135 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

Bastic
post May 18 2013, 12:58 PM

May I know the prospect of Log analyst or petrophysicist? Future career path and salary? Can a petrophysicist become field engineer in the near future?
jafnm_04
post May 18 2013, 01:00 PM

130 posts

ooooo ya correct correct..

maybe part of the reason she felt that way because the company itself did not do their job in enforcing/convincing my friend there that the working environment is safe and protected..

we even were not required to wear safety cap inside the field due to "hotness".

another event that I want to share is, during one of the major service of a turbo compressor, a group of contract workers (Indonesian) were assigned to help engineers to service it. Me and my female colleague came to sibuk2 and learn.

Due to her presence, ALL of the contract workers cannot focus on their job. Their hands were doing the job, but their eyes keep looking on her. Seeing this, engineer in charged asked her to leave the vicinity ASAP. She got very sad after that, being chased out.

She is not very beautiful, just okay la... but maybe she is the only female they have ever encountered in their 2 years in a factory.. I don't know.. lol this is diverting from topic. Sorry for hijacking this post. biggrin.gif
klein
post May 18 2013, 01:01 PM

311 posts

Being a girl working in the field will certainly catch the attention of the technicians and contractors particularly because there are not many of us around. However, I start to see more and more girls in engineering, esp those recruited by MNCs.
Anyway, I am not extreme like your ex-colleague. I do get teased often but I just laugh and shrug it off as long as those guys are NOT doing it in a malicious manner or with ill-intention. Guys tend to be playful a bit and it is probably a way for them to release stress, esp when they are working hard, so no big deal when I get used to it. Once you get to know them, they are like bapa, adik or abang to me.
jafnm_04
post May 18 2013, 01:04 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(klein @ May 18 2013, 01:01 PM)
Guys tend to be playful a bit and it is probably a way for them to release stress, esp when they are working hard, so no big deal when I get used to it. Once you get to know them, they are like bapa, adik or abang to me.
You really understand men. rare species rclxms.gif
klein
post May 18 2013, 01:09 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(jafnm_04 @ May 18 2013, 01:04 PM)
You really understand men. rare species rclxms.gif
I even joined them during their happy hour yawn.gif
jafnm_04
post May 18 2013, 01:18 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(klein @ May 18 2013, 01:09 PM)
I even joined them during their happy hour  yawn.gif
Err.. this one I don't get. abgkik, help me please? sad.gif
meonkutu11
post May 18 2013, 01:24 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 18 2013, 11:55 AM)
Yup, Lead Engineer/supervisor will guide and monitor their junior.. Aspect to be guided and monitored is not only in knowledge, also in communication skills.. In real working environment/project environment there are many interface stages require in between internal and external client.. This is difficult part, many engineers only like to do 'background' work rather than frontline.. 😉
As a not glorious 'office boy', abgkik seem to know a lot of technical stuff and field work environment......hehehehe...
humblebro
post May 18 2013, 04:20 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ May 18 2013, 01:24 PM)
As a not glorious 'office boy', abgkik seem to know a lot of technical  stuff and field work environment......hehehehe...
What? Abgkik 'office boy' only??

meonkutu11
post May 18 2013, 04:30 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(humblebro @ May 18 2013, 04:20 PM)
What? Abgkik 'office boy' only??
Of course not la boss..but that what he said in the "bumi armada" thread...
maninyellow
post May 18 2013, 07:57 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(klein @ May 18 2013, 01:09 PM)
I even joined them during their happy hour  yawn.gif
Happy Hour as in drinking or go rumah urut ? kekeke tongue.gif
klein
post May 18 2013, 08:19 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(maninyellow @ May 18 2013, 07:57 PM)
Happy Hour as in drinking or go rumah urut ? kekeke  tongue.gif
drinking la.. never heard of them going to rumah urut tho, maybe i shall ask biggrin.gif
mhyug
post May 18 2013, 08:28 PM

1,551 posts

still nothing released to the press on the incident mentioned earlier ehh.
coldasice
post May 19 2013, 07:34 AM

hello bos ku.. sia mau tanya sikit ba ni, sia dr labuan, mau try masuk kerja oil and gas bah.. hehe.. tapi sia tiada itu degree,diploma teknikal mekanikal, pengalaman apa semua la tiada.. jadi bosku semua , apa bidang, tempat paling ngam dan bagus untuk sia memulakan kerjaya dan cita-cita suci sa ni utk membantu keluarga d ruma.. bole bosku2 rekomen2 tmpat yg boleh sa hntr2 resume ka? tulung2 dlu jawab.. smile.gif
jafnm_04
post May 19 2013, 08:19 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(coldasice @ May 19 2013, 07:34 AM)
hello bos ku.. sia mau tanya sikit ba ni, sia dr  labuan, mau try masuk  kerja oil and gas bah.. hehe.. tapi sia tiada itu degree,diploma teknikal mekanikal, pengalaman apa semua la tiada..  jadi bosku semua , apa bidang,  tempat paling ngam dan bagus  untuk  sia memulakan  kerjaya dan cita-cita suci sa ni utk membantu keluarga d ruma.. bole bosku2  rekomen2 tmpat yg boleh sa hntr2 resume ka? tulung2 dlu  jawab.. smile.gif
Practise proactiveness as much as you can (like what you did here). One suggestion from me, you can try consult abe idham from UTP, he has a track record of helping a person securing job in MNC which that person do not have any qualification and experience. Heard that that person does not have even SPM.
coldasice
post May 19 2013, 09:32 AM

QUOTE(jafnm_04 @ May 19 2013, 08:19 AM)
Practise proactiveness as much as you can (like what you did here). One suggestion from me, you can try consult abe idham from UTP, he has a track record of helping a person securing job in MNC which that person do not have any qualification and experience. Heard that that person does not have even SPM.
tq sir.. abe idham? so how can i contact him?through email or what..i'm new here smile.gif
abgkik
post May 19 2013, 09:33 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(klein @ May 18 2013, 11:16 AM)
how is that female junior doing so far? in ur opinion, any disadvantages for being a female compared to male?

asking so coz i am a female working at site
She is doing great.. We have approved her to be Naval Architect from Graduate Trainee Engineer..

I don't see any disadvantage.. In which field are you? Oil & Gas construction? Exploration?
abgkik
post May 19 2013, 09:40 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(humblebro @ May 18 2013, 08:53 AM)
Bros, care to explain what is a 'watertight door'?
Whoever the guy was, may Allah rest his soul in peace. Amin.
http://www.ajmarine.org.uk/

Please refer to above link.. There are two types of door.. Door or hatch..
abgkik
post May 19 2013, 09:44 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(humblebro @ May 18 2013, 08:50 AM)
The junior cannot 'tahan' la tu... Haha
Bossy supervisor who wanna show off is always least preferred by any juniors... smile.gif
😄😄
One of male junior, after been promoted to be Naval Architect from Trainee Engineer has joined my ex-boss company..
abgkik
post May 19 2013, 09:50 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(jafnm_04 @ May 18 2013, 01:18 PM)
Err.. this one I don't get. abgkik, help me please? sad.gif
Maybe she cooked for dinner or lunch as my junior did that for us.. Unfortunately she cooked sooo 'pedas' food.. Some of us cannot tahan..
humblebro
post May 19 2013, 10:00 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 19 2013, 09:44 AM)
😄😄
One of male junior, after been promoted to be Naval Architect from Trainee Engineer has joined my ex-boss company..
Lucky him. I would do the same if i cannot 'tahan' u as my senior... wink.gif

Anyway, is Bumi Armada a good place to start a career? Is there any loyalty benefits for employee who works> 3 years? You shd understand what gen Y expects in term of climbing a career ladder; we are eager.. And cannot go slow...

135 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:09 AM