Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)
dreamworker
Dec 8 2012, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(Redondo04 @ Dec 8 2012, 11:00 AM) Just for sharing... I spend one day submitting resume to about 10 companies. next 2 day get call by only two of them. went to the interview, both at the same day....then got hired by one of them. next year start work...hehe total time spend = 3days I would say that I'm quite lucky. The company gave me a test, i score quite well bcos most of it related to what I'm doing now. Dun giv up...keep trying. when i was jus graduate, i try to look for a job in singp too...but failed. now after 1 year...i try again, i got it. happy....^^ (advice: go jobsDB.com to look for vacancy, submit ur resume direct to their HR email.) good luck in ur job hunt.... Thank you for your sharing! i might work in KL to gain experience 1st if still can't find any suitable jobs in sg.. btw, what industry u working? IT?
TSdeodorant
Dec 8 2012, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(jtleon @ Dec 8 2012, 05:23 PM) what is the standard number for annual leaves in SG, for a corporation...and also medical leaves? Thanks No standard number. Like Malaysia as well, varies from company and industry. In banking line it's normally 25 AL days a year.
sapapa
Dec 8 2012, 10:30 PM

Anyone worked in banking line as telemarketer selling credit cards? If you have any experience, mind to share?
ilineZ
Dec 8 2012, 10:55 PM

banking line as telemarketer selling credit card? telemarketer..wew...doesnt seem appealing for me.. SELLING credit cards...worse >< haha i never try it tou..just doesnt like sales job. coz myself feel rannoyed if fitness club, credit card and other company try to sell something by calling me in the middle of busy day!
ch_teo
Dec 8 2012, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(dreamworker @ Dec 8 2012, 12:52 AM) i even bought saturday newspaper and went thru recruitment agency... yea, it's kinda fed up when most of the jobs required "strictly for local and PR" cry: i have just wanna point out when someone mentioned go buy Sat newspp but just not bother to log in to reply. now u found out urself. This post has been edited by ch_teo: Dec 8 2012, 11:08 PM
TSdeodorant
Dec 8 2012, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(sapapa @ Dec 8 2012, 10:30 PM) Anyone worked in banking line as telemarketer selling credit cards? If you have any experience, mind to share? I've been on the receiving end of a few SG bank telemarketers trying to sell me credit card. I can say that they have a 0% success rate with me.
dreamworker
Dec 9 2012, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(ch_teo @ Dec 8 2012, 11:06 PM) i have just wanna point out when someone mentioned go buy Sat newspp but just not bother to log in to reply. now u found out urself.   fyi I have put a lot of efforts on job hunting in sg.. I did log in to different job portals like monster, jobsdb, and sit in front of my laptop everyday to apply jobs.. I tot will get higher chances by job hunting thru newspaper becaz those companies might urgent hiring.. maybe really need to gain some experiences 1st before go to sg. This post has been edited by dreamworker: Dec 9 2012, 01:29 AM
LiangZhuge
Dec 9 2012, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 8 2012, 11:21 PM) I've been on the receiving end of a few SG bank telemarketers trying to sell me credit card. I can say that they have a 0% success rate with me. Some give you free cash when u sign up  . I know standard chart promotion gives you $80, I think HSBC also giving $50 or more.
Mackiddo
Dec 9 2012, 03:50 AM
QUOTE(jtleon @ Dec 8 2012, 05:23 PM) what is the standard number for annual leaves in SG, for a corporation...and also medical leaves? Thanks why would there be a cap on medical leaves that you could take per year ? Added on December 9, 2012, 4:00 amQUOTE(seantang @ Dec 7 2012, 08:32 AM) About RM600 for a return trip and S$20 + RM15 for taxi fare. About 3-4X the price of bus tickets. Question is... How much do you value your time and convenience? This does avoid an 8-9 hour overnight red eye bus ride... which basically burns one day of your weekend or annual leave each way as well because you're sleepy the entire day. I do agreed on this. It depends on how one value their time and the level of comfort. For example, even though the travelling time from Sg - KL is pretty same for bus and flight (inclusived check in time) , I would pay more just to have the comfort of sitting at airport lounge sipping coffee waiting for my flight rather than be on the bus. This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 9 2012, 04:00 AM
keelim
Dec 9 2012, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Dec 8 2012, 11:23 AM) Why cautiously optimistic? PM Lee has already stated that the influx of foreigners will be stemmed and companies will just have to learn to live with the current labour population in SG. Care to share smtg you know but we don't? Just my hypothesis reading the daily current affairs. The past few years have been terrible for Sg by its standards. Among 27 countries with GDP greater than $100B, it has the highest inflation rate. While this is fueled by housing and transport, labor cost hasn't been factored in full force. Only when housing and transport inflations are stabalized, Then the immigration tap can be closed more confidently. This may take several years.
Redondo04
Dec 9 2012, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(dreamworker @ Dec 8 2012, 06:40 PM) Thank you for your sharing! i might work in KL to gain experience 1st if still can't find any suitable jobs in sg.. btw, what industry u working? IT? u r welcome...ya i'm in IT field.
yhoong12
Dec 10 2012, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(Find The Way @ Dec 8 2012, 06:13 PM) Does IDA announce their audit result on network speed? For most of the occurrences of internet connection lost I'd encountered, signal strength is usually good. NO. Goverment only need the network coverage all over the isle, but does not need it to be full speed all the time.Connection lost is normal la.haha
anderson2009
Dec 10 2012, 02:57 PM

Just wondering how much are u guys paying for rent? And preferably area you staying as well?
TSdeodorant
Dec 10 2012, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(anderson2009 @ Dec 10 2012, 02:57 PM) Just wondering how much are u guys paying for rent? And preferably area you staying as well? $2300 for 2 and a half bedrooms (the 3rd room is just big enough for a single bed and cabinet. can't even fit a table inside) and 2 bathrooms HDB, 8mins walk from Bedok MRT.
trowapeter
Dec 10 2012, 03:34 PM

Can I know what's time is the earliest bus heading to JB custom?
LiangZhuge
Dec 10 2012, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 10 2012, 03:19 PM) $2300 for 2 and a half bedrooms (the 3rd room is just big enough for a single bed and cabinet. can't even fit a table inside) and 2 bathrooms HDB, 8mins walk from Bedok MRT. the 3rd bedroom is the bomb shelter  ? or is it a 2+1 or 3+1 ? Myself $550 for a common room (no aircon, water and electricity included) at Whampoa. 3 to 4 bus stops away from Toa Payoh MRT.
Redondo04
Dec 10 2012, 11:43 PM
Singp room rental is super expensive....i got shock!! Pls recommend which area got cheaper house or room for rent?
I work near Bartley MRT station. I don wan to spend most of my salary on rental...wish to do more saving.
almeizer
Dec 11 2012, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(jtleon @ Dec 8 2012, 05:23 PM) what is the standard number for annual leaves in SG, for a corporation...and also medical leaves? Thanks By MOM regulation, minimum Annual leave must be 7 days per year and increase by 1 every year (could be more and it's depend on company's leave policy, my company are 14 days) and Sick leave are 14 days per year (also Hospitalization are 60 days per year). Just my 2 cents, those Company with only 7 days per year should be avoid. Stingy on the leave, you can't ask more for basic pay and bonus though. QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 9 2012, 03:50 AM) why would there be a cap on medical leaves that you could take per year ? This post has been edited by almeizer: Dec 11 2012, 12:18 AM
RazerDeathAdder
Dec 11 2012, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(Redondo04 @ Dec 10 2012, 11:43 PM) Singp room rental is super expensive....i got shock!! Pls recommend which area got cheaper house or room for rent? I work near Bartley MRT station. I don wan to spend most of my salary on rental...wish to do more saving. How much is the rent?
tailtwist
Dec 11 2012, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(Redondo04 @ Dec 10 2012, 11:43 PM) Singp room rental is super expensive....i got shock!! Pls recommend which area got cheaper house or room for rent? I work near Bartley MRT station. I don wan to spend most of my salary on rental...wish to do more saving. SG room rental rates are still around SGD500++ for a common room 1 to a room....if you want to pay lesser you can try a twin sharing....maybe each person will need to pay around SGD300++? Also it depends on the location, location, location