Singapore REITS, S-REITS

TSprophetjul
post Nov 3 2021, 10:18 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 3 2021, 09:58 AM)
just to clarify, i see the top header, is it talking about corporate tax only?

tax at personal level like us is not affected/under the purview of this?
AS i read it, CURRENTLY individuals are not subjected to tax on foreign derived income.
However, the gov will amend the tax laws to enable tax to be collected from corporations and individuals.
ShinG3e
post Nov 3 2021, 10:23 AM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 3 2021, 10:18 AM)
AS i read it, CURRENTLY individuals are not subjected to tax on foreign derived income.
However, the gov will amend the tax laws to enable tax to be collected from corporations and individuals.
corporations? based in SG but owned by msia? hmm.gif
TSprophetjul
post Nov 3 2021, 10:26 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Nov 3 2021, 10:23 AM)
corporations? based in SG but owned by msia? hmm.gif
NOOOOOOOOOOO......Corporations as tax residence in Malaysia.
ShinG3e
post Nov 3 2021, 10:33 AM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 3 2021, 10:26 AM)
NOOOOOOOOOOO......Corporations as tax residence in Malaysia.
Oh hehe okay. I’m not affected then. brows.gif
TSprophetjul
post Nov 3 2021, 10:37 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Nov 3 2021, 10:33 AM)
Oh hehe okay. I’m not affected then. brows.gif
UNofrtunately i will be. As i remit my dividends back to Malaysia. sad.gif Probably looking at 10 to 15% haircut.
Will have to relook at my investment strategies.
ShinG3e
post Nov 3 2021, 10:38 AM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 3 2021, 10:37 AM)
UNofrtunately i will be. As i remit my dividends back to Malaysia.  sad.gif  Probably looking at 10 to 15% haircut.
Why wanna remit back. Just get a CC that linked to sg bank acc then swipe it.
tehoice
post Nov 3 2021, 10:39 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 3 2021, 10:37 AM)
UNofrtunately i will be. As i remit my dividends back to Malaysia.  sad.gif  Probably looking at 10 to 15% haircut.
derail a bit from the topic.

our gomen is getting more and more desperate, keep wanting to take more of your money and distribute it to the poor (to control them).
TSprophetjul
post Nov 3 2021, 10:40 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Nov 3 2021, 10:38 AM)
Why wanna remit back. Just get a CC that linked to sg bank acc then swipe it.
Thanks for the idea. Maybe i will finally have to open an bank and brokerage account in SG.
TSprophetjul
post Nov 3 2021, 10:41 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 3 2021, 10:39 AM)
derail a bit from the topic.

our gomen is getting more and more desperate, keep wanting to take more of your money and distribute it to the poor (to control them).
No. I think if we invest in SREITs, this tax law amendment will affect some of us. Good discussion.
ShinG3e
post Nov 3 2021, 10:42 AM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 3 2021, 10:40 AM)
Thanks for the idea. Maybe i will finally have to open an bank and brokerage account in SG.
Dividends is cleared in sg already no? Still need to pay tax as dividend is tax exempted?
TSprophetjul
post Nov 3 2021, 10:45 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Nov 3 2021, 10:42 AM)
Dividends is cleared in sg already no? Still need to pay tax as dividend is tax exempted?
See the problem is remitting back to Malaysia. That is when we have to declare this income and therefore it becomes taxable.
SUSTOS
post Nov 3 2021, 11:12 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 3 2021, 10:40 AM)
Which brokers are you with now? You didn't use IB all the while?
TSprophetjul
post Nov 3 2021, 11:23 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 3 2021, 11:12 AM)
Which brokers are you with now? You didn't use IB all the while?
No. I did not use IB. I use local broker. Kenanga Inv Bank.
Reason: I am old man. There is the matter of probate in case i leave. laugh.gif
Easier if i maintain a Malaysian broker.
SUSTOS
post Nov 3 2021, 11:29 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 3 2021, 11:23 AM)
Reason: I am old man. There is the matter of probate in case i leave.  laugh.gif 
So your brokerage fees are higher then?
TSprophetjul
post Nov 3 2021, 11:40 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 3 2021, 11:29 AM)
So your brokerage fees are higher then?
Definitely higher than IB. Brokerage fees are 0.3 to 0.4%
But they dont charge any trustee fees.
mytrader
post Nov 3 2021, 12:04 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 3 2021, 11:23 AM)
Reason: I am old man. There is the matter of probate in case i leave.  laugh.gif 
You could explore Tiger brokers in SG + CIMB SG bank account . All can be open remotely/online . Would be a better to keep an option to retain the div. in SG and re-invest with it.
SUSTOS
post Nov 3 2021, 12:10 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(mytrader @ Nov 3 2021, 12:04 PM)
You could explore Tiger brokers in SG + CIMB SG bank account . All can be open remotely/online . Would be a better to keep an option to retain the div. in SG and re-invest with it.
He is afraid of probate issues that's why he keep his assets under his name from a local broker, to simplify things.
TSprophetjul
post Nov 3 2021, 12:51 PM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(mytrader @ Nov 3 2021, 12:04 PM)
Thanks Mate. I will look into this option. thumbup.gif
SUSTOS
post Nov 3 2021, 05:57 PM

8,667 posts

Ara US Hospitality: https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...d13c7643f143b1b

Netlink NBN: https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...d84f65b321b0342

Prime US: https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...36421def5847d92

Also, ESR's acquisition of Ara has been approved in the EGM https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/202111_01%20...t&FileID=689381
SUSTOS
post Nov 3 2021, 11:17 PM

8,667 posts

Parkway LIFE is unusually late this time, result out at 10 p.m., usually she reports early in the morning.

https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...abaaabf55d5bdae

She is the BEST REIT out there, gearing only 34.7%, WALE almost 20 years, cost of debt 0.53% p.a., interest coverage 22 times... No wonder the unusually low dividend yield. Well justified, lucky to buy her at pandemic low. Sitting at at 40ish% paper gain.

She proves one thing. Big is not always the best. biggrin.gif

Cromwell European REIT update: https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...1535f67497f0426

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 3 2021, 11:27 PM

689 Pages « < 572 573 574 575 576 > » Top

0.0935sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:39 AM