129 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

News Y500FHD i7,GT750@2999/SLI@3899;Y400 GT750@2499 V1, Thread closed & continue to V2 ^^

nexus2238
post Nov 27 2012, 11:00 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 27 2012, 06:05 PM)

Added on November 27, 2012, 6:06 pm

I guess most people here are not willing to spend on Blu-rays kua  sad.gif
Since Y500 utilise ultrabay, it means owner could easily buy a ultrabay Bluray from Lenovo and swap in later when you have more money smile.gif
Jabberwocky
post Nov 27 2012, 11:05 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(ringoapple7 @ Nov 27 2012, 10:54 PM)
but how is it if you compare it with macbook keyboard?
I will still pick the y500. blush.gif

Although both y500 and mac keyboards looks the same, the reason is because y500 keys are curved into the middle (if you look carefully at the pics) that fits in perfectly to your fingers during compression while mac keys are flat so it kinda feel a bit rigid and dull. laugh.gif
ringoapple7
post Nov 27 2012, 11:16 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 27 2012, 11:05 PM)
I will still pick the y500.  blush.gif

Although both y500 and mac keyboards looks the same, the reason is because y500 keys are curved into the middle (if you look carefully at the pics) that fits in perfectly to your fingers during compression while mac keys are flat so it kinda feel a bit rigid and dull.  laugh.gif
hohoho, what a review. cant wait to get my own machine. thanks for the review man notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 28 2012, 12:06 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 27 2012, 11:00 PM)
Since Y500 utilise ultrabay, it means owner could easily buy a ultrabay Bluray from Lenovo and swap in later when you have more money smile.gif
No way I'm going to spend the money on a Blu-ray ultrabay laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Added on November 28, 2012, 12:06 am
QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 27 2012, 11:05 PM)
I will still pick the y500.  blush.gif

Although both y500 and mac keyboards looks the same, the reason is because y500 keys are curved into the middle (if you look carefully at the pics) that fits in perfectly to your fingers during compression while mac keys are flat so it kinda feel a bit rigid and dull.  laugh.gif
I feel you bro, I've always believed that Lenovo laptops have the best island style keyboard buttons wub.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Nov 28 2012, 12:06 AM
ClassifiedGamer07
post Nov 28 2012, 01:26 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 27 2012, 03:12 PM)
I only have 4Gig but gaming experience for me its the best so far, it meets my requirement therefore I won't upgrade to 8Gig. Too be honest I prefer the overall feeling of the y500 than playing on my friend's Razer Blade, call me weird but its true.

My palm doesn't feel much heat (Blade have a focus heat spot, which annoys me) and jumping from keys to keys is pretty at ease (hardly pushed the wrong key)

I brought my machine to chill out at a nearby Starbucks, last about 2 hrs 45 mins with continuous gaming (DOTA2, GW2 in max setting, battery 'high performance' profile.

and 1 more thing, it make head turns!  icon_idea.gif
Ughhh, you poisoned me ! Btw, how much frame rate do you get for GW2 (Max settings@1080p) especially during WvWvW ? Is the SLI enabled?? Is it stable??

This post has been edited by ClassifiedGamer07: Nov 28 2012, 01:30 AM
myotgo
post Nov 28 2012, 06:58 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 27 2012, 10:53 PM)
And don't forget the quality of the AUDIO!

S.U.P.E.R.B.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Straight away unplugged my speakers and put them away in boxes.  cool2.gif
yup its awesome. thumbup.gif
just make the volume up to 50..
enough to feel like in theater
realy L.O.V.E it

This post has been edited by myotgo: Nov 28 2012, 07:13 AM
Laine
post Nov 28 2012, 09:53 AM

325 posts

lots of info here: http://service.lenovo.partner-management.c...538/player.html

not sure anyone posted this before...
myotgo
post Nov 28 2012, 10:26 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Nov 28 2012, 09:53 AM)
lots of info here: http://service.lenovo.partner-management.c...538/player.html

not sure anyone posted this before...
thanks smile.gif
NewbieBetta
post Nov 28 2012, 03:53 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

so is this Y500 GT650M sli will perform better than Y580 GTX660M?
nexus2238
post Nov 28 2012, 04:04 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 28 2012, 12:06 AM)
No way I'm going to spend the money on a Blu-ray ultrabay  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Added on November 28, 2012, 12:06 am
Hell, I don't even own any Bluray media. Streaming is king rclxms.gif Don't dare to say this in audiophile and videophile forums laugh.gif

Added on November 28, 2012, 4:07 pm
QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Nov 28 2012, 03:53 PM)
so is this Y500 GT650M sli will perform better than Y580 GTX660M?
Read the posts lah biggrin.gif
Yes, 650M SLI have better benchmark than 660M.
But so far 1 owner here report some "flickering", and I think he may be refer to "micro-stuttering". It's a phenomena that some gamers don't mind at all, but deal breaker for others sweat.gif And we can't pick this out from normal benchmarking, you really have to try it to see if it bother you.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 28 2012, 04:09 PM
tennytyy
post Nov 28 2012, 05:14 PM

1,915 posts

I wonder if Lenovo still using Broadcom brand wireless network adapter in y500 just like what they did in y580.
Anyone can confirm with me about this?
NewbieBetta
post Nov 28 2012, 08:50 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

i had read the post, but so far there is not much info on GT650M SLI, so i have doubt its better than GTX660M.

as per gpu-z posted by jabberwocky, lets compare it with info from nvidia website (GTX660M spec) http://www.geforce.com/hardware/notebook-g.../specifications, I know the website can work as a reference only.

i'll head to Y580 thread and see is there any gpu-z posted

This post has been edited by NewbieBetta: Nov 28 2012, 09:11 PM
sss2sssss
post Nov 28 2012, 09:21 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

Tdy just saw Jayacom LYP got display Y500, love that laptop so much, but is 15", and ady bought Y480(make me no money sweat.gif)
nexus2238
post Nov 28 2012, 09:55 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Nov 28 2012, 08:50 PM)
i had read the post, but so far there is not much info on GT650M SLI, so i have doubt its better than GTX660M.

as per gpu-z posted by jabberwocky, lets compare it with info from nvidia website (GTX660M spec) http://www.geforce.com/hardware/notebook-g.../specifications, I know the website can work as a reference only.

What Jabberwocky posted was more like a confirmation for Malaysia context smile.gif Good job Jabberwocky (if I remember correctly he mentioned this is the 1st time he run benchmark suite) and the rest thumbup.gif And thanks ytlay notworthy.gif
The 1st post of this thread already listed a few benchmark done in China (same GT650M SLI).
In short, benchmark indicate it is about GT670M level, under GT670MX. Of course benchmark can only tell you so much, with the normal caveat that come with SLI setup (in this case apparently through SATA rather than PCIe).

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 28 2012, 10:18 PM
NewbieBetta
post Nov 28 2012, 10:13 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

thank you bro, you have clear my doubt

TSytlay
post Nov 28 2012, 10:22 PM

1,087 posts

Y500 & Y400 ultrabay support both PCIe and SATA as per the pic below. External gpu connected to PCIe port and ODD connected to SATA port.

This post has been edited by ytlay: Nov 28 2012, 10:59 PM
Amal
post Nov 28 2012, 10:31 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 28 2012, 09:55 PM)
What Jabberwocky posted was more like a confirmation for Malaysia context smile.gif Good job Jabberwocky (if I remember correctly he mentioned this is the 1st time he run benchmark suite) and the rest thumbup.gif And thanks ytlay  notworthy.gif
The 1st post of this thread already listed a few benchmark done in China (same GT650M SLI).
In short, benchmark indicate it is about GT670M level, under GT670MX. Of course benchmark can only tell you so much, with the normal caveat that come with SLI setup (in this case apparently through SATA rather than PCIe).
I think it should be GTX675M instead of GTX670M. hmm.gif
myotgo
post Nov 28 2012, 11:29 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Nov 28 2012, 10:22 PM)
Y500 & Y400 ultrabay support both PCIe and SATA as per the pic below. External gpu connected to PCIe port and ODD connected to SATA port.

thanks will consider buy it to get and odd smile.gif
ermm..how about the price?

NewbieBetta
post Nov 29 2012, 01:59 AM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

can anyone with Lenovo Y500 try out the warranty extend & accidental damage protection from their website. Cause they need serial code to know the price.

its good for us know how much it will cost if we would want to extend or add protection to this notebook.
xerox8908
post Nov 29 2012, 02:48 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Nov 28 2012, 08:50 PM)

Gt 650m 2gb ddr5 is at least 85% of 660m

So 2 of them will surely better .

129 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:03 PM