Singapore REITS, S-REITS

TSprophetjul
post Oct 30 2021, 10:08 AM

12,269 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 30 2021, 10:03 AM)
If everyone argue like that then LHDN would have collected nothing tongue.gif SG and HK certainly single-tiered taxing. Not so sure about US.
i think the issue is the double taxation treaty thing.
If SG companies have already applied the single tier and the Msian shareholder gets taxed again in Msia, it will contravene the double taxation treaty.
Whereas US and Msia has no such treaty.
dwRK
post Oct 30 2021, 10:11 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 30 2021, 09:53 AM)
Since the payor company is determinative, we should not have to pay?  Deemed to have paid at company level as in single tier thing?
the payor company is used in conjunction with tax treaties

you may need to pay top-up tax
dwRK
post Oct 30 2021, 10:35 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 30 2021, 10:03 AM)
If everyone argue like that then LHDN would have collected nothing tongue.gif SG and HK certainly single-tiered taxing. Not so sure about US.
i think all countries its progressive for tax residents... and flat rate for non-residents

dwRK
post Oct 30 2021, 10:47 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Oct 30 2021, 08:58 AM)
If the dividend (derived from Stock Exchanges not in Malaysia) is credited into our banking accounts in Singapore or any other foreign country, income tax should not be imposed upon our dividend, right?
QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 30 2021, 09:01 AM)
What about if it goes to SG bank account, then you move that dividend into Malaysia say via CIMB SG/Maybank SG to say CIMB MY?

If LHDN/IRB wants to argue, you transfer it to Malaysia, so you receive it in Malaysia in the end. Sound plausible?
depends how IRB writes the law... dunno yet... if taxed when given or taxed when repatriated/remitted...

most of IRB's other regulations has move from repatriated to when given

since this is "new" to ppl... maybe they a bit generous in this transition period and only taxed when repatriated

edit: just wanna say tax at source/when given makes life easier for ppl in reducing paperwork/records keeping etc. also when you progress and naik pangkat get higher pay... you would have paid less taxes when your bracket is 18% vs 26%...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 30 2021, 11:04 AM
TSprophetjul
post Oct 30 2021, 11:26 AM

12,269 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 30 2021, 10:11 AM)
the payor company is used in conjunction with tax treaties

you may need to pay top-up tax
Meaning if the company paid 25% tax for you, and your tax bracket is 15%, the LHDN pays you the extra 10% over payment? tongue.gif
Vector88
post Oct 30 2021, 11:46 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 30 2021, 11:26 AM)
Meaning if the company paid 25% tax for you, and your tax bracket is 15%, the LHDN pays you the extra 10% over payment?   tongue.gif
SG Reit is tax exempt right ?

This post has been edited by Vector88: Oct 30 2021, 11:47 AM
TSprophetjul
post Oct 30 2021, 11:48 AM

12,269 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Oct 30 2021, 11:46 AM)
SG Reit is tax free right ?
. Reit dividends are free of corporate taxes. But now the problem for us Msian investors, is that it may be deemed income from overseas.

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Oct 30 2021, 11:49 AM
dwRK
post Oct 30 2021, 03:23 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 30 2021, 11:26 AM)
Meaning if the company paid 25% tax for you, and your tax bracket is 15%, the LHDN pays you the extra 10% over payment?  tongue.gif
if is local company div... correct smile.gif

SUSTOS
post Oct 30 2021, 04:04 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/delo...crease-tax-bill
mikhailcbh
post Oct 31 2021, 09:37 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 30 2021, 11:48 AM)
. Reit dividends are free of corporate taxes. But now the problem for us Msian investors, is that it may be deemed income from overseas.
My humble opinion, reits are all tax feee in malaysia and sg if distribute 90% of income. But Malaysia impose 10% withholding. Most likely we kena this, if gomen has the compunction of being fair
TSprophetjul
post Oct 31 2021, 09:40 AM

12,269 posts

QUOTE(mikhailcbh @ Oct 31 2021, 09:37 AM)
My humble opinion, reits are all tax feee in malaysia and sg if distribute 90% of income. But Malaysia impose 10% withholding. Most likely we kena this, if gomen has the compunction of being fair
You have described company tax. However, the proposed tax law appears to suggest personal income from foreign sources.
SUSTOS
post Oct 31 2021, 05:50 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.pwc.com/my/en/publications/taxa...tion-part1.html

Removal of tax exemption of foreign income - foreign-sourced income of Malaysian tax residents is taxed upon remittance into Malaysia.

https://www.ey.com/en_my/news/2021/10/budget-2022-comments

https://www.pwc.com/my/en/assets/publicatio...-2022-Part1.pdf

tadashi987
post Oct 31 2021, 11:12 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 31 2021, 05:50 PM)
so far I have never transmitted back to Msia, having said the details are yet to be finalized or provided.

Seriously I am really sceptical about how they are gonna manage this.
Imagine I invested long term in S-Reits, realized gain and reinvest countless times, in between I might remit some of my SGD back to MYR
1) how they are gonna know that this SGD is my gain from S-Reits, how does the accounting work? who gonna calculate how much tax to pay? shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by tadashi987: Oct 31 2021, 11:17 PM
SUSTOS
post Oct 31 2021, 11:43 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Oct 31 2021, 11:12 PM)
so far I have never transmitted back to Msia, having said the details are yet to be finalized or provided.

Imagine I invested long term in S-Reits, realized gain and reinvest countless times, in between I might remit some of my SGD back to MYR
1) how they are gonna know that this SGD is my gain from S-Reits, how does the accounting work? who gonna calculate how much tax to pay? shakehead.gif
Ya now it falls onto us tax residents to keep track of every single transaction of SGD in/out of our bank account. Lots of labour work required and can be especially demanding for those who are not disciplined enough.
Ramjade
post Oct 31 2021, 11:48 PM

24,378 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Oct 31 2021, 11:12 PM)

Er, isn't it obvious, it is up to us to declare, pay and fill for refund and keep the records. They want our money but refuse to do the heavy lifting. I am so gonna vote opposition in this coming election. I never voted. But ranting.gif ranting.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 31 2021, 11:50 PM
SUSTOS
post Nov 1 2021, 08:20 AM

8,667 posts

Elite Commercial: https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...e6fcccdbcd26c66

CE REIT's acquisition of logistics property in Italy: https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...3d39a926969b0b3

ART's acquisition of student accommodation property in IL, US: https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...2afc7f25ef7acab

ESR REIT's business update video: https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...3eb990f6cc71383
TSprophetjul
post Nov 1 2021, 08:58 AM

12,269 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 1 2021, 08:20 AM)
O YEAH!!!! MOre taxes to pay! laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Nov 2 2021, 08:03 PM

8,667 posts

OUE Commercial REIT 3Q business updates.

https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...a9c894e5879b0ea
SUSTOS
post Nov 3 2021, 08:22 AM

8,667 posts

A bunch of results and business updates out today:

MUST: https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/Manulife%20U...t&FileID=689359

Capitaland Investment: https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/CLI%203Q%202...t&FileID=689344
tehoice
post Nov 3 2021, 09:58 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 31 2021, 05:50 PM)
just to clarify, i see the top header, is it talking about corporate tax only?

tax at personal level like us is not affected/under the purview of this?

689 Pages « < 571 572 573 574 575 > » Top

0.0434sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:27 PM