10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

TSGen-X
post Aug 1 2012, 02:18 PM, updated 13y ago

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Click here to Original FD Rate Thread.
Click here to Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2 Thread

Malaysia Major Commercial Banks and Foreign Banks Fixed Deposit / Time Deposit Rates as of 1st July 2012.
Bank - FD rates for 1 month, 3 months, 6 months and 12 months.

Affin Bank - 3.05%, 3.1%, 3.25% and 3.6%
Alliance Bank - 3%, 3%, 3.1% and 3.25%. FD Gold 12 months 3.3% (Interest paid monthly).
AmBank - 3%, 3%, 3.15% and 3.2%. Am50Plus 12 mths 3.25% (Interest paid monthly, FREE PA).
Citibank - 2.9%, 3.00%, 3.0% and 3.10%
CIMB Bank - 3%, 3.05%, 3.1% and 3.15%
Hong Leong Bank - 2.9%, 2.95%, 2.95% and 3.1%
HSBC Bank - 2.75%, 3%, 3% and 3.15%
Maybank - 3%, 3.05%, 3.1% and 3.15%
OCBC Bank - 2.85%, 2.95%, 3% and 3.10%
RHB Bank - 3%, 3.05%, 3.1% and 3.2%.
Public Bank - 3%, 3.05%, 3.1% and 3.15%. PB Golden 50 Plus 12 months 3.25%.
Standard Chartered Bank - 2.90%, 2.95%, 2.95% and 3.10%
UOB Bank - 2.9%, 2.95%, 2.95% and 3.10%

Fixed / Time Deposit and Savings Account Promotions 2013.

Please call the nearest bank to reconfirm the rates (go to the bank website for bank contact number where you can also get the contact number of the branch nearest to you) before going to the bank to check if promotions are still valid.

Alliance Bank Step Up Promo until 31 January 2013.
Contributed by ronnie.

Please note that you have to deposit 10% into CASA too when calculating the effective interest rate.

HSBC Amanah Term Deposit-i 5% Deposit Drive Promotion until 18 January 2013 for NEW Premier and Advance Accounts

One of the condition is that we must deposit 30% into Premier Account-i or Advance Account-i which pays miserable interest rate.

Click on link below to read my article on the HSBC Deposit Drive Promo where I touched on the T&C and calculated that the maximum effective interest rate for Premier Account is only 3.627%!!!

HSBC 5% Term Deposit i Promotion Until 18 January 2013

HSBC New Branch Opening Promo - Tabuan Jaya, Senawang, Cheng and Kubang Kerian/Kota Bahru Branches

Contributed by tbheng thumbup.gif
QUOTE(tbheng @ Jun 25 2012, 02:01 PM)
I've just returned from HSBC Amanah Kota Damansara.
Took their new branch opening offers: 5% 3 month TD-i for non-premier category.  rclxm9.gif
The requirements and process seems rather straight forward.

Required the following 2 products to be openned:
1. Term Deposit-i: min RM5k, max RM50k.
2. Amanah Advance Acct-i: min RM100. rclxms.gif
(I have highlighted about the T&C said min RM500, the teller said RM100 is enough. RM500 is for Amanah Advance Acct-i alone.).  
She said the TD-i slips will be ready when my cheque cleared. I requested her to mail it to me instead of collecting at branch.
I also requested for internet banking. It is FOC.
I was given a big golf umbrella and recycle bag as welcome gifts.  biggrin.gif

This should be the highest FD rate for the moment. Highly recommended.  nod.gif

OCBC Bank Malaysia Promotion until end December 2012.

Combo FD and Savings - 3 Months FD 4.0% (Minimum Fresh Fund RM10K) where 20%(Minimum RM2K) equivalent amount deposited into FD must be deposited into a NEW Savings Account and maintained for 90 days. Click here to read my comments at my FD Page

UOB Bank Latest Fixed Deposit Promotion Rates - Minimum RM10K.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Dec 17 2012, 03:14 PM)
UOB FD Promo Rates - Effective from 15 December 2012 until end of February 2013

3 Months: 3.5 %
9 Months: 3.65 %

Minimum and maximum fresh fund: RM 10K, RM 5 Millions

Hong Leong Bank Latest Step Up Fixed Deposit Promotion Rates

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 19 2012, 04:44 PM)
I just came across HL leaflet that got 12 months FD with step up FD 4.28% (for 4Q),
1Q 3.08%
2Q 3.18%
3Q 3.28%
3Q 4.28%.

Other Promotions
Some banks are also offering step up interest rates (with or without condition, e.g. some banks require that you deposit x amount in savings or current account), so you better average them out and I would think they still won't be able to beat Affin 12 months Fixed Deposit rate of 3.6%.

Other Similar FD Accounts - Bank Rakyat Qiradh General Investment Account-i.
user posted imageClick here to read my article on Bank Rakyat Qiradh General Investment Account-i

To read my comments and see more FD promos click >>> Malaysia Latest Fixed Deposit Board and Promotion Interest Rates by Major Commercial and Foreign Banks

To learn more on The Best and Highest Paying Savings Account in Malaysia for Adult, Kid, Parent and Grandpa click >> The Best Savings Accounts in Malaysia

Click here to read my article titled Australia Education, Term Deposit, Savings Account and Credit Card Interest Rates In this article I have tables of interest rates from several banks in Australia and also a Table for UOB, OCBC and RHB Foreign Currecny Time Deposit Interest Rates.

Click here to read my article Premier Priority Privilege Banking Accounts. This updated revised article now include comments for OCBC Premier and StanChart Priority Banking Account.

Banker's Cheque Fee purely for FD Upliftment/Withdrawal (Do not combine with other accounts, i.e. Savings Account)
Affin - FREE
Alliance - FREE
AmBank - RM2.15
Bank Rakyat - FREE
CIMB - FREE
Citibank - RM0.15
HLB - RM5.15 (PB Customers RM0.15)
HSBC - RM5 same day or RM2 next day (no RM0.15 Stamp Duty??)
Maybank - RM5 or RM5.15?
MBSB - FREE
OCBC - FREE
PBB - RM2.15
RHB - RM5.15
SCB - RM2.15
UOB - RM0.15 or RM2.15 Conflicting reports.

Click here to my new blog called Fixed Deposit Malaysia where I have published an article to show you how you can combine OCBC FD Promotions to earn more money AND how you can continue earning 5% interest if you had opened a joint account earlier where the FD is maturing before 31 December 2012.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 30 2012, 12:33 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 1 2012, 02:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Promos ended in August 2012

Promos ended in July 2012

Promos ended in June 2012

Promos ended in May 2012

Promos ended in April 2012

Promos ended in March 2012

Promos ended in February 2012

Promos ended in January 2012

Promos ended in December 2011

Promos ended in November 2011

Promos in October 2011

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 4 2012, 08:20 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 1 2012, 02:20 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

FDMCGC - Fixed Deposit Musical Chair Gamers Club

If I miss anyone out, please let me know and state your contribution i.e. Post# at V2 or V3

FRMONBWFDP - Freaking Rich Members Or Not Bothered With FD Promotions but contributors to FD Thread notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 18 2012, 10:05 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 1 2012, 04:42 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 1 2012, 04:37 PM)
Gen-X

OCBC Combo in your sticky ""Combo FD and Savings - 3 Months FD 4.5% where 20% equivalent amount deposited into FD must be deposited into a NEW Savings Account and maintain for 90 days."" Is it so must maintain in savings 90 days or not. N must it be new savings account. Thanks
Edited based on latest info by ascend post#26. Need to maintain the 20% in selected New Saving Account for 90 days.

http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Pr...2012_INB_v2.pdf

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 1 2012, 11:28 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 1 2012, 06:46 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rap7733 @ Aug 1 2012, 05:52 PM)
Hmm, just browse the OCBC website and I found this.
Maybe new promotion?

OCBC Promotion
QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 1 2012, 06:08 PM)
Yeah another good FD promo:

This promotion is valid from 1 August - 31 August 2012.

Fast track to 4.5% a year with online FD placement
Enjoy exclusive 2 months Fixed Deposit interest rate of 4.5% a year when you place your fixed deposit via online.
Just make an online transfer of funds from your Savings/Current account to your new FD account to enjoy this
exclusive privilege via OCBC Internet Banking only.
2 months and need to transfer via online.... can transfer the 20% from the Smart Saver account from the Combo plan?
TSGen-X
post Aug 1 2012, 07:02 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 1 2012, 06:52 PM)
If I remember correctly, withdrawal from SmartSaver account can only be done over the counter not online. Maybe have to transfer to other CASA that can do online.
Yah, I can't remember who mentioned about the restrictions imposed on Smart Saver account. And Bro, you are right, withdraw and redeposit into CASA and then transfer via online thumbup.gif

The 2 months FD online promo minimum RM5K and Max RM25K

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 1 2012, 07:05 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 1 2012, 09:02 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 1 2012, 07:22 PM)
Once I can confirm getting my rm300x2 cash rebate from SCB ,
QUOTE(1282009 @ Aug 1 2012, 08:57 PM)
MGM, thanks for the update. I still havent got my RM300 cashback and not sure I should withdraw or keep the $$$ there. Sigh!  rclxub.gif
Next time don't go for these kind of promo with "complicated" need to keep track and do this and that T&C tongue.gif

To ALL FDMCGC members, please see post #3 and let me know if I left you out of the list sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 1 2012, 09:03 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 1 2012, 10:50 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Aug 1 2012, 09:59 PM)
Ya, fully agreed but too late now. That's why I didn't want to go for the new 4.5% combo thingy in my earlier post 2 days ago..

Btw, thanks for including my nick..  wink.gif
The OCBC 4.5% is straight forward lah, it's Fixed Deposit - deposit and no need to do anything until maturity (and even by just leaving the 20% in the Smart Saver and not depositing a sen for 3 months until you withdraw it together with the FD, the effective interest rate for the combo is sill more than 4%), unlike SCB Savings Account with T&C requiring some activities.

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 1 2012, 10:00 PM)
Apasal aku tetiba joined club pulak? laugh.gif
You got contribute mah in V2, but next time better post something related to FD when you want to write a message wink.gif else it's consider spamming tongue.gif

QUOTE(ascend @ Aug 1 2012, 10:34 PM)
Gen-X, thank you for the inclusion and in general for your tireless (n i don't mean without tires  biggrin.gif ) contributions to this forum.  thumbup.gif

I'm hardly a good pick for the committee member role as I hardly spend any time at all in this forum  blush.gif 
Really, I think every member who has benefited from this FD forum has a role to play in providing useful information allowing members to make valid comparisons of FD offers - as opposed to just being 'silent' members.
From your previous posts, you are good in analyzing the T&C like aeiou, MGM and gsc and your posts are always informative thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 1 2012, 11:12 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 1 2012, 11:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ascend @ Aug 1 2012, 11:18 PM)
OCBC Savings Combo
Guys take note rules have changed. The Smart Savers balance is now earmarked and i believe this rule is retrospective, meaning these new rules will still apply to those who participated in the combo deal before the rule change.

Source:
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Pr...2012_INB_v2.pdf
3.4.6. The amount placed in the SA under this Promotion (i.e. the amount which is at least 20% of the 3-month FD placement amount) will be earmarked for 90 days starting from the placement date, and must be maintained in the SA for the 90 days period for continued participation in the Promotion. If the whole or part of the earmarked amount is withdrawn from the SA anytime within the 90 days period, then clause 3.4.7 below applies.
3.4.7. The promotional interest rate will cease to apply to the FD placement, should the Eligible Customer withdraw the whole or part of the earmarked amount any time within the 90 days period. In such case, the prevailing board rate will apply to the FD placement.
aiyah, now I have to go revise back 1st post OCBC Combo to what it was initially assumed based on previous promo, haha

Thanks for the update. Looks like I no need to go bother about my money in the SMART Saver account until October but need to go deposit RM50 this month doh.gif to get 2.85%.

And see, that's why you are elected (more like assigned) as a Committee Member smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 1 2012, 11:42 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 2 2012, 11:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 2 2012, 05:40 PM)
Nobody entertain u. RM all either talking on the phone or looking at computer, even you stand nobody cares. Have to approach them only can.
Very indifferent, dont care attitude and its not first time I went.. Maybe busy lah..
Bank branches that do not have reception counter like that one loh, you must go and approach them to open new account. OCBC main office KL, upon entering the door, got Leng Lui greet you smile.gif And my HLB RM very friendly and helpful.

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 2 2012, 10:28 PM)
HL bank service is bad, long wait and nobody bother you as if you are transparent.....I opened up junior FD earlier because of high FD rate otherwise wont actually like to go that bank....HL, May, CIMB are banks I wont go unless I need to...
Your branch in Penang no Q ticket?

For me, I have been a HLB account holder for years and got no major complain. I have accounts with 3 HLB branches and 2 Ex-EON and before I had Priority Status, just take ticket and wait for my turn loh.

As for PB centres, like I always mention in my blog, HLB, OCBC and UOB always got lots of customers and I find it faster to do my banking at the general hall and take Q ticket instead waiting for the PB tellers/cashiers. And what I notice is best to go to the bank after 3.30pm, less people.

But now when I go to HLB branches without PB centre, since now I got Priority status, I don't have to get Q ticket and just go straight to the Priority Counter smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 2 2012, 11:06 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 3 2012, 02:34 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 3 2012, 01:48 PM)
Anybody heard of the 2-month FD @ 4.5% p.a. from OCBC ?
Available only through the branch
Bro, read lah first post. It was reported 2 days ago. Offer via online only.
TSGen-X
post Aug 3 2012, 10:51 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Aug 3 2012, 10:26 PM)
Guys, for the 3-month OCBC combo FD, I've a dumb question. I can just present a single banker's cheque as they can split the amount to FD and the saving a/c right? I do not need to write 2 cheques. Correct me if I'm wrong.  blush.gif
1 single cheque will do. When I went for the combo, I split my single cheque to 3 accounts i.e. FD and Smart Saver for Combo and balance into my current account.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 3 2012, 10:52 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 4 2012, 01:54 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(masbruno @ Aug 4 2012, 10:34 AM)
What is the maximun amount for placement under OCBC Saving Combo Promotion? i can't find it in the T&C  rclxub.gif
RM1M no issue and even up to RM2M should not be a problem. Why don't you call OCBC CS and ask? And then report here tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 4 2012, 01:55 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 9 2012, 08:29 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Here's a photo of Maybank Islamic FD-i promotion I just posted at my Fixed Deposit Page. Sorry for the low quality photo as I used my cheap Samsung Duos mobile phone to take it and did not check the quality as I was in a hurry. Downloaded it to my PC and then only realized it's "useless" Anyway if you are at Maybank Islamic branch, check it out.

For the 4.2% offer, it's a Step Up FD for 3 Months. OCBC Combo FD 4.5% 3 months way better.
TSGen-X
post Aug 9 2012, 01:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Jul 31 2012, 11:09 PM)
Thanks bro.. What worries me is that many ppl are discussing abt 3.x% while BR giving 4%.. logically ppl will go for that rite.. So my decision as a newbie to choose BR shud be not wrong, right? Thanks...
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 1 2012, 12:29 AM)
Bro, if your logic refers to greed, yes it is human nature  tongue.gif However each of us also have different views and opinions and who is to say what is right or wrong? Having said that, if a financial institution is offering you like 8% for 12 months FD today, then I guess you better ask yourself how is that possible.

And you got to understand that Fixed Deposit and Bank Rakyat Islamic Investment Account are actually different. The Bank Rakyat's products are based on profit sharing principles, so with my little or no knowledge of this profit sharing meaning, I would think logically if they are making more profit, you should be getting more in dividends and vice-versa right? But this is not the case.
QUOTE(rajivshm @ Aug 1 2012, 09:44 AM)
I still dont really understnd. read those posts d... but being insured by govt of Malaysia shud also be safe, right? Im just worried if i dun get back my $$ upon maturity of FD. DIE liao.. haha...
rajivshm, my comments on Bank Rakyat's accounts at my FD PAGE has evolved into an article thanks to your previous postings where it gave me some ideas for my contents. Click below link to read it smile.gif

Bank Rakyat Qiradh General Investment Account-i
TSGen-X
post Aug 10 2012, 03:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Aug 10 2012, 02:33 PM)
Got new candidate for FRMONBWFDP!  rclxms.gif
Yah, added him to your group tongue.gif

and new member to FDMCGC - masbruno

In the previous page I posted a Maybank Islamic FD-i step up FD promo, it comes with insurance that covers Medical and Funeral Expenses too! Click here to MBB webpage on Maybank Islamic FD-i.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 10 2012, 03:15 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 11 2012, 06:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 12:38 PM)
If u got 100K, what is 50 a month to you? tongue.gif
5 Free pack of Marlboro Lights biggrin.gif

Here's a example of playing Musical Chair. Iif you see the previous offers (post #2), for 3 months FD we can get up to 4.5%- 5% pa. So assuming we can get interest rate of 4.5%, that's about 1.5% extra compared to Board Rates or extra RM375 with RM100K in 3 months time. 1 month of Free Marlboro Lights supply for me, hahaha.

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 11 2012, 12:49 PM)
RM50 a month equiv to RM600 pa eq to RM7200 for 10 yrs not taking into account compound interest means a lot for min effort, not to mention it builds discipline to increase net worth. Just recollect a conversation I had with staff always buying on credit, answer RM50 per month only mah, then RM100 pm only. If compile all the purchases, then easily a few k installment per month on impulse purchases only..he..he.. tongue.gif
Yah, Installment Plans is a trap to make people spend beyond their means.

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 12:53 PM)
well, it's just me. cos to me, FDs are just a supplement/cash reserves, my main income builder/inflation fighter is my unit trusts tongue.gif
Unit Trust - riskier so returns may be better tongue.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 11 2012, 03:24 PM)
You are right.  it depends. It all boils down to the amount of money deposited. Those who have healthy bank balance find it worth the effort because once a month traveling cost to the bank  is just a paltry sum compare to the potential extra interest income and those who earns extra interest but just merely cover the traveling cost definitely not worth playing FD musical chair. nod.gif
If just cover traveling cost, then shiok sendiri, hahaha

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 11 2012, 03:33 PM)
If playing musical chair with FD that earn Rm5-10 per month, then might as well forget it, as parking and time may cost more than that.

So count the net earn from playing the music, see it is worth or not.
Remember to take in parking, petrol, and time cost.
And also the Banker's Cheque Fee i.e. FREE or RM5.15. Make extra RM5 deduct RM5.15 Fee, Rugi RM0.15 for playing musical chair, haha

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 11 2012, 06:57 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 11 2012, 10:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 08:02 PM)
Gen-X is a pure FD fighter, no other investments?
Actually, I was taught at a very young age to save all my Ang Pow money in FD. I would go to the bank myself and renew my FDs. When I graduated, I had RM6K in FD and with that I dived into the stock market. That's history. Now most of my children money is in FD, and with inflation and Ang Pow getting "bigger" over the years, by the time my children graduate, they have more than 10X what I had when I graduated.

Got lah.... little bit here and a bit there. Just sold some of my UT two weeks back to lock in profit.

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 11 2012, 08:44 PM)
I dont think you realised how much he is worth tongue.gif

Gen-X passive income will be more than our monthly income..i think .. back me up lah.. if not why he is so free and bored with retirement..

I think forex got better returns..
So how much am I worth, haha. No lah, my passive income is not even a third of what I was earning when I was a salaryman. I quit my job because of my eyes and had to adjust my lifestyle; but, no way can be as frugal as dreamer. But I realized one thing from my interactions with many freaking rich people - no money one is miserable, got lots of money also got constant headaches. Nowadays, I have no stress and actually spent a lot less since I am at home most of the time. Only thing I miss is having a driver to sent my kids to school early in the morning.

Forex... no lah. I will just wait patiently till MBB drops to below RM4, haha.

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 11 2012, 08:57 PM)
As we age take lesser risk lah
Yah, now cannot take as much risk compared to when I started working more than 20 years back. Now got kids to feed and can't gamble away my funds for my children's education. So FD the safest place for this purpose I guess. If you read my blog, in ten years I should be broke for few years sad.gif But after that can withdraw EPF money smile.gif But if government increase withdrawal age to 60, habis saya (that's if I am still alive then).

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 09:06 PM)
By the way, am I the only one to find reading Gen-X's blog makes my computer lag like snail? rclxub.gif
I got no problems with Unifi or my Umobile RM28 package tongue.gif And Bro, thank you for visiting my blog smile.gif

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 11 2012, 09:27 PM)
Its not admirers but respect must be accorded accordingly to one's acheivement.
Bro, don't trust what you read online tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Aug 12 2012, 08:49 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 11 2012, 10:16 PM)
Gen-X bro, your blog unaccesible lah..
Bro, I checked yesterday I had no problems.

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 11:11 PM)
I'm just a small boy in a big old boys's thread blush.gif
Bro, time passes by in a blink of an eye and soon you'll be an unker too and we unkers then would be datuks, hahaha

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Aug 10 2012, 05:29 PM)
Guys,

Just a quick update, 2 days ago when I went to Maybank for the 6 + 6 months FD promo, they mentioned it has almost reached quota.
Bro, thanks for the update. Not often MBB offers interest rates higher than Affin's rates. Moreover, since it is offered to companies where most FD Promos are not applicable, it is not surprising if the targeted amount is reached before the 24th Aug. Then again, like I always mentioned, OCBC and UOB Commercial Banking do offer very competitive interest rates and makes no diff if MBB Promo ends today or tomorrow.

But for individuals 12 months FD, still got Affin 3.6% (Board Rate), HBL Senior FD 3.6% (Interest credited monthly), HLB Junior FD 3.65% (Interest credited Monthly) and UOB 3.65%. And if got KFH nearby, can get 3.85%.

Maybank Promo vs above with difference of 0.05% to 0.1% (exclude KFH) really not much diff. If got RM1M, then there is a diff of RM1K smile.gif Then again, if one really has RM1M, better go with OCBC 3 months 5% and 4.5% Promos and earn more from interest in 3 months time instead of waiting for 12 months with any of the 12 promos mentioned above/posted in post#1.

And some would say we wasting time with above 12 months promos since Bank Rakyat Qiradh General Investment Account-i is offering 4.01% for 12 months, hahaha

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 12 2012, 09:10 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 13 2012, 05:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Aug 13 2012, 02:26 PM)
Here is my take so far after trying to play musical chair.
Placing FD in local banks like MBB, Affin, AMBank & an exception of UOB is pretty fast.
OCBC & Standard Chartered is slow with many forms & even questionnaire to fill everytime I open an FD (thought the RM does it) & they always always try counter sell you other products, so each visit will take around at least 30-45 minutes even without queue.
Bro, agree with you on the above.

Nowadays I find MBB and RHB nowadays are pretty fast since deposits and withdrawals can be done with machines. AmBank I don't know since I don't have account with them. Affin, sometimes can be kind of crowded at my branch but reasonable wait time.

And I agree with you the "slow ones" are SCB, HLB, UOB and OCBC because they have freaking lots of PB customers. Click here to read my article on UOB Privillege Banking & Retirement where mentioned I would go to PB Centres to get a cup of coffee and then do the general banking hall for my transactions, haha.

Going with OCBC Promos does take a lot of one's time because as you mentioned got lot of forms to sign; and, longer wait if Promo need us to open new account. But, understandable lah, SG bank mah, so Kiasu, hahaha. Once I thought it'll be faster to just go to the teller for a straight forward FD Promo at the general banking hall and when it was my turn, I was told by the teller I need to fill in form prepared by a Personal Banker as she can't just accept my cheque doh.gif So I asked her how come cashier at PB centre can accept deposit (sometimes, I go straight to the PB cashier and bypass the RMs), she told me the PB cashier by right cannot fill the deposit forms but because maybe RM busy, no choice.

As for SCB PB, I also find they have lots of customers and have to wait like UOB.

HLB, as gsc has mentioned, the wait is long. I only have been to my HLB Centre twice. 1st time to request for Priority status because needed to get an ATM card to sign up for online account to activate my daughter's Junior Debit Card for online transactions. Technically I don't qualify for HLB PB because most of my funds with them are in Junior FD, but HLB have always entertained my request, unlike others, I am one happy HLB customer. Second time there, saw so many people waiting for the PB cashier so went to the general banking hall instead. Now with HLB PB card/status, I can go to any HLB Branch and be served almost immediately at the Priority Counter:)

Same as for my Alliance PB, if the cashier is with a customer, I'll be served faster going to the general banking hall.

But none of my RM disturb me with other investment schemes because from the very start I told them I am only interested in no frills FD promos.

And the worst of all is Citibank if you are new with them, can take about an hour or more to open a new account.

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Aug 13 2012, 02:26 PM)
Thus, do you know if KFH is similar to the 'typical' foreign banks?

Otherwise I may just stick or target local banks. Besides, I cannot change banks too often too as sometimes I have to go onsite outstation.
KFH branch location kind of inconvenient for me and as such not interested to even check them out.

Yah, playing musical chair one must have the luxury to waste time during working hours and it's not for everybody.

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 11 2012, 08:44 PM)
I dont think you realised how much he is worth tongue.gif
Gen-X passive income will be more than our monthly income..i think .. back me up lah.. tongue.gif if not why he is so free and bored with retirement..
OT.
Bro, I just "declared" my net-worth and my source of income to the online community in my new post which has no value whatsoever - About Me & Definition of Words Used. But then again, all my articles are just me going blah blah blah only, hahaha.

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0446sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:06 PM