126 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

Lazyboy
post Nov 13 2012, 09:54 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 13 2012, 09:33 PM)
You should inform the thousands of bus captains, restaurant captains, retail sales people, technicians that they have hardly enough to own a flat and raise a family.
But isn't that the fact?
seantang
post Nov 13 2012, 09:59 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Nov 13 2012, 09:54 PM)
But isn't that the fact?
Which fact are you referring to? The fact that they actually own property, or the fact that they successfully raise entire families?

Mackiddo
post Nov 13 2012, 10:15 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(wickedghost @ Nov 13 2012, 01:24 PM)
I still can have starbucks or carls junior every weekend...no issue
cool. I think Starbucks drinks are expensive. only drink it once a month smile.gif , or if they give free drink(s) promotion lar.
keelim
post Nov 13 2012, 10:28 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(zero721 @ Nov 13 2012, 03:08 PM)
Hi everyone, I'm going to graduate soon in end of this December.
I plan to find job in SG. Do you guys know any good companies in Sg in IT or Telecommunicattion industry such as Samsung or Microsoft?

I'm Marketing Student and I really hope to join companies like Samsung or Microsoft in SG.

Also, can I know if a Marketing Degree holder with second upper class honour, normally how much salary in SG??
You can try glassdoor to see the salary range for marketing graduates or marketing-related job. You could also check on Samsung or Microsoft pay.

On the flip side, it is relatively hard to be accepted for a job without any experience in a foreign country. Your leverage may be a lower salary but the government will have its way around that too.
ivanswk
post Nov 14 2012, 09:24 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 13 2012, 05:54 PM)
Anyway guys, I remember this was asked before but I wasn't paying attention and I forgot what the answer was liao. When applying PR, documents required according to ICA are:
Did any of you guys give this testimonial? Seems damn mahfan to go and ask ex-boss to write a letter ...
is not compulsary.
did not submit for my application, still approve rolleyes.gif
lostintransition
post Nov 14 2012, 11:15 AM

106 posts

Hi all;
Good day,

Just want to ask for some advice when writing the resume + cover letter. This is concerning about how HR is going to contact me for an interview. Currently, I am working and residing in Penang.

In my resume + cover letter, would it be sufficient just to mention my Malaysian mobile number? Or will it be better if I get a Singapore mobile number and put it on the resume + cover letter? Or it does NOT make any difference at all?

Also, is it advisable to mention my home address in Penang on the cover letter itself?

The reason I am asking is that I am afraid HR may view that I am currently rooted in Penang and then proceed to place my application at the bottom of the pile. I believe preference will be given to people already residing, and actively looking for a job, in Singapore.

Thanks for the help.
crazy25kid
post Nov 14 2012, 11:21 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(lostintransition @ Nov 14 2012, 11:15 AM)
Hi all;
Good day,

Just want to ask for some advice when writing the resume + cover letter. This is concerning about how HR is going to contact me for an interview. Currently, I am working and residing in Penang.

In my resume + cover letter, would it be sufficient just to mention my Malaysian mobile number? Or will it be better if I get a Singapore mobile number and put it on the resume + cover letter? Or it does NOT make any difference at all?

Also, is it advisable to mention my home address in Penang on the cover letter itself?

The reason I am asking is that I am afraid HR may view that I am currently rooted in Penang and then proceed to place my application at the bottom of the pile. I believe preference will be given to people already residing, and actively looking for a job, in Singapore.

Thanks for the help.
i found that having a singapore number + singapore address is the best.
however, just by having a singapore number alone is likely to have increased your chances too.
good luck...i was in ur shoes 2 years ago...also from penang. laugh.gif laugh.gif
lostintransition
post Nov 14 2012, 11:23 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 14 2012, 11:21 AM)
i found that having a singapore number + singapore address is the best.
however, just by having a singapore number alone is likely to have increased your chances too.
good luck...i was in ur shoes 2 years ago...also from penang. laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Thanks for the fast reply. But do i need to remove my home address in Penang at the cover letter? But a cover letter would look "cacat" without an address....
TSdeodorant
post Nov 14 2012, 11:31 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Nov 14 2012, 09:24 AM)
is not compulsary.
did not submit for my application, still approve  rolleyes.gif

ooh, thanks. won't bother with it then.
crazy25kid
post Nov 14 2012, 11:32 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(lostintransition @ Nov 14 2012, 11:23 AM)
Thanks for the fast reply. But do i need to remove my home address in Penang at the cover letter? But a cover letter would look "cacat" without an address....
i recommend not removing it...i kept my penang address.
at least let your future employer know that you are not based in sg at the moment...and also, it does look cacat. laugh.gif laugh.gif
if not, they arrange an interview say on Wednesday when they call you on a Monday is going to be a problem. laugh.gif laugh.gif
the sg number...to me is showing that u are prepared/making effort to go work there.
yhoong12
post Nov 14 2012, 11:54 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 14 2012, 11:32 AM)
i recommend not removing it...i kept my penang address.
at least let your future employer know that you are not based in sg at the moment...and also, it does look cacat.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
if not, they arrange an interview say on Wednesday when they call you on a Monday is going to be a problem.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
the sg number...to me is showing that u are prepared/making effort to go work there.
The Sg number is showing you are prepared? actually i still quite confused why SG number needed when you are not in Singapore to look for jobs as it is not functioning when you are outside of SG, unless roaming. rclxub.gif

Added on November 14, 2012, 11:56 am
QUOTE(lostintransition @ Nov 14 2012, 11:23 AM)
What ever information you have inside your resume just keep it, even your malaysia address or malaysia phone number because when HR view your resume, and saw you as a malaysian but incompleted resume(no address or etc..) they wont consider you.

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Nov 14 2012, 11:56 AM
crazy25kid
post Nov 14 2012, 12:06 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Nov 14 2012, 11:54 AM)
The Sg number is showing you are prepared? actually i still quite confused why SG number needed when you are not in Singapore to look for jobs as it is not functioning when you are outside of SG, unless roaming. rclxub.gif
well...to me (as i mentioned), it does seem that you are more prepared as you are willing to invest into securing a job in sg.
some companies HR do not wish to call IDD...so without the singapore number, you have just lost your chances for those companies.
there are companies which are kind enough and would ask if you have a local number which they can call so you do not get overloaded with roaming charges on a prepaid. laugh.gif laugh.gif
yhoong12
post Nov 14 2012, 12:11 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 14 2012, 12:06 PM)
well...to me (as i mentioned), it does seem that you are more prepared as you are willing to invest into securing a job in sg.
some companies HR do not wish to call IDD...so without the singapore number, you have just lost your chances for those companies.
there are companies which are kind enough and would ask if you have a local number which they can call so you do not get overloaded with roaming charges on a prepaid.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
That mean when you first get the number you already must requested for roaming service, because by default roaming is off? hmm.gif
crazy25kid
post Nov 14 2012, 12:18 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Nov 14 2012, 12:11 PM)
That mean when you first get the number you already must requested for roaming service, because by default roaming is off? hmm.gif
for my prepaid, i dun remember telling the person anything or doing anything extra to get roaming.
postpaid, it is off cause you need to pay monthly to turn it on...unless you are on corporate sweat.gif sweat.gif
tailtwist
post Nov 14 2012, 12:19 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 14 2012, 12:18 PM)
for my prepaid, i dun remember telling the person anything or doing anything extra to get roaming.
postpaid, it is off cause you need to pay monthly to turn it on...unless you are on corporate  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I thought u have to option to pay-as-you-roam?
crazy25kid
post Nov 14 2012, 12:33 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Nov 14 2012, 12:19 PM)
I thought u have to option to pay-as-you-roam?
i think it is still pay-as-you-roam for postpaid...but to activate the roaming, there is a fee you need to pay (monthly) if i remember correctly.
u need to check with the telco... laugh.gif laugh.gif
Walaoeh!
post Nov 14 2012, 12:50 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(lostintransition @ Nov 14 2012, 11:15 AM)
Hi all;
Good day,

Thanks for the help.
for me i put a malaysia number and put "Relocating to Singapore" instead of malaysia address on my resume.

yiivei
post Nov 14 2012, 01:38 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

Anyone here bond with their company when applying for SPR?

I intend to apply for SPR, and found that i need to bond with the company for 6 months if they are to sign on the Annex A to form 4A.

mercury8400
post Nov 14 2012, 01:41 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 13 2012, 09:33 PM)
You should inform the thousands of bus captains, restaurant captains, retail sales people, technicians that they have hardly enough to own a flat and raise a family.
Ask the bus captain, restaurant captains, etc if it is worth it. If the answer is yes then more power to them. I'm merely stating that if you are from malaysia and have a degree and you live with yr parents in klang valley, chances are you can live quite a luxurious life even if yr a fresh grad. If you come to SG with maybe lesser pay or the same pay in malaysia dollar to dollar then you might want to reconsider. Life is not a bed of rosses here if you don't earn enough esp since you have to pay for rent, toileteries, groceries, etc stuff that you don't pay back in malaysia.
tailtwist
post Nov 14 2012, 01:45 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Nov 14 2012, 01:38 PM)
Anyone here bond with their company when applying for SPR?

I intend to apply for SPR, and found that i need to bond with the company for 6 months if they are to sign on the Annex A to form 4A.
Well...nope....then again a bond is a 2 edged-sword....at least u have a very secured job for the next 6 months....make sure u understand the terms and conditions of bond clearly...
6 months is short anyway!!..after that u can move on lor if u dont like...with the SPR..u can move jobs easily

126 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:44 PM