when is the next FD rates hike?
any expert forecast?
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.
Aug 10 2012, 10:34 AM
2,145 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: 1BORNEO |
when is the next FD rates hike?
any expert forecast? |
Aug 10 2012, 11:08 AM
2,361 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(masbruno @ Aug 9 2012, 03:16 PM) But for 2 months only.. 2 months for 4.5% then after that change back to their normal rate? Errr.. Then what's the good thing of this promotion? Sorry.. I'm noob for those Interest thingy.Board rate is basically the rate u see on the board in the bank ie. prevailing rate I just put my FD then no bother till now. Just look at the compounding interest. |
Aug 10 2012, 12:27 PM
1,624 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 10 2012, 11:08 AM) 2 months for 4.5% then after that change back to their normal rate? Errr.. Then what's the good thing of this promotion? Sorry.. I'm noob for those Interest thingy. that is why most of the members are playing musical chairs.I just put my FD then no bother till now. Just look at the compounding interest. bank promotion is to get the fund and some depositors will continue to stay on with low board rates. |
Aug 10 2012, 02:33 PM
12,534 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Penang, KL, China, Indonesia.... |
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 10 2012, 11:08 AM) 2 months for 4.5% then after that change back to their normal rate? Errr.. Then what's the good thing of this promotion? Sorry.. I'm noob for those Interest thingy. Got new candidate for FRMONBWFDP! I just put my FD then no bother till now. Just look at the compounding interest. |
Aug 10 2012, 03:00 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(gark @ Aug 10 2012, 02:33 PM) Yah, added him to your group and new member to FDMCGC - masbruno In the previous page I posted a Maybank Islamic FD-i step up FD promo, it comes with insurance that covers Medical and Funeral Expenses too! Click here to MBB webpage on Maybank Islamic FD-i. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 10 2012, 03:15 PM |
Aug 10 2012, 05:29 PM
860 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
Guys,
Just a quick update, 2 days ago when I went to Maybank for the 6 + 6 months FD promo, they mentioned it has almost reached quota. |
Aug 11 2012, 10:03 AM
394 posts Joined: Jun 2012 From: Singapore |
Aug 11 2012, 10:06 AM
play musical chair?? But not much interest unless you've RM 1million!
Aug 11 2012, 12:14 PM
5,640 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Manussa loka |
Aug 11 2012, 12:38 PM
16,872 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Aug 11 2012, 12:49 PM
2,606 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 12:38 PM) RM50 a month equiv to RM600 pa eq to RM7200 for 10 yrs not taking into account compound interest means a lot for min effort, not to mention it builds discipline to increase net worth. Just recollect a conversation I had with staff always buying on credit, answer RM50 per month only mah, then RM100 pm only. If compile all the purchases, then easily a few k installment per month on impulse purchases only..he..he.. |
Aug 11 2012, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Aug 11 2012, 12:49 PM) RM50 a month equiv to RM600 pa eq to RM7200 for 10 yrs not taking into account compound interest means a lot for min effort, not to mention it builds discipline to increase net worth. Just recollect a conversation I had with staff always buying on credit, answer RM50 per month only mah, then RM100 pm only. If compile all the purchases, then easily a few k installment per month on impulse purchases only..he..he.. depends lor...for a hardcore musical chair player with 12 (or even more? well, it's just me. cos to me, FDs are just a supplement/cash reserves, my main income builder/inflation fighter is my unit trusts |
Aug 11 2012, 02:01 PM
1,624 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 12:53 PM) depends lor... I am glad I am staying in Penang, playing musical chair does not need a lot of travelling as banks are clustered to each other. Well different people have different needsfor a hardcore musical chair player with 12 (or even more? well, it's just me. cos to me, FDs are just a supplement/cash reserves, my main income builder/inflation fighter is my unit trusts |
Aug 11 2012, 03:24 PM
5,867 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 12:53 PM) depends lor... You are right. it depends. It all boils down to the amount of money deposited. Those who have healthy bank balance find it worth the effort because once a month traveling cost to the bank is just a paltry sum compare to the potential extra interest income and those who earns extra interest but just merely cover the traveling cost definitely not worth playing FD musical chair. for a hardcore musical chair player with 12 (or even more? well, it's just me. cos to me, FDs are just a supplement/cash reserves, my main income builder/inflation fighter is my unit trusts |
Aug 11 2012, 03:33 PM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
If playing musical chair with FD that earn Rm5-10 per month, then might as well forget it, as parking and time may cost more than that.
So count the net earn from playing the music, see it is worth or not. Remember to take in parking, petrol, and time cost. |
Aug 11 2012, 04:17 PM
when am I going to have RM 100k?
Aug 11 2012, 06:56 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 12:38 PM) 5 Free pack of Marlboro Lights Here's a example of playing Musical Chair. Iif you see the previous offers (post #2), for 3 months FD we can get up to 4.5%- 5% pa. So assuming we can get interest rate of 4.5%, that's about 1.5% extra compared to Board Rates or extra RM375 with RM100K in 3 months time. 1 month of Free Marlboro Lights supply for me, hahaha. QUOTE(magika @ Aug 11 2012, 12:49 PM) RM50 a month equiv to RM600 pa eq to RM7200 for 10 yrs not taking into account compound interest means a lot for min effort, not to mention it builds discipline to increase net worth. Just recollect a conversation I had with staff always buying on credit, answer RM50 per month only mah, then RM100 pm only. If compile all the purchases, then easily a few k installment per month on impulse purchases only..he..he.. Yah, Installment Plans is a trap to make people spend beyond their means.QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 12:53 PM) well, it's just me. cos to me, FDs are just a supplement/cash reserves, my main income builder/inflation fighter is my unit trusts Unit Trust - riskier so returns may be better QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 11 2012, 03:24 PM) You are right. it depends. It all boils down to the amount of money deposited. Those who have healthy bank balance find it worth the effort because once a month traveling cost to the bank is just a paltry sum compare to the potential extra interest income and those who earns extra interest but just merely cover the traveling cost definitely not worth playing FD musical chair. If just cover traveling cost, then shiok sendiri, hahaha QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 11 2012, 03:33 PM) If playing musical chair with FD that earn Rm5-10 per month, then might as well forget it, as parking and time may cost more than that. And also the Banker's Cheque Fee i.e. FREE or RM5.15. Make extra RM5 deduct RM5.15 Fee, Rugi RM0.15 for playing musical chair, hahaSo count the net earn from playing the music, see it is worth or not. Remember to take in parking, petrol, and time cost. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 11 2012, 06:57 PM |
Aug 11 2012, 08:02 PM
Gen-X is a pure FD fighter, no other investments?
Aug 11 2012, 08:44 PM
2,606 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 08:02 PM) I dont think you realised how much he is worth Do you really think that he has not been thru all the investment things. or is still not investing ? Passive incomes does not necessary confined one to playing oops slip of the tongue ..investing in unit trust. Its what one does with money thats idle thats important.. as they say idle things breeds devils thought ..my saying only lah.. Gen-X passive income will be more than our monthly income..i think .. back me up lah.. Added on August 11, 2012, 8:48 pm QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 11 2012, 06:56 PM) I think forex got better returns..This post has been edited by magika: Aug 11 2012, 08:48 PM |
Aug 11 2012, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Aug 11 2012, 08:44 PM) I dont think you realised how much he is worth Do you really think that he has not been thru all the investment things. or is still not investing ? Passive incomes does not necessary confined one to playing oops slip of the tongue ..investing in unit trust. Its what one does with money thats idle thats important.. as they say idle things breeds devils thought ..my saying only lah.. Gen-X passive income will be more than our monthly income..i think .. back me up lah.. Yea, idle cash sitting at bank is very dangerous...that's why I wanna "lock" them away in UTs and FDs... |
| Change to: | 0.0231sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:56 PM |