QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 29 2013, 10:14 PM)
HAve you?, i have not, or are they not sending out this CNY?
Have not too. CNY is in 2 weeks time Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.
Jan 29 2013, 10:15 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,520 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 29 2013, 10:14 PM) HAve you?, i have not, or are they not sending out this CNY? Have not too. CNY is in 2 weeks time |
Jan 29 2013, 10:17 PM
16,872 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 29 2013, 10:14 PM) HAve you?, i have not, or are they not sending out this CNY? So if I don't wanna open a SA, I can just let the interest add on principal on maturity, right?FD for BR, effective FD date from the day you give them the cheque. You need SA if you want the interst monthly credit into SA, otherwise no SA also can, just get your interest at the branch when it's due. If you have 2 names for the FD, SA must also have the same 2 names. |
Jan 29 2013, 10:25 PM
5,847 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Jan 29 2013, 10:29 PM
16,872 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Jan 30 2013, 12:09 AM
1,035 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 26 2013, 03:02 PM) yes if you have significant amount, you get better rate with 5 years. 4.7% at MBSB. Thanks for sharing your view.sometimes promotion also can get good rate like 4.5% - 5%. MUst be quick to grab and dump all in. I still enjoy the 5% HLB Junior FD, monthly interest. FD 1 year and above at rate below 4% is considered poor rate. And yes, i agree with magica alot of people are 'so attached' to 'big' banks, like MBB, Std Chart etc- give poor FD rate also they dont mind.NOt for me, i used BR, MBSB so many years already still they didn't collapse yet... And yes , a rate difference of even 0.5% can be significant if you have quite abit. Even for RM100k, 0.5% means extra RM500 a year. If 1M it means extra RM416 per month! Now imagine if you get only3% at the 'big bank' and BR or MBSB paying 4.5%, how much loss already every year?.. BR is good at customer care, every year will send hampers to your house. Regularly got invite for makan at hotel. And when they invite they ask you to bring friends, even if they are not BR customers. Go to hotel makan, got lucky draw somemore, and is like planned you will get a hamper . Put new FD ,they will give free gift, parker pen, Manicure sets, T shirt, umbrella, Bath towel. I think BR is rich, making lots of money every year, surely can afford to pampers its Customers, cant imagine how the BR can go collapse........, i assured myself. I have some $$$ available in the coming months. So, still juggling between short term (magika's way) or long term (your way) FD placement. Have to do some serious thinking & select one most suitable & comfortable way based on my whims and fancies |
Jan 30 2013, 11:33 AM
1,367 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
hi sifus, lets say if i wanna get bankers cheque from maybank, wanna transfer to hong leong, do i need to tell them which bank i wanna pass it to? and must i go back to the branch which i opened the bank acc from?
Jan 30 2013, 12:39 PM
860 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
Hi BR fans,
Just wanted to check with you a few things: 1. Different branches give different gifts right? This is because Damansara Utama branch has been only giving cooler bag since October last year! The teller said no other free gift 2. Perhaps we can list out which branch gives what free gift? 3. Same teller also told me ONLY placement of 500k & above the rate is negotiable this year. Last year 100K was still possible. Anyone this year can still get more than 4.01% 12 months for 100k without referral? 4. Or is it the cumulative amount that counts? 5. Could we also list out which branches offer better rates as I feel the DU branch is too sticky 6. For those festive gifts &/or events, does it apply to all BR FD customers or selected 'priority' customers? |
Jan 30 2013, 12:53 PM
1,624 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Jan 30 2013, 11:33 AM) hi sifus, lets say if i wanna get bankers cheque from maybank, wanna transfer to hong leong, do i need to tell them which bank i wanna pass it to? and must i go back to the branch which i opened the bank acc from? Banker cheque paid to your name, just like normal cheque.Not sure about May bank, some banks have a limit on amount to be withdrawn from non home branch This post has been edited by gsc: Jan 30 2013, 12:54 PM |
Jan 30 2013, 03:42 PM
44 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Guys... i saw newspaper ads today, AmBank got 3.8% for 6 mth FD, 20% to CASA... anyone can confirm as I couldn't find the info at the website.
Jan 30 2013, 04:20 PM
2,605 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jan 30 2013, 12:39 PM) Hi BR fans, I have been saying that for some time that for uncooperative tellers, just get the brochure for FD where it is listed the person in-charge. Then just use phone to call for better rates. Just wanted to check with you a few things: 3. Same teller also told me ONLY placement of 500k & above the rate is negotiable this year. Last year 100K was still possible. Anyone this year can still get more than 4.01% 12 months for 100k without referral? |
Jan 30 2013, 06:35 PM
6,614 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jan 30 2013, 12:39 PM) Hi BR fans, See my earlier post for some info. For 50k and above can negotiate to get 4.06%. For 500k and above, up to 4.11%.3. Same teller also told me ONLY placement of 500k & above the rate is negotiable this year. Last year 100K was still possible. Anyone this year can still get more than 4.01% 12 months for 100k without referral? 4. Or is it the cumulative amount that counts? But it all depends on negotiation with the person in charge in BR. Cumulative amount helps as you built up bigger total amount in BR. I got up to 4.2% last week, thanks to Magika for sharing his experience and challenging us to get higher and higher rate from BR !! |
Jan 30 2013, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(RO Player @ Jan 30 2013, 06:43 PM) Planning for your March 300k ????????????? You can break the amt down, should not be an issue. Also total amt you have including joint account and single accounts can also. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 30 2013, 06:48 PM |
Jan 30 2013, 07:18 PM
4,228 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
My Jan FD is expired. Will go for UOB 9 months tenure @ 3.65%.
Just curious why all the links in the first post are no longer available. |
Jan 30 2013, 08:58 PM
19 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Sifus~ I need your advice~ currently OCBC is having this promotion,
"OCBC 3-Month Fixed Deposit “CASA” Bonus Savers Promotion – 4.50% p.a? (ends 31st March 2013)" Worth to take? because I don't have OCBC account, means have to take a bunch of $$ from another bank in order to place them in OCBC, I have no experience with bank cheques and sked sked to take this whole lot of $$ w me... 7.5K means a lot for a kecik person like me... but the promotion very tempting neh.... Advise Pls~ Kamsiah byk byk~ http://savemoney.my/ocbc-3-month-fixed-dep...up-to-3-96-p-a/ |
Jan 30 2013, 11:03 PM
2,490 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(Bunny_Mad @ Jan 30 2013, 08:58 PM) Sifus~ I need your advice~ currently OCBC is having this promotion, I think this OCBC's 3 months FD promotion requires a fresh fund, right?"OCBC 3-Month Fixed Deposit “CASA” Bonus Savers Promotion – 4.50% p.a? (ends 31st March 2013)" Worth to take? because I don't have OCBC account, means have to take a bunch of $$ from another bank in order to place them in OCBC, I have no experience with bank cheques and sked sked to take this whole lot of $$ w me... 7.5K means a lot for a kecik person like me... but the promotion very tempting neh.... Advise Pls~ Kamsiah byk byk~ http://savemoney.my/ocbc-3-month-fixed-dep...up-to-3-96-p-a/ |
Jan 31 2013, 12:30 AM
860 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 30 2013, 06:35 PM) See my earlier post for some info. For 50k and above can negotiate to get 4.06%. For 500k and above, up to 4.11%. Ok, noticed you are in Penang.But it all depends on negotiation with the person in charge in BR. Cumulative amount helps as you built up bigger total amount in BR. I got up to 4.2% last week, thanks to Magika for sharing his experience and challenging us to get higher and higher rate from BR !! Seems is better over there since they also have more gifts! Will try calling next time since already deposited twice but still getting 4.01%. Or perhaps will try other branches instead. Anyone in Petaling Jaya area who tried BR? |
Jan 31 2013, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jan 31 2013, 12:30 AM) Ok, noticed you are in Penang. The first time I went to BR, I held my cheque with me and negotiate with them before giving them the cheque. Ha ha !Seems is better over there since they also have more gifts! Will try calling next time since already deposited twice but still getting 4.01%. Or perhaps will try other branches instead. Anyone in Petaling Jaya area who tried BR? |
Jan 31 2013, 09:32 AM
245 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Jan 31 2013, 09:40 AM
1,624 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Jan 31 2013, 10:09 AM
4,761 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: My house |
Withdrew my children's FDs due in Jan in PB & AB and opened a new FD at BR yesterday. 6 months rate at 3.75% and I asked for 3.8%. Amount was less than RM10K and they gave me the 3.8%! In real term, there is only RM2 extra for the 6 months deposit but nonetheless I still feel happy. Ha. Maybe not the extra RM but the satisfaction of getting what I asked for.
Later, I felt bad asking for the free gift (face towel). Ha. Expect a 20-30% drop in KLSE with this GE13. Plan to switch my children's FD to shares for the long term (10-20 years). Of course, getting only the proven secured shares. Gong Xii Fatt Chia to all! |
| Change to: | 0.0300sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:57 PM |