122 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

magika
post Sep 22 2012, 01:51 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 22 2012, 10:46 AM)
magika - can you reconfirm that the cash vouchers you received also has the OCBC PM stickers.

And most importantly, like magika mentioned - nego/ask before depositing the money or opening the account.

And it is worth repeating here - for other banks where there is no promo, go talk to the Manager or Assistant Manager or Service Manager for better rates if you intend to deposit a substantial sum. For example at Bank Rakyat (as mentioned by magika previously), CIMB and even Affin can offer you higher than 3.6% if the amount is right.
Admiral, sorry vouchers all used up ended in stomach. All vouchers, gifts and whatsnot have to sign forms before its given, so its official. Do not know whats the current gifts available, will be grateful if updated.

Regarding gold art, mine says "contained gold" what does it mean. Just go to www.goldart.com.my\v2 to see current value.

As i have previously mentioned have to hard sell (or is it buy) in order to get the best rates and gifts though most of the time promo rates not negotiable although gifts are.

Rates (best rates not promo) are kept unknown, so must insist on max.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Sep 22 2012, 02:26 PM
gotham11
post Sep 22 2012, 04:07 PM

171 posts

How much require for ocbc premier account?
TSGen-X
post Sep 22 2012, 05:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gotham11 @ Sep 22 2012, 04:07 PM)
How much require for ocbc premier account?
RM300K for OCBC PB. In my article Premier Priority Privilege Banking Accounts, I have mentioned the minimum AUM requirement for opening Alliance Privilege Banking, CitiGold, Hong Leong Bank Priority Banking, HSBC Premier Banking, OCBC Premier Banking, RHB Premier Banking Account, Standard Chartered Bank Priority Banking and UOB Privilege Banking Account. Also I have listed the banks that do not impose a penalty when our AUM falls below the minimum requirement.
gotham11
post Sep 23 2012, 06:23 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 22 2012, 05:21 PM)
RM300K for OCBC PB. In my article Premier Priority Privilege Banking Accounts, I have mentioned the minimum AUM requirement for opening Alliance Privilege Banking, CitiGold, Hong Leong Bank Priority Banking, HSBC Premier Banking, OCBC Premier Banking, RHB Premier Banking Account, Standard Chartered Bank Priority Banking and UOB Privilege Banking Account. Also I have listed the banks that do not impose a penalty when our AUM falls below the minimum requirement.
Thks gen x. Really informative. Looks like both HSBC and Stan chart are charging penalty. My fund only ssufficient for the HSBC fd offer. Half 5% And half 3;5%. Need ti wait fir amount after my starchart fd mature. Can cinsider other . My aim is higher fd rate.
TSGen-X
post Sep 24 2012, 08:33 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Standard Chartered Bank Step Up FD Up To 6% Extended till 30 September 2013. And Standard Chartered Bank Branches are open this Saturday and Sunday (29 & 30 Sep 2013) 10am -3pm.

Click here to my Fixed Deposit Page for Latest and Highest Fixed Deposit Promos

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 24 2012, 08:33 AM
ronnie
post Sep 24 2012, 08:45 AM

Not enough stars
21,313 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 24 2012, 08:33 AM)
Standard Chartered Bank Step Up FD Up To 6% Extended till 30 September 2013. And Standard Chartered Bank Branches are open this Saturday and Sunday (29 & 30 Sep 2013) 10am -3pm.

Click here to my Fixed Deposit Page for Latest and Highest Fixed Deposit Promos

That's very good of SCB to extend this promo, just to locked up your fuinds for the next 12 months (in time for 13th GE)
plumberly
post Sep 24 2012, 10:58 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 22 2012, 10:07 AM)
You need more power than Excel? Wow! tongue.gif
Sorry, what I meant was the difficulty in getting Excel to do what I wanted. The problem I was facing was "circular reference". That is, cell A uses cell B value for a calculation but later cell B uses cell A value for calculation. After some thinking, managed a way around this circular reference. Though I managed to get this done, the programming structure is messy using the front end Excel ( vs FORTRAN or VB). May try to tidy this up using VBA behind Excel later.

Found this http://www.torrid-tech.com/

Close to what I am doing in Excel but mine is more customised - multiple income streams, ability to select which investment to use first (of course, the one with the lowest return) etc.

Also found this http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/se...0and%20business

Like I said earlier, MS Money has been stopped/put in cold storage now. but MS is so nice that they issue a final free software MS Money Plus Sunset. Link to download is as above. No update or support service with this free software. Should be more than adequate for me for my daily $ recording (but look ahead $ planning may not be what I need. Will check later).

PM to me please as not to crowd this thread with off-the-topic discussions.

Cheerio.
TSGen-X
post Sep 24 2012, 11:17 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 24 2012, 08:45 AM)
That's very good of SCB to extend this promo, just to locked up your fuinds for the next 12 months (in time for 13th GE)
Very good indeed, maybe because they need cash for their recent settlement in US or maybe they are getting ready for Basel III. I expect next month, i.e. last quarter, we shall see more competitive promos between banks.

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 24 2012, 10:58 AM)

Wah, you can go OT until I blur, hahaha. But it is not surprising you managed to solve your needs since you are an Engineer tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 24 2012, 11:17 AM
gark
post Sep 24 2012, 02:14 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 24 2012, 10:58 AM)

Like I said earlier, MS Money has been stopped/put in cold storage now. but MS is so nice that they issue a final free software MS Money Plus Sunset. Link to download is as above. No update or support service with this free software. Should be more than adequate for me for my daily $ recording (but look ahead $ planning may not be what I need. Will check later).

Use quicken lah.. can link to your Bank/FD/CC/Investment account (if your bank supports it) if not then download CSV to update your quicken.... tongue.gif If don't want to spend money then use mint.com... but no linkage to My bank account... rolleyes.gif MS Money 'die' because of quicken. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 24 2012, 02:20 PM
Dkck
post Sep 24 2012, 06:12 PM

138 posts

MAYBANK FD MALAYSIA DAY CAMPAIGN

Tenure 3 month

1st n 2nd month = 3.25% p.a
3rd month = 4.00% p.a

worth or not ? To park ur money for 3 month
ronnie
post Sep 24 2012, 06:39 PM

Not enough stars
21,313 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ Sep 24 2012, 06:12 PM)

Tenure 3 month

3rd month        = 4.00% p.a

Campaign Period
• 17 September 2012 until 16 October 2012, or upon reaching the set target, whichever is earlier.

Minimum Placement
• RM20,000 for Individual/Retail
• RM50,000 for SME/Business Banking
• RM50,000 for Sole Proprietor, Partnership, Associations, Clubs & Societies

Mode of Placement
• Over the counter only. doh.gif doh.gif
Zoe26
post Sep 24 2012, 08:32 PM

19 posts

Hi,Today i went to Hong leong bank , they got promotion for FD.
3.6% for 12 month, min 11K fresh fund.

TSGen-X
post Sep 24 2012, 09:20 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Tenure 3 month

The effective rates above works out to be 3.5% and minimum RM20K.

Compared to other 3 months promo:

OCBC Combo 4% but need to deposit another 20% into New Smart Savers Account which earns you up to 3%. Minimum Fresh Fund RM10K for FD.

HLB 2.95%+1% = 3.95% and RM1K into Savings Account. RM10K Placement for FD, no more no less.

UOB 3.65% Minimum placement RM10K.

Bank Rakyat Board Rate 3.65% Minimum RM500.

So is Maybank offer worth it?

For companies yes, most banks FD offer are not applicable for companies unlike Maybank's FD Promos.

QUOTE(Zoe26 @ Sep 24 2012, 08:32 PM)
Not too bad, same as Affin's Board Rate. However, the minimum RM11K is kind of odd, You sure is not RM10K? HLB has been offering 3.6% for Senior for some time now and 3.65% for Junior FD.
insaint708
post Sep 24 2012, 11:16 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(Zoe26 @ Sep 24 2012, 08:32 PM)
what's the terms n conditions?
wu ming
post Sep 24 2012, 11:40 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 24 2012, 06:39 PM)
Campaign Period
• 17 September 2012 until 16 October 2012, or upon reaching the set target, whichever is earlier.

Minimum Placement
• RM20,000 for Individual/Retail
• RM50,000 for SME/Business Banking
• RM50,000 for Sole Proprietor, Partnership, Associations, Clubs & Societies

Mode of Placement
• Over the counter only.  doh.gif  doh.gif
No need to open savings account right? Maybe want to put for short term. hmm.gif
TSGen-X
post Sep 25 2012, 12:54 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Sep 24 2012, 11:40 PM)
No need to open savings account right? Maybe want to put for short term. hmm.gif
No need to open or deposit into any CASA account, Maybank's promo is pure FD placement like UOB's smile.gif
gsc
post Sep 25 2012, 01:11 AM

1,624 posts

Tenure 3 month

Effective rate is 3.5% for 3 mths FD. Lower compare to Ocbc three months promotion. But Ocbc requires opening of saving account and 20% FD in that saving account.

If not mistaken HL 3 mth FD is the highest at this moment at 3.95% for three months. Max RM 10k only and rm1000 in saving account.
Chigme
post Sep 25 2012, 10:03 PM

700 posts

Gen-X, thanks for sharing on promo on OCBC. I manage to open the Premier A/C recently, free gift can choose either travel bag or the gold art display
gotham11
post Sep 25 2012, 10:47 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Chigme @ Sep 25 2012, 10:03 PM)
Gen-X, thanks for sharing on promo on OCBC. I manage to open the Premier A/C recently, free gift can choose either travel bag or the gold art display
Hi, any good offer with this OCBC premier? how the gold art thing? no cash back? when is the promotion end?

munkeyflo
post Sep 26 2012, 02:52 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(gotham11 @ Sep 25 2012, 10:47 PM)
Hi, any good offer with this OCBC premier? how the gold art thing? no cash back? when is the promotion end?
You can check the offer on the first post of the thread, or Gen-X's blog. Just read the thread a bit and you can see the links already.

122 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:21 PM