Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com

jenkomeng
post Dec 31 2012, 11:02 PM

hey guys...i've been reading all your msg in order for me to decide on owning K5..thank God, expected to drive mine Whitey K5 this Wednesday....
anyone knows, where can I go for SG in Penang area and how much does it cost?

Tq...pls allow me to join u guys!..Happy new year!
jenkomeng
post Jan 2 2013, 09:27 PM

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 2 2013, 04:24 PM)
Hi to all K5 forumers. I'm a newbie from Penang who got his ride just a few days ago. Just want to share some of my observations about this fabulous car and appreciate any maintenance advice from all the sifus out there.  There are 3 things I don't like about the car. First closing the glove compartment box reminds me of my old Proton, sound so hollow & plastiky. Secondly, the driver's seat belt anchor point is just a little too back for me (no problem for those who sit way back). Thirdly, when I open the boot after driving in the rain, the water runs along the upper edge and drips directly into the boot itself (design fault?).  Having said all that, there are lots of things I like about this car starting from the overall sporty body shape (curves in all the right places!). I like all the safety features built into this car (ESP, HAC ect. ect.) I love the Infinity entertainment system, the Xenon lights, the plush leather seats and in the evenings I like to drive with just the sunroof glass between me and the sky!
I did add a couple of things to the car. On the same day I got the ride, I sent it for tinting. Now all the glass areas are threaded with Chameleon Photochromic film except the sunroof which has the silver black film. Now there is a nice greenish tinge in the windows to complement my white car.
This morning I sent my car for paintwork protection. There's still no Sierra glow in Penang so I PPS my car. Did the whole exterior including treatment of the front screen and sunroof. They clean the engine too. After some bargaining I got the whole job done for just under 1K.  They said 6 hours but I stayed there all the time to see what they actully do and they finish the job in just over 4 hours.  Its shiny and smooth now park under my porch and I was told not to wash the car for 2 days (no problem for a lazy guy like me!).
Oh, I did take my K5 to KL for 2-3 days and for those who like to know about fuel consumption, I manage to make the trip from Penang to KL and back in just 1 full tank.  I work out the fuel consumption as 14.8 cents per km (90% highway and 10% city driving), no autocruise and no ECO setting, with average speed of 100-120 km/h. I forgot the litres per 100km figure, the 14.8 cents stuck in my head cos its less than half of what I got for my Naza Ria. Anyway I doubt I can get that figure again after my 1000km service which should be due in a few days.
That's it for now; thank you guys for reading.  Happy New Year!
where did u go for the Chameleon film and how much does it cost?
and also, kindly advise the shop for PPS.

Added on January 2, 2013, 9:29 pm
QUOTE(kevintai @ Jan 2 2013, 10:06 AM)
Welcome to K5 Family. Kindly join FB group.  rclxms.gif
https://www.facebook.com/groups/myk5club/
icon_rolleyes.gif will do bro...
can't wait for tomorrow, as expected my Whitey will be out... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by jenkomeng: Jan 2 2013, 09:29 PM
jenkomeng
post Jan 3 2013, 06:24 PM

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 2 2013, 11:41 PM)
I did the photochromic film on the mainland in Autocity near the MacD. Cost me rm1800.  The PPS was done also in Autocity beside Lowe Motors. They have a branch on the island in Perusahaan Jelutong 2 in Fortune park. Cheers!
Tq Bro for the info..
Arrgghhh...another delay on my Whitey..Hope no more delay this time. Can't wait to drive mine sad.gif
jenkomeng
post Jan 3 2013, 10:38 PM

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 3 2013, 06:42 PM)
The delay is normal. Mine was delayed 2 working days after the promised date. Btw I found 2 new things about the car (at least new to me). As you approach the car with the key in your pocket, the cabin lights up. The other thing is the chassis number is on the lower left hand corner of your windscreen -neat. Wonder what other cars do that.
Hehehe...maybe I'm so excited lor drool.gif

Added on January 3, 2013, 10:44 pm
QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jan 3 2013, 06:55 PM)
where's your car bro ?
still with SA..waiting for K1 from naza HQ before proceed on JPJ registration..perhaps tomorrow...

This post has been edited by jenkomeng: Jan 3 2013, 10:44 PM
jenkomeng
post Jan 5 2013, 12:00 AM

Yeah!! rclxm9.gif
Finally I got my "TO3I the Whitey" today..!
Really great experiences driving the new NU engine. feel the different compared to previous, but not too obvious.
I've been told by SA that the option to turn off other airbags except driver's, is only available in this new model...am I correct? Or the SA is just trying to impress me?..hahhaa

Overall review (just had 35km drive today), it is a great machine. Glad to see my kids smiling all the times..I make them surprise actually with this new 'baby'.
However, I need to quickly adapt the sensitiveness of the electric steering (almost out of track while taking corner after came out from the centre) and parking accuracy (looks like a new chap having a driving license tho!)...
jenkomeng
post Jan 5 2013, 10:16 AM

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 5 2013, 12:18 AM)
congratz..... thumbup.gif
What was the mileage when you took delivery of the car?
if I'm not mistaken, it's around 40+km..

Added on January 5, 2013, 10:23 am thumbup.gif
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 5 2013, 08:15 AM)
Congrats!

Be extra careful with your front overhang when parking. Thats your biggest blind spot. BUt ull find the rear camera makes parking in tight corners very easy. The camera is quite accurate and you can see the edge of your bumper in the display which makes distance calculation easier. Also keep in mind that the K5 is low especially at the rear. If ure carrying rear passengers, be extra slow when going over speed bumps or ull hit the undercarriage.

But ull find that driving stability especially during cornering to be very good thanks to the lower profile of the car and the 18 inch tyres. But i would strongly recommend you to trade in your 4 Nexen tyres for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Assy 2 soonest possible. Just 1 month ago i experienced a total blowout of the tyre while driving on the NSE near Gopeng. Luckily the stability control engaged and helped me steer the car to safety. From what im told by some forumers and tyre 'experts', the blowout was due to a manufacturing defect despite having a puncture. But of course Naza Kia dont wanna admit to it. Goes to prove that the Nexen tyres arent good at all. It has reasonable wet and dry braking characteristics but its sidewall cannot withstand impact as well as other tyres. There is a good shop in Klang that accepts trade in's and can give you a good price for the Goodyear tyres(<900 each). You can check the K5 Fanclub Facebook page for more details. This tyre is rated better than even the Michelin Pilot Super Sport which costs about 500 more (each). Kia Korea actually discourages owners from changing the rims as they say the rims were specially designed to help with the overall stability of the car. Either way i think the rims are really great and suits the K5 really well.

I would also recommend that you use the sunroof occasionally to pick up any possible issues. Some of the Sportage owners have reported issues with the sunroof. Also check your allignment. This seems to be a problem with some K5 owners. Even with allignment done, u might find the car pulling slightly to the right or left. Also check that your steering is centre.

Any other questions ask away.  biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
great info CM98..very usedul..thanx a lot.
does it practical to install front sensor? anyone did? how much does it cost?

This post has been edited by jenkomeng: Jan 5 2013, 10:23 AM
jenkomeng
post Jan 8 2013, 05:18 PM

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Jan 8 2013, 03:32 PM)
Bros, as far as I know they ( naza ) has not concluded with any dealer or factory who manufacture the right hand drive module for our K5 touch screen, so end up even if you buy the one from China now cost you ±USD600~1000/set can not match or fix to our K5.  tongue.gif

I did check with one factory there but minimum order would be 500 sets and to my capacity is just too many units to sell unless we have 500 owners here willing to buy or we can approach naza to purchase where it is quite a lengthen process which I do not want to proceed it further.  biggrin.gif
Bro, my SA did offer a touch screen GPS/DVD for only RM1.8k. Assembled by KIA, as what he mention. Not sure whether it's under KIA or that branch only.
jenkomeng
post Jan 8 2013, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(Orbituary @ Jan 8 2013, 11:43 AM)
thats my workshop told me to practice that in order for your battery life goes longer... and battery need to recharge by ignite your car engine... im not sure about new car, but one of my gen2 and iswara had to practice that, or else the battery will die in 5 days time (and i need to jump start using jumper), maybe some of the electrical component is still running such as clock/ alarm and etc.. thus, it consume the battery .. and battery might dry out total if too long never start your car engine..
agreed...the battery still being consumed even it's in idle, mainly for our car security system..as an example, u can see the red LED blinking on your front dashboard)...so, it's better for u to remove the battery cable (red cable +ve, is enough) before leaving it for long days.
jenkomeng
post Jan 8 2013, 05:28 PM

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 8 2013, 01:42 PM)
Hi guys!  Just did my first service at Naza Kia Autocity (odometer reading in at 1187 and out at 1201). I told then my steering is not centred (11 'o clock when straight line driving) and the guy at the desk piss me off by saying centering the steering wheel requires alignment and as my mileage is >1000 km, they have to charge me for that. Luckily my SA was around and he got the mechanic to adjust the steering wheel at 12 '0 clock (without alignment and without charge).  So all you new owners out there, if you wanna do free alignment at KIA, sent your ride in before 1000km, don't wait for the first service.

My service is all FOC, otherwise the charges will be as follows:
1.  Labour charge -    RM35.00
2.  Filter assay      -  RM17.22
3.  Gasket oil plug -  RM2.00
4.  Syntium 3000, 4L -  RM220.00
5.  Syntium 3000  1L -  RM59.00

Total  -  RM333.22

Btw, no more umbrellas; was only given gold packets for CNY.  I also did not want their free washing after the service.  Generally I'm satisfied with their service, won't mind going back there again.
great info bro..i'm now on 4++km...shall plan to go for the service b4 reaching 1000km.
my SA suggested to go to Sg Pinang SC (near to Kg Jawa), as he said, that SC being declared as the best SC in Malaysia..wanna try to go there soon.

btw, why u didn't go for free washing? just curious...it's free uh!
jenkomeng
post Jan 8 2013, 10:03 PM

QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 8 2013, 07:40 PM)
That is the KIA JNS in Jln Sg Pinang, I've been there numerous times servicing my naza ria. The people there are technically competent and the boss takes the trouble to explain things to you. The workmanship is good, moreover if you go in the morning, the hawker food directly opposite is quite popular!  The only thing is its getting pricey servicing there, but since you're on foc status, its a good place to send you car to. You may want to specify the engine oil to use cos the other part owner is a Korean and he uses a different oil. Me, I prefer Syntium (but that's just my personal preference).

The reason why I didn't want their free washing is that I had spent some money on detailing my car. When I look at the back of the SC where the washing takes place, the 2 guys there doesn't look like the type who cares about your car. I don't want any unnecessary scratches or swirls.
noted..no wonder

Question to all..when I press the button to unfold my side mirror, sometimes it doesn't work..need to press 2@3 times before it's open...does anyone of u encounter the same problem?
Also, how to make the side mirror auto folded when we lock the car and unfold when we start the engine? as I saw it somewhere in youtube..

0.0200sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:53 AM