100 posts

closed.

This post has been edited by jlim87: Feb 5 2013, 04:35 PM
chiahau
post Sep 8 2012, 02:14 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

From you long writings, i can decipher that you have a slightly higher intellect than some people here.

Keep it up.

And good luck with the forever aloneness. It will heal with time, i hope.
Strawberry<3
post Sep 8 2012, 02:35 PM

Trusted and Best Seller
1,763 posts

Long story and I'm sorry that i didn't read all but just jump jump and if i'm not wrong.. the conclusion is you still haven't found the right guy and wonder will he even exist.

As for me.. I also wonder will I be able to find the right guy but I didn't really stress or care about it much .. I will continue waiting for the right person without questioning will he exist.

If this life i cannot find the right guy then I rather be alone. I don't want to be with someone I don't love or someone I don't feel right.

I'm not afraid to be alone or single forever .. I can takecare of myself and I know I can live without men , So yea If that guy really not exist then who cares...
chiahau
post Sep 8 2012, 03:31 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

I like what you say there Strawberry smile.gif

Nothing is better than an independent women smile.gif

Cheers XD
SereneAshley
post Sep 8 2012, 03:31 PM

95 posts

Lol i admit that i didnt read everything. Your rant is just....making me zzz a bit...

But i will tell u something. You.are.just.24. For gods sakes. If that is not young i don't know what is. The tone where you're writing in is so very gloomy like you won't have a chance at life anymore.

Your biological clock??? Again, you're 24. Or are u hinting that men will not think you're attractive anymore when you hit the mid twenties?

Oh wait, in the last paragraph you said you get butterflies when you talk to attractive women? I'm going to assume thats just a typo.

TSjlim87
post Sep 8 2012, 03:51 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 8 2012, 02:14 PM)
From you long writings, i can decipher that you have a slightly higher intellect than some people here.

Keep it up.

And good luck with the forever aloneness. It will heal with time, i hope.
Thanks for your kind words :-)

QUOTE(Strawberry<3 @ Sep 8 2012, 02:35 PM)
Long story and I'm sorry that i didn't read all but just jump jump and if i'm not wrong.. the conclusion is you still haven't found the right guy and wonder will he even exist.

As for me.. I also wonder will I be able to find the right guy but I didn't really stress or care about it much .. I will continue waiting for the right person without questioning will he exist.

If this life i cannot find the right guy then I rather be alone. I don't want to be with someone I don't love or someone I don't feel right.

I'm not afraid to be alone or single forever .. I can takecare of myself and I know I can live without men , So yea If that guy really not exist then who cares...
I tend to be long winded. Heh. No worries, not everyone likes reading long walls of text. sweat.gif Well yeah, not just haven't, but actually not sure what I'm doing wrong, seeing that I think that my requirements are simple and little. At the very most basic, he's gotta be smart and intelligent because that's essentially what I place the higest priority on. Smart and intelligent doesn't mean gets straight As. It means being able to think logically, rationally and deeply about things, to be able to extrapolate quickly, possess common sense and generally know how to survive life, lah. Of course, this requires the ability to converse well in English, something I know is not very common in Msia.

I question if he exists cos, well, like I said, perhaps I'm not quite rational yet. I'm still nursing sore feelings of rejection from someone whose worth I can't make my mind up on. Part of me wants to blast him for his faults but then that'd be unfair because I allowed myself to be taken in by his virtues and forced myself to overlook his other flaws.

It's not so much about living without men cos we all can do that. It's just that maybe this is my way of trying to deal with the rejection, to find something else to replace that temporary saudade. Sometimes I ask, do I really want to wait for the right person? While this guy wasn't exactly totally Mr. Right (obviously), he did fulfill a majority of my needs. To have those needs fulfilled is a wonderful, beautiful feeling. As a human, of course I want to chase nice feelings what.

QUOTE(SereneAshley @ Sep 8 2012, 03:31 PM)
Lol i admit that i didnt read everything. Your rant is just....making me zzz a bit...

But i will tell u something. You.are.just.24. For gods sakes. If that is not young i don't know what is. The tone where you're writing in is so very gloomy like you won't have a chance at life anymore.

Your biological clock??? Again, you're 24. Or are u hinting that men will not think you're attractive anymore when you hit the mid twenties?

Oh wait, in the last paragraph you said you get butterflies when you talk to attractive women? I'm going to assume thats just a typo.
24 is rather old, methinks, considering I take a long time to get to know people. Yeah, I tend to get rather pessimistic, but then again, this was written a day ago, when my melancholy was stronger. Yeah, 24 is somewhere in the middle of a woman's prime fertility period. Not that I want to get married la (or god forbid, have kids), but it would mean I'm generally more attractive at this period of time than later (obviously). I won't turn the chance down for marriage if it's really suitable and I can see myself in a long term partnership with someone who can be right for me. I don't want to turn 30 without a proper long term relationship under my belt and then face more problems finding a man because by then i'd probably be too old to be considered eligible. If that happens then forever alone with my 3 kucing liao.

No, it's not a typo. I'm also gay. I mean, I don't get that feeling when I talk to guys and I really, really like women but for certain reasons such as family and religion, i cannot be with a woman. therefore i dont even bother pursuing it. i just admire them from afar. yes, I know this complicates things. but i think what's important is that i can connect with a man on that special intellectual level, never mind my preference for sex with women. sexuality is rather fluid for women anyway.

This post has been edited by jlim87: Sep 11 2012, 11:24 PM
Cat_Kaur
post Sep 8 2012, 04:58 PM

i understand ur situation, i really do. Actually there is no such thing as 'the one',or Mr. Right. No, u dont need to try every guy that come into ur life to see whether he is 'the one'. Women have this instinct that can tell whether something is going right or wrong. so use it! Im often trap whether to use my brain or instinct, what i do now is just follow my guts.

ur still young, 24 is no where near expiry date. ignore those typical judgmental people who keep bugging u asking when do u want to settle down. this is ur life, not theirs. Don't just jump to any guy bcoz of the pressure. it might harm u,in the end. mean while, enjoy ur life, do things u always want to do, just dont force urself to find a guy.

TSjlim87
post Sep 8 2012, 05:13 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Cat_Kaur @ Sep 8 2012, 04:58 PM)
i understand ur situation, i really do. Actually there is no such thing as 'the one',or Mr. Right. No, u dont need to try every guy that come into ur life to see whether he is 'the one'. Women have this instinct that can tell whether something is going right or wrong. so use it! Im often trap whether to use my brain or instinct, what i do now is just follow my guts. 

ur still young, 24 is no where near expiry date. ignore those typical judgmental people who keep bugging u asking when do u want to settle down. this is ur life, not theirs. Don't just jump to any guy bcoz of the pressure. it might harm u,in the end. mean while, enjoy ur life, do things u always want to do, just dont force urself to find a guy.
thanks, cat_kaur for sharing your insights. well idk about there not being mr. right la, but it would be nice if i can find someone with whom i can achieve great things with... in the long run. helping each other to become better human beings in this journey we call life. the shitty thing was that from the beginning my instinct was telling me no no no no no. this will not go well. don't open your mind too much. tbh, we started out sexting due to the fact that we both loved boobs. it was very weird, and i should have really stopped, but sigh, romantic side of me wanted to explore. how silly. i'm so used to using my brain and not being sure if my intuition is really my intuition... or just a cautionary voice that i get burnt sometimes. where is the bleeding life manual for interacting with other human beings?!?!?111 why is it so hard to understand people? why can't we all just speak in mathematical terms??

ill try to ignore what people say... but you know, sometimes during cny your relatives will be like 'so got boyfriend anot' and it'll be so bloody annoying because you know they're judging you and all. i mean ya, it's not their life, but it still does have an effect on me. i won't jump on just -any- guy la of course. i mean there are men who are interested but sadly they're all just not up to par in the intelligence department and that is the most basic of requirements which i think im qualified to demand.
Life_House
post Sep 9 2012, 03:53 PM

505 posts

What above forumers said are true.
On additional notes,

People have been living under the male-dominated society for thousands of years and it's not unusual that until today a lot of female are still more or less under that so-called "society-pressure".

But the fact is that, there's really no rule in this world to fix at what age a female should start a romantic relationship, get married, start a family, and stuff.
The above supposingly "general viewpoint of society" are false projection of viewpoints from the ego-based mind onto female.

Every adult female is a unique individual and take responsibility on her own life. In another word, no one else is responsible for the choice of life of a female, which means no one else have the rights to interfere what kind of lifestyle a female choose to live.

In fact the romantic relationship is just a small part of life. There're many more parts in life awaiting us to explore and to contribute or to spread light.
While u're waiting for the right person to come into ur life, maybe u can try to look into those other parts in life that worth even more ur attention so u can do something to make a difference on other people's life..

There are a whole lot more of female who have past their 30s, some past their 40s, and even some past their 50s, but remain single but living a contended life.
Everyone has their own timing to meet with their soul-partner. Some earlier, some later, while some only meet their true soul-mate after a few traumatic relatioships or marriage.

Called it fate, destiny, or whatever. But it's the fact about this "timing" thing.
And it's also largely determined by how u perceive ur ownself, how u perceive ur potential future soul-partner, ur inner emotions that had its roots from ur childhood experience, etc.

There's a book may be could be of great help for u:

<If The Budhha Dated> by Charlotte Kasl. Ph.D.

i got it at kinokuniya last time but it's in chinese translation version. But i think the original english version can still be found in local bookstores.

spunkberry
post Sep 10 2012, 06:30 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

I call bullshit on "I'm not young anymore (I'm 24)". what is f***ing up with girls thinking they're old when they're still in their 20s? You are as old as you want to be and think you are, so if you think you're old then you're 80 years old in my book.

It doesn't sound like you're looking really hard, but I can see that the want is there so I'll just say this: it happens when you least expect it. Quit looking or wanting altogether, and he'll suddenly show up. At some point, you can choke him (after having been together for long term) and ask him where the hell he was earlier tongue.gif
SUSWintersuN
post Sep 10 2012, 11:13 AM

3,173 posts

could it be u r too long winded? (cheog hei)?

Even for forum post write until so long people, I didnt even read finish the first sentence.

Bellelicious
post Sep 10 2012, 11:42 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(jlim87 @ Sep 8 2012, 10:33 AM)
I know that it’s never easy when you want to find something good. It’s almost impossible when you’re too different and it can seem like 99.9% of the immediate available dating population is incompatible with you for myriad reasons- and then when you find that one person whom you think you could actually start a relationship with because he’s totally into the things you are, is on the same wavelength as you and you actually like him for his non-physical qualities, BAM! He doesn’t like you enough to want to be with you, citing a myriad of reasons, such as a very pathetic "my typical chinese parents won't approve of a non-chinese' because he’s such a mummy’s boy like that. Bullshit, I say.

Sure, he’s attracted physically and you have some “innocent” fooling around. Then you start hoping that hey, MAYBE THIS COULD BE BEAUTIFUL BECAUSE WE’RE SO SIMILAR. Despite, you know, the the 1001 signs that he’s just not there. (Or the warnings from your more experienced friends telling you to be careful.) If there’s anything a girl should know and actually memorize until her brain is sore, is that there are signs he’s just NOT into you. Such as he keeps his current life private and feeds you bits of it but not everything, but just enough to keep you wondering, he doesn’t introduce you to his friends when you’re ready to let him meet YOUR friends, he only texts/calls you for something important or when he’s horny or when he's bored, the only time he talks enthusiastically is when it’s about sex or his favourite game, he doesn’t take the effort to get to know you deeply, doesn’t compliment you (not that you’re fishing for it, but come on.), he flirts with you (even though he knows you’re mostly into women) and keeps you in limbo wondering about his intentions, he sends mixed signals and the most important thing: he doesn’t make room for you as a priority in his life.

Does he have other issues? Sure he has. Everyone has issues. Maybe his loved one just died (The one I’m talking about just lost a sibling a couple of months ago). Or maybe he’s still exploring his life. But that still doesn’t mean that if he likes you enough to want to pursue a relationship with you, he won’t make the effort- because honey, a man who does like you enough to want you to be with him, /will/. Yes, even the one whom you think might not have enough self-confidence to tell it to you, or whether he's trying to grieve, especially when you've made it clear that you don't require much. And if, after talking it out and clarifying things such as your small, budding but definitely present feelings for him and telling him that you can see a future together as a couple and he says nay, HE REALLY MEANS NAY. So don’t bother reassuring him that it can work out. Don’t lower yourself, don’t boost his ego when that should be the last thing you should do, especially since he’s only been liking you for your boobs and nothing else, but you were too f***ing stupid to see because you were too caught up in your flighty romantic ideals about attraction and relationships.

And to think that all this while I’ve been espousing the importance of non-physical traits! Some idiots tell me that my expectations are “high”. To make things clear, I have extremely simple needs. Sex, being well endowed down there or rich aren’t part of those needs. In fact, they’re the last thing I’d actually consider.

My needs? A partner who is sufficiently intelligent to /get/ me, is smart, funny, essentially kind, into the things I like (e.g. gaming, metal, deep philosophical conversations, reading), can communicate in the Malaysian/Singaporean patois I communicate in and yet retain/can switch to an above par command of the English language when necessary and lastly, with whom I can actually get along with intellectually and emotionally (when I say emotionally, it means not being an overly emotional crybaby/whiner, which I presume most men can fulfill). Physically, I do have a stronger preference for fair, tall(er) (I’m 5 ft7, or 170 cm) and bigger men. But these physical preferences can be overlooked if he fulfills the other non-physical qualities I need. But that’s about all. I can’t ask for much because I’m not conventionally attractive in the looks department, but I know my worth enough not to make the mistake of ‘making do’ with the men who chat me up in broken English or who make zero effort to want to get to know me. Am I ambitious? Maybe. Am I playing hard to get? No. Hell no. I’d like to think that I have standards. Yes, even to those small-minded superficial babies out there who see a fat girl (US 18/20) and think “Wow, who is she to have standards?”. To the lot of you, f*** you. The world is bigger than your oyster. I have standards and they’re not conventional standards everyone else subscribes to. Am I going to compromise on these standards? Not a snowball’s chance in hell.

But anyway.

I would like to think of myself as adequately humourous, even though my humour may be nerdy and what some would consider lame (though I do enjoy puns a great lot), slightly above intelligent (obviously I am no genius, but I frequently bemoan how stupid everyone else is, so that’s gotta count for something), able to comprehend abstract concepts and extrapolate easily, essentially kind and altruistic (although I have little patience for silly little feelings and can be cold-hearted at times, but hey, my heart is in my mind) and generally an overall decent person (with a little naughty bits here and there). Do I have character flaws? Yes. I can be curt/sharp and extremely intolerant of inefficiency and incompetence. Don’t ask me stupid questions/be stupid and I won’t supply you with a brutally snarky repartee. See, this is why I seek out smart/intelligent people because they wouldn't be making such mistakes to begin with. Everyone else is mostly not worth my time. But hey! I am human. I am entitled to my flaws. It is part of what makes me, me.

Am I comfortable with myself? I would say yeah, sorta. Sure, I am not at peace with certain physical flaws of mine, but I’m not exactly doing much to do something about them, so I can’t exactly complain, can I? Complaining is reserved for when you can’t actually do anything about them. Hypocritically, I will admit that I tend to complain a lot, though, (because I was brought up in a rather toxic family environment and it takes time to wean off the conditioning) but I’m learning to catch myself when I do that and then think positively and appreciate what I have. I’m making the effort here.

But then, WHY? Why is it so hard to find that one person; one companion to share some special time with? Back younger when I wasn’t half as groomed as I was, to a certain extent, it could be that people your age mostly judged you for your looks (I mean they still do, but you get my point). So okay, I did a little something about that. Then when someone finds you physically attractive and you end up overlooking his bad traits and jarring physical unattractiveness, he ends up not liking you enough. Like… what? What happened to placing emphasis on the less superficial? Is this a cruel joke, God? Are you burning me for engaging in sinful thoughts?

(LOL no, just kidding. I’m not that religious. Blaming some entity isn’t rational or going to help, anyway, especially when you bring in flimsy notions like ‘sin’ and ‘punishment’.) For me, I personally believe in the simplicity of occam’s razor- if there is a problem and if I keep getting into situations because of that problem, then there is a pattern. If the problem is finding myself attracted in whatever form to men that are essentially unavailable, then the common denominator must be me. What is it that I’m doing wrong? Or what is it that I’m not doing quite right? I’m so used to reading troubleshooting manuals and googling stuff for answers that when it comes to issues of the heart, I am absolutely flummoxed. WAT DO?

//But then again, should I even be questioning whether the problem is me? My friends say no, it's his loss, not mine. Really? Is my propensity for making quick decisions my undoing because I don’t consider all the facts and just extrapolate too quickly? Did I misjudge/misread signals? Am I too ugly? Am I too fat? Do I have too much emotional baggage? Conversely, am I too unemotional and therefore unfeminine? Do I behave too much like a boy? Do I curse and swear too much? Do I play games too much? Do I argue too much? Am I not pretty enough? Do I like girls too much? Is my goldfish too golde- wait, I don’t have a goldfish.//

I don’t know. I’m not young anymore (I'm 24) and I haven’t had a history of meaningful, deep relationships. But I know that life is too short and my biological clock is running out and maybe I want to give romance a try and not doom myself to ForeverAloneness with a house and 3 cats called Albert, Betty and Charlie. And I’m not going to be happy if I start second guessing myself every time (curse you, scumbag overanalyzing brain). As a friend of mine puts it so eloquently and succinctly – I “constipate myself with mental anguish”. Should I continue being this way? No, obviously. It takes time. What should I do differently without losing my identity?

Many friends tell me, just keep waiting and don’t sell yourself out for the half-baked ones. When the right one comes, you’ll know it and will cherish the moment. And then what? Happily ever after? Meh. I think I should put in effort to find that person. He’s not going to fall from the sky for me now, is he? (Although I WILL ADMIT that sometimes I fantasize about The Doctor falling from the sky and coming into my life to whisk me away and take on journey to far away places in his TARDIS. British accent and bowtie and all. It is a nice dream.)

Sigh.

How long should I keep waiting? Why is it everyone else *seems* to have it easier?* Are their standards lesser than mine? Is the sample population possessing their wanted traits higher than mine? Is it a simple issue of probability? Am I looking in the wrong place? Putting in effort means I have to actually go out and socialize in real life, something I am extremely averse to because I do not like talking to people I don’t know and take a long time to warm up to them. Also, everyone I meet isn’t scrutinized on the spot to be a ‘potential partner’. I start out as friends and from them work my way to see if there are qualities in that person I am attracted to and can live with. But it’s turning out to be rather inefficient. Should I just be like everyone else and ‘play the field’ and get to know as many potential partners as possible? I don’t know. Maybe. But I don’t really want to…? It’s just not my style, to begin with. I place far too much importance on getting to know people for what they are and then deciding. I’m not in a rush to fall in love or get into a relationship, but it kindasorta hurts a little when I find someone suitable for that and find out he’s not ready for that and/or he doesn’t see me the same way, despite how much of his bad traits I was willing to put up with. Or am I just being too self-important here? (Also, the fact that I get butterflies in my stomach when attractive women talk to me isn’t helping. But that’s another issue for another day.) OK, ok, I know I’m whining here. So sue me.

I’m just… I don’t know. Confused. Tired. Jaded. A little bitter. Not ready for rational thinking yet. I don’t know how long I’m going to hold out for the “right” person or whether that “right person” will ever exist.
your first 3 paragraph was the situation i am facing in. Wasted 3 years on a guy who are much more interested on boobs and when he is horny or boring he will call me up or maybe text me. And hell, trashing me like i am some slut after that. He is just some retard who is a medical student. Meh.

B@rt
post Sep 10 2012, 11:53 AM

368 posts

All right so I read the whole thing and the reason why you're not able to find enough men who are on the same wave length as you that you can pick and choose is because there aren't many out there (blame the M'sian education system).

Thing is you're looking for guys similar to you on an intellectual and confidence scale, and it's gonna be slim picking because those guys are confident enough to go for the hot chicks and they have the brains to impress said hot chicks into bed with them. Either that or they've been identified straight out of college by a cougar and are quickly domesticated.

In my opinion, you have 5 options.

Option 1
Continue waiting and hope for the best.

Option 2
Join a group dating agency and participate in group dating that you see in the movies where the guys rotate every 10 mins.

Option 3
Give your mother a list of criteria and let her match make you. I know this goes against your beliefs but if you tell her to follow the list stringently the guy can't be too far off.

Option 4
Settle for less. "WHAT!??!!" <-- that's probably what's going through your mind right now. I'm not saying to settle for a construction worker. I'm saying take your expectations down a notch. Sure he's not able to engage in "deep philosophical conversations" with you but there are a lot of good guys out there who can speak their mind and are happy to let the woman wear the pants in the family. So i guess you have to ask yourself the question, am i willing to settle or can I afford to wait?

Option 5
Get with a girl of your liking and adopt a baby. Note, you will need to move overseas in order to do this.

So in conclusion, I am sympathetic to your predicament but sadly this is not new. There are many career women out there who are single because they cannot find a compatible mate and are unwilling to compromise. Do you want to risk joining that demographic?

This post has been edited by B@rt: Sep 10 2012, 11:55 AM
spunkberry
post Sep 10 2012, 10:26 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(B@rt @ Sep 10 2012, 11:53 AM)
All right so I read the whole thing and the reason why you're not able to find enough men who are on the same wave length as you that you can pick and choose is because there aren't many out there (blame the M'sian education system).

Thing is you're looking for guys similar to you on an intellectual and confidence scale, and it's gonna be slim picking because those guys are confident enough to go for the hot chicks and they have the brains to impress said hot chicks into bed with them. Either that or they've been identified straight out of college by a cougar and are quickly domesticated.

In my opinion, you have 5 options.

Option 1
Continue waiting and hope for the best.

Option 2
Join a group dating agency and participate in group dating that you see in the movies where the guys rotate every 10 mins.

Option 3
Give your mother a list of criteria and let her match make you. I know this goes against your beliefs but if you tell her to follow the list stringently the guy can't be too far off.

Option 4
Settle for less. "WHAT!??!!" <-- that's probably what's going through your mind right now. I'm not saying to settle for a construction worker. I'm saying take your expectations down a notch.  Sure he's not able to engage in "deep philosophical conversations" with you but there are a lot of good guys out there who can speak their mind and are happy to let the woman wear the pants in the family.  So i guess you have to ask yourself the question, am i willing to settle or can I afford to wait?

Option 5
Get with a girl of your liking and adopt a baby. Note, you will need to move overseas in order to do this.

So in conclusion, I am sympathetic to your predicament but sadly this is not new.  There are many career women out there who are single because they cannot find a compatible mate and are unwilling to compromise.  Do you want to risk joining that demographic?
you hit the nail on the head.

I've heard of many women who believe that they deserve a perfect man, not realizing that they themselves are not perfect and that perfect does not exist.
mirrortrex
post Sep 10 2012, 10:46 PM

I've actually just been through what you had, regardless being slightly under the age of 20. I was in what they call an "unofficial relationship" or being "friends with benefits", because I had to leave the country soon after studying abroad and there was no guarantee in a long distance relationship. My partner was of different race(a westerner), it didn't matter to me, but needless to say, how things turned out sucked for me. Yes, FOR ME, because I had no idea what the other person was thinking about.

Occasionally we would talk about things like if I hadn't have to leave the country, things would've turned out differently and we would have dated, maybe even lived together. But for countless times I thought about it and questioned myself, "What if I really stayed on?" or "Is that really going to happen if I continue to live here?" or "Does he really like me enough to be with me for long?" Then I stopped having these thoughts when I found out that he's an uncommitted person. Once I asked, "If we dated, how long do you think it will last?" He replied me that it may last around six months or so. I was like, wth? and kept my line below "friends with benefits" without immersing into real feelings with him.

My opinion is, if you have no strings attached, you won't be affected emotionally, and by that way you can search for the one for you. I don't mean that you should fool around until you find the right one(because it doesn't work for most girls), but maybe you can boost up your confidence by just being occasionally flirty with the right people, and just be cotton-light and casual about how relationships work.

The right one doesn't just show up all of a sudden and we all know it. And sometimes it is our duty to peek and see if there are any trigger switches around. smile.gif Just be confident about yourself.(And maybe study a little bit more on how to get the right guy and some dating tips online tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by mirrortrex: Sep 11 2012, 12:01 AM
sparda
post Sep 11 2012, 01:39 PM

244 posts

From a mathematical standpoint, the traits you identify are as such:

Tall
Fair
Big-Sized
Articulate
Good command of English

None of these are unconventional traits - most girls are looking for this too

All these traits do not only narrow down the market segment in which you can look, but they are mostly desirable traits too - a guy having such traits will attract other girls as well. Owing to this, you will have a tougher time finding someone with such traits who is not taken, compared to if you chose other criteria which are less in the line of the general preference of society. E.g. you like tanned guys. Or you like guys who love to eat. Or you like guys who like anime.

This post has been edited by sparda: Sep 11 2012, 01:44 PM
TSjlim87
post Sep 11 2012, 02:56 PM

100 posts

First and foremost, my sincerest thanks to everyone who replied. This was not meant to be a particularly cogent, balanced piece since it was written in the throes of emotional instability and thus rationality was compromised.

Here are my replies proper:
QUOTE(Life_House @ Sep 9 2012, 03:53 PM)
1. I agree. I myself don't particularly agree with it but IDK why I find myself following along. Maybe we asian women need more empowerment to tell society to f*** off instead of fearing we'll end up alone with 3 cats. LOL.
2. This was written right after feeling a flux of negative emotions. Life is without a doubt, definitely so much more than that.
3. Yeah, I'm not too comfortable leaving things to be as they are. I'm not even sure I believe in the concept of 'fate' or as i put it, pre-destination. It would imply that all efforts expended into something would be terribly inefficient and wasted because no matter what, you're gonna end up with event X. I'd rather believe that we have the power to shape our destinies and mould it into what we want.

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Sep 10 2012, 06:30 AM)

LOL. Well actually I was kinda doing fine and happy and was totally enjoying my actual life before he came into the picture. And then things just got far more... interesting so to speak. It's the interesting things that happened that, idk, made life much more fun because it's been a long time since that happened. So perhaps it was my bad for letting myself go along with something that I instinctively knew would end up badly. But you are right, life kinda does throw things at you when you least expect it. But then again if one is looking for something, some effort has to be made into actually heading towards it. Whatever you can't control, then que sera sera.

QUOTE(Bellelicious @ Sep 10 2012, 11:42 AM)
/pats pats
Same shit, different pile, eh? What's important is that we've learnt from this and don't repeat the same damn mistakes again.

QUOTE(B@rt @ Sep 10 2012, 11:53 AM)
Thanks for the long, thought-out(?) reply. However there are some things I have some issues with.

1. Yeah, I am kinda fully aware of the lack of intelligent men around in KL (and that I would probably have way better luck and a bigger pool of potentials overseas). Which is kinda why I was so frustrated, because out of everyone in uni, he's like, what, one of the 3 people i actually know whom I can actually get along with on the same wavelength. It's so hard already finding FRIENDS on the same wavelength and into the same activities as you. So, yeah.

2. The way you phrased this
because those guys are confident enough to go for the hot chicks and they have the brains to impress said hot chicks into bed with them
implies that most, if not all, intellectual men, are superficial and seem to only be interested in bedding chicks (and they have the mechanisms to achieve that without much effort). I am not sure how very accurate an implication that is.

3. I've considered option 3 before. But then again, I'm not looking to settle down. I also don't do dating. I just want to take things slow and get to learn and explore someone (i mean, in the innocent sense of course) and then decide if things can go further. I'm interested firstly for activity partners (mostly gaming, philosophical conversations) and then from there if there is a budding attraction, then see how it goes. I know, I'm such a godamned sappy romantic. Kill me now. Settle for less? I already thought my requirements were low. Hell, I don't give a damn if he looks like pudge getting pwned in mid game, as long as he's an intelligent, funny, decent fellow I can communicate with. Communication is arguably the single most important non-tangible when it comes to my opinion of what a great relationship is like. It's impossible for me to get to know someone or start feeling fond of them romantically if he can't engage my mind. Everything else can be worked out later slowly. I myself am far from perfect, who am i to demand things of others I don't possess? option 5 is out of the question. my parents will probably kill me, then disown me. lol. there are some things you can dream about... and just remain dreaming about it. option 5 is one of them :-P

QUOTE(mirrortrex @ Sep 10 2012, 10:46 PM)
Meh, not into the whole 'how to find a guy' thing. I want someone to like me for me and accept me for me, like how i will be able to do the same because I value non-physical traits above everything else. (Yes spunkberry, that means even what skin colour he is, despite you insisting i'm a racist)

QUOTE(sparda @ Sep 11 2012, 01:39 PM)
Negative. Those first 3 are secondary, physical traits and have not much bearing on what I truly, how do I put this- give a damn about. They are merely preferences and bonuses- i can definitely be above them. good articulation and command of english is merely a part of it because just possessing those traits doesn't make them necessarily intelligent enough for my liking- i'm not a language snob because there's no point being one. what matters is the point they're making. but of course, it excites me if someone can communicate on the same intellectual level because most of the time i find myself having to (this is not a nice way to put it), "dumb" myself down to get a point across. if there's someone out there who can extrapolate quickly and get what i'm trying to say, (i tend to think in abstracts, which makes it even harder!!) then having an fantastic command of english is not really necessary. what's important is the idea and the exchange of it, i guess. in fact my need for having intellect isn't even that high. it's not like im asking for a genius or anything, just don't ask and say stupid things (cos i get pissed off if people ask stupid questions without thinking them through) can liao.

overall in the long run, im just looking for a companion with whom great things can be achieved with. this can be anything, but im hoping it's in academia or business. for me, the "perfect" relationship embodies mutual attraction on a higher level than mere physicalities. in fact, physical or sexual attraction is rather secondary. the right relationship is one that i find utility and efficiency in. I know im not an island and i want to entertain the thought that there is someone out there with whom i can fit with like two perfect puzzle pieces. life is short. i don't know how long i'm going to live, but i sure as hell know i wanna make the best of my time here on earth so i can go without regrets.

i think a tl;dr of my traits i find extremely important is as such:

- doesn't ask stupid questions and makes me repeat myself (i.e. not bodoh)
- can extrapolate/understand me without me needing to put in effort to express myself (i.e. on same wavelength, lah.)
- likes the same activities as i do (nothing in common then susah what)
- funny (because funny people make me happy)

This post has been edited by jlim87: Sep 11 2012, 03:07 PM
deathTh3Cannon
post Sep 11 2012, 07:04 PM

248 posts

Sorry if i not meant to be here, but do the right guy do really exists ? Do right guy mean perfect guy like those Korean dramas and Taiwan dramas where those girls are crazy about ? Just want to learn something about the right guy concept.
chiahau
post Sep 11 2012, 08:11 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(deathTh3Cannon @ Sep 11 2012, 07:04 PM)
Sorry if i not meant to be here, but do the right guy do really exists ? Do right guy mean perfect guy like those Korean dramas and Taiwan dramas where those girls are crazy about ? Just want to learn something about the right guy concept.
You make do with the best you got.

The right one might or might not exist.

On this part based on TS's statement -

- can extrapolate/understand me without me needing to put in effort to express myself (i.e. on same wavelength, lah.)

For guys having to features, I think they would definitely try and go above their market segment, rather than to settle for something mundane.

I agree with what Sparda said mostly.
TSjlim87
post Sep 11 2012, 08:22 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(deathTh3Cannon @ Sep 11 2012, 07:04 PM)
No. Right doesn't mean perfect. It just means the right person for what you consider important and the person finds you possess traits that he/she finds important as well. Then it's called a right match. Not perfect, because perfection is an impossibility as we're all flawed creatures.

Korean/Taiwanese dramas? Seriously?? sleep.gif

Added on September 11, 2012, 8:30 pm
QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 11 2012, 08:11 PM)
You make do with the best you got.

The right one might or might not exist.

On this part based on TS's statement -

For guys having to features, I think they would definitely try and go above their market segment, rather than to settle for something mundane.

I agree with what Sparda said mostly.
While Sparda is *essentially* on the right track, he got the details wrong. So the eventual equation is flawed. I'm not sure on whose authority he makes the claim that that's what most other girls think, but I sure as hell have a lot of female friends and over the years, I have grown to understand that they don't really care much about how smart the guy is, or whether he is funny, or if he is on the same wavelength, but whether he's physically attractive (to be blunt, not fat) and whether he, uh... how should I put this.... earns 'decently', as well as he has to be kind/sensitive/good boy (take your pick). To me, those are superficialities, although I have found myself being attracted to gentlemen. For Sparda, though, I don't know where he gets his sample size from. Maybe his crowd is different from my crowd. idk.

I think I've pretty much figured out that it's going to be tough to find a person who's going to be mutually accept me for what I am and possess traits I find the most important. No sense in flogging a dead horse.

This post has been edited by jlim87: Sep 11 2012, 08:32 PM

0.0274sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:17 AM