12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

magika
post Aug 1 2012, 02:27 PM

2,606 posts

Captain, check in..
magika
post Aug 1 2012, 04:37 PM

2,606 posts

Gen-X

OCBC Combo in your sticky ""Combo FD and Savings - 3 Months FD 4.5% where 20% equivalent amount deposited into FD must be deposited into a NEW Savings Account and maintain for 90 days."" Is it so must maintain in savings 90 days or not. N must it be new savings account. Thanks
magika
post Aug 1 2012, 04:47 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 1 2012, 04:42 PM)
Aiyoh, thanks for pointing that out. Not in the latest  T&C and gsc did mentioned in previous thread he wanted to take his out the next day but decided against it to try out the SMART Saver. Updated my blog when this was pointed out by ascend and gsc 2 weeks back and forgot to update here  doh.gif

Thanks again, got to go revise post #1.
No need thanks as it will benefit me when I go to OCBC later, oops my only mature between 13 - 15 Aug..

PB at HLB only 200k
magika
post Aug 1 2012, 09:33 PM

2,606 posts

Gen-X , so humble meh clerk. secretary general lah.. rclxms.gif

Added on August 1, 2012, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(1282009 @ Aug 1 2012, 08:57 PM)
MGM, thanks for the update. I still havent got my RM300 cashback and not sure I should withdraw or keep the $$$ there. Sigh!  rclxub.gif
Hope it turns out well for all of you..

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 1 2012, 09:35 PM
magika
post Aug 2 2012, 12:36 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(saculooi @ Aug 2 2012, 12:17 PM)
Anyone seen the new FD rate by HL?

got info on that? - think its 3.65% for some types of people
Can see at first page one. Went HL bank yesterday, service no good, comparably BR better ..he..he.
magika
post Aug 2 2012, 02:45 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 2 2012, 02:41 PM)
Went to HSBC KD, can't open account+5%FD becos can't prove of local residence, shXt.
Went to OCBC DU not allowed to top up SavingsCombo.
Decision, decision, decision. Slave to the money.
he..hee.. better I not comment tongue.gif
magika
post Aug 2 2012, 05:40 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(saculooi @ Aug 2 2012, 05:10 PM)
tell me more about the service? sux ah? which branch u went to.. the website is hard to use already
Nobody entertain u. RM all either talking on the phone or looking at computer, even you stand nobody cares. Have to approach them only can.
Very indifferent, dont care attitude and its not first time I went.. Maybe busy lah..
magika
post Aug 11 2012, 12:49 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 12:38 PM)
If u got 100K, what is 50 a month to you? tongue.gif
RM50 a month equiv to RM600 pa eq to RM7200 for 10 yrs not taking into account compound interest means a lot for min effort, not to mention it builds discipline to increase net worth. Just recollect a conversation I had with staff always buying on credit, answer RM50 per month only mah, then RM100 pm only. If compile all the purchases, then easily a few k installment per month on impulse purchases only..he..he.. tongue.gif
magika
post Aug 11 2012, 08:44 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 08:02 PM)
Gen-X is a pure FD fighter, no other investments? hmm.gif
I dont think you realised how much he is worth tongue.gif

Do you really think that he has not been thru all the investment things. or is still not investing ?
Passive incomes does not necessary confined one to playing oops slip of the tongue ..investing in unit trust.
Its what one does with money thats idle thats important.. as they say idle things breeds devils thought ..my saying only lah..
Gen-X passive income will be more than our monthly income..i think .. back me up lah.. tongue.gif if not why he is so free and bored with retirement..

Added on August 11, 2012, 8:48 pm
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 11 2012, 06:56 PM)
5 Free pack of Marlboro Lights  biggrin.gif

Unit Trust - riskier so returns may be better  tongue.gif 
I think forex got better returns..

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 11 2012, 08:48 PM
magika
post Aug 11 2012, 08:57 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 08:52 PM)
shocking.gif

Yea, idle cash sitting at bank is very dangerous...that's why I wanna "lock" them away in UTs and FDs... sweat.gif
Same as in Unit Trust, will you invest in those that theoritically (your opininom) wont give maximum returns. For FD it is much simpler, compare rates then make effort to deposit at best rates, then hey presto ... passive incomes without much worries. As we age take lesser risk lah.. icon_rolleyes.gif
magika
post Aug 11 2012, 09:03 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 09:01 PM)
u talk like an unker...u older than 40? hmm.gif

I'm barely 30...still at wealth creation stage, not yet preservation stage blush.gif
I am less than 80 but older than you of course.. tongue.gif

magika
post Aug 11 2012, 09:27 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 09:06 PM)
So many Gen-X admirers here shocking.gif

Retire at 40+...enviable indeed... notworthy.gif
...I dread weekends when I'm not working...no thanks no early retirement for me tongue.gif

Added on August 11, 2012, 9:17 pmBy the way, am I the only one to find reading Gen-X's blog makes my computer lag like snail? rclxub.gif
Its not admirers but respect must be accorded accordingly to one's acheivement. He is actually quite humble says is clerk only.. tongue.gif

Added on August 11, 2012, 9:30 pm
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Aug 11 2012, 09:26 PM)
Yeah forex got better returns. Made about 25% last week
Me too but at Genting Highlands.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 11 2012, 09:30 PM
magika
post Aug 11 2012, 10:16 PM

2,606 posts

Gen-X bro, your blog unaccesible lah..
magika
post Aug 11 2012, 10:46 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Aug 11 2012, 10:40 PM)
you also go GH ah? Anyway last month was abit bad for me only got like 7%. YTD I have rake in slightly under 300% on forex alone
Fuiyoh n I only managed 250% tongue.gif
magika
post Aug 13 2012, 06:54 AM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 12 2012, 10:03 PM)
how sure are u bro? How about the interest calculation?

u also deposit at there?

i email Bank rakyat on this issue since last Monday until today they still no reply.

what is the safe,cheap,fast way to transfer fund to bank rakyat saving acc?
Very good question, i will ask this week as have some maturing from 13_15 this week..

magika
post Aug 13 2012, 10:28 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 13 2012, 05:44 PM)
OT.
Bro, I just "declared" my net-worth and my source of income to the online community in my new post which has no value whatsoever - About Me & Definition of Words Used. But then again, all my articles are just me going blah blah blah only, hahaha.
Bro, cant seem to accesed your blog for a few days.

Just check my FD cert, woah my data is wrong a few already expired, going to OCBC tomorrow..

Added on August 14, 2012, 10:07 am
QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 12 2012, 09:34 PM)
For Bank Rakyak Qirah if deposit under 5 yr , profit payout every month.

If at 2nd year, want to withdrawn it, any penalty fee? how interest rate calculated?
Just an update from BR. Went for upliftment, counter clerk says has to split to a few Banker Cheque, as Manager is not around so asstant cannot sign above limit. Each cheque willcost around RM2.xx. Silly bank, i ask who is going to pay for the extra cheque or my daily interest if i wait for the manager to be back. Then only do they agree to waive the charges.

For premature withdrawal at BR there is a premature withdrawal rate table. I will post later as still at Bank.
Premature withdrawal rates for 60mths deposit is 2.94%..better 0% for most banks.. notworthy.gif

Just a precautionary note to musical chair players, pls calculate actual principal plus interest before upliftment. In my case I was promised extra 0.05% although the interest in RM printed on the cert stated board rates. The staff had assured me before that their system has already recorded it. Being cautious, I tally up the amount on the Banker Cheque and lo behold the extra was not in. Have to wait half an hour again for new cheques. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 14 2012, 10:56 AM
magika
post Aug 14 2012, 12:41 PM

2,606 posts

Just deposit today OCBC Combo with Smart Savers.
Did my calculation approx 4.2% pa for 3 months in total.
Initially when met RM for 3 months rate she quote me board rate, and after that only I ask about Combo and Internet FD then did she elaborate.
Thats the reason we have to have to be ready with our homework before depositing. Then after that her assistant was assigned to do all the paperwork. Relationship Officer (as to her title) was more than helpful & efficient, she did all the explaination & recomendation not only the pros but the cons too. 1+ up for her. rclxms.gif The RM1k per month deposit I plan to do it via Giro RM2.00. Less hassle..

Also deposit in the Internet FD thingy, and quite good at max RM25k 4.5% pa rate. Only thing is that the Bankers Cheque must await clearance before deposit thru Internet FD.

One thing about OCBC is, all transfer within own account (internet banking) are subjected to RM2.xx fees.

All in all, upliftment at BR plus depositing at OCBC took me 4 hours (2 hour - BR make mistakes in Bankers Cheques . 2 hour at OCBC)
So its quite a time consuming process for those intending to play musical chairs.

Just an update, someone was asking OCBC online giro, its max RM5k only...

BR FD upliftment Banker Cheque's free..

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 14 2012, 05:11 PM
magika
post Aug 14 2012, 05:28 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 5 2012, 07:26 AM)
I made an online 4.5%FD placement last friday.
First bank in the money into an existing CASA with internet banking (except SmartSaver which can only be dealt with over the counter). Once the amount is cleared made the placement online with a max of rm25000. As simple as that.
My RM confirmed that SmartSaver can be transacted by Internet Banking and ATM card. In fact I can see the account from Internet Banking plus all my other deposits & accounts.
magika
post Aug 14 2012, 05:38 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 14 2012, 05:28 PM)
Bro, must be something on your site as I have no problems to my blogs and so does others. Try to clear cache or history.

So how many days interest you rugi? The extra 0.05% can cover?
koperasi mah.
Yes, always calculate the interest before you go and withdraw your money. Especially if your FD matures on Saturday, Sunday or Public Holiday where the banks are suppose to pay you interest up to the next working day. Public Bank so far was the only bank which tried to cheat me and the teller and Exec refused to pay me the extra few days interest. Demanded to see their superior and was referred to the Service Manager (second below branch Manager) where she also refused to pay me. Insisted that she call HQ and if HQ also refuse to pay me, I shall then report to BNM, then only she called HQ and paid me the few days interest. No more PBB for me.
thanks for the update.
Transfer between OCBC also for fee. No wonder they promoting eFD.

4 hours = half day away from work, Bro, your company got vacancy ar? I want apply.
Bro, I am confused here, earlier you mentioned RM2.xx per cheque. First cheque FREE and second and subsequent cheque are imposed fee?
Even in my workplace cannot access lah. Let me check further..BR did not pay me extra for Saturday/Sunday though , forgot to check, nevermind lah lazy already next time will check..

Extra 0.05% means my personal expenses for the day has been paid..

BR, I was reporting live lah like TV3, wat singh was that... he..hee. The counter clerk told me, then after I ask who is going to pay for the extra cheques, then it was waived. After I left, I went back again to enquire and then was told for FD upliftment it is free..wats going on...

For OCBC eFD transfer no charge.

Bro, sewerage company got vacancy want or not... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 14 2012, 05:44 PM
magika
post Aug 14 2012, 06:11 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 14 2012, 06:02 PM)
Shits happens once a while, hahaha. You fault for not tracking the maturity date. If the teller ask me why I want to withdraw my money, I will taruk her instead why I cannot with draw my money, hahaha. So the teller was just following your instructions  tongue.gif

Bro, you not yet open account in Citibank I guess, they worse off. Last year when I open CitiGold for the 5% interest promo, I said I was unemployed and the Personal Banker said I must fill something, then ask me where I got my funds from pulak  doh.gif
Bro, you now designated as FDMCGC Karam Singh Walia  smile.gif

BR... once again, koperasi mah.

Sewerage company...... can no problems with my qualifications and experience, can contribute to the environment by ensuring BOD levels in our rivers can have fishes breeding and living in them, hahaha
Thanks for the Honorary Title, hey wait a minute , I hear a lot of people cursing him..watde.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 14 2012, 06:11 PM

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.10    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:10 AM