Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

humblebro
post May 9 2013, 11:14 PM

47 posts

Hi all, i've been following this forum since i was in uni. now that i've graduated (results are ok, 3+) and really looking fwd to join this mostly-talked industry O&G. been hearing quite interesting stories - engineering, field works & massive exposures that i can gain...

for short, i graduated from local u in chem eng but i dont really like doing all those simulations, datasheets, etc...(boring....!). i led various projects while in uni with a long-list of extra-curriculars involvement.

now, looking to start my career in this field as a project engineer (yeah, i know you will be saying that i'm dumb! whistling.gif ). Construction management would be a real challenge for me... so if any ol-timers are willing to guide me thru, zillions of appreciations go to you...!

would appreciate some sort of expert advice on the future that i may have in O&G. people describe me as eager (but a talented manager though... )... english, hmm not bad i'd say...
humblebro
post May 10 2013, 12:14 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(TYS123 @ May 9 2013, 11:41 PM)
Hi all, I am now got a offer as a project engineer in a automation control company that dealing with PLC and DCS.
I am interested in learning the PLC and DCS.
I want to ask whether have knowledge in PLC or DCS will have advantage to enter O&G based?
What field of O&G related to PLC or DCS?
Looking for your reply...
Thank a lot...
rclxms.gif i envy u... TYS123 congrats....

from what i gathered (with limited experience of coz), O&G industry is all about safety & automation; PLC & DCS play important part in achieving this - they are like the nerve system of a processing plant (refineries, petrochem, etc.), offshore platform, and floating facilities as well...

if you like to work with logics control and programming, i guess you are taking your very first right step... money is good for a specialist in this field, esp with major vendors like honeywell, siemens, abb, etc..

good luck thumbup.gif
humblebro
post May 10 2013, 10:32 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 10 2013, 09:22 AM)
In my opinion.. to be good in Oil & Gas.. start with specialization skill.. is easy to replace Project Engineer compare to Process Engineer...
What do u mean by specialization abgkik? Technically i'd say that i can cope. But being project engineer is like a 'jack-of all trades', it inspire me much... My uncle is a project manager now.... Won't specializing in one field will make u static? According to him, u can climb the ladder faster if u r in the project management, especially in a dynamic work environment like construction (for O&G i mean). Your statement is like an insult to PE's... sad.gif But salary-wise, do you think PE can't get much? My PM uncle said that u can get salary increment 'exponentially' if you are good enough..

I'd value ur advice since u r an otaimer here... Hehe
humblebro
post May 10 2013, 02:46 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 10 2013, 11:14 AM)
Project Engineer with proven skill in Marine Engineering, Naval Architect, Process Engineering or Rotating or Oil & Gas Construction engineering etc is totally different with Project Engineer with paper qualification..  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks abgkik. So u would suggest that i start my career by doing process engineering? U reckon that later i can be a project engineer? Afred that im gonna get stuck...
humblebro
post May 10 2013, 07:14 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 10 2013, 03:49 PM)
IMO, is good for you to start with process engineer cum process package engineer (LP/HP separator, gas treatment, etc).. as a person in charge of equipment, you will unofficially take a roll of project engineer of the package itself..
A valid point there abgkik..
But will i get that chance if the company is hiring me as a grad engineer? I dont have the patience... wink.gif
humblebro
post May 11 2013, 06:58 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(jafnm_04 @ May 11 2013, 12:29 AM)
abgkik, heard that HESS mother company want to buy the Newfield operation here.. seems a golden opportunity to you. biggrin.gif

By the way, last Saturday in The Star, KPOC has 3-page length vacancies, but none are for entry level. sad.gif

abgkik my UTM senior, can you review my resume and then maybe recommending me securing a post in O&G companies? smile.gif
Abgkik is a UTM senior? Wow!!
I wonder how much u r getting now wink.gif Is there any salary difference between local and o/seas grad?
What is the typical increment per year & promotion?
humblebro
post May 12 2013, 05:52 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 12 2013, 02:09 PM)
smile.gif I'm really sorry brah.. I only recommend someone who has been worked with me.. We have reputation to take care..
That means i have no chance of getting ur recommendation as well? Darn it!... smile.gif

5-10% sounds not much... sad.gif say im gonna get rm2500, meaning +rm125 per year.. And i dont think these companies are kind enuff to give yearly promotion... sad.gif
I shudn't be an engineer then...
humblebro
post May 12 2013, 05:58 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(incogsizz @ May 10 2013, 10:10 PM)
Hi everyone, I’m currently searching for internship placement in oil and gas field. Since I’ll be having my internship after finishing final sem, I aim for a good company as a start so that I could secure a job later when I'm officially graduated. Any suggestion on companies that I can apply for and exposure that I could gain throughout internship (based on the old timers experience  biggrin.gif ). FYI, my background is civil eng (majoring in offshore oceanography)

Your input is utterly helpful  icon_rolleyes.gif 

Thanks….
Oceanography? What is that? Study about the ocean? wink.gif
U can try fishing here... But not O&G sis...

Abgkik agree?

humblebro
post May 13 2013, 12:28 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 12 2013, 10:52 PM)
cant find any MSc ocean engineering course in Malaysia  blink.gif
"Oceanography" here refers to marine science (according to Wikipedia)... Nothing mentioned abt Ocean engineering.
And Civil Engineering grad won't be a drilling engineer, closest would be geophysicist i guess.. (With major in geo-- something... wink.gif
humblebro
post May 13 2013, 06:20 PM

47 posts

I found this quote from an article on the net.

"Without knowing the actual work required, how is it possible to determine if someone is competent and motivated to do the actual work"

Full article http://www.linkedin.com/today/post/article...kes-of-all-time
humblebro
post May 14 2013, 07:46 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(mennmenn @ May 14 2013, 01:48 PM)
Sorry.. I just graduated.. And just secured a job.. smile.gif
I have zero knowledge to be frank.. I tried goggling the information that i need.. But.. It is quite hard to find a reliable source that provide the information.. I tried contacting some of the contractors, but none of them get back to me.. sad.gif
Google can't answer everything... smile.gif

Anyway, for reading pleasure on FPSO subject you can try www.theplatforma.org which is very informative. This was suggested by my uncle.

MOPU does not differ much i guess? But how your boss gave u those questions? If your company is doing MOPU, there must be history in archive somewhere... Not fair for a freshie maa...

Btw, is there a vacancy? I'm looking for a job. MOPU sounds tempting...
humblebro
post May 15 2013, 07:29 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 15 2013, 06:19 PM)
Where is Syarfiza working?  brows.gif
sign0006.gif
humblebro
post May 18 2013, 08:50 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(incogsizz @ May 18 2013, 01:52 AM)
So the sv will particularly guide juniors in both technical and hands-on work (mentor+manage)  hmm.gif Cool!! Does ur company offers any vacancies for new graduates? Maybe the junior left to explore other field, prolly because he gained sufficient experience from u already,thehehehe  rclxms.gif
The junior cannot 'tahan' la tu... Haha
Bossy supervisor who wanna show off is always least preferred by any juniors... smile.gif
humblebro
post May 18 2013, 08:53 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 17 2013, 11:27 PM)
Kena slammed by the watertight door..
Bros, care to explain what is a 'watertight door'?
Whoever the guy was, may Allah rest his soul in peace. Amin.
humblebro
post May 18 2013, 04:20 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ May 18 2013, 01:24 PM)
As a not glorious 'office boy', abgkik seem to know a lot of technical  stuff and field work environment......hehehehe...
What? Abgkik 'office boy' only??

humblebro
post May 19 2013, 10:00 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 19 2013, 09:44 AM)
😄😄
One of male junior, after been promoted to be Naval Architect from Trainee Engineer has joined my ex-boss company..
Lucky him. I would do the same if i cannot 'tahan' u as my senior... wink.gif

Anyway, is Bumi Armada a good place to start a career? Is there any loyalty benefits for employee who works> 3 years? You shd understand what gen Y expects in term of climbing a career ladder; we are eager.. And cannot go slow...
humblebro
post May 19 2013, 11:17 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 19 2013, 11:06 AM)
I'm the most charming u know.. 😄😄😄

You will be rewarded base on your proven deliverables.. Gen-Y always forget about their market value  in the industry, don't rated yourself high if you are not 'talented enough'..
Talent is very subjective i'd say...
We value ourselves highly, and the eagerness is something that the older gens failed to take advantage of... We won't rate ourselves as 'office boy'... No offence abgkik.. wink.gif

humblebro
post May 19 2013, 04:35 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ May 19 2013, 02:38 PM)
This discussion about baby boomers vs Gen-X vs Gen-Y also happened at my place. But then, I quite agree with klein, some of Gen-Y "thinking too highly of themselves". Nowadays, "jump ship" is normal but most Gen-X cannot accept this as their prone to work at same workplace till retired (if the workplace provide you with good benefits).

(^__^)
I guess competition is quite high out there and we Gen Y are in for a fight. The workplace shouldn't be a place for complacent pals... Gen X and baby-boomers should take this positively as we are not kids anymore, give us some responsibility and we shall deliver to your expectations... We are open to criticism and we are also free to express our opinions regardless of how old you are...

So now, who want to take me in their company? wink.gif
humblebro
post May 20 2013, 05:18 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 19 2013, 11:30 PM)
Value ourselves highly do not mean you are good and talented.. And maybe they just useless Gen-Y, NATO type.. FYI.. I'm under category GeN-Y.. But action louder than speak.. Yes.. I'm just office boy..  brows.gif
Wahh.. Cannot tahan la with ur statement...
"Action louder than speak", really?

0.0263sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:17 AM