5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

aeiou228
post Aug 2 2012, 03:53 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 1 2012, 09:26 PM)
The tracking period is for 3 month
1. May to 31 Jul
1. June to 31 Aug.

So withdrawal outside the tracking period shouldn't affect the ADB movement.
Damn....totally forgotten about the "maturity" dateline. doh.gif luckily today come to FD thread and got the reminder..
aeiou228
post Aug 11 2012, 03:24 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 12:53 PM)
depends lor...

for a hardcore musical chair player with 12 (or even more? shocking.gif ) FDs with 1 FD maturing monthly, the time (take half/one day leave...stuck in jam...find parking...queue at bank) and cost (petrol) might not be worth the effort doh.gif

well, it's just me. cos to me, FDs are just a supplement/cash reserves, my main income builder/inflation fighter is my unit trusts tongue.gif
You are right. it depends. It all boils down to the amount of money deposited. Those who have healthy bank balance find it worth the effort because once a month traveling cost to the bank is just a paltry sum compare to the potential extra interest income and those who earns extra interest but just merely cover the traveling cost definitely not worth playing FD musical chair. nod.gif

aeiou228
post Aug 11 2012, 11:03 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 09:01 PM)
u talk like an unker...u older than 40? hmm.gif

I'm barely 30...still at wealth creation stage, not yet preservation stage blush.gif
Aisey.... Now I understand you why you said playing fd musical chair is not worth it. laugh.gif
aeiou228
post Aug 18 2012, 12:37 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Aug 17 2012, 10:14 PM)
Here my case same as everyone is related to HLB and its was FD....

I have few foreign currency FD and maturity already... So went to the branch to update... Once updated, I went back home and get checked and realize my foreign currency become ringgit malaysia FD.... It appear USD$ 10000 become RM10000 cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  The next day faster go back the branch and complain then my hubby keep scold them for so stupid and it was such a huge mistaken.... The staff just stare at there and keep say is RM FD even we keep arguing until the Branch Manager came out and just a look... The manager tell the staff that it was Foreign Currency FD and apologize... After a month, again go to update *got remind the staff regarding is foreign currency FD*, still same thing happened.... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Gee...! Scary !! doh.gif

QUOTE(stchan @ Aug 17 2012, 11:13 PM)
To all the musical chair sifus:

When you are in between musical chairs, meaning, when your FD has matured and while waiting for another good promotion, where is the best place to park your money?
The wait could be a few days to a few weeks.
I usually park my money in CIMB Money Multiplier account - a current account that pays 2.5% pa if your deposit is RM10,000 or more.
Just wondering what better options there are.
Same here, my temporary parking lot. Currently the highest interest rate for the most liquid deposit category. But there is one downside though, you are allow only 3 free withdrawals in a calender month, any withdrawal thereafter will be charged RM5 per withdrawal.
aeiou228
post Aug 19 2012, 01:28 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 18 2012, 02:08 PM)
If for less than 1 month, I will park in my HLB Junior Account. But the current interest rate of 2.95% is only applicable for first RM50K, but, I have few HLB Junior Savings Accounts and in different branches too. First withdrawal per month free, subsequent withdrawals RM2 Fee. Banker cheque fee RM5.15, luckily I have PB so it's only RM0.15/cheque.
Another good temporary parking lot though with RM50K interest cap. Might consider to park there in the future. thumbup.gif
The reasons why I like CIMB money multiplier are:
1) 2.5% pa
2) No upper limit to earn the 2.5% so that I can uplift FD from other banks then just need to pay one time rentas fee to transfer to CIMB.
3) CIMB clicks has e-IPO, Can temporary "deploy" the funds to hentam some IPOs haha biggrin.gif

A tip for FD musical chair gamers:
Don't lock your money too long. watch out for Astro IPO icon_idea.gif

aeiou228
post Aug 20 2012, 12:03 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 19 2012, 09:35 PM)
good promo for Astro ipo. Shouldn't that in stock exchange thread? biggrin.gif
It was worth a mention of Astro IPO in FD thread as some FD musical chair players here might want to re-consider their placement tenure due to the IPO. We even discussed about the design of ang-pao packets here because it was related to the CNY FD promotion then.

aeiou228
post Aug 29 2012, 10:13 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Aug 29 2012, 02:49 AM)
6. interest for SSA is calculated for each month and no dependancy in between months, i.e. you can choose to deposit 1k the 2nd month and no deposit on the 3rd month
Bro, can u elaborate point #6 ?
Why 3rd month no need 1k deposit ? I thought we need to deposit 1k every calendar month into our SSA (preferably beginning of the month) in order to earn 3%, failing which, we will only earn 2.5% ?
aeiou228
post Aug 29 2012, 11:36 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 29 2012, 09:16 PM)
OCBC Smart Saver account interest of 0.5% is only applicable for the month you did a withdrawal.

If one does not withdrawal or deposit any money, the Smart Savers account interest rate shall be 2.5% for that month.

If you deposit (no withdrawal) RM50 to RM999.99 you get to earn 2.85% for a particular month.
If you deposit RM1K and above (once again no withdrawal done), then you are entitled to 3% interest for the month.

Example, you deposit RM1K on 28th August and then go withdraw RM1 on 30 August 2012, the interest rate applicable shall be 0.5% for the month of August 2012.
Aiyo, if like that I don't have to specifically deposit 1k on 1st sept in order to earn 3% for whole duration of sep la.
Ocbc staff told me if I deposit 1k say on the 16 sep, then interest entitlement will be 1st to 15th sep will earn 2.5% and 16th to 30th will earn 3%. doh.gif
aeiou228
post Aug 30 2012, 06:11 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 30 2012, 01:19 AM)
if you open account on 30 Aug, you have 1 to 30 Sept any day to bank in the money, RM1000 to earn 3%. RM50 to earn 2.85%.

If there is no other better offer in Sept, Oct...I will probably top up the previous saving combo hence no need to bank in RM1k ...if not I just deposit RM50 will do...3-2.85 = 0.15% interest difference only..
Good tip, bro. rclxms.gif
As for me, since I'm ultra kiasu type blush.gif, I will go for the 1k 3% category, because my total daily SSA balances for the entire month of September will earn 3% p.a.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 30 2012, 11:58 AM)
Bro, if you deposit RM1K in 1st September, you start earning 3% for that 1K  smile.gif unless you got a better account that pays you more than 3% (of course cannot fight with the savings if you deposit into your OD account).
Bro, actually OCBC got a better interest rate Savings Account for IQ customers but you and me not qualified for it, haha.
My od fund jobless currently. Not working and no "deployment" sad.gif
IQ customer ? What is the qualification ?

QUOTE(insaint708 @ Aug 30 2012, 01:43 PM)
the 3% earning is based on RM1000 or the total amount in saving account?
based on your total daily ssa account balances in a calendar month.
aeiou228
post Sep 4 2012, 12:31 AM

5,867 posts

I would like to seek the opinion of all sifus here about the following concern.
With the Malaysia's sovereign debts reaching 52% of GDP as of last year and Gomen printing "NEW DESIGN" money. Do u think we should allocate certain % of our RM FD fund to foreign currency FD like Reminbi or USD ?

aeiou228
post Sep 4 2012, 09:57 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 4 2012, 06:54 PM)
Yah, that is what I am being charged but gsc reported and reconfirm UOB only charge him RM0.15.
Yah, back in April 2012, I did a table for AUD Currency Time Deposit Interest Rate offered by UOB, RHB and OCBC where we can get between 3.4% to 4.6% Today, none of them are offering above 4% and OCBC is offering less than 3% except for one or two specific months tenure.

And the moment we convert to AUD for Foreign Currency Deposit, we are already losing money because of the bank's exchange rate.

Between May and July 2012, AUD strengthen close to 9%, and compared to the high in July, it's down about 4% today. And if you read the news, many analyst expect AUD to drop further. Now, it makes me think twice if I should go for AUD Time Deposit with our local banks (my daughter going to Australia next year for undergraduate course). Maybe if it goes below 3.1 to RM, would then go deposit some.

*Edited*
I just came across Maybank Master Foreign Currency Account Campaign for AUD/NZD/GBP/EUR where it pays 4.85% for AUD 6 Months. The Promo started back in July and ends on 10 September 2012.
Bro,
Dual currently account help me save some money for my daughter education expenses in UK. No need to pay buying/selling spread, high short term deposit interest rate, convert at spot rate.
Today AUD spot is rm3.1782 and the spot-0 1week deposit rate is 14.73%.

Added on September 4, 2012, 10:00 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2012, 09:44 PM)
Another option of getting AUD can be through DCI, so that can be converted at spot rate instead of incur exchange spread.
Definitely a good option for any one who have the need to buy foreign currency. I strongly recommend it.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 4 2012, 10:00 PM
aeiou228
post Sep 6 2012, 04:48 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 4 2012, 01:18 AM)
Gold perhaps tongue.gif CIMB got offer, 4% FD same amount when you "buy" their gold (no idea if it is cheaper than UOB in terms of buying and the diff when selling).
Thank you. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 4 2012, 10:48 AM)
Aus$ fd provides highest interest rate among all foreign currency offered by banks in malaysia. Rate even higher than local fd. The exchange rate is quite stable.
Thanks you. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 4 2012, 11:56 AM)
Easiest and safest way with little or no risk to currency fluctuations is to purchase Currency Hedged Foreign Government Bonds. But please note that it is much riskier than FD, but pays yield of about 3%-5%.
Wow !! this is DEEP ! Pays yield about 3%-5% and much riskier than FD...mmm...may not suit my risk tolerance profile. Anyway, thank you for the tip. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 6 2012, 03:07 PM)
magika & gsc, you guys really patient in spoon feeding smsbusiness2u. He has been asking about OCBC for the past 2 months and up to today it's like he still got no clues and asking what has been discussed over and over again about OCBC Premier account 5% See below, he first asked the the 3 Products thingy on July 24 and again the same question on September 6  doh.gif
To me, it looks like smsbusiness2u is still after post counts and just spamming. If one really intends to open an OCBC Premier Account for the last 2 months, he/she would have visited OCBC PB and obtain the necessary info; and more importantly, read the posts in this thread instead of asking what have been posted and needing to be spoon fed the same info.

And you guys may want to, read this thread - post#32, and see why I have awarded smsbusiness2u the titled of "LYN Forum's Need To  Spoon Fed King, hahahaha

I wonder smsbusiness2u related to Mnet or not ?? Both having same posting style ie, keep asking short and brief single line questions only. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 6 2012, 04:50 PM
aeiou228
post Sep 13 2012, 06:47 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 13 2012, 03:33 PM)
magika,

Noted and thanks.

Just finished reading this V3, took me the whole morning in between things.

Very informative. Did not know that we are entitled to the extra FD interest if the mature date is on the weekend.

I have one FD with HL due on Fri and the counter lady suggested that I wait for a day later to withdraw as it takes some time for their computer system to update. Captain Gen X used Malboro cigarette as the value yardstick but I don't smoke. So I use durain as my value yardstick. Each day lost in FD interest = few good D26 durains  for me. I think I will insist that I get $ on the mature date.

Cheerio.
One day FD interest lost = Few good graded D26 Durian = Few hundred thousand ringgit deposit amount = rich fella tongue.gif

Your bank open on Saturday ? how come the counter teller asked you to come on Saturday ?? hmm.gif
As for the computer system takes time to update the interest....Mmm.. hmm.gif this one I never heard before and it is new to me.
On second though, maybe is possible though because just few months ago, HLB's computer system actually delayed the Single Plateform Day (SPD) to Single Plateform Month (SPM). biggrin.gif
aeiou228
post Sep 17 2012, 07:55 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 17 2012, 11:25 AM)
gark,

Noted and thanks.

Agree with your OPR & economy relationship. One thing I was having problem in understanding was the very high FD rate (12 or 16%) in 1998 period. Maybe the hand that pushed the high FD rate was the currency exchange issues due to the currency crisis in ASEAN then.

Any view (good and bad) on MBBS and other building societies for the FD growing platform ? Know that they are not covered by PIDM.

Cheerio.
Bro, if i can still recall, the >10% fd rate was during the 80's and I don't remember if there was any 12% or 16% in 1998.. The highest was in 1997 when Thai bath got attacked and Malaysia fd rates gone up above 9% but never breach 10%. After Mahathir pegged the ringgit in 1998, the FD rates then gradually dropped to around 5% to 6 % level.
Year 1998 is the most memorable year to me because of several significant events happened during the year that changed many people's lives including me. In 1998 Malaysia suffered worst economy and currency meltdown, KLCI plunged to all time low at 262 points from 1300+ and I got VSS in 1998. The VSS turned to be a blessing in disguise coz it had given me the right timing and free timing to be in the stock market for once in the life time near bottom sale. rclxms.gif
aeiou228
post Sep 18 2012, 11:51 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 17 2012, 09:41 PM)
Bro, FD interest rate did go above 10% in 1997/98 crisis but for a very short period like gark mentioned. That time was really hard for everyone, no cash flow and foreign banks withdrew loan facilities. Many people were laid off. But we learn from it. Now youngsters who have yet to experience a major economy crisis who think market can go up forever will be in for a ride of their life if another major crash comes.

I sold most of my stocks just before the crash and went in again near the bottom but that round did not make much because when it rebounded did not take the handsome profit in full but expected it to go back to same previous high (greedy) doh.gif Even wrote about it in my blog with graph too.

And like gark mentioned, I was worried our purchasing power will be reduced significantly, so bought my first and only Rolex watch in 1998, haha. Now my no longer in production Rolex watch has become a collector's item smile.gif
I found this chart from the internet.
Another one.

Just read your blog and I was surprised that you too remembered vividly what Tun Daim said about he bought shares for pocket money only and asked the stocks speculators to be cautioned then the next day, KA-BOOM...... hahaha... biggrin.gif
Bought my first and only Tag Heuer too, courtesy from the mid 90's super bull run. tongue.gif Now no more wearing watch, use smart phone clock better.

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 18 2012, 09:05 AM)
"Business loans dip" says today's The Star.

What can we infer from that w.r.t. future FD rates ?

Maybe what we are seeing now with the lower FD rates was the result of the decline in business loans some months ago.

My look ahead then is to go for the longer terms FD rather than 1 - 3 months.

Your view ?
On the contrary, I would rather go for short terms for all my next renewals. As Gen-x said, there is a possibility of shopping spree in the near future if not as rock bottom as in 1998. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 18 2012, 12:15 PM
aeiou228
post Sep 18 2012, 07:44 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 18 2012, 01:26 PM)
aeiou,

Thanks for the graphs. I like collecting graphs like those.

Good point on the short term FD for the spending spree.

I take a long time to analyse and decide on big investments. So, 6 - 12 months FD still suit me, giving me time to decide. Market will take some time to recover and getting in on the recovery up trend is still OK w.r.t. medium and long term investments, in my view.

Cheerio.
My short term (<12 months) is your medium term biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 18 2012, 01:54 PM)
Bro, because of you, i went to dig up some FD records, hahaha.

FD placement with MBB

July 1998 - 1 month 10.3%
August 1998 - 1 month 9.5%
Sep 1998 -  15 months 10%
Nov 1999 - 15 months 4.1%

Lol... biggrin.gif You are right Bro. Now only I recall, I was torn between FD and stock market then. FD rate was so high whereas the stock prices were so cheap.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 18 2012, 07:44 PM
aeiou228
post Sep 19 2012, 12:47 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 19 2012, 12:16 AM)
Good example - SCB current offer, if our funds are only available after next week, there goes our chance.
That's when OD comes in handy in this situation. thumbup.gif To grab opportunity in advance with a small fee.

aeiou228
post Sep 19 2012, 10:23 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 19 2012, 01:32 AM)
Bank FD promo target those get attracted by high rate and continue to renew without moving out....bank wont like us, the kiasu group who switch around according to fd interest rate...somemore beating the fresh fund requirement by Rentas in the morning to other bank and bank in in the afternoon tongue.gif
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 19 2012, 02:15 AM)
I always move my matured FD to other banks with higher rate on time.
Unless if I do not have time, then I will auto renew it for 1 month first loh...
then will move my FD to higher rate as soon as possible... biggrin.gif

But this switching FD process is very tiring lah...

Ai yah... Kiasu or Kiasi..? They do not bother me lah...
The most important thing is my wallet..

I have never used Rentas...
I wouldn't say using RENTAS is KIASU syndrome. I put it as smarter and preferred remittance method when the amount involved is large and opportunity cost is worth a good supply of Marlboro lite or D26 Durian. tongue.gif
aeiou228
post Sep 19 2012, 01:49 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 19 2012, 12:14 PM)
dear sifus... forgive me for barging in.

been reading the thread, and wondering, no offence... why the big deal about 0.01-1% difference between FD retes by different bank? there are many other investment options available that can easily trump FD

just learning

The answer is simple, 1% different in the context of FD is very big deal for a rich fella but no big deal for a poor guy. nod.gif

Please recommend one investment example that easily trump FD as uoy mentioned above but as SECURED as LIQUID as FD. My ears all for you. drool.gif drool.gif
aeiou228
post Sep 19 2012, 05:02 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 19 2012, 02:36 PM)
Get franchise for 4D outlet or one-arm bandit club license, haha
Talking about 4D and 1% interest difference, that lucky retiree who stricke Toto jackpot RM41million yesterday potentially earn extra rm410,000.00 p.a. If he kiasu for 1% extra biggrin.gif

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 19 2012, 03:03 PM)
Got ah.. RM 1.2 mil per license. tongue.gif Want ah?
Risky la, if PAS take over the state like kelantan or Terengganu, all money down the drain liau. sweat.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0576sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:16 AM