Private Retirement Scheme Started?

MGM
post Dec 21 2012, 11:07 AM

18,410 posts

Called HwangIM, the Head of Branch suggested to invest in their conservative funds cos market is a bit peak"ish" and to switch when market corrected. Most Asian stockmarkets are at their tops except China.
wbk
post Dec 21 2012, 11:14 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Dec 21 2012, 11:04 AM)
You can choose whether to invest in Class A or Class C. It's your choice. I chose Class C of course.
Here's an explanation about the management fee is charged. I think it's a good explanation.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=56909384
eh.. but this article about feeder fund talks elaborate differently. It says we only pay the management fees at the feeder fund, fund manager of the feeder fund will use a portion of the fees collected to pay the management fees of the target fund. a bit confused now.

http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/upload/Sh...der%20Funds.pdf

Added on December 21, 2012, 11:16 am
QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 21 2012, 11:07 AM)
Called HwangIM, the Head of Branch suggested to invest in their conservative funds cos market is a bit peak"ish" and to switch when market corrected. Most Asian stockmarkets are at their tops except China.
Thinking about doing this as well.

This post has been edited by wbk: Dec 21 2012, 11:16 AM
simplesmile
post Dec 21 2012, 12:01 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(wbk @ Dec 21 2012, 11:14 AM)
eh.. but this article about feeder fund talks elaborate differently. It says we only pay the management fees at the feeder fund, fund manager of the feeder fund will use a portion of the fees collected to pay the management fees of the target fund. a bit confused now.

http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/upload/Sh...der%20Funds.pdf
Correct.
page 18 first paragraph. "..... Additionally, the management fee is to be charged at only one level in either the target fund or the feeder fund."
This means the management fee could either be 1.8% or 1.5%. And since the target fund management fee is higher, we can bet that this will be the management fee charged.

Example, Feeder fund holds 10% cash and invests 90% into the Target Fund.
The 10% cash will be charged 1.5% management fee.
While the Target Fund will charge the Feeder Fund 1.8% fee, so this means the 90% that is invested into the target fund will attract a 1.8% fee.

Total fee = (10% x 1.5%) + (90% x 1.8%) = 0.15% + 1.62% = 1.77%
kparam77
post Dec 21 2012, 12:01 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 21 2012, 11:07 AM)
this is wat i try to tell in post Post #175..... wait for better time for better entry.
wbk
post Dec 21 2012, 02:30 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Dec 21 2012, 12:01 PM)
Correct.
page 18 first paragraph. "..... Additionally, the management fee is to be charged at only one level in either the target fund or the feeder fund."
This means the management fee could either be 1.8% or 1.5%. And since the target fund management fee is higher, we can bet that this will be the management fee charged.

Example, Feeder fund holds 10% cash and invests 90% into the Target Fund.
The 10% cash will be charged 1.5% management fee.
While the Target Fund will charge the Feeder Fund 1.8% fee, so this means the 90% that is invested into the target fund will attract a 1.8% fee.

Total fee = (10% x 1.5%) + (90% x 1.8%) = 0.15% + 1.62% = 1.77%
I am waiting for the CIMB agent to clarify before i give my money to her.
kochin
post Dec 21 2012, 02:41 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(wbk @ Dec 21 2012, 02:30 PM)
I am waiting for the CIMB agent to clarify before i give my money to her.
wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
kinccc
post Dec 21 2012, 03:04 PM

109 posts

is public bank private retirement scheme good?

any lock up period?
A fren approaching me to buy before 31th Dec.
j.passing.by
post Dec 21 2012, 03:29 PM

1,639 posts

The management & trustee fee is a pretty much hidden cost; since it is already incorporated into the price.

It has no bearings on the performance of the fund. Paying more does not mean better fund management; and conversely, paying a cheaper management fee does not mean that the returns will be better.

It is not right to assume that there is a savings of x amount of ringgit in A since the management fee of A is lower than B. First of all, it is already incorporated into the price and you're not paying any extra amount out of the pocket if you were to invest with B.

It is similar to coming to a conclusion that we will save the entire management & trustee fee if we don't invest at all.

It should only comes into question when there is a really huge difference between the fees; a huge difference such that it would impact the returns significantly. I guess this would be for the the PPA to administer...

wbk
post Dec 21 2012, 04:01 PM

17 posts

Confirmed. The management fees is 1.4% per annum for the CIMB PRS Asia Pac ex Japan. And the sales charge is 1.5% (promotion rate) instead of 3%. "For limited time only".

Even though the the management fee difference may be 0.3%. But if you invest alot, the amount is significant in the long run. And we can't withdraw until 60 years old...
bkwu
post Dec 22 2012, 12:35 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 20 2012, 04:50 PM)
i just thought of an idea.
why not split our investment?
half to PM, half to Hwang.
that way, there's no mistake on which fund would ultimately performs better. kekeke.
so abang kochin wanna give me the business? icon_rolleyes.gif
MGM
post Dec 22 2012, 05:59 AM

18,410 posts

Was told that at this moment retirement age is still 55 so any funds bought can still be withdrawn after 55yo, correct?

Would like to know the answer esp from PRS agents, bkwu and Fat3Twister?

This post has been edited by MGM: Dec 22 2012, 06:02 AM
mukhrizMrz
post Dec 22 2012, 06:02 AM

203 posts

is this PRS is mandatory to all private employees?
MGM
post Dec 22 2012, 06:03 AM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(mukhrizMrz @ Dec 22 2012, 06:02 AM)
is this PRS is mandatory to all private employees?
No, it is optional.
bkwu
post Dec 24 2012, 02:37 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 22 2012, 05:59 AM)
Was told that at this moment retirement age is still 55 so any funds bought can still be withdrawn after 55yo, correct?

Would like to know the answer esp from PRS agents, bkwu and Fat3Twister?
Yes correct. Currently those who are 55 and above actually can invest and withdraw anytime.

thediablo
post Dec 26 2012, 01:44 PM

68 posts

thanks to all the sifus.

I've decided to go for CIMB PRS Plus Asia Pac ex-Japan (Class C)
http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/prs/fundV...f2-8ce447e0cc35

Mgmt Fee: 1.5%
Sales Fee: 0.5%

Reason:
- CIMB is strong regionally and has know-how
- CIMB most likely to tie up with employers, hence good chance of increasing fund size (they already have 8 companies...)
- easy and fast: just via banks and hopefully online soon, no need to deal/meet up agents or pass cheques (old school) tongue.gif

I considered ING as Kenanga has bought into ING Funds Berhad
I also considered PM yet I'd hate to meet up with the agent every time I wanted to buy into it.

MGM
post Dec 26 2012, 05:42 PM

18,410 posts

This website did an analysis on Hwang PRS prospectus. It stressed on higher management fees and allowable adjustment to sales and redemption charges of up to 3% and trustee fees of 1%. Same with PRS from other providers?

http://www.howtofinancemoney.com/2012/11/p...e-analysis.html

Added on December 26, 2012, 5:45 pm
QUOTE(thediablo @ Dec 26 2012, 01:44 PM)
thanks to all the sifus.

I've decided to go for CIMB PRS Plus Asia Pac ex-Japan (Class C)
http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/prs/fundV...f2-8ce447e0cc35
Mgmt Fee: 1.5%
Sales Fee: 0.5%

How does CIMB qualifies an investor Class A or C?

This post has been edited by MGM: Dec 26 2012, 05:45 PM
Kaka23
post Jan 20 2013, 10:55 AM

8,259 posts

What does Class A and C means?
s@ni
post Apr 24 2013, 06:41 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

Dear guys, girls, uncle, auntie wub.gif

http://www.ppa.my/index.php/providers-and-...fee-comparison/

im more towards Hwang (syariah) as of now. not only because of the fee comparison, but also due to:
http://www.hwangim.com/downloads/category/...d?download=1930
http://www.hwangim.com/downloads/category/...lutions-english

Since this is still new, I wonder how many of u guys subscribe to this?

Kaka23
post Apr 26 2013, 08:11 AM

8,259 posts

Guy.. I read the terms and conditions also still blur. So ask here..

For the withdrawal that will charge 8% penalty for PRS. Will the 8% being charge if withdrawal is done after one year of investment?
SUSendau02
post May 1 2013, 04:58 PM

3,180 posts

hi, for any PRS, all oso need to commit the sum of money every year? can i lapse 1 yr?

17 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:04 PM