161 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com

jenkomeng
post Dec 31 2012, 11:02 PM

hey guys...i've been reading all your msg in order for me to decide on owning K5..thank God, expected to drive mine Whitey K5 this Wednesday....
anyone knows, where can I go for SG in Penang area and how much does it cost?

Tq...pls allow me to join u guys!..Happy new year!
DaBestOne
post Jan 1 2013, 09:42 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

Congrats and Happy new year 2013 ! Cheers !
kevintai
post Jan 2 2013, 10:06 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(jenkomeng @ Dec 31 2012, 11:02 PM)
hey guys...i've been reading all your msg in order for me to decide on owning K5..thank God, expected to drive mine Whitey K5 this Wednesday....
anyone knows, where can I go for SG in Penang area and how much does it cost?

Tq...pls allow me to join u guys!..Happy new year!
Welcome to K5 Family. Kindly join FB group. rclxms.gif
https://www.facebook.com/groups/myk5club/
hotwind
post Jan 2 2013, 04:24 PM

Hi to all K5 forumers. I'm a newbie from Penang who got his ride just a few days ago. Just want to share some of my observations about this fabulous car and appreciate any maintenance advice from all the sifus out there. There are 3 things I don't like about the car. First closing the glove compartment box reminds me of my old Proton, sound so hollow & plastiky. Secondly, the driver's seat belt anchor point is just a little too back for me (no problem for those who sit way back). Thirdly, when I open the boot after driving in the rain, the water runs along the upper edge and drips directly into the boot itself (design fault?). Having said all that, there are lots of things I like about this car starting from the overall sporty body shape (curves in all the right places!). I like all the safety features built into this car (ESP, HAC ect. ect.) I love the Infinity entertainment system, the Xenon lights, the plush leather seats and in the evenings I like to drive with just the sunroof glass between me and the sky!
I did add a couple of things to the car. On the same day I got the ride, I sent it for tinting. Now all the glass areas are threaded with Chameleon Photochromic film except the sunroof which has the silver black film. Now there is a nice greenish tinge in the windows to complement my white car.
This morning I sent my car for paintwork protection. There's still no Sierra glow in Penang so I PPS my car. Did the whole exterior including treatment of the front screen and sunroof. They clean the engine too. After some bargaining I got the whole job done for just under 1K. They said 6 hours but I stayed there all the time to see what they actully do and they finish the job in just over 4 hours. Its shiny and smooth now park under my porch and I was told not to wash the car for 2 days (no problem for a lazy guy like me!).
Oh, I did take my K5 to KL for 2-3 days and for those who like to know about fuel consumption, I manage to make the trip from Penang to KL and back in just 1 full tank. I work out the fuel consumption as 14.8 cents per km (90% highway and 10% city driving), no autocruise and no ECO setting, with average speed of 100-120 km/h. I forgot the litres per 100km figure, the 14.8 cents stuck in my head cos its less than half of what I got for my Naza Ria. Anyway I doubt I can get that figure again after my 1000km service which should be due in a few days.
That's it for now; thank you guys for reading. Happy New Year!
funnybone
post Jan 2 2013, 05:01 PM

1,040 posts

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 2 2013, 04:24 PM)
Hi to all K5 forumers. I'm a newbie from Penang who got his ride just a few days ago. Just want to share some of my observations about this fabulous car and appreciate any maintenance advice from all the sifus out there.  There are 3 things I don't like about the car. First closing the glove compartment box reminds me of my old Proton, sound so hollow & plastiky. Secondly, the driver's seat belt anchor point is just a little too back for me (no problem for those who sit way back). Thirdly, when I open the boot after driving in the rain, the water runs along the upper edge and drips directly into the boot itself (design fault?).  Having said all that, there are lots of things I like about this car starting from the overall sporty body shape (curves in all the right places!). I like all the safety features built into this car (ESP, HAC ect. ect.) I love the Infinity entertainment system, the Xenon lights, the plush leather seats and in the evenings I like to drive with just the sunroof glass between me and the sky!
I did add a couple of things to the car. On the same day I got the ride, I sent it for tinting. Now all the glass areas are threaded with Chameleon Photochromic film except the sunroof which has the silver black film. Now there is a nice greenish tinge in the windows to complement my white car.
This morning I sent my car for paintwork protection. There's still no Sierra glow in Penang so I PPS my car. Did the whole exterior including treatment of the front screen and sunroof. They clean the engine too. After some bargaining I got the whole job done for just under 1K.  They said 6 hours but I stayed there all the time to see what they actully do and they finish the job in just over 4 hours.  Its shiny and smooth now park under my porch and I was told not to wash the car for 2 days (no problem for a lazy guy like me!).
Oh, I did take my K5 to KL for 2-3 days and for those who like to know about fuel consumption, I manage to make the trip from Penang to KL and back in just 1 full tank.  I work out the fuel consumption as 14.8 cents per km (90% highway and 10% city driving), no autocruise and no ECO setting, with average speed of 100-120 km/h. I forgot the litres per 100km figure, the 14.8 cents stuck in my head cos its less than half of what I got for my Naza Ria. Anyway I doubt I can get that figure again after my 1000km service which should be due in a few days.
That's it for now; thank you guys for reading.  Happy New Year!
Yea. I concur to the 3 issues you highlighted. I especially hate the water dripping into the boot part. I got another issue actually, not sure if its the car design or the tint. During daytime when the sun is shining brightly, the dashboard is reflected onto my windscreen. Sometimes this can cause my vision to be obstructed while driving. Wonder does anyone face this?
seongmeng
post Jan 2 2013, 05:09 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(funnybone @ Jan 2 2013, 05:01 PM)
Yea. I concur to the 3 issues you highlighted. I especially hate the water dripping into the boot part. I got another issue actually, not sure if its the car design or the tint. During daytime when the sun is shining brightly, the dashboard is reflected onto my windscreen. Sometimes this can cause my vision to be obstructed while driving. Wonder does anyone face this?
i dont have the issue you mentioned...
hotwind
post Jan 2 2013, 08:25 PM

I also don't have the issue you highlighted. I have a lesser issue in that when my car is travelling in a straight line, the steering wheel is at 11 'o clock. I'll get that corrected in my coming service.
jenkomeng
post Jan 2 2013, 09:27 PM

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 2 2013, 04:24 PM)
Hi to all K5 forumers. I'm a newbie from Penang who got his ride just a few days ago. Just want to share some of my observations about this fabulous car and appreciate any maintenance advice from all the sifus out there.  There are 3 things I don't like about the car. First closing the glove compartment box reminds me of my old Proton, sound so hollow & plastiky. Secondly, the driver's seat belt anchor point is just a little too back for me (no problem for those who sit way back). Thirdly, when I open the boot after driving in the rain, the water runs along the upper edge and drips directly into the boot itself (design fault?).  Having said all that, there are lots of things I like about this car starting from the overall sporty body shape (curves in all the right places!). I like all the safety features built into this car (ESP, HAC ect. ect.) I love the Infinity entertainment system, the Xenon lights, the plush leather seats and in the evenings I like to drive with just the sunroof glass between me and the sky!
This morning I sent my car for paintwork protection. There's still no Sierra glow in Penang so I PPS my car. Did the whole exterior including treatment of the front screen and sunroof. They clean the engine too. After some bargaining I got the whole job done for just under 1K.  They said 6 hours but I stayed there all the time to see what they actully do and they finish the job in just over 4 hours.  Its shiny and smooth now park under my porch and I was told not to wash the car for 2 days (no problem for a lazy guy like me!).
Oh, I did take my K5 to KL for 2-3 days and for those who like to know about fuel consumption, I manage to make the trip from Penang to KL and back in just 1 full tank.  I work out the fuel consumption as 14.8 cents per km (90% highway and 10% city driving), no autocruise and no ECO setting, with average speed of 100-120 km/h. I forgot the litres per 100km figure, the 14.8 cents stuck in my head cos its less than half of what I got for my Naza Ria. Anyway I doubt I can get that figure again after my 1000km service which should be due in a few days.
That's it for now; thank you guys for reading.  Happy New Year!
where did u go for the Chameleon film and how much does it cost?
and also, kindly advise the shop for PPS.

Added on January 2, 2013, 9:29 pm
QUOTE(kevintai @ Jan 2 2013, 10:06 AM)
Welcome to K5 Family. Kindly join FB group.  rclxms.gif
https://www.facebook.com/groups/myk5club/
icon_rolleyes.gif will do bro...
can't wait for tomorrow, as expected my Whitey will be out... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by jenkomeng: Jan 2 2013, 09:29 PM
hotwind
post Jan 2 2013, 11:41 PM

QUOTE(jenkomeng @ Jan 2 2013, 09:27 PM)
where did u go for the Chameleon film and how much does it cost?
and also, kindly advise the shop for PPS.

Added on January 2, 2013, 9:29 pm

icon_rolleyes.gif will do bro...
can't wait for tomorrow, as expected my Whitey will be out...  rclxm9.gif
I did the photochromic film on the mainland in Autocity near the MacD. Cost me rm1800. The PPS was done also in Autocity beside Lowe Motors. They have a branch on the island in Perusahaan Jelutong 2 in Fortune park. Cheers!
cybermaster98
post Jan 3 2013, 07:50 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 2 2013, 08:25 PM)
I also don't have the issue you highlighted.  I have a lesser issue in that when my car is travelling in a straight line, the steering wheel is at 11 'o clock.  I'll get that corrected in my coming service.
There is another issue with the K5. This happened with the Forte and now some k5's are facing this as well. Misalligned steering wheels and car pulling to the left or right. I did my allignment 3 times but the problem still persists. Its not a big problem just that you can feel a slight pull. Its more noticeable when u travel above 130kmph. Next week there is a Korean team of engineers coming down to inspect a few cars. Mine is on the list for inspection.
hotwind
post Jan 3 2013, 08:18 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 3 2013, 07:50 AM)
There is another issue with the K5. This happened with the Forte and now some k5's are facing this as well. Misalligned steering wheels and car pulling to the left or right. I did my allignment 3 times but the problem still persists. Its not a big problem just that you can feel a slight pull. Its more noticeable when u travel above 130kmph. Next week there is a Korean team of engineers coming down to inspect a few cars. Mine is on the list for inspection.
yea, I read about that issue before even in the K5s marketed to Uncle Sam. glad to hear your car's on the inspection list. Hopefully the Korean engineers can overcome this issue and impart the knowledge to the local engineers/technicians here. Please keep us updated, I personally would like to know the results of the visit.
seongmeng
post Jan 3 2013, 12:01 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 3 2013, 07:50 AM)
yes...i think mines also have a bit of this issue.....awaiting your feedback... smile.gif
cybermaster98
post Jan 3 2013, 12:28 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(seongmeng @ Jan 3 2013, 12:01 PM)
yes...i think mines also have a bit of this issue.....awaiting your feedback... smile.gif
Just send an email to Naza Customer Service at cmd@naza.com.my. You need to highlight problems as they come up so that the historicial record is there. Verbal communication at service centres wont be recorded.
seongmeng
post Jan 3 2013, 01:18 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 3 2013, 12:28 PM)
Just send an email to Naza Customer Service at cmd@naza.com.my. You need to highlight problems as they come up so that the historicial record is there. Verbal communication at service centres wont be recorded.
thanks Bro smile.gif
Stock^K5
post Jan 3 2013, 04:19 PM

I know what you mean. At certain time of the day, maybe the sun's angle. Half of the windscreen is your dashboard reflection. I have to sit up higher jst to see what's in front. Happened to me a few times before. Morale of the story, dont polish the dashboard too clean.. haha!!

Added on January 3, 2013, 4:35 pm
QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Dec 24 2012, 12:52 PM)
An Interesting Article :

How Hackers Can Use Smart Keys To Steal Cars

Weblink : http://jalopnik.com/5736774/how-hackers-ca...s-to-steal-cars

Added on December 24, 2012, 12:55 pm

Yes! There is continuous short "beep" and the indication panel with the foot brake warning appeared!
Yes, i've heard it many times... it's for sotongs like me!

This post has been edited by Stock^K5: Jan 3 2013, 04:35 PM
funnybone
post Jan 3 2013, 04:49 PM

1,040 posts

QUOTE(Stock^K5 @ Jan 3 2013, 04:19 PM)
I know what you mean. At certain time of the day, maybe the sun's angle. Half of the windscreen is your dashboard reflection. I have to sit up higher jst to see what's in front. Happened to me a few times before. Morale of the story, dont polish the dashboard too clean.. haha!!

Added on January 3, 2013, 4:35 pm

Yes, i've heard it many times... it's for sotongs like me!
Ok, now come to think of it, I usually encounter this after I sent my car for a wash and polished the dashboard brows.gif
jenkomeng
post Jan 3 2013, 06:24 PM

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 2 2013, 11:41 PM)
I did the photochromic film on the mainland in Autocity near the MacD. Cost me rm1800.  The PPS was done also in Autocity beside Lowe Motors. They have a branch on the island in Perusahaan Jelutong 2 in Fortune park. Cheers!
Tq Bro for the info..
Arrgghhh...another delay on my Whitey..Hope no more delay this time. Can't wait to drive mine sad.gif
hotwind
post Jan 3 2013, 06:42 PM

QUOTE(jenkomeng @ Jan 3 2013, 06:24 PM)
Tq Bro for the info..
Arrgghhh...another delay on my Whitey..Hope no more delay this time. Can't wait to drive mine  sad.gif
The delay is normal. Mine was delayed 2 working days after the promised date. Btw I found 2 new things about the car (at least new to me). As you approach the car with the key in your pocket, the cabin lights up. The other thing is the chassis number is on the lower left hand corner of your windscreen -neat. Wonder what other cars do that.
DaBestOne
post Jan 3 2013, 06:55 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

where's your car bro ?
seongmeng
post Jan 3 2013, 08:13 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 3 2013, 06:42 PM)
The delay is normal. Mine was delayed 2 working days after the promised date. Btw I found 2 new things about the car (at least new to me). As you approach the car with the key in your pocket, the cabin lights up. The other thing is the chassis number is on the lower left hand corner of your windscreen -neat. Wonder what other cars do that.
yes, that is call Welcome Light function. You can off it in your car setting menu, you can check the Manual.

The Chassis number also have for the Forte.... biggrin.gif

161 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:04 AM