122 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

wu ming
post Sep 18 2012, 08:46 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 18 2012, 07:44 PM)
*  Normally I would just sign when asked with a simple check but after following this thread, decided to check the interest calculation form which I have to sign (BR has a different work flow than other banks). Noted that something was not right with their calculated interest as I expected compound interest for the 2 years. Asked the lady whether their FD was compound interest type. Gave me the impression that she does not know what is compound interest. Decided to accept the non-compounded interest. They did not state that it is compound interest anyway.
Hi plumberly. Any difference with this section? Is compounded interests common for long deposits? I do not remember that funds will be compounded unless it reaches maturity date.

Hm, after reading your post. I am also thinking placing under BR lah. Next month maturity. Do we need to open a savings account for it? Can we uplift at any BR branch after maturity date?
plumberly
post Sep 18 2012, 09:23 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Sep 18 2012, 08:46 PM)
Hi plumberly. Any difference with this section? Is compounded interests common for long deposits? I do not remember that funds will be compounded unless it reaches maturity date.

Hm, after reading your post. I am also thinking placing under BR lah. Next month maturity. Do we need to open a savings account for it? Can we uplift at any BR branch after maturity date?
wu ming,

I think you are right. Compounded only on reaching FD maturation when I think back on my other yearly FDs. Thanks.

Do we need to open a savings account for it? No need. If you wish to use the referral 0.1%, then you need to open a SA there.

Can we uplift at any BR branch after maturity date? Sorry, I do not know. Check with BR.

BR rate may be higher than the rest BUT you need to consider that BR is not covered under PIDM for your deposit(s).

All the best.

Dkck
post Sep 18 2012, 09:28 PM

138 posts

did anyone read the T&C of the latest promotion from standard chartered bank? they need us to open JUSTONE CASA and every month deposit 1.5k to maintain ?
TSGen-X
post Sep 18 2012, 09:54 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ Sep 18 2012, 09:28 PM)
did anyone read the T&C of the latest promotion from standard chartered bank? they need us to open JUSTONE CASA and every month deposit 1.5k to maintain ?
Clause 7. Eligible Customers must designate a current or savings account in their own name (or in at least one of their names, in the case of a joint Step Up Fixed Deposit) (“Nominated CASA”) for crediting of interest from the Step Up Fixed Deposit. In the case of Eligible Customers who do not have any existing personal current or savings account with SCBMB:

7.1 If the Eligible Customer is a member of Standard Chartered Priority Banking, he/she must open an e$aver account as the Nominated CASA.

7.2 For all other Eligible Customers, they must open a JustOne current account and JustOne savings account and nominate one of those accounts as the Nominated CASA.

In respect to the above, if you are not an existing customer, then you need to open a Just One Acct.

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Sep 18 2012, 08:19 PM)
welcome to da BR FD holders family. LoL  rclxm9.gif
Bro, I think it's more appropriate that you join FRMONBWFDP club instead of FDMCGC tongue.gif

QUOTE(spikeman @ Sep 18 2012, 08:17 PM)
Aiyo rugi 0.163%  cry.gif  moved funds into last week promo.  doh.gif
Bro, go deposit another RM5K lah, then can feel good that you getting up to 6%, ahaha

Went to get my first FD with BR this afternoon. Was quite an eventful outing for me.

*  No mention of referral in the application form. So, can't put GEN-X in there. I know I need your name & saving account number.

There goes FREE money flying out of the window again cry.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 18 2012, 10:12 PM
gsc
post Sep 18 2012, 10:19 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 18 2012, 09:54 PM)
Clause 7. Eligible Customers must designate a current or savings account in their own name (or in at least one of their names, in the case of a joint Step Up Fixed Deposit) (“Nominated CASA”) for crediting of interest from the Step Up Fixed Deposit. In the case of Eligible Customers who do not have any existing personal current or savings account with SCBMB:

7.1 If the Eligible Customer is a member of Standard Chartered Priority Banking, he/she must open an e$aver account as the Nominated CASA.

7.2 For all other Eligible Customers, they must open a JustOne current account and JustOne savings account and nominate one of those accounts as the Nominated CASA.

In respect to the above, if you are not an existing customer, then you need to open a Just One Acct.
Bro, I think it's more appropriate that you join FRMONBWFDP club instead of FDMCGC  tongue.gif
Bro, go deposit another RM5K lah, then can feel good that you getting up to 6%, ahaha
There goes FREE money flying out of the window again  cry.gif
Sorry I am confused here. For the step-up promo, existing customers with e$aver still need to open Justone ac?
cherroy
post Sep 18 2012, 10:26 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 18 2012, 10:19 PM)
Sorry I am confused here. For the step-up promo, existing customers with e$aver still need to open Justone ac?
only for those without existing CASA account.
TSGen-X
post Sep 18 2012, 10:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 18 2012, 10:19 PM)
Bro, if you have an existing Savings Account, in this case an e$aver account, then sub-clause 7.1 and 7.2 is not applicable.
gsc
post Sep 18 2012, 11:09 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 18 2012, 10:26 PM)
only for those without existing CASA account.
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 18 2012, 10:29 PM)
Bro, if you have an existing Savings Account, in this case an e$aver account, then sub-clause 7.1 and 7.2 is not applicable.
Thank you. My OCBC FD matures on 21 Sept. Right timing.. rclxms.gif
spikeman
post Sep 18 2012, 11:26 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 18 2012, 09:54 PM)
Sad part is moved another portion of funds to UOB this morning. cry.gif

Should i go and withdraw it and move it to SCB. hmm.gif

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 18 2012, 11:09 PM)
Thank you. My OCBC FD matures on 21 Sept. Right timing.. rclxms.gif
I wonder SCB last week never hit their quota for their hit and run 3.8x% promo, so this week we have 4%

May be next week monday SCB new promo 5% tongue.gif

This post has been edited by spikeman: Sep 18 2012, 11:27 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 18 2012, 11:29 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 18 2012, 09:23 PM)
wu ming,

I think you are right. Compounded only on reaching FD maturation when I think back on my other yearly FDs. Thanks.

Do we need to open a savings account for it?     No need. If you wish to use the referral 0.1%, then you need to open a SA there.

Can we uplift at any BR branch after maturity date?     Sorry, I do not know. Check with BR.

BR rate may be higher than the rest BUT you need to consider that BR is not covered under PIDM for your deposit(s).

All the best.
If your FD amount reach minimum RM 20K (if I am not mistaken of this minimum RM 20K), you can consider to
open a saving account and request your FD interest to be deposited into your saving account on monthly basis,
or every 2 months basis, or every 3 months basis and etc...

You can withdraw your money/FD interest from your saving account in all Bank Rakyat branches.

I doubt you can uplift FD in all Bank Raykat branches, except the branch where you open your FD account.

Bank Rakyat FD cert is very important for depositor, better keep it in a very safe place.

Added on September 18, 2012, 11:46 pm
QUOTE(spikeman @ Sep 18 2012, 11:26 PM)
Sad part is moved another portion of funds to UOB this morning.  cry.gif

Should i go and withdraw it and move it to SCB.  hmm.gif
I wonder SCB last week never hit their quota for their hit and run 3.8x% promo, so this week we have 4%
If looking at 3.75 vs. 4.01, you should go for Standard & Chartered Bank

But you need to consider your opportunity cost whether worth it or not to move your fund?
For example, an UOB check will cost you RM 2.15

May be next week monday SCB new promo 5%  tongue.gif
The best FD rate I have ever gotten in my life was 5.5% from Citibank last year

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 18 2012, 11:46 PM
TSGen-X
post Sep 18 2012, 11:46 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 18 2012, 07:29 PM)
= ((3x2.98)+(3x3.38)+(3x3.68)+(3x6))/12 = 4.01 %.  tongue.gif

Say you got RM100K,

Diff between SCB and UOB = 0.26% or RM260/year

Interest for a day in UOB = RM10.27

Yah sure, extra about RM250 (may need to less RM2.15 for banker cheque if you don't have a current account with UOB)

But if RM10K, worthwhile? Your time per hour worth how much? Maybe if you freaking free, want go jalan jalan and no customer to make money from, then ok loh, hahaha.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 18 2012, 11:29 PM)
The best FD rate I have ever gotten in my life was 5.5% from Citibank last year
Bro, it was for Savings Account new CitiGold Customer. And you forgot to add 0.35% for the Savings Account interest rate, therefore total effective interest 5.85% thumbup.gif But only for 3 months sad.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 18 2012, 11:49 PM
gsc
post Sep 18 2012, 11:59 PM

1,624 posts

May be next week monday SCB new promo 5%  tongue.gif
if not mistaken earlier SCB FD promotion will mature in Oct/Nov, probably SCB is trying to tie up some new depositors for another 12 months to balance up the cash deposit....a different strategy compare against OCBC 3 months FD promotion ....

BoomChaCha
post Sep 19 2012, 12:07 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 18 2012, 11:46 PM)
Say you got RM100K,

Diff between SCB and UOB = 0.26% or RM260/year

Interest for a day in UOB = RM10.27

Yah sure, extra about RM250 (may need to less RM2.15 for banker cheque if you don't have a current account with UOB)

But if RM10K, worthwhile? Your time per hour worth how much? Maybe if you freaking free, want go jalan jalan and no customer to make money from, then ok loh, hahaha.
I agree with you. Captain
FD musical chair needs a lot of cash then can see the significant return..

By the way, why call it FD musical chair? I do not understand it until now... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 18 2012, 11:46 PM)
Bro, it was for Savings Account new CitiGold Customer. And you forgot to add 0.35% for the Savings Account interest rate, therefore total effective interest 5.85%  thumbup.gif But only for 3 months sad.gif
Oh..yeah.. I almost forgot about the 0.35% for the saving account.
I knew about this promotion from this forum... Thank you

Added on September 19, 2012, 12:14 am
QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 18 2012, 11:59 PM)
if not mistaken earlier SCB FD promotion will mature in Oct/Nov, probably SCB is trying to tie up some new depositors for another 12 months to balance up the cash deposit....a different strategy compare against OCBC 3 months FD promotion ....
I remember during the 5% FD promo for 3 months from Standard and Chartered Bank last year,
the guy who helped me to open my FD account also "help" me to open a lot of current and saving
accounts, he said he could earn more bonus on open more customers' current/saving accounts..!!
A bit pissed off and funny on this.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 19 2012, 12:14 AM
TSGen-X
post Sep 19 2012, 12:16 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 19 2012, 12:07 AM)
FD musical chair needs a lot of cash then can see the significant return..
Bro, the term came about early this year when sylille used it to describe our actions chasing after higher interest rate. People like us hoping that when our FD matures there is another promotion. Adopted the term since what we are doing is like a game I guess. We do not really know what the banks are offering when our FDs mature and hoping to catch the best promo in town. Good example - SCB current offer, if our funds are only available after next week, there goes our chance.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 19 2012, 12:19 AM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 19 2012, 12:21 AM

2,490 posts

I heard a rumor about 2 weeks ago...

May bank and CIMB bank will increase FD rate by the end of this
year because of the election.

I do not know if it is true or not..?

Added on September 19, 2012, 12:42 am
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 19 2012, 12:16 AM)
Bro, the term came about early this year when sylille used it to describe our actions chasing after higher interest rate. People like us hoping that when our FD matures there is another promotion. Adopted the term since what we are doing is like a game I guess. We do not really know what the banks are offering when our FDs mature and hoping to catch the best promo in town. Good example - SCB current offer, if our funds are only available after next week, there goes our chance.
Ha..ha... This FD Musical Chair Game is very useful and important to all serious depositors.

The bank FD promo advertisements are targeted on us.
We must support and react to their FD promo mah... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 19 2012, 12:42 AM
aeiou228
post Sep 19 2012, 12:47 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 19 2012, 12:16 AM)
Good example - SCB current offer, if our funds are only available after next week, there goes our chance.
That's when OD comes in handy in this situation. thumbup.gif To grab opportunity in advance with a small fee.

gsc
post Sep 19 2012, 01:32 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 19 2012, 12:21 AM)
I heard a rumor about 2 weeks ago...

May bank and CIMB bank will increase FD rate by the end of this
year because of the election.

I do not know if it is true or not..?

Added on September 19, 2012, 12:42 am

Ha..ha... This FD Musical Chair Game is very useful and important to all serious depositors.

The bank FD promo advertisements are targeted on us.
We must support and react to their FD promo mah...  biggrin.gif
Bank FD promo target those get attracted by high rate and continue to renew without moving out....bank wont like us, the kiasu group who switch around according to fd interest rate...somemore beating the fresh fund requirement by Rentas in the morning to other bank and bank in in the afternoon tongue.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 19 2012, 02:15 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 19 2012, 01:32 AM)
Bank FD promo target those get attracted by high rate and continue to renew without moving out....bank wont like us, the kiasu group who switch around according to fd interest rate...somemore beating the fresh fund requirement by Rentas in the morning to other bank and bank in in the afternoon tongue.gif
I always move my matured FD to other banks with higher rate on time.
Unless if I do not have time, then I will auto renew it for 1 month first loh...
then will move my FD to higher rate as soon as possible... biggrin.gif

But this switching FD process is very tiring lah...

Ai yah... Kiasu or Kiasi..? They do not bother me lah...
The most important thing is my wallet..

I have never used Rentas...

aeiou228
post Sep 19 2012, 10:23 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 19 2012, 01:32 AM)
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 19 2012, 02:15 AM)
I always move my matured FD to other banks with higher rate on time.
Unless if I do not have time, then I will auto renew it for 1 month first loh...
then will move my FD to higher rate as soon as possible... biggrin.gif

But this switching FD process is very tiring lah...

Ai yah... Kiasu or Kiasi..? They do not bother me lah...
The most important thing is my wallet..

I have never used Rentas...
I wouldn't say using RENTAS is KIASU syndrome. I put it as smarter and preferred remittance method when the amount involved is large and opportunity cost is worth a good supply of Marlboro lite or D26 Durian. tongue.gif
magika
post Sep 19 2012, 11:30 AM

2,618 posts

*  Normally I would just sign when asked with a simple check but after following this thread, decided to check the interest calculation form which I have to sign (BR has a different work flow than other banks). Noted that something was not right with their calculated interest as I expected compound interest for the 2 years. Asked the lady whether their FD was compound interest type. Gave me the impression that she does not know what is compound interest. Decided to accept the non-compounded interest. They did not state that it is compound interest anyway.

*  No mention of referral in the application form. So, can't put GEN-X in there. I know I need your name & saving account number.

*  Also went to UOB. 12 months interest is 3.75%. The manager will check with her HQ for a higher % when my other FD matures. Do you need to apply for PB or is it automatic once you reach their required $ amount ?

Cheerio.
If you deposit for two years FD, do you expect compound interest ?
BR interest can be be paid out to your savings account (BR of course), n from there can be withdrawn for other purposes. Its the same with KFH and others.

There is no referral in the application form. Its a practice. So when opening your son FD, better ask your wife to open it, then mention the referral person is you. Not sure about the amount needed, maybe more than RM50k. Negotiate first with the branch manager, the standard recomendation offer is RM50. Ask for 0.1% and it will be given. For deposit more than RM50k can request for additional 0.05% pa, need to be kiasu and request.

Premier Banking is a special account, its not automatic. Cheers. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Sep 19 2012, 11:36 AM

122 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:13 AM