126 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

yhoong12
post Nov 12 2012, 11:56 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(L_0430 @ Nov 12 2012, 11:30 AM)
I'm a fresh grad from top US university (first class honors). Do fresh grad commonly get this salary? The interviewer told me that 'top school' like NUS grad could get 3k.. but in fact my school is better than NUS if he's talking about ranking or being 'top'. So I'm thinking is this being underpaid or not.
But do they know how good is your uni?for them, they already know the quality of the freshie from NUS, talking about ranking mean your uni is on top on NUS in the international chart?share with us your uni
L_0430
post Nov 12 2012, 04:35 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Nov 12 2012, 11:56 AM)
But do they know how good is your uni?for them, they already know the quality of the freshie from NUS, talking about ranking mean your uni is on top on NUS in the international chart?share with us your uni
University of Illinois. I'm talking about engineering program specifically cuz I never cared about overall ranking. Plus I think the overall ranking might not be that good. But the engineering program internationally is high. Higher than NUS based on what I found. I never really cared about ranking of schools but the experience and perspective you earned. but since the interviewer brought this into topic I could only say that my school is better.
icycokes
post Nov 12 2012, 04:37 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(L_0430 @ Nov 12 2012, 11:30 AM)
I'm a fresh grad from top US university (first class honors). Do fresh grad commonly get this salary? The interviewer told me that 'top school' like NUS grad could get 3k.. but in fact my school is better than NUS if he's talking about ranking or being 'top'. So I'm thinking is this being underpaid or not.
Fyi, 3K is average for NUS grad. Since your school is better than NUS and moreover you have a first class honors degree, you should be getting >3K.

I believe NUS first class honors grads are getting at least 3.6K.
yhoong12
post Nov 12 2012, 05:14 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(L_0430 @ Nov 12 2012, 04:35 PM)
University of Illinois. I'm talking about engineering program specifically cuz I never cared about overall ranking. Plus I think the overall ranking might not be that good. But the engineering program internationally is high. Higher than NUS based on what I found. I never really cared about ranking of schools but the experience and perspective you earned. but since the interviewer brought this into topic I could only say that my school is better.
When you are looking for job, those thing that you never really cares about are mostly the thing that interviewer care,if they heard about your uni, then you can rank it, if not, most uni also below NUS ranking, hence they offer you salary for a normal ranking salary. Your University ranking determined its popularity hence determined your salary at the beginning when you just graduated. only when you have experience, then university is no longer important.
L_0430
post Nov 12 2012, 05:19 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Nov 12 2012, 05:14 PM)
When you are looking for job, those thing that you never really cares about are mostly the thing that interviewer care,if they heard about your uni, then you can rank it, if not, most uni also below NUS ranking, hence they offer you salary for a normal ranking salary. Your University ranking determined its popularity hence determined your salary at the beginning when you just graduated. only when you have experience, then university is no longer important.
I did tell him about my school's ranking and recommended him to look it up if he's really concerned about it. But seems like he didn't bother to lol. Idk if I'm lucky or unlucky. Lucky because I got a job with economy being bad. Unlucky because I'm not appreciated.
alvinchan81
post Nov 12 2012, 05:23 PM

47 posts

want to ask... got a postpaid plan with starhub and its a iphone package 24months contract. Now already 21 months.

want to change phone now to note2...

u guys know if there's a possibility to upgrade it for free with contract extension ?
Mackiddo
post Nov 12 2012, 06:32 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alvinchan81 @ Nov 12 2012, 05:23 PM)
want to ask... got a postpaid plan with starhub and its a iphone package 24months contract. Now already 21 months.

want to change phone now to note2...

u guys know if there's a possibility to upgrade it for free with contract extension ?
>21months can sign new contract already without penalties

Added on November 12, 2012, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(L_0430 @ Nov 12 2012, 05:19 PM)
I did tell him about my school's ranking and recommended him to look it up if he's really concerned about it. But seems like he didn't bother to lol. Idk if I'm lucky or unlucky. Lucky because I got a job with economy being bad. Unlucky because I'm not appreciated.
why would he bother to check it since with the bad economies now, sure a lot of other job applicants from reputable local Uni. You could accept the salary offered and start working while hunting for better paying job elsewhere

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 12 2012, 06:35 PM
seantang
post Nov 12 2012, 08:47 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

when it comes to actual hiring, name recognition, reputation and good or bad press / impression makes all the difference.

It's all about something advertisers call mindshare.

Nobody really keeps up to date with rankings religiously, year after year. What matters is whether your university has stuck in the minds of the hiring managers. Ivy League, Oxbridge and ancients/redbricks are there because people remember them. People identify them with a certain perception. If they are up a few places in one ranking one year, down a few places in another ranking another year really makes no difference. Sure, if they screw up their rankings for 10-15 years and get caught in some sort of degree mill scandal - that might hurt them. But otherwise, it's all about the reputation and the hold the name has on the mind of the individual hiring you.

For instance for me, I'm quite cognizant of the Asian, Aussie and UK universities. I can probably rank each one into a few buckets according to my perception of how good they are. My knowledge of US and non-English speaking European universities however is rather sparse, except for the usual suspects like Harvard, Princeton, MIT, UCLA etc. And it probably doesn't help that I've been indoctrinated since young by my UK educated elders that American bachelors degrees are not worth the parchment they are printed on. That you need a masters for your US education to carry any actual weight.

So if it were me hiring, I'd put NUS quite a ways ahead of Illinois. I've heard of Illinois but it doesn't mean anything more to me compared to... say Buffalo, Rhode Island or Michigan. Not immediately bad but doesn't excite me either. Certainly "top" would not be the adjective I would use to describe it. NUS on the other hand, I have extensive exposure to. Read about it all the time. Meet its graduates every day. It's inevitable that I will believe that NUS is better than Illinois hands down.

It will be the reverse if you are interviewing in the US or Canada, I suppose. But you are looking for a job in Singapore... so I hope you have been diplomatic about it.

This post has been edited by seantang: Nov 12 2012, 08:52 PM
fenster_84
post Nov 12 2012, 09:48 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 11 2012, 11:08 PM)
If your are walking to the check point or air port. They will ask you to take out your labtop before X-ray. Been carrying labtop in and out, no question asked.

If you are willing to spend some money, take a cab from Larkin directly to your new place in sg. Save the trouble to hand carry your desktop(monitor?) and luggage.  I forget the rate, should be less than 50rm iirc.

You should not be taxed for your own desktop but if you happen to piss them off, they can ask you to power on your desktop and check if you have illegal content in your PC.
I was thinking the same thing. Do they actually want us to power up the desktop to check the contents? Do they check whether the installed windows is legitimate? whether the media content is legitimately purchased from online stores etc..?
L_0430
post Nov 12 2012, 09:57 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 12 2012, 08:47 PM)
when it comes to actual hiring, name recognition, reputation and good or bad press / impression makes all the difference.

It's all about something advertisers call mindshare.

Nobody really keeps up to date with rankings religiously, year after year. What matters is whether your university has stuck in the minds of the hiring managers. Ivy League, Oxbridge and ancients/redbricks are there because people remember them. People identify them with a certain perception. If they are up a few places in one ranking one year, down a few places in another ranking another year really makes no difference. Sure, if they screw up their rankings for 10-15 years and get caught in some sort of degree mill scandal - that might hurt them. But otherwise, it's all about the reputation and the hold the name has on the mind of the individual hiring you.

For instance for me, I'm quite cognizant of the Asian, Aussie and UK universities. I can probably rank each one into a few buckets according to my perception of how good they are. My knowledge of US and non-English speaking European universities however is rather sparse, except for the usual suspects like Harvard, Princeton, MIT, UCLA etc. And it probably doesn't help that I've been indoctrinated since young by my UK educated elders that American bachelors degrees are not worth the parchment they are printed on. That you need a masters for your US education to carry any actual weight.

So if it were me hiring, I'd put NUS quite a ways ahead of Illinois. I've heard of Illinois but it doesn't mean anything more to me compared to... say Buffalo, Rhode Island or Michigan. Not immediately bad but doesn't excite me either. Certainly "top" would not be the adjective I would use to describe it. NUS on the other hand, I have extensive exposure to. Read about it all the time. Meet its graduates every day. It's inevitable that I will believe that NUS is better than Illinois hands down.

It will be the reverse if you are interviewing in the US or Canada, I suppose. But you are looking for a job in Singapore... so I hope you have been diplomatic about it.
Very good insight. But this also shows that there are problems in hiring process. People should really maintain neutral, or at least as neutral as possible. I have heard Americans talked bad about UK and Aus education. This happens everywhere I believe. But I just wish people would at least not let their own perception blind their judgement (in hiring for my case).
seantang
post Nov 12 2012, 10:19 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(L_0430 @ Nov 12 2012, 09:57 PM)
Very good insight. But this also shows that there are problems in hiring process. People should really maintain neutral, or at least as neutral as possible. I have heard Americans talked bad about UK and Aus education. This happens everywhere I believe. But I just wish people would at least not let their own perception blind their judgement (in hiring for my case).
That's life.

That's why we have first impressions, biases, prejudices, chemistry, rapport, affinities, affiliations etc. It's all part and parcel of life. It's up to you, to know your audience and play to the gallery. No point to keep butting your head against the wall, hoping that one day your head is harder than the wall.

This post has been edited by seantang: Nov 12 2012, 10:19 PM
r1v3r
post Nov 12 2012, 10:57 PM

1,305 posts

UIUC? They have a R&D centre in fusionopolis. If you are in CS or ComE and you are good, give it a try.

So, the new US degree have the UK rating "First class" printed on it? smile.gif

In some extend, most local Gov body and private company only know a few top names in US, the rest are "NO CLASS" degree according to their perception.

There are good Uni, good unique program from US. If you really have the confident with your skill, find a jobs for US MNC first before you branch out. UK trained boss will always think their education is better, you may not have a fair review in the beginning.

Christopher7
post Nov 12 2012, 11:06 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

My friend just graduated Event Management at UK looking for job in SG. But he is from China do you think there is high possibility able to get job in SG? He is finding job in Hospitality field like Hotel or sth.
Lester1987
post Nov 12 2012, 11:11 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(L_0430 @ Nov 12 2012, 02:22 AM)
I got a job offer for SGD2500 near Ang Mo Kio. Do you think it's enough for me to save like SGD800 per month? How much tax do Malaysians have to pay?
I can save $1k per month previously with $2.2k salary. Now everymonth negative.

The key word is "don't go out often, stay home play dota and watch drama can edi"

L_0430
post Nov 12 2012, 11:15 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 12 2012, 10:57 PM)
UIUC? They have a R&D centre in fusionopolis. If you are in CS or ComE and you are good, give it a try.

So, the new US degree have the UK rating "First class" printed on it? smile.gif

In some extend, most local Gov body and private company only know a few top names in US, the rest are "NO CLASS" degree according to their perception.

There are good Uni, good unique program from US. If you really have the confident with your skill, find a jobs for US MNC first before you branch out. UK trained boss will always think their education is better, you may not have a fair review in the beginning.
Too bad not CS neither ComE.
And no they don't have first class stuff. But I got the summa cum laude which is the highest honors offered. So I can only 'kinda' equate that to the first class honors which people here are more used to. If I said summa cum laude probably no one will know.. Sad case
RigorMortis
post Nov 12 2012, 11:18 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Nov 12 2012, 11:06 PM)
My friend just graduated Event Management at UK looking for job in SG. But he is from China do you think there is high possibility able to get job in SG? He is finding job in Hospitality field like Hotel or sth.
It depends on his proficiency in English..

I know of Chinese students who can pass exams in Australia but struggles when having conversation in English.

I think it's important, especially in the hospitality and tourism field.
r1v3r
post Nov 12 2012, 11:23 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(fenster_84 @ Nov 12 2012, 09:48 PM)
I was thinking the same thing. Do they actually want us to power up the desktop to check the contents? Do they check whether the installed windows is legitimate? whether the media content is legitimately purchased from online stores etc..?
usually not. I know there was a case where the officer found some pirated VCDs from a guy. ICA gave that man a free ride to his unit compliment with a room service. Charged and deported. That's was the time when Singapore trying to project an image of a country that value IP rights to attract some MNC to set up a base here.

For donkey years ICA had inspected and X ray scanned my computer equipment at check points, air port and sea port. Used Personal computer is not taxable. Of course you can always choose to walk the "red carpet" for acting as a KS visitor.

RigorMortis
post Nov 12 2012, 11:24 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(L_0430 @ Nov 12 2012, 02:22 AM)
I got a job offer for SGD2500 near Ang Mo Kio. Do you think it's enough for me to save like SGD800 per month? How much tax do Malaysians have to pay?
Which field? Why didn't you consider working in the states?

SGD2.5k is pretty low for a Deg holder.
r1v3r
post Nov 12 2012, 11:26 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(L_0430 @ Nov 12 2012, 11:15 PM)
Too bad not CS neither ComE.
And no they don't have first class stuff. But I got the summa cum laude which is the highest honors offered. So I can only 'kinda' equate that to the first class honors which people here are more used to. If I said summa cum laude probably no one will know.. Sad case
That's the answer most local boss heard over the years. So no "xxx Class" on your degree equal NO CLASS degree, basic pay offered.

L_0430
post Nov 12 2012, 11:26 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(RigorMortis @ Nov 12 2012, 11:24 PM)
Which field? Why didn't you consider working in the states?

SGD2.5k is pretty low for a Deg holder.
Engineering. Yeah I know.. But finding a job in the US isnt easy too as a foreigner. Especially when their quota has been filled up this year

126 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:02 PM