share with all again smile.gif

Added on November 9, 2012, 11:12 am
QUOTE(jscyl1980 @ Nov 9 2012, 11:05 AM)
I'm not sure about the Malaysia side, do you all have free servicing for certain mileage which means engine oil included? or you get to choose your own EO or able to bring your own EO?

This post has been edited by deckbuild: Nov 9 2012, 11:12 AM
RM1
post Nov 9 2012, 11:29 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(deckbuild @ Nov 9 2012, 11:08 AM)
I'm lazy to type because my main aim is the 20, there are 0w-20 and 5w-20. The 0 and the 5 is useful only for cold weather. The viscosity during extreme cold temp which is usless in our countries because we are always hot  biggrin.gif

Mobil 1 actually have this test tube thing for comparing the 20 30 40 50 with a ball bearing inside. The ball bearing slight the fastest among all due to low viscosity.

Oil thin out when temperature, which is why we need certain viscosity, for Prius case, unless you always go beyond power zone, there is no benefit at all to use higher which causes more drag on the piston as well as those cranks and cams.

About the tire pressure, I actually up the front to 35psi and the rear 33 psi as of yesterday. So I don't believe it's the air pressure. Maybe I will drive home today and monitor it one last time before I drain and full it with W20 and share with all again  smile.gif

I'm not sure about the Malaysia side, do you all have free servicing for certain mileage which means engine oil included? or you get to choose your own EO or able to bring your own EO?
Depends when u get the PC. Free parts n labour is valid for PC up to the first 3 services for PC booked in April onwards.

The best info for W20 or W30 oil usage is in the manual. The ambient temperature will determine which viscosity is best for the PC. Unfortunately, I don't remember it n need to refer to it. Anyone remember off hand?

The worst case or severe temperature for the oil is during stop n go and very high engine speed (80% of red line) driving.
deckbuild
post Nov 9 2012, 11:34 AM

QUOTE(RM1 @ Nov 9 2012, 11:29 AM)
Depends when u get the PC.  Free parts n labour is valid for PC up to the first 3 services for PC booked in April onwards.

The best info for W20 or W30 oil usage is in the manual.  The ambient temperature will determine which viscosity is best for the PC.  Unfortunately, I don't remember it n need to refer to it.  Anyone remember off hand?

The worst case or severe temperature for the oil is during stop n go and very high engine speed (80% of red line) driving.
My manual in car, will read it during lunch and feedback =)
jscyl1980
post Nov 9 2012, 11:41 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(deckbuild @ Nov 9 2012, 11:08 AM)
I'm lazy to type because my main aim is the 20, there are 0w-20 and 5w-20. The 0 and the 5 is useful only for cold weather. The viscosity during extreme cold temp which is usless in our countries because we are always hot  biggrin.gif

About the tire pressure, I actually up the front to 35psi and the rear 33 psi as of yesterday. So I don't believe it's the air pressure. Maybe I will drive home today and monitor it one last time before I drain and full it with W20 and share with all again  smile.gif

Our UMW only give free labour charge+E-voucher for 1000 and 5000km service, can choose between mineral, semi and full syn oil, can't bring our own oil, if can bring, i also want to use 0w20 oil thumbup.gif for modern engine, thinner oil always give good performace, FC , and 0w20 oil have better cleaning addictive compare to thicker oil thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jscyl1980: Nov 9 2012, 11:47 AM

112 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:22 AM