Aug 8 2014, 01:19 AM
74 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
hey guys, looking for a 2.0 stereo set with decent bass drivers for music listening. Budget less than 600.
Using it for 80% music, 20% gaming. Hope the size is not too big to fit on my tiny desk. Why 2.0 you ask? Well I have a particular distaste for terrible crossovers between the satellites and the woofer unit, which results in a muddy and wheasing bass response. |
Aug 8 2014, 04:24 AM
18,182 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Dagobah |
QUOTE(mohdkhairi91 @ Aug 7 2014, 11:46 PM) Hello guys recommend me speaker under rm500 If not mistaken, that Logitech Z623 retail price is more than RM500... Usage 60% game 40% music Prefer to have good bass. Was eyeing logi z623 QUOTE(shinnasuka @ Aug 8 2014, 01:19 AM) hey guys, looking for a 2.0 stereo set with decent bass drivers for music listening. Budget less than 600. If around less than RM600 and primarily for music usage, then I would suggest Edifier Studio 7 (a.k.a Edifier R2700) though they are quite big speakers (not sure how much space is on your "tiny desk"). And if space is a problem then you may want to consider Edifier R1600T... Using it for 80% music, 20% gaming. Hope the size is not too big to fit on my tiny desk. Why 2.0 you ask? Well I have a particular distaste for terrible crossovers between the satellites and the woofer unit, which results in a muddy and wheasing bass response. |
Aug 9 2014, 02:54 AM
74 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(lex @ Aug 8 2014, 04:24 AM) If not mistaken, that Logitech Z623 retail price is more than RM500... The R1600T seems nice. I've tried it at lowyat earlier this week and I was impressed by the quality for that price tag. Though I find the bass kind of muddy. Not sure if its because of the audio source problem or what (the shop was blasting Justin biebers again and again). When I turned down the bass a bit, the mids and highs sounds quite balanced. I might really consider this unit.If around less than RM600 and primarily for music usage, then I would suggest Edifier Studio 7 (a.k.a Edifier R2700) though they are quite big speakers (not sure how much space is on your "tiny desk"). And if space is a problem then you may want to consider Edifier R1600T... I also came across CREATIVE GIGAWORKS T40 on the net. Not sure if those are good or shud I just go with monitor units? This post has been edited by shinnasuka: Aug 9 2014, 02:55 AM |
Aug 9 2014, 04:17 AM
37 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: ampang |
[quote=lex,Aug 8 2014, 04:24 AM]
If not mistaken, that Logitech Z623 retail price is more than RM500... Theres one seller in lyn selling under 500 brand new. I think im gonna get this speaker but alot sifus say the speaker is nothing but bass. Is there any other alternatives beside this speaker with atleast above average boom bass sound? |
Aug 9 2014, 06:55 AM
QUOTE(shinnasuka @ Aug 9 2014, 02:54 AM) The R1600T seems nice. I've tried it at lowyat earlier this week and I was impressed by the quality for that price tag. Though I find the bass kind of muddy. Not sure if its because of the audio source problem or what (the shop was blasting Justin biebers again and again). When I turned down the bass a bit, the mids and highs sounds quite balanced. I might really consider this unit. As for that Edifier R1600T III, despite its small size it does have quite plentiful bass and can be overwhelming at times. Thus have to watch the bass dial. Being designed for music and as a studio monitor, means the it performs best when the equalization is flat (bass and treble almost at center). Here is a simple review: Tech-Critter: Quick Review: Edifier Studio R1600T III 2.0 Speaker System. It should perform rather similarly to its slightly higher end counterpart: Edifier R1800T III (which looks very similar and also has 4-inch woofers, though may not be available here in Malaysia). From this review: iXBT.com > Acoustic Roundup 2013: Edifier R1800TIII, Genius SP-HF2020 and Microlab Solo 1 (use Google Translate to read), the Edifier edges out all speakers tested... QUOTE(shinnasuka @ Aug 9 2014, 02:54 AM) I also came across CREATIVE GIGAWORKS T40 on the net. Not sure if those are good or shud I just go with monitor units? Well, the decision is still yours. As always, try auditioning/testing the speakers first (to see if it suits your listening preferences) before deciding... QUOTE(mohdkhairi91 @ Aug 9 2014, 04:17 AM) Theres one seller in lyn selling under 500 brand new. I think im gonna get this speaker but alot sifus say the speaker is nothing but bass. Is there any other alternatives beside this speaker with atleast above average boom bass sound? Unfortunately ye' good old Altec Lansing MX5021 and Altec Lansing FX6021 which has a good balance between booming and thumping bass are no longer available (EOL'ed). For a bit higher than RM500 (but below RM600), you may want to look at Edifier Studio 7 (a.k.a Edifier R2700). For lower than RM500, check this speaker review here: Hardware.Info United Kingdom: 9 computer speakers tested: with or without subwoofer? - Conclusion quotes... QUOTE The Edifier Studio 6 Plus isn't for every PC desktop, but it certainly provides outstanding sound quality. The short cable and impractical connector is enough of a gripe that we don't give it the Gold Award, but Edifier certainly earned the Silver Award. Logitech walks away with the same honors for the Z553. The unique design won't appeal to everyone, but it performs very well for its price class, and we maybe even prefer it over the more expensive Z623. Already that Edifier Studio 6 Plus (a.k.a Edifier R2600) along with Logitech Z553 has been chosen above Logitech Z623. Well, that Edifier Studio 6 Plus speaker is under RM500. Another odd candidate would be Edifier M3300SF which has rather tight bass (thumper type). The best would be to audition/test the speakers first (to see which one suits your listening preferences) before deciding.. This post has been edited by lex: Aug 9 2014, 07:21 AM |
Aug 9 2014, 09:51 AM
85 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
hello, should i get S530D / DA5000 pro / S730D . I want to use for listening to music and games. thank you in advance
how about comparing harman kardon soundsticks 3 / DA5000 pro / harman kardon Aura |
Aug 9 2014, 12:33 PM
136 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
QUOTE(lex @ Aug 5 2014, 02:55 AM) If primarily for music then at the lower end of the budget scale you may want to take a look at Edifier Studio 8 (a.k.a Edifier R2800, our local forum review here: Special Interest -> Home Entertainment -> Audiophiles -> Edifier R2800 Review (MASSIVE)(PICS), Reasonable priced Studio Speakers Hahah. My room cant put 5.1 system XD... Only got a small table, behind me is about 1.2m to my bed. If all the 5.1 satellites all put at the front, it defeats the purpose is it?Btw, I think I saw someone mentioning X-LS Encore pairing with Topping 60? So means I no longer required to purchase a soundcard, or I still need to? Possible to fix micro/mini Hi Fi system on pc or have anyone ever do that? Im not sure the other time I tried the demo for R2800 or R2700 at Harvey Norman, the sound quality wasnt so nice for me. Perhaps not enough burn in time? This post has been edited by AuraSapphire: Aug 9 2014, 12:34 PM |
Aug 9 2014, 01:38 PM
37 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: ampang |
QUOTE(lex @ Aug 9 2014, 06:55 AM) Unfortunately ye' good old Altec Lansing MX5021 and Altec Lansing FX6021 which has a good balance between booming and thumping bass are no longer available (EOL'ed). For a bit higher than RM500 (but below RM600), you may want to look at Edifier Studio 7 (a.k.a Edifier R2700). For lower than RM500, check this speaker review here: Hardware.Info United Kingdom: 9 computer speakers tested: with or without subwoofer? - Conclusion quotes... thnk you very muchhh gonna check those out! |
Aug 10 2014, 12:02 AM
13,187 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(lex @ Aug 9 2014, 06:55 AM) Unfortunately ye' good old Altec Lansing MX5021 and Altec Lansing FX6021 which has a good balance between booming and thumping bass are no longer available (EOL'ed). old altec i miss them a lot QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Aug 9 2014, 12:33 PM) Hahah. My room cant put 5.1 system XD... Only got a small table, behind me is about 1.2m to my bed. If all the 5.1 satellites all put at the front, it defeats the purpose is it? topping is power amplifier only. u need at least an onboard sound card to give sound.Btw, I think I saw someone mentioning X-LS Encore pairing with Topping 60? So means I no longer required to purchase a soundcard, or I still need to? Possible to fix micro/mini Hi Fi system on pc or have anyone ever do that? Im not sure the other time I tried the demo for R2800 or R2700 at Harvey Norman, the sound quality wasnt so nice for me. Perhaps not enough burn in time? micro hifi set can be connected to pc using aux input or other connections big speaker like r27/28 require its own space to perform. i doubt if any shopping centre has proper audition area... there are more like "test-ok" area |
Aug 11 2014, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(Raimi0808 @ Aug 9 2014, 09:51 AM) hello, should i get S530D / DA5000 pro / S730D . I want to use for listening to music and games. thank you in advance That would be DA5000 Pro. Also S730D would be a good candidate as well. As always, try auditioning/testing those speakers to see which one suits your listening preferences... QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Aug 9 2014, 12:33 PM) Hahah. My room cant put 5.1 system XD... Only got a small table, behind me is about 1.2m to my bed. If all the 5.1 satellites all put at the front, it defeats the purpose is it? Aye, the surround speakers should be at the back/rear (anywhere behind the table, can be as far as the wall) while the center speaker should be right at the center/middle of course... QUOTE(Raimi0808 @ Aug 9 2014, 09:51 AM) Btw, I think I saw someone mentioning X-LS Encore pairing with Topping 60? So means I no longer required to purchase a soundcard, or I still need to? Possible to fix micro/mini Hi Fi system on pc or have anyone ever do that? Yes, you can connect your computer and/or music player to a micro/mini-Hifi system provided it has audio inputs (usually analogue and/or digital connection)... QUOTE(Raimi0808 @ Aug 9 2014, 09:51 AM) Im not sure the other time I tried the demo for R2800 or R2700 at Harvey Norman, the sound quality wasnt so nice for me. Perhaps not enough burn in time? Could be the environment (if there are other speakers blasting then affects the overall sound), the music source/device (usually portable players and mobile phones have weak outputs), music quality (such as low bitrate MP3 file), and/or bad audio cables. Also perhaps you prefer "bright" speakers (have high trebles)... |
Aug 11 2014, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(lex @ Aug 11 2014, 03:16 PM) That would be DA5000 Pro. Also S730D would be a good candidate as well. As always, try auditioning/testing those speakers to see which one suits your listening preferences... Perhaps, the R2700/2800 is slightly bassy to me. When I tried the same song on the Logitech Z623, its sounded much better to me. If I want to listen to what the song/music without adjusting any treble or bass, what should I be looking for?Aye, the surround speakers should be at the back/rear (anywhere behind the table, can be as far as the wall) while the center speaker should be right at the center/middle of course... Yes, you can connect your computer and/or music player to a micro/mini-Hifi system provided it has audio inputs (usually analogue and/or digital connection)... Could be the environment (if there are other speakers blasting then affects the overall sound), the music source/device (usually portable players and mobile phones have weak outputs), music quality (such as low bitrate MP3 file), and/or bad audio cables. Also perhaps you prefer "bright" speakers (have high trebles)... Is there any accurate/proper reading materials for fundamentals of audio or something that you can share with me? I read a few articles, all seems too technical for me @@''. Dont quite get it . This post has been edited by AuraSapphire: Aug 11 2014, 10:23 PM |
Aug 12 2014, 12:37 AM
21 posts Joined: Jun 2014 |
use more on gaming(dota 2) and listen music (trance).
Budget around 5xx. any suggestion for me. i got a long table for the space. thanksss |
Aug 12 2014, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(Raimi0808 @ Aug 11 2014, 03:38 PM) sound stick 3 is ok for nearfield usage.da5000 i dunno. since it is recommended by lex, can be good. aura is totally out becos u got 2 ears QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Aug 11 2014, 10:21 PM) Perhaps, the R2700/2800 is slightly bassy to me. When I tried the same song on the Logitech Z623, its sounded much better to me. If I want to listen to what the song/music without adjusting any treble or bass, what should I be looking for? z623 has crossover "hole" when u put the subwoofer in wrong location /phase, energy are wasted to another space. thats why u get the oohm beats without muddy bass.Is there any accurate/proper reading materials for fundamentals of audio or something that you can share with me? I read a few articles, all seems too technical for me @@''. Dont quite get it . u can walk around the listening area, sure got a spot suddenly all the bassy note kick back r27/28 dont have separate sub unit, all sound get in ur face |
Aug 12 2014, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(Raimi0808 @ Aug 11 2014, 03:38 PM) Those Soundsticks can sound a little "thin", while the Aura is pretty much mono (no stereo separation). I would suggest auditioning/testing them and see which one you prefer... QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Aug 11 2014, 10:21 PM) Perhaps, the R2700/2800 is slightly bassy to me. When I tried the same song on the Logitech Z623, its sounded much better to me. If I want to listen to what the song/music without adjusting any treble or bass, what should I be looking for? Bassy? Perhaps the person in the showroom turned the bass dial up to almost full. Otherwise these speakers are very flat sounding (after all these are studio monitors thus considered HiFi quality). As for the Logitech Z623, (if not mistaken) the satellites are using phase plug for high frequency (treble) reproduction. That's a kind of "poor man's tweeter". Thus do not expect greats trebles from such speakers. In contrast, the Edifier R2700 and Edifier R2800 have real tweeters... Is there any accurate/proper reading materials for fundamentals of audio or something that you can share with me? I read a few articles, all seems too technical for me @@''. Dont quite get it . QUOTE(Clumsy_JJ @ Aug 12 2014, 12:37 AM) use more on gaming(dota 2) and listen music (trance). If you're a "bass head" then try looking at Logitech Z623 and perhaps Edifier Studio 7 (a.k.a Edifier R2700). As always, try auditioning/testing those speakers and see which one suits your listening preferences... Budget around 5xx. any suggestion for me. i got a long table for the space. thanksss This post has been edited by lex: Aug 12 2014, 04:47 PM |
Aug 12 2014, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 12 2014, 09:43 AM) z623 has crossover "hole" when u put the subwoofer in wrong location /phase, energy are wasted to another space. thats why u get the oohm beats without muddy bass. I see I see. Thanks for the explanation. u can walk around the listening area, sure got a spot suddenly all the bassy note kick back r27/28 dont have separate sub unit, all sound get in ur face QUOTE(lex @ Aug 12 2014, 04:46 PM) Those Soundsticks can sound a little "thin", while the Aura is pretty much mono (no stereo separation). I would suggest auditioning/testing them and see which one you prefer... too many choices, so little time and all the demo units all so far away from me and I have no car and no sense of direction. hahahahahaBassy? Perhaps the person in the showroom turned the bass dial up to almost full. Otherwise these speakers are very flat sounding (after all these are studio monitors thus considered HiFi quality). As for the Logitech Z623, (if not mistaken) the satellites are using phase plug for high frequency (treble) reproduction. That's a kind of "poor man's tweeter". Thus do not expect greats trebles from such speakers. In contrast, the Edifier R2700 and Edifier R2800 have real tweeters... If you're a "bass head" then try looking at Logitech Z623 and perhaps Edifier Studio 7 (a.k.a Edifier R2700). As always, try auditioning/testing those speakers and see which one suits your listening preferences... |
Aug 13 2014, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Aug 12 2014, 06:16 PM) I see I see. Thanks for the explanation. well, u have to start from buying something to learn more.too many choices, so little time and all the demo units all so far away from me and I have no car and no sense of direction. hahahahaha demo unit may not represent the same effect at home |
Aug 13 2014, 03:53 PM
72 posts Joined: Aug 2014 From: Kolo Lumpo |
hi recommend me a speaker for recording (mastering and mixing audio)
budget 1000 Aune X3 can be use for recording ? This post has been edited by ALOOZA: Aug 13 2014, 03:55 PM |
Aug 13 2014, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Aug 12 2014, 06:16 PM) too many choices, so little time and all the demo units all so far away from me and I have no car and no sense of direction. hahahahaha Actually I have an Edifier Studio 7 on my desk. Still left 3 music genres to test, plus my CD/DVD player broke down recently (possible bad lens) and using computers mostly for playback. From my testing, these speakers love Kpop music (unbelieveable!). Could be the equalization used when mastering that made it shine. Each country seems to have different mastering for their music on audio CDs... ![]() That's an old picture, the desk today looks more messy with more speakers around it (including Corsair SP2500, Aiwa SX-N990, etc)... QUOTE(ALOOZA @ Aug 13 2014, 03:53 PM) hi recommend me a speaker for recording (mastering and mixing audio) For mastering audio recordings, usually you have to look for studio monitors such as that Edifier Studio 7 (a.k.a Edifier R2700) shown earlier. Looking at your budget, you may want to consider Edifier Studio 8 (a.k.a Edifier R2800) which is a step up (and they are massive speakers as well)... budget 1000 QUOTE(ALOOZA @ Aug 13 2014, 03:53 PM) Those are kinda small, plus they are one way passive speakers (single driver per channel) only. Thus not sure how well they sound, but do not expect great trebles (especially) nor nice bass from them (since it uses a single full range driver only). You will need an audio power amplifier as well... This post has been edited by lex: Aug 13 2014, 04:15 PM |
Aug 13 2014, 04:17 PM
72 posts Joined: Aug 2014 From: Kolo Lumpo |
QUOTE(lex @ Aug 13 2014, 04:13 PM) For mastering audio recordings, usually you have to look for studio monitors such as that Edifier Studio 7 (a.k.a Edifier R2700) shown earlier. Looking at your budget, you may want to consider Edifier Studio 8 (a.k.a Edifier R2800) which is a step up (and they are massive speakers as well)... perghhhhhh. sooooo bigggggg. i need small one. i dont have much space. like krk rokit 5QUOTE(lex @ Aug 13 2014, 04:13 PM) Those are kinda small, plus they are one way passive speakers (single driver per channel) only. Thus not sure how well they sound, but do not expect great trebles (esepcially) nor nice bass from them (since it uses a single full range driver only). You will need an audio power amplifier as well... an audio interface is consider an audio power amp ahhh? |
| Change to: | 0.0317sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:25 PM |