4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

crazy25kid
post Sep 14 2012, 05:37 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

hi...just wondering.
some of you are on EP and receive the CPF for employer contribution in cash instead.
Just wondering, what is the %? 16?
So when you apply for PR and is approved, you will be paying Full rate (3rd year SPR) or follow first year?
If follow first year, employer contribution is 4%, u get 12% remaining in cash if u were receiving 16% before being PR?
crazy25kid
post Sep 18 2012, 08:35 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 18 2012, 08:29 PM)
Then if you swap out the glass back panel for an aluminum or magnesium one, you get a bit of the tactile experience, thinness and weight savings as well. I found a website that sells wood replacements for the back panel. Need to find one that does it in metal.
anywhere you would recommend to get that done?
crazy25kid
post Sep 19 2012, 09:09 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 19 2012, 09:05 AM)
please note that there's NO CPF contribution for work pass/permit holders...EP/S Pass/ n so on

SOS
CPF

Copy and paste a portion from that link

Employees who are Exempted from CPF Contributions
a.  Foreigners on Employment Pass, S Pass, Miscellaneous Work Pass or Work Permit
CPF contributions are not allowed for foreigners. Both the employer’s and employee’s share of contributions for foreign employees on Employment Pass, S Pass, Miscellaneous Work Pass or Work Permit will not be accepted.
please read...he said that the CPF portion is paid to him in cash...not to CPF board.
so basically, what he means is he wanted SGD X but instead of the basic being SGD X, he got SGD Y + % for CPF which = SGD X

just curious, how much is the %? 5, 9 or 16?
so when one converts to PR, how will the calculation be then?
crazy25kid
post Sep 19 2012, 09:30 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 19 2012, 09:23 AM)
Yes I know...that's y i said CPF contribution...which means this contribution/amt goes to the CPF fund...not in cash...then again even this portion of CPF in cash...its not even a must...
Also by doing this...u will be paying more income tax due to that you didn't have CPF contribution therefore that 'CPF relief' you're not eligible..rather than having the company to actually contribute to the CPF board directly. I know the relief is not much...but something better than nothing..
but with the CPF paid in cash, it is just an indirect way of saying your basic pay is higher.
with a higher pay, of course you will be require to pay more tax...simple logic.
only time it will hurt is when you apply for PR and get approved.
changing job might slightly be a concern if the new company does not pay you the extra cash and increase is based on basic of previous job.

relief or not, if u are on EP, there is no relief so for non-PR, of course it will be better to have it since it is extra cash in the end.

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Sep 19 2012, 09:31 AM
crazy25kid
post Sep 19 2012, 09:42 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(momijigari @ Sep 19 2012, 09:38 AM)
The company is not obliged to pay a work pass holder their share of CPF contribution.
My question to cless^alvein- did you employer agree to pay their share of CPF in cash before you sign your appointment letter?
i know...it is more like a perk.
actually, i am quite interested in this CPF paid to employee part.
i posted a question previously but no1 answered. laugh.gif laugh.gif
do they include this in the offer letter as black and white?
crazy25kid
post Sep 19 2012, 09:49 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Sep 19 2012, 09:47 AM)
my current company do pay me the employer CPF contribution portion to me.. it is called CPF encashment.. it is quite a substantial amount to be honest..
can i ask u this then?
is it written in your offer letter?
how much is the % for the CPF encashment? 5, 9 or 16?
if 9 or 16...when you apply for PR, what will be the rate they pay to CPF board?
Do they pay you back the remaining % since first year and second year is 5 and 9% respectively? or do they straight pay 16% to the board?
crazy25kid
post Sep 19 2012, 09:57 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Sep 19 2012, 09:51 AM)
16%.. i think it is stated in the letter offer..
not sure about the treatment after i get my PR though..
Ooo...thanks for the information.

crazy25kid
post Sep 20 2012, 06:00 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Sep 20 2012, 05:53 PM)
Entrance ticket is RM140. Mykad holders gets RM30 discount. I heard Maybank customer get additional 10 or 20 %
maybank customer as in maybank credit card holder or show atm card also can?
crazy25kid
post Sep 24 2012, 06:19 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 24 2012, 06:14 PM)
Is it a free app?
nope...but it is rather useful.
developed in sg thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
crazy25kid
post Sep 25 2012, 08:28 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Sep 24 2012, 11:55 PM)
Is that an apps?

Gothere.sg is free if you use the website.
there is an app for iOS.
i usually just use the website version.
crazy25kid
post Sep 28 2012, 12:30 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Sep 28 2012, 12:27 PM)
1 meat 2 vege sgd2.8 hougang/defu.
1 meat 2 vege in kopitiam (aircon) sgd3.3 after kopitiam card discount.
One thing for sure, cook at home will save a lot of money.

Is it wise if I apply PR next year after receiving income tax receipt? By then I only moved here for 1.5y with >4k salary.

just my personal opinion, better to apply with an income tax file. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

crazy25kid
post Oct 3 2012, 12:02 PM

1,424 posts

First off, why do you want to negotiate after getting the S-pass approved?
I duno...it may or may not be a point in future application of pass.
I mean, if approved and your negotiation breaks down, your pass is cancelled or something...what if that becomes a mark for MOM that you are simply fooling around.
Why risk it?
crazy25kid
post Oct 11 2012, 05:10 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Oct 11 2012, 05:00 PM)
it's actually me who initiate the resignation as i am not suitable for the job. So no need to be sorry. I am financially stable, so i guess i will stay in sg for the time being. But can i continue renting my room eventhough my ep cancelled?
if u dun tell, i don't think the agents will know.
but...can you be sure u will be able to get a job within 60 days?
if not, u might need to vacant the room for 1 month and still continue paying rent.
crazy25kid
post Oct 11 2012, 05:22 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 11 2012, 05:17 PM)
Officially,  you are not allowed to. Unofficially, as long as your lease is still valid, you don't tell, the landlord/agent won't know. But like what crazykid said, if you can't find job within 2 months, your 3rd month you'll pay rent for an empty room, and some more you'd then need to arrange 1 month accomodation in JB (or stay with parents).
actually...there is another risk on the 3rd month.
YOU CANNOT ATTEND INTERVIEWS !!!
if u fully used up the 60 days in the first 2 months as u are barred from entering Sg.

there is actually a small loophole...not sure whether it is wise to teach u such a method used by cinapek companies in sg. laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Oct 12 2012, 09:02 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Oct 12 2012, 08:58 AM)
OIC..Mean 1st day till 90 days we only allow to stay in Singapore for 60days, right? Now I get what you mean.....
every past 90 days...you are only allowed to be in sg for 60 days.

crazy25kid
post Oct 15 2012, 08:35 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Oct 15 2012, 02:01 PM)
OIC..mean there are some plan which will charge when receiving oversea call lah  cry.gif  cry.gif

B'cos in Malaysia we will not kena charge ever from oversea from all telco  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
For postpaid, receiving calls are FREE (well, you actually already paid for it).
For prepaid, receiving calls are not free...to make it "free", you pay a premium of less than 1 dollar per day.
By receiving calls, I am not differentiating local or international.

crazy25kid
post Oct 25 2012, 10:49 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 25 2012, 10:41 AM)
My fiancee comes from JB. Every time we go to visit her parents, they without fail remind us of "how dangerous JB is compared to SG." Oh, and their house in Pelangi got burgled twice over the years, so some/many long-term JB residents themselves think JB is dangerous. The main problem, IMO, is that because SG is so safe, you might let your guard down when back in JB and then get shafted for it.
agreed...a lot is due to being too comfy in sg until they let their guard down when they went back to m'sia (not just specifically in JB)
crazy25kid
post Nov 1 2012, 09:00 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Nov 1 2012, 08:52 AM)
1 year exp in sg or total working working exp?
i have 1.5 yr working exp in sg, degree holder and i just get my pr... all in all it took one month from submission to receive approval letter..
quite efficient i must say as during submission the woman over the counter told me it will take 3-4 mths to know the outcome..
congrats...so maybe u can answer me the question of the cpf encashment question i raised last time now. laugh.gif laugh.gif
so your cpf is now is 20%/16% (3rd year) straight or 5%/4% (1st year) and remaining 11% from employer still encashed to you.
crazy25kid
post Nov 1 2012, 09:11 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Nov 1 2012, 09:10 AM)
sorry bro didnt realize u asked me about this.
to be honest i am not sure about this as i havent go for the formalities and am not officially PR yet. haha..
i believe you have the choice of full contribution and partial contribution. in the case of partial contribution, i THINK the remaining will not be encashed to u... but let me confirm and get back to u once everytihng is done.
sure, no problem laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Nov 6 2012, 11:01 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Nov 6 2012, 10:58 AM)
I just checked with my HR. I just need to inform her, and required a photocopy of my new passport. Hmm... I'm wondering. Once i renew my passport. How am I going to go in Singapore? Later I scan the passport. And they dont allow me to go in =___=
cannot scan...use the counter. -_-ll
bring along ur old passport

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0509sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:43 AM