bank rakyat? so good deal 3.8% for how long
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.
Jan 31 2013, 10:11 AM
3,784 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
bank rakyat? so good deal 3.8% for how long
Jan 31 2013, 10:17 AM
151 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 31 2013, 10:09 AM) Withdrew my children's FDs due in Jan in PB & AB and opened a new FD at BR yesterday. 6 months rate at 3.75% and I asked for 3.8%. Amount was less than RM10K and they gave me the 3.8%! In real term, there is only RM2 extra for the 6 months deposit but nonetheless I still feel happy. Ha. Maybe not the extra RM but the satisfaction of getting what I asked for. MY CIMB short-term FD is due tomorrow (RM 20k only). I plan to put it in BR for 3 months @3.65%p.a. as well to see how good the service from BR. It is close to my office areas. Me too also waiting for the KLSE correction during the 13th election, already marked a few fundamentally good shares. Will park my Child's FD in it for dividend and capital appreciation (around 10 years). Now the money is in PB Wise account....less than RM 30k.Later, I felt bad asking for the free gift (face towel). Ha. Expect a 20-30% drop in KLSE with this GE13. Plan to switch my children's FD to shares for the long term (10-20 years). Of course, getting only the proven secured shares. Gong Xii Fatt Chia to all! |
Jan 31 2013, 10:23 AM
4,761 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: My house |
Jan 31 2013, 10:28 AM
3,784 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Jan 31 2013, 11:22 AM
Jan 31 2013, 01:53 PM
5,847 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
PIDM is more important if you put long term
Looks like we have promoted for BR quite alot here, alot more putting money with BR now. |
Jan 31 2013, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 31 2013, 01:53 PM) PIDM is more important if you put long term different people may have different mind set, just like earlier post, someone is comfortable with BR for years with 4% ++ interest (plus lots of free gifts, voucher, free dinner, etc) without any problem....while the other group may be a bit more conservative, prefers commercial bank under PIDM. Looks like we have promoted for BR quite alot here, alot more putting money with BR now. For me, i will try my first banking experience with BR next week on the 3-mth FD @ 3.65% with a small amount.....see how it goes ! |
Jan 31 2013, 02:42 PM
2,490 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Just a reminder:
All banks in KL do not open tomorrow (1 February 2013) because of Federal Territory Day. |
Jan 31 2013, 03:45 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,308 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Jan 31 2013, 08:56 PM
19 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
BoomChaCha ~ Yes require fresh fund min 5K and must open one CASA acc min 2.5K~ 2.5K is the place where I sien dao~
But then re=think back, only first 3 mths 4.5% then go back to normal rate 2.85%, so doesn't really making alot here also. Now not sure worth to open a new a/c boh coz have to maintain.... duno got extra charges or not if tak depo $$ in. |
Feb 1 2013, 12:35 AM
QUOTE(Bunny_Mad @ Jan 31 2013, 08:56 PM) BoomChaCha ~ Yes require fresh fund min 5K and must open one CASA acc min 2.5K~ 2.5K is the place where I sien dao~ Thanks for replying. I called to OCBC helpline this afternoon. Fresh fund is required for this 3 months FD promotion.But then re=think back, only first 3 mths 4.5% then go back to normal rate 2.85%, so doesn't really making alot here also. Now not sure worth to open a new a/c boh coz have to maintain.... duno got extra charges or not if tak depo $$ in. You can switch your fund to another bank's FD promotion after 3 months in OCBC. There is no charge for Smart Saver if you do not deposit any money in your Smart Saver account, but you will get 0.5% of interest in your Smart Saver account. here is OCBC's Smart Saver interest table: This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 1 2013, 12:42 AM |
Feb 1 2013, 01:02 AM
I called to KFH in KL yesterday:
Me: Hi, do you open tomorrow (Friday - 1 February)? KFH: Yes, we open tomorrow Me: Ok, so I can place my FD tomorrow? KFH: Oh, please hold on (she needed to confirm this to somebody else) KFH: Sorry, we cannot place FD for you tomorrow, we open tomorrow for other transactions only... Me: So, I can only place my FD next Monday? KFH: Yes, come next Monday. Me: Is the FD promo rate still negotiable? KFH: How much money do you want to place in FD? Me: xx thousand. KFH: hmm..., Me: You pay advance interest one week later, right? KFH: Yes, one week later. May I have your contact number? Me: Why? KFH: I will get somebody to call you. What is your name? Me: But I have not decided yet, I might place my FD in another bank. My name is xx. But I will call you if I come, what is your name? KFH: OK, my name is xxx ---The end---- I think KFH pays incentive to the employee who opens FD for their customer? This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 1 2013, 01:14 AM |
Feb 1 2013, 09:46 AM
948 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
PB Golden 50 Plus Fixed Deposit (FD) Account
http://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/perso...osits/fd50.html guys, this 1 month 3.1% pa FD worth to deposit? interest earn come close with Bank Rakyat and offer extra benefits, most importantly, it's nearer in location compare to Bank Rakayt. anyone come across this? |
Feb 1 2013, 09:58 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,452 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(garytey @ Feb 1 2013, 09:46 AM) PB Golden 50 Plus Fixed Deposit (FD) Account this one has been on for many months now, quite popular for >50yrs old who already have account with pbb.http://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/perso...osits/fd50.html guys, this 1 month 3.1% pa FD worth to deposit? interest earn come close with Bank Rakyat and offer extra benefits, most importantly, it's nearer in location compare to Bank Rakayt. anyone come across this? auto-renew monthly so that you can break/withdraw anytime w/o much loss of interest, many branches. also, i think if >30k deposit, they give 50% discount for will writing services, not sure. |
Feb 1 2013, 11:05 AM
called BR this morning:
me: is your bank open for lunch time today? BR: Sir, We close during lunch time on Friday. From 12.45-2.30pm. What can i help? me: i want to place RM 20k, 3-month FD with BR. What's the rate? BR: Sir, it is 3.65% p.a. me: Do i need to open any saving account for the FD? BR: Unless you are putting more than 6 months, then you need a saving account for monthly interest crediting. me: Is there any free gift given ? BR: errr....the gift we have now is only suitable for kids. Sir, do you have kids? me: Yes, i have three kids. BR: O then we can give you school bags. me: Will i get the FD cert, on the spot? BR: If you are using cash or banker's check, you can get the cert on the spot. But is you are using personal check, then you can only collect the cert after the check cleared in two days time. me: The rate negotiable? BR: Sir, for 20k and 3-month, we can only give 3.65%. me: Ok, i will visit your bank before 12.45pm for the FD placement. BR: Thank you. |
Feb 1 2013, 11:20 AM
948 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(jacklew77 @ Feb 1 2013, 11:05 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « http://savemoney.my/best-fd-rates-in-malay...-year/#3monthfd but it is not that straight forward. |
Feb 1 2013, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(garytey @ Feb 1 2013, 11:20 AM) thanks for the info, but did ocbc currently standing highest rate for 3 months? according to ocbc have some terms and conditions, which is complicated for me....and the branch location is not that convenient as well.http://savemoney.my/best-fd-rates-in-malay...-year/#3monthfd but it is not that straight forward. |
Feb 1 2013, 11:46 AM
1,031 posts Joined: May 2006 From: What? |
guys which bank offers the most favourable FD rates currently? dont mind yearly basis as i dont intend to touch the funds
Feb 1 2013, 12:02 PM
10,061 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Sheffield |
with PIDM or without?
With PIDM MACH by HLB - 4% for 12 months OCBC - 4.5% for 3 months FD and 2.9% for Saving Account (Require RM1k top up every month) Split of fund 2:1 Without PIDM Bank Rakyat / MBSB |
Feb 1 2013, 12:20 PM
1,610 posts Joined: May 2008 |
I though HLB is 4.18% for 12 months |
| Change to: | 0.0343sec