Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)
JohnJon82
Feb 27 2013, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(megadisc @ Feb 27 2013, 10:41 AM) just curious is PR status renewed when Re-entry permit is renewed ??? there was an error when generating then couldnt save...now cant get softcopy of the REP.... can help ? Yes. I don't think PR has expiry date, as long as you stay in SG, forever, and don't go out for holiday or work. REP allow you to travel out and keep the PR only. Call ICA, or don't bother. They never ask about the paper so far. You get to reprint new REP next time you change your passport and update in the website.
toughnut
Feb 27 2013, 10:58 AM
PR valid for 5 years. No?
Mackiddo
Feb 27 2013, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(toughnut @ Feb 27 2013, 10:58 AM) PR valid for 5 years. No? No, you just have to renew your REP, that's all
Mackiddo
Feb 27 2013, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(megadisc @ Feb 27 2013, 10:41 AM) just curious is PR status renewed when Re-entry permit is renewed ??? there was an error when generating then couldnt save...now cant get softcopy of the REP.... can help ? funny coz i got no problem printing and saving end of last year. If you already have the hardcopy then it's fine you are supposed to carry the REP with you when you exit/entry Singapore.
This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 27 2013, 11:13 AM
7 For All Mankind
Feb 27 2013, 11:14 AM

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Feb 27 2013, 02:57 AM) Yes. I don't think PR has expiry date, as long as you stay in SG, forever, and don't go out for holiday or work. REP allow you to travel out and keep the PR only. Call ICA, or don't bother. They never ask about the paper so far. You get to reprint new REP next time you change your passport and update in the website. Maybe not so bad coz the details is inside the system already. Sg so efficient. This post has been edited by 7 For All Mankind: Feb 27 2013, 11:19 AM
megadisc
Feb 27 2013, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Feb 27 2013, 10:57 AM) Yes. I don't think PR has expiry date, as long as you stay in SG, forever, and don't go out for holiday or work. REP allow you to travel out and keep the PR only. Call ICA, or don't bother. They never ask about the paper so far. You get to reprint new REP next time you change your passport and update in the website. OIC QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 27 2013, 11:02 AM) funny coz i got no problem printing and saving end of last year. If you already have the hardcopy then it's fine you are supposed to carry the REP with you when you exit/entry Singapore.
supposed lor ....ICA FAQ says need to go KALLANG To print leh ...aiyoyo...
tyj82
Feb 27 2013, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(megadisc @ Feb 27 2013, 12:28 PM) OIC supposed lor ....ICA FAQ says need to go KALLANG To print leh ...aiyoyo... No need print lah.. Only go when you pass there or when you needed. Already 5 year PR. This one only use once when I convert my driving license.
tyj82
Feb 27 2013, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(mules @ Feb 26 2013, 06:57 PM) Hi, Family of 3 here. Planning to buy a hospitalization card in Singapore, something like those AIA medical card in Malaysia. Any experience to share and recommendation? You are PR ? if yes you might consider using your CPF to pay for upgrade on hospitalization. Well, i am not looking at 5 star hospital, just upgrade your medi shield to max(up to all amount paid using CPF) will do.
Mackiddo
Feb 27 2013, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(megadisc @ Feb 27 2013, 12:28 PM) OIC supposed lor ....ICA FAQ says need to go KALLANG To print leh ...aiyoyo... then the soft copy ? I also never carry REP. Just stored it in cloud and show them if needed. This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 27 2013, 07:57 PM
r1v3r
Feb 27 2013, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(tyj82 @ Feb 27 2013, 05:40 PM) You are PR ? if yes you might consider using your CPF to pay for upgrade on hospitalization. Well, i am not looking at 5 star hospital, just upgrade your medi shield to max(up to all amount paid using CPF) will do. Medisave has daily claim limit of $450 for hospitalization and other limit for test and procedure. The SGH nurse advice me on the estimated 2 days ward c bill was 2k+. If they cant get your insurance company to issue the guarantee letter the you have to pay this amount as deposit before they admit you(except A&E). Minus the medisave you still need to pay over2k deposit. The amount just go higher for better ward. The actual bill may be way lower if you don't need extra services but still, either you or your insurance company have to foot the deposit first. So don't save on your medisheild. Buy other critical illnesses plan to cover your long recovery or early your retirement plan. I regret buying saving/investment plan ever since I started work. I should had focus on medical and life insurance and save the rest of my premium.
Tigerr
Feb 27 2013, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 26 2013, 03:20 PM) Can't understand what you're asking. From reading briefly, SG gonna: - tighten EP eligibility criteria (doesn't exactly say how) - increase WP and SPass levies - reduce DRC (foreign worker limit). http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...feb-26-20130225Downpayment for cars now gonna be 40, 50, 60k  feeling lucky that my wife and my daughter PR application got approved....worry the tighten rules get into effect and quicky bring them to apply.....now, question is when to get them into singapore....and now can start looking for a resale hdb flat to buy....hope they dont stupid go cap the loan to value like the car loan.....
SUSalaskanbunny
Feb 27 2013, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(jitshiong @ Feb 27 2013, 10:47 AM) Kopi, i bring 3 in 1 from Malaysia. I can give u 1 packet. lol! do u picnic under mrt track?
jitshiong
Feb 28 2013, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 27 2013, 09:42 PM) do u picnic under mrt track? no, cos i reach home late. and my rented place is just 3 minutes away. Plus, nobody to accompany me....go home n lock myself in the room lo
codenamew
Feb 28 2013, 02:20 PM
dunoo whether this is a good place for ask for job application. but however, i will be graduating on 20th May 2013 and I am looking for a job that suits me. I am a mechanical degree holder. would appreciate if anyone here can guide / link me with the company. thanks
tyj82
Feb 28 2013, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Feb 27 2013, 09:40 PM) feeling lucky that my wife and my daughter PR application got approved....worry the tighten rules get into effect and quicky bring them to apply.....now, question is when to get them into singapore....and now can start looking for a resale hdb flat to buy....hope they dont stupid go cap the loan to value like the car loan.....  Resale flat for HDB route just tighten. Starting 12 Jan 2013. PR need to pay additional 5% stamp duty. means 500k HDB is 25K. I am not seeing the price of COV goes down as PR need to complete with Singaporean
Mackiddo
Feb 28 2013, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(tyj82 @ Feb 28 2013, 03:34 PM) Resale flat for HDB route just tighten. Starting 12 Jan 2013. PR need to pay additional 5% stamp duty. means 500k HDB is 25K. I am not seeing the price of COV goes down as PR need to complete with Singaporean There is no such thing as 'cooling measures'. HDB price will keep on going up. Just buy whatever within your reach, like a 3 room apartment, rather that wait and save for a 5 room.
seantang
Feb 28 2013, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(tyj82 @ Feb 28 2013, 03:34 PM) Resale flat for HDB route just tighten. Starting 12 Jan 2013. PR need to pay additional 5% stamp duty. means 500k HDB is 25K. I am not seeing the price of COV goes down as PR need to complete with Singaporean Prices in the mainstream property segment (HDB to private <$1.5M) did not go down at all in 2008-2009, during what was billed as the worst depression in living memory. What makes you think that something as inconsequential as cooling measures will reverse prices? Slow it down a bit, yes... reverse it, no. Besides being land scarce + immigration friendly, it is also an open market (foreigners can freely buy & sell private property) + safe haven for all Chinese (China, HK & Taiwan Chinese fearing the Communist govt, to overseas Chinese fearing repression from locals in their host countries). It's like the Chinese Israel.
zephyrus9999
Feb 28 2013, 08:44 PM
Guys i have a question, I am nearing my graduating soon and would love to work in singapore. As we know most company would at least have recruitment systems that require you to be physically there rather than conventional phone interview (not small company at least). How did you guys manage to risk getting all the way to SG and returning home empty handed?
Mackiddo
Feb 28 2013, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Feb 28 2013, 08:44 PM) Guys i have a question, I am nearing my graduating soon and would love to work in singapore. As we know most company would at least have recruitment systems that require you to be physically there rather than conventional phone interview (not small company at least). How did you guys manage to risk getting all the way to SG and returning home empty handed? No so much of a risk returning home empty handed other than a bit of time and $. Some just take bus early in the morning to Sg for interview, after interview take evening bus back. Another alternative is you could crash at a friend place in Sg or JB. It's good to provide them with a Sg contact number, better if have Sg mailing address as well.
SUSalaskanbunny
Feb 28 2013, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(jitshiong @ Feb 28 2013, 08:39 AM) no, cos i reach home late. and my rented place is just 3 minutes away. Plus, nobody to accompany me....go home n lock myself in the room lo  so sad meh... no frens meh? come out yum cha wif us ler...