4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Volkswagen Cars Discussion : Powered by V6!, Das Auto!

cute_boboi
post Jul 18 2012, 11:13 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Jul 18 2012, 02:24 AM)
the claimed figures for FC, as with other manufacturers, are too optimistic.

7.9L/100KM is official figure for mk5, i only got 10.2L/100km for a long average. not sure when i reset that, maybe since 3 years ago. at least for 1 year lah. if cruising 90-110kph; get around 7.7-8.4L/100km; still way off the 5.9L/100 claimed.

someone with the Golf R got 13L/100km when his previous MK5 GTI Stage2+ getting 10L/100km on the same road.
Agree on this.

It also depends on what kind of road and traffic jam you stuck in.

In my case, similiar KL city centre jam daily, I'm getting 10.5L/100km for the initial first few thousand KM run.
After further continous manual data logging with some highway cruise run, I'm down to 9.68L/100km now.

Compare to my previous manual 1.5L car (don't think auto can beat manual in jam, unless is hybrid like Prius), the overall average is 7.67L/100km

Similiar driving style.

cute_boboi
post Jul 19 2012, 11:38 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Use fuelly.com to track your FC.
Otherwise, everytime refill, just write down the Date, ODO, RM and RM/L (1.90 Ron95) on a small piece of paper or 555.

cute_boboi
post Aug 1 2012, 03:55 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(speedbird90 @ Aug 1 2012, 03:07 PM)
Hi guys, need some advice here.

Finally bought my Golf 1.4 Tsi. It is 5 days old. Just wanted to ask a few questions to those who know/owners:

Any comments/suggestions from users personal opinions are VERY MUCH appreciated, thanks.
1. My usual practise is turn ignition to on, let the ABS orange-light goes off, then crank it.

2. Engine idle waiting time minimum 5 sec, maximum 20 seconds. Switch MFD to oil temperature. Drive below 2.5k with light foot until oil temperature reach >80°C (about 12-17 minutes). By then, water temperature already reach optimum 90°C already.

3. Personal preference. Up to you. I keep the switch at off, because park in basement and I don't want the headlights to turn on before I crank the engine.

4. Personal preference. Up to you. I leave it at default, just the side mirror lights only.

5. Read the radio manual. Otherwise after reset era to fly, do you try press and hold that button on the radio for 3-5 seconds to "programme" it ?

6. Highway cruising run will have good mileage. Good for your 90% highway.
Mine is near 100% KL city centre with daily traffic jam.

cute_boboi
post Aug 1 2012, 04:45 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(speedbird90 @ Aug 1 2012, 04:21 PM)
Thanks for your reply,

1. Agreed
2. Yours only takes 20 secs? The engine idle for mine takes almost close to 1 minute
3. TOTALLY AGREE! Same reason for me here!
4. I find it cool, but I worry about battery life, sigh.
5. I did, and it's so sickening. Tried everything I can think of, plus read the manuals. Might have to ask the SA.
6. I drive about 50km to work, and 50km back everyday highway. I love the auto cruise wink.gif

Thanks for your thoughts dude.
1. Additional info. There should not be issue to crank immediate, but just my own feel-good-factor to wait for the ABS to off.

2. No. I mean, I don't wait / idle my car. I'm the start, ready, go type. But of course, I'll drive slowly at low RPM for the initial 10-15 minutes or until the temperature is >80°C.

3. Also, I go under tunnel / trees / intersection bridges, I don't want the Auto-switch to auto on/off the headlights every now and then. Sometimes syiok sendiri, only manual switch to DRL.

4. Should be no issue with default bulbs. If you take note, the front footwell-lights also same.

5. Yeah, ask SA is the fastest option. Same with me when want to set the low-volume-radio during reverse. Default it switched off the radio. My SA guide me and immediately done.

6. My to-and-fro is 26-27km only tongue.gif

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Aug 1 2012, 04:28 PM)
I think maybe the guy posted wrongly... he meant RM7,200 maybe.. laugh.gif
Maybe RM72.00 rolleyes.gif Some countries use opposite for decimal and comma. laugh.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 1 2012, 05:20 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Aug 1 2012, 05:04 PM)
but in words he clearly mentioned (Ringgit Malaysia Tujuh Puluh Dua Ribu Sahaja)
tongue.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 6 2012, 11:46 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Aug 5 2012, 12:14 PM)
I've a problem, my tyre pressure gauge lit up (not blinking) but I've looked at the tyres, doesnt look like any of the tyres look flat or low pressure. Any advise on what I should do? The check tyre gauge is still lit up after I start the engine again after about an hour from engine off.
First, check the manual on how to reset the tyre pressure monitoring system (if any).

Just for comparison, my friend's car (non VW) tyre pressure warning comes out. Bring to petrol station to pump all 4x tyres. Found the rear-right is 160 kpa only, suspect it, but just refill first to 230 kpa, and check again tomorrow.
Tomorrow, check again, go down to 180 kpa. Confirm lah, send in tyre shop and found a nail on the inner side.

By looking at it, there is not much difference on the tyre height and sidewall.

My advise is, either do check and monitor yourself, or bring to tyre shop immediately, or VW SC.

cute_boboi
post Aug 7 2012, 11:56 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(johnsontys @ Aug 6 2012, 03:08 PM)
3. If the owner smoke inside the car, is there anyway we could eliminate the smoking odour?

- charcoal as advised. But use those old traditional log style charcoal. Not those processed BBQ cylindrical type. Get the 3-5kg packs, open the top packaging, put in a box.

- put pandan leaves. Take as much as you can, wash and clean it, let it dry. Then put the green colour inside car for 1-2 weeks, or until the leaves turn brown. Some may not like that smell, but it'll go away after you throw it.

- put plenty of car freshner or old perfume. Also, those Thirsty Hippo type, got one which has charcoal-filter also.

cute_boboi
post Aug 9 2012, 10:34 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Aug 9 2012, 10:03 AM)
Haha...
do  u know they if you work in some of the specific organization in Msia (bank & insurance company)  u will get 4 percent discount ..
do check with your SA
Can elaborate more on it ?
hmm.gif
cute_boboi
post Aug 10 2012, 11:49 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 9 2012, 07:57 PM)
I encounter poor radio reception on Golf TSI, sometimes loud/soft intermittent, what's wrong? Don't find any radio antenna, are they thin-film type?

Thanks in advance
MFD -> Settings has option to increase loudness when the car is at higher speed (due to wind noise).

However, if listen to radio channels, there is buzzing / crackling sound every now and then. Very annoying.
Already check and confirm with several other stock cars, all same. hmm.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 13 2012, 03:16 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 10 2012, 07:46 PM)
I think I almost figure it out, it's not in MFD data but rather at RCD 310. Setting > Gala - set the speed-dependent volume adjustment.
sorry, you are right. Need to set at the radio player there, under settings.
Same with during reverse, you can set the radio volume to off, minimum, medium or same-loudness.

cute_boboi
post Aug 15 2012, 11:41 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(blugear @ Aug 15 2012, 07:28 AM)
Mine got sound also but more like spring..

When the car is stationary, when i get in or get out can hear like creaking sound coming from the springs..

Even if i like jump abit inside the car can hear it..
The creaking sound could come from the handbrake.
With the engine running:
* You can try if you pull the handbrake one-notch only (softly) on a mild-slope, and jump around. Leave gear in N. -> will have creaking sound.
* Then do the same, release handbrake, but put in P only. -> no creaking sound. If got spring/suspension problem, it'll be slightly different squeaking sound.

QUOTE(Error404 @ Aug 15 2012, 09:05 AM)
Try to pull ur handbrake harder, i heard this could eliminate the spring sound.
ya, try pull handbrake 3-5 notches and the sound will be gone (if it is the handbrake creaking sound).

cute_boboi
post Aug 15 2012, 02:27 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 15 2012, 12:43 PM)
What are your instant FC (not average) readings during highway cruising for various VW models at say 110kmph and 160kmph? Has anybody tested?
Just rode on highway recently KL-Ipoh. 1.4TSI

110km/h steady, MFD shows 6.3L/100km after running steady for 20-30km continuous. Cannot be instant, since if slope up, FC shows 7.5-8.5 range. If downhill, or release pedal, becomes 0.0-5.0 range.
RPM ~2.2-2.4k (forgot actual)

135km/h steady, MFD shows ~7.7L/100km +/- 0.2 range.
RPM ~2.7-2.9k (forgot actual)

Using auto-cruise.

QUOTE(dyap38 @ Aug 15 2012, 01:49 PM)
My Golf 1.4TSI recently blew its engine. Piston one and two both cracked and I think some valve damaged also. Car was below 30,000km. Fortunately for me the whole engine was replaced under warranty.

Any one out there who suffered the same problem?
Wow, that is bad, lucky under warranty.

cute_boboi
post Aug 15 2012, 02:57 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(dyap38 @ Aug 15 2012, 02:47 PM)
The thing we can learn from my incident is to never take fuelling issues for granted! Especially for high performance direct injection engines like the 1.4TSI.
Can share what you mean by "bad fuelling" ? Do you put external stuff like fuel-additives/pills ?
Please PM me if not convenient to share in public. Thanks

As I understand, the engine can officially use our local M'sia RON 95/97/98.

cute_boboi
post Aug 15 2012, 04:42 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(replymela @ Aug 15 2012, 03:35 PM)
does your car have interior rattles ?
Mine no rattle interior. Complete quiet, solve the door-rubber ngek-ngek sound also.

EXCEPT, the driver seat, there is a latch to pull, which will give lumbar support, sometimes got ngek-ngek sound mad.gif

QUOTE(dyap38 @ Aug 15 2012, 03:43 PM)

But take it from me when I say, ...

whistling.gif
Noted. To me, if I want higher performance, I'll go for removable piggy, while still can maintain 5 years warranty.
Understand, you may edit your post if you want wink.gif

QUOTE(Error404 @ Aug 15 2012, 03:45 PM)
nope, everything is fine... maybe Golf is made in Germany so quality is better
As usual, German over-engineered. e.g. the door-panel ... got 3x screws and forgot 5-6x notches doh.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 15 2012, 04:48 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(funnybone @ Aug 15 2012, 03:46 PM)
The new CC looks great. Any complaints on it?
Sorry, can't comment as did not test drive or own it. But from exterior look, it is great.

QUOTE(chongmelvin2238 @ Aug 15 2012, 04:23 PM)
I am driving a scirocco and found water under the floor mat at front passenger foot rest area. Thought it was from air cond but didn't see water dripping after hours of driving. Thought from car wash but sent car for washing and requested them to focus with high jet water at the passenger door area. No visible water seeping through. Water somehow came from underneath becoz my floor mat is always dry. Appreciated if sifu can help
1) what causes this?
2) How to get rid of the water before it smells.. PRIORITY NO.1
1) I recall read somewhere (I read many forums), there is a leak that need to patch or something. Only happens for Rocco if I recall correctly.
Need to dig back.

2) (i) While waiting to solve it, buy some cheap Good Morning white towels, line under the mat. Everyday take out to wind-dry it and swap with another pair.
(ii) Use thirsty-hippo as suggested.

cute_boboi
post Aug 16 2012, 10:48 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(blugear @ Aug 16 2012, 08:52 AM)
Any of u guys using polo find it troublesome to pump up the spare tire?

The nozzle at the tire is facing downwards and to uncap and recap it, we need to carry up the tire..

Any of u guys got an easier way where we don't need to unscrew the tire and lift it up to pump and screw the cap back?
Same with me. So far, only lift up the tire only once to pump before an outstation journey. 140kpa left inside, since get the car.

I'm searching slowly for a tire-valve-extension-cord thingy.

QUOTE(chongmelvin2238 @ Aug 16 2012, 10:33 AM)
hopefully u can dig the forum. I got a feedback quoting same incident. Surprisingly and my biggest fear, HE asked me if i change the HU? YES I did..  i trace back and last check the footrest was after doing wash and coating AND that was before the HU changing. SO far no modification except HU replacement. Is it possible that it causes this ?
Sure, if found, I'll repost/link it here.

QUOTE(dyap38 @ Aug 16 2012, 10:39 AM)
I am not saying I didn't use a removable piggy either.. LOL..

If you are going to tune your car, I recommend a removable piggy. Reflashing your ECU is going to leave a trail behind and will void your warranty.

cool2.gif
100% agree with you. As for me, I don't want to void 5 years warranty for the expensive part like engine, ECU, gearbox, etc.

cute_boboi
post Aug 16 2012, 05:55 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Aug 16 2012, 05:05 PM)
Is it normal when i start car in the morning the car like shaking abit, but after warm up it seem like normal. golf tsi bought it last year.
Morning cold start yes. If already warm up, at traffic lights, then is abnormal.

QUOTE(blugear @ Aug 16 2012, 05:25 PM)
Just notice the paint from behind bumper so easy to peel off.. just rub a bit with my thigh. I was using long pants, cloth is soft but my hp was inside..
Cannot be that easy guah hmm.gif ? Got resprayed before ? Or swap/upgrade bumpers ?
Even the dirt hitting the painted under-rear-bumper (below the reflector) , the paint still there, but scratched 9 9.

cute_boboi
post Aug 22 2012, 07:21 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(hapeace @ Aug 19 2012, 11:31 PM)
ive always want to ask this.. when we set the lighting to auto mode, then we start the engine. the headlamp lite up focusing down and then up. are there any purpose why they behave like this?
Not sure the purpose. Syiok sendiri ? tongue.gif Same like the needle-sweep done at cluster instrument cool2.gif
But at least I know the light-bending motor is still in working condition laugh.gif

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Aug 20 2012, 04:55 PM)
I got 1 question for VW Golf owner.

did anyone have a 2nd thought of having VW Jetta instead Golf?

no offense, because both same engine and also 1k extra you can get the bigger car? although Jetta look abit boring. Still I found it quite a bargain.
I did, when I get the Golf (with light & sound + rebates), the price is similiar like Jetta 149k +/-

One reason is below tongue.gif

QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 20 2012, 09:04 PM)
VW Golf TSI from its origin manufacturer plant i.e. Wolfsburg, Germany;
VW Jetta TSI assembled in South Africa.

It's depends on one's preference though.

Spread the venom  tongue.gif
Other reasons are:
1) I don't need such a big car for now, nor a sedan.
Otherwise, I'll go for the family Toyota Altis/Camry for similiar price range or lower.

2) At this stage, if I don't drive Golf, most probably I won't drive one in future when the family grows and I get older. At that time, will settle for an uncle's Camry/Altis or MPV and drive slowly. Or a Jetta/Passat sweat.gif

Recent, just bought some stuff at Ikea. About 180cm length. Load up about 5x of it until near roof. Collapse rear seats. Front passenger seat cannot fold down completely ohmy.gif Anyone knows how ?
Lucky still can fit it on the middle armrest.
No problem what ? Going to buy 3x more in coming weeks.

cute_boboi
post Sep 3 2012, 12:14 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(pireshotmail @ Sep 2 2012, 11:06 PM)
Hi all Volkswagen guru or owner,

do you have any problem or sound from your Golf TSI 1.4. The sound is like "GAGAGA" coming from back.
Service center said it is Golf TSI 1.4 characteristic, dam !

Awaiting all owner sharing here...
Thanks in advance.
No such sound from mine.

Perhaps you can provide more details. Did you do any mods/changes ?

Tyres rubbing on something ?
Bearing ?
Exhaust tip vibrating ?

Any stuff at the back ?

cute_boboi
post Sep 3 2012, 04:02 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Rear brake pads touching the disc brake ? hmm.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top