135 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Volkswagen Cars Discussion : Powered by V6!, Das Auto!

DaBestOne
post Sep 17 2012, 09:54 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Sep 15 2012, 01:11 AM)
i thought it should be N and brake  hmm.gif
Different driver different way.. haha.. I normally put N and brake smile.gif
mr_fazz
post Sep 18 2012, 10:16 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(fr0sti3 @ Sep 16 2012, 12:07 AM)
afaik polo autolock engages at 15kmph
but u can still open from insides, i guess they wanna make sure u can still open door if in a collision

i did do some rtfm
mine doesnt lock at all.. i tried open from outside and it doesnt lock.. shakehead.gif
cute_boboi
post Sep 18 2012, 12:05 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 15 2012, 10:59 AM)
On question 1, I always press the brake pedal before start, and make sure all the indicator lights are off before start, if I am not wrong, if you do not press the brake pedal, there's an indicator light shown.

On question 2, as frosti3 explained few posts above, the DSG mechanism is to pull the parking brake before engaging P, I will follow, but problem is to keep reminding myself to follow this correct sequence, sometimes, when I am in hurry, I tends to forgot...

Also, I noticed when pull parking brake and engage P, then when I release the brake pedal, the green indicator sign of brake pedal will shown again.

My question is, do we always need to press brake pedal, even when we pull parking brake and at 'P' mode especially during idling of massive traffic jam?

Hope sifu can enlighten more in depth, thanks in advance
Just to clear it up.

When in Neutral, the VDO will show the green-light-press-brake icon.
That basically means, if you want to shift to R or D, you need to depress your foot brake first. Even if the car start rolling forward, if you do not step on brakes, you can't engage D. I tried that before rolling up to 10km/h slight downhill on N, forgot engage gear. Have to step on brake, then only engage D. Not sure if roll faster to >20-30km/h it will allow you engage or not without step on brake.

Regarding your question, if stop at traffic lights, pulling handbrake and engage P is safe enough, similiar like parking a car. However, if a vehicle hits your at the back, your car will still move forward further than if you step and hold the foot-brake. i.e. the strongest gripping will be the foot-brake.

blugear
post Sep 18 2012, 02:05 PM

I am more that meets the eye...
1,053 posts

If the car is moving above certain speed the gear can be shift to N or S at any time...

I always switch to N before reaching the traffic light..
cute_boboi
post Sep 18 2012, 02:49 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(blugear @ Sep 18 2012, 02:05 PM)
If the car is moving above certain speed the gear can be shift to N or S at any time...

I always switch to N before reaching the traffic light..
Switch from D to N can be anytime when rolling to slow down (not sure is recommended or not, go read manual).

But you can't do the opposite, if the car is rolling and you not stepping on brake (or touching it to a certain level), in order to engage D.

blugear
post Sep 18 2012, 05:30 PM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Sep 18 2012, 02:49 PM)
Switch from D to N can be anytime when rolling to slow down (not sure is recommended or not, go read manual).

But you can't do the opposite, if the car is rolling and you not stepping on brake (or touching it to a certain level), in order to engage D.
Ur mistaken bro.. I just tested on my way home.. as long the car is rolling, u still can move from N to D. When the car is rolling there is no foot indicator on the screen, means no need to press the brake..
cute_boboi
post Sep 18 2012, 05:33 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(blugear @ Sep 18 2012, 05:30 PM)
Ur mistaken bro.. I just tested on my way home.. as long the car is rolling, u still can move from N to D. When the car is rolling there is no foot indicator on the screen, means no need to press the brake..
Don't think so. I'm stuck in jam daily and always let the car roll on slope down ramp/hill. But as I stated above, I never let it roll >10km/h, cause back cars start horn. Can't engage D also, must tap on brake first. Encounter this >10 times already.

No chance for me to test from N to D at speed faster than 20km/h. Perhaps, as you tested, it works for speed higher than certain range.

blugear
post Sep 18 2012, 05:36 PM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Sep 18 2012, 05:33 PM)
Don't think so. I'm stuck in jam daily and always let the car roll on slope down ramp/hill. But as I stated above, I never let it roll >10km/h, cause back cars start horn. Can't engage D also, must tap on brake first. Encounter this >10 times already.

No chance for me to test from N to D at speed faster than 20km/h. Perhaps, as you tested, it works for speed higher than certain range.
As long the foot/pedal indicator is on u need to press the break biggrin.gif

Mine goes off once the car starts to move..

Tomorrow I will test if the light goes off below 10km speed and update hehe..
alg7_munif
post Sep 18 2012, 05:36 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(fr0sti3 @ Sep 14 2012, 10:02 PM)
How to use a DSG correctly

from http://www.myturbodiesel.com/1000q/DSG-faq-VW-Audi.htm

well so far i've been following the instruction on parking & starting there for 20,000km now
Need to do the same thing for Ford's dual clutch transmission too?

This post has been edited by alg7_munif: Sep 18 2012, 05:38 PM
blugear
post Sep 18 2012, 05:38 PM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Sep 18 2012, 05:36 PM)
Need to do the same thing for Ford's dual clutch transmission too?
Edited.. Sorry didn't know u suddenly edited hehe..

This post has been edited by blugear: Sep 18 2012, 05:39 PM
cute_boboi
post Sep 18 2012, 05:41 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(blugear @ Sep 18 2012, 05:36 PM)
As long the foot/pedal indicator is on u need to press the break biggrin.gif

Mine goes off once the car starts to move..

Tomorrow I will test if the light goes off below 10km speed and update hehe..
Ya, try test to start roll from stand-still, which is usually what I encounter.
I may try a big hill near my home. Try let it roll from standstill to >30km/h.
sweat.gif

blugear
post Sep 19 2012, 06:54 AM

1,053 posts

Good MOrning yall.. Ok I tested just now from stand still position going down a small hill at very slow speed. The gear is able to shift from N to D when the meter reach 5kph without pressing the brake.
DemonKnight
post Sep 19 2012, 08:02 AM

238 posts

any bug lover?
zenix
post Sep 19 2012, 10:11 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

its abit too retro for me.
blugear
post Sep 19 2012, 10:18 AM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(DemonKnight @ Sep 19 2012, 08:02 AM)
any bug lover?
I love the love bug but too bad no$ to get 1...
Springswift
post Sep 19 2012, 02:33 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(blugear @ Sep 19 2012, 10:18 AM)
I love the love bug but too bad no$ to get 1...
Saw the tornado red in the showroom today. It's beautiful. Too bad no DRL. The 2.0 will be here in Nov. and the 1.4 next year. The 2.0 will have sunroof and sports rims. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Springswift: Sep 19 2012, 09:39 PM
zenix
post Sep 19 2012, 03:48 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

the 1.2 oredi so expensive.....omg the 2.0 gonna be gti price? sad.gif
Error404
post Sep 19 2012, 05:30 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 19 2012, 03:48 PM)
the 1.2 oredi so expensive.....omg the 2.0 gonna be gti price? sad.gif
I think 2.0 would be Scirocco price coz the 1.2 already 140k

Springswift
post Sep 19 2012, 09:42 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Sep 19 2012, 05:30 PM)
I think 2.0 would be Scirocco price coz the 1.2 already 140k
They said it's more than RM200K for the 2.0, around the Golf GTI price.

This post has been edited by Springswift: Sep 19 2012, 09:42 PM
fr0sti3
post Sep 19 2012, 10:12 PM

F0NZz1e
1,095 posts

that's why they didn't bring 1.4 tsi beetle, coz it'll same price as a rocco 1.4 (188k)

This post has been edited by fr0sti3: Sep 19 2012, 10:12 PM

135 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0347sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:23 AM