Lets talk salary v5
Eclipse80
Jan 24 2013, 03:30 PM

QUOTE(Sons of Winter @ Jan 22 2013, 09:50 PM) 4% also not good? My company max is 4% only. Anyone get tat already very happy Depends on the sector. If you're talking about the banking sector then 4% is considered very low. Usually without promotion should be around 8%. With promotion usually around 10% - 20%.
PhakFuhZai
Jan 24 2013, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(Eclipse80 @ Jan 24 2013, 03:30 PM) Depends on the sector. If you're talking about the banking sector then 4% is considered very low. Usually without promotion should be around 8%. With promotion usually around 10% - 20%. I thought banking sector is usually quite low my friend in RHB IT department got like no more than 2% increment, but they have one adjustment (to cater inflation) and one increment (based on performance) every year
Sons of Winter
Jan 24 2013, 06:56 PM

QUOTE(Eclipse80 @ Jan 24 2013, 03:30 PM) Depends on the sector. If you're talking about the banking sector then 4% is considered very low. Usually without promotion should be around 8%. With promotion usually around 10% - 20%. wow if like dat banking sector is like a gold mine? cos always oso hear they got like 10 months or more bonus every yr and icnrement also 10%... thinking shud i start switch to banking sector  i dun mind even if get freshie position cos it eventually better prospect than my current job
spiritualgambler
Jan 24 2013, 07:15 PM

QUOTE(Sons of Winter @ Jan 24 2013, 06:56 PM) wow if like dat banking sector is like a gold mine? cos always oso hear they got like 10 months or more bonus every yr and icnrement also 10%... thinking shud i start switch to banking sector  i dun mind even if get freshie position cos it eventually better prospect than my current job That is a good idea. I also will consider it.
Eclipse80
Jan 24 2013, 07:28 PM

QUOTE(Sons of Winter @ Jan 24 2013, 06:56 PM) wow if like dat banking sector is like a gold mine? cos always oso hear they got like 10 months or more bonus every yr and icnrement also 10%... thinking shud i start switch to banking sector  i dun mind even if get freshie position cos it eventually better prospect than my current job 10% increment is pretty normal in other sectors as well. Quite a number of my telco engineering friends get that much. It all depends on you. No matter what sector you are in you will be able to excel provided you work hard. Any not all departments in a bank get 10 month bonus. The banking sector and a banking organisation is very huge. Different department different entity in a bank will have different pay scale etc.
shenngau
Jan 24 2013, 10:08 PM

Some sectors less increment but more bonus. Some sectors more increment but less/no bonus.
ldhong
Jan 24 2013, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(shenngau @ Jan 24 2013, 10:08 PM) Some sectors less increment but more bonus. Some sectors more increment but less/no bonus. But usually most of the sectors less increment less bonus This post has been edited by ldhong: Jan 24 2013, 10:38 PM
felixmask
Jan 25 2013, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(Liuism @ Jan 24 2013, 06:12 PM) Any job juz butter and bread of daily life. This is salary topic, there is not max salary you will get for you job,either improve yourself,aim for promotion else jump ship for better one salary if the current boss not a able justify for you. Aim lah, the increment more then FD rate. If every year onli increase rm 100, but the food and other thing increase so much. How to manage your financial pls visit Personal Financial ManagementEverything increase so much definely i encourage go for more paid.
felixmask
Jan 25 2013, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Jan 24 2013, 05:25 PM) I thought banking sector is usually quite low my friend in RHB IT department got like no more than 2% increment, but they have one adjustment (to cater inflation) and one increment (based on performance) every year Bank IT is enduser, becoz not much changes for mature company then not much they can give you higher except Merging/Change system require specilize skill.
Eclipse80
Jan 25 2013, 10:17 AM

QUOTE(felixmask @ Jan 25 2013, 09:03 AM) Bank IT is enduser, becoz not much changes for mature company then not much they can give you higher except Merging/Change system require specilize skill. From what I've seen/heard, RHB's increment is kinda crappy so I don't think it's a good benchmark. U must always remember PhakFuhZai, increment, bonus etc. are pretty subjective.
alexng2208
Jan 25 2013, 10:22 AM
if you are young, aim to jump jobs, learn maximus..
then after 35, when it is statistically proven that jumps won't get you 30% anymore, stay in an organization with amazing benefits, and a good work life balance...
profit
sense75
Jan 25 2013, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(Sons of Winter @ Jan 22 2013, 09:50 PM) 4% also not good? My company max is 4% only. Anyone get tat already very happy For me, if the company only can give < 5% increment every years.. I will definitely looks for elsewhere..
EnergyAnalyst
Jan 26 2013, 10:18 AM
I am in my early forty, only drawing monthly 7-8k sal. In a very unique specialist energy cost consultancy line , working life is great coz MNC but bosses remote manage from different time zone, so gets a lot of space n time. Dunno if pay is pathetic or not but hard to compare when I am in unique line / profession
Acevalentine
Jan 26 2013, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(Annoynimous @ Jul 26 2012, 11:46 PM) Job Title: Financial Analysis Advisor Job Desciption: TCSS Years spent in company: Less than 3 months Company: MNC Industry: IT/Computing Tenure: Permanent Experience before joining: 4.5 years in Big 4, 1 year in small audit firm Salary: RM5k+ Can i know what a financial analysis did? I'm still study finance and investment,not accounting,is it related?
Acevalentine
Jan 26 2013, 02:06 PM
Is anyone working in investment firm? how is the payment? and what is the job scope?
Acevalentine
Jan 26 2013, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(Materazzi @ Aug 15 2012, 06:43 PM) Im 23 yrs already in supervisory level, how? Got offer in financial analyst You receive this offer from which firm? A financial analyst position is not easy to get as i know. How much is the paid? I'm actually still studying and plan to enter investment firm or any finance related job after graduated. Any firm can recommend?
SUSMaterazzi
Jan 26 2013, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jan 26 2013, 10:18 AM) I am in my early forty, only drawing monthly 7-8k sal. In a very unique specialist energy cost consultancy line , working life is great coz MNC but bosses remote manage from different time zone, so gets a lot of space n time. Dunno if pay is pathetic or not but hard to compare when I am in unique line / profession But ur time is very flexible. U can get 2nd job
SUSMaterazzi
Jan 26 2013, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(Acevalentine @ Jan 26 2013, 02:24 PM) You receive this offer from which firm? A financial analyst position is not easy to get as i know. How much is the paid? I'm actually still studying and plan to enter investment firm or any finance related job after graduated. Any firm can recommend? Try whatever firms.try to get higher luck. What i am doing like competitors analysis, business strategic, market analysis, statistics, research, interviews,etc. Indeed u will be a good observant if u ever studied sociology
Acevalentine
Jan 26 2013, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(HotRod @ Dec 9 2012, 01:26 PM) Job Title : Senior Executive Job Description : Corporate Finance Academic level: Bachelor degree (Accounting & Finance) Years spent in company : 2.5 Company : Mid-tier Investment Bank Industry : Banking Tenure : Permanent Employment Level : Junior executive Experience before joining : Fresh graduate Salary : RM 3700 (+400 meal allowance and 3-4 months bonus) Is this salary range considered low ? can i know what investment bank you go for?