Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

echobrainproject
post Dec 5 2012, 08:36 AM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ Dec 4 2012, 04:38 PM)
Last time I am working as project engineer SPDH project for DiGi using SIAE equipment. My scope is to control and coordinate site survey, installation, acceptance and troubleshooting for link installation. The project is have not finish until not. I still working on it.

For about last 6 months, I am handling Rainbow project as project scheduler where Celcom and DiGi will sharing the structure to reduce the cost plus enhance the profit. I coordinate two coordinator(one for Celcom and one for DiGi). The project still in progress.

For about one to two months, I am on training to replacing PM/IM for Rainbow(that's what my PM said not sure he is playing me or he is really want to test me). I been into DiGi IM and PM meeting, either daily or weekly.

For O&G, I do not really have any ideas for Telco. I am a quick learner and adaptable to environment and situation. I really would like to go to O&G for career change to a bigger and wider platform to grow my self. It's very appreciated if anyone can help.

It seems that you have been doing project management. There are positions such as project engineer, planner and coordinator. You can give them a try should there are vacancies. I am not sure if there is a project engineer for telecom packages.

BTW, for project engineer/planner/coordinator, software knowledge like P6 or MS Project is highly required.
I think a little bit hard if you were to come in as a project engineer/planner/coordinator at a semi experienced level if you dont have experience in o&g, unless willing to come in as a fresh grad level (like what I did).
Why dont you try out some offshore telecom vendors? Scopetel, Rites, etc
abgkik
post Dec 5 2012, 11:33 AM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(khrill @ Dec 4 2012, 07:14 PM)
do you guys have a LinkedIn account?
Yes.. we have.. wink.gif
demolationz
post Dec 5 2012, 12:23 PM

LYN Dedicated Member
2,250 posts

[quote=echobrainproject,Dec 5 2012, 08:36 AM]
It seems that you have been doing project management. There are positions such as project engineer, planner and coordinator. You can give them a try should there are vacancies. I am not sure if there is a project engineer for telecom packages.

BTW, for project engineer/planner/coordinator, software knowledge like P6 or MS Project is highly required.

[/quote]

I think a little bit hard if you were to come in as a project engineer/planner/coordinator at a semi experienced level if you dont have experience in o&g, unless willing to come in as a fresh grad level (like what I did).

[/quote]

Means, fresh grad easy to in ah ?
cilokos_jr
post Dec 5 2012, 05:29 PM

Do offshore technician has a future prospect to become an offshore engineer?

What is the advantage of being a technician compared to engineer?

Thanks sifu!
noruazumi
post Dec 5 2012, 06:44 PM

509 posts

QUOTE(cilokos_jr @ Dec 5 2012, 05:29 PM)
Do offshore technician has a future prospect to become an offshore engineer?

What is the advantage of being a technician compared to engineer?

Thanks sifu!
Yes, of course provided years of service long enough with proven accomplishments. I know some engineers who used to be technicians, most of them are senior staffs.

I know a young who is now in Newfield, bachelor degree holder, serving as technician. He is not yet qualified to be engineer as per Newfield's standard.
cilokos_jr
post Dec 5 2012, 07:04 PM

anyone has experience joining talisman offshore technician trainee position?any pro and cons?
nash9701
post Dec 5 2012, 10:16 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,357 posts

anyone works at Jurong Shipyard? saw reports for the tilting jackup rigs in my office email today...

(^__^)
axreus
post Dec 6 2012, 11:41 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ Dec 4 2012, 04:38 PM)

I am using MS project. I did try to apply if saw any vacancies yet until now no good news.

Added on December 6, 2012, 11:44 am
QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Dec 5 2012, 08:36 AM)

I do not mind to start at entry level, but until now seem they likely take people with o&g experience. I will looking forward for Scopetel and Rites.

This post has been edited by axreus: Dec 6 2012, 11:44 AM
graiky
post Dec 6 2012, 12:52 PM

51 posts

if anyone interest on klang area company name card about oil can contact me:). some ppl want do sales need those detail smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2616914

This post has been edited by graiky: Dec 6 2012, 12:52 PM
crapp0
post Dec 6 2012, 04:28 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Dec 5 2012, 10:16 PM)
anyone works at Jurong Shipyard? saw reports for the tilting jackup rigs in my office email today...

(^__^)
I used to work in jurong shipyard as a sub contractor for the transocean whenever they brought their rigs for refits or scheduled maintenance.

ar_zaem
post Dec 6 2012, 04:40 PM

402 posts

does anybody here works at exxonmobil... may i know how much is the allowance for the internship at exxonmobil... i kinda shy to ask the management...
keeystar
post Dec 6 2012, 08:07 PM

181 posts

shall i change?
currently a fresh grad structural engineer working in kl firm with about 6 months experience,
change to become a fresh offshore field engineer..

need some advice, have to make decision soon

mhyug
post Dec 7 2012, 12:21 AM

1,553 posts

hoh it seems another leg got struck...and this time out at sea.tho not as "tilted" as the one at jurong shipyard.no casualty/injuries and semi-major damage to the jack-up itself.

but none the less is a big obstacle for the client side.service side..well another few days/weeks and if its serious a month of relief time to get the equipments ready.
Pisanggoreng
post Dec 7 2012, 08:32 AM

338 posts

Hai all the oil and gas taiko here,

Quick one, I wish to learn more including those basic knowledge about oil and gas chiller package, I googled and found not much help. If anyone of you has any documents or any sites I may read on, please do share with me. Thanks much.

meonkutu11
post Dec 7 2012, 09:19 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Dec 7 2012, 12:21 AM)
hoh it seems another leg got struck...and this time out at sea.tho not as "tilted" as the one at jurong shipyard.no casualty/injuries and semi-major damage to the jack-up itself.

but none the less is a big obstacle for the client side.service side..well another few days/weeks and if its serious a month of relief time to get the equipments ready.
which rig bro? whats the cause? jacking system or soil conditions? during preload or pulling legs?

k.mark45
post Dec 7 2012, 09:32 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(ar_zaem @ Dec 6 2012, 04:40 PM)
does anybody here works at exxonmobil... may i know how much is the allowance for the internship at exxonmobil... i kinda shy to ask the management...
rm1.5k. quite high for an intern. and i don't work for EM
mhyug
post Dec 7 2012, 12:13 PM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Dec 7 2012, 09:19 AM)
which rig bro? whats the cause? jacking system or soil conditions? during preload or pulling legs?
during preload.i reckon they have hit some soft soil. rig name il reveal later if any news comes out mana la tau all of a sudden it became a confidential news ka.
meonkutu11
post Dec 7 2012, 02:38 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Dec 7 2012, 12:13 PM)
during preload.i reckon they have hit some soft soil. rig name il reveal later if any news comes out mana la tau all of a sudden it became a confidential news ka.
which field bro? brows.gif
nash9701
post Dec 7 2012, 09:07 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,357 posts

QUOTE(ar_zaem @ Dec 6 2012, 04:40 PM)
RM1k+...is it really important the amount?

(^__^)
hanes02
post Dec 8 2012, 06:43 AM

166 posts

any vacany for safety and health supervisor or safety promotr position?
pls do pm me...

135 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:53 AM