112 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V16, Now with online submission

djhenry91
post Dec 13 2012, 11:54 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Dec 13 2012, 10:08 AM)
I bored of TMNET's lame promotion. They seems to think customers are idiots. Giving the same promotion, The 1 Month Free promotion have been active for so many months (probably more than 3 months already), and now they are trying to sell the same promotion as if its new.

So far UNIFI may be a stable Fibre connection service provider (They still have issue but better as compared to Maxis Fiber) but they do have high pricing due to their arrogance, having control over land lines in Malaysia and having support by the government.

So please think twice before installing UNIFI.
hmm..i duno u got watch youtube about broadband why our internet is expensive?? that post on kopitiam..
philip42
post Dec 13 2012, 12:41 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Dec 13 2012, 11:54 AM)
hmm..i duno u got watch youtube about broadband why our internet is expensive?? that post on kopitiam..
is ur unifi ok now? im staying at pandan indah also , no internet access =.= vmad.gif
djhenry91
post Dec 13 2012, 12:45 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

ok wor...
still downloading stuff..
philip42
post Dec 13 2012, 12:59 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Dec 13 2012, 12:45 PM)
ok wor...
still downloading stuff..
can only surf the internet when using vpn , dont know wtf happened , it says no internet access , but the router lights all ok?
denzel88
post Dec 13 2012, 01:20 PM

Let's Bring it On!
1,432 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Dec 13 2012, 11:54 AM)
I think we should compare between service providers. Example: UNIFI vs MAXIS Fiber.
If Maxis can provide such lower price, why not UNIFI?.

additionally, we should view things in a customer's shoe. As Customers, they do not need to care what issues the service providers is having. Customers should only look at the benefits they are going to receive, eg. Price, Quality, etc.

Added on December 13, 2012, 1:22 pm
QUOTE(philip42 @ Dec 13 2012, 12:59 PM)
can only surf the internet when using vpn , dont know wtf happened , it says no internet access , but the router lights all ok?
My colleague who works for TM told me that sometimes the engineers tend to mixed up the cable connection at the Server Hardware. They may accidentally unplug your cable during configurations or plugged your cable into the wrong port onthe server. I guess you may need to call up customer service for a check.

This post has been edited by denzel88: Dec 13 2012, 01:30 PM
philip42
post Dec 13 2012, 01:27 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Dec 13 2012, 01:20 PM)
I think we should compare between service providers. Example: UNIFI vs MAXIS Fiber.

Added on December 13, 2012, 1:22 pm

My colleague who works for TM told me that sometimes the engineers tend to mixed up the cable connection at the Server Hardware. They may accidentally unplug your cable during configurations or plugged your cable into the wrong port onthe server. I guess you may need to call up customer service for a check.
thanks for your help ! my internet went back ok by itself lol , maybe there's a maintanence just now . smile.gif
djhenry91
post Dec 13 2012, 01:29 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

maxis fiber provide cheaper because thy using Tm backbone

on ur second comment..is that true?
no wonder last month two day suddenly dc even i already pay bill..
tht TM tech guy say cyberjaya tht side loss my account..wtf?
JayC75
post Dec 13 2012, 01:45 PM

Here We Go
1,404 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Dec 13 2012, 12:59 PM)
same thing happened to me 2 wks back, all lights ok but just no internet access which may go on for 1 to 2 hrs.
linkinstreet
post Dec 13 2012, 02:26 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Dec 13 2012, 01:20 PM)

additionally, we should view things in a customer's shoe. As Customers, they do not need to care what issues the service providers is having. Customers should only look at the benefits they are going to receive, eg. Price, Quality, etc.
There are only two companies in Malaysia that has fibre infrastructure, TM and TIME. Any other provider is piggybacking TM, since TIME keeps their line exclusive.

Also there are a few difference between Maxis Fibre and TM Unifi. For one Unifi comes with HyppTV, while Maxis does not have an IPTV service as of yet. And the reason WHY they don't have an IPTV is why they are cheap in the first place. You are not using a dedicated IP, but a shared IP among users in your area. That mean you won't be able to use direct connection to access your PC at home. Unifi gives an individual IP per user, which for me is quite important as I host quite a lot of stuffs on my home connection that i need to access from my home using direct connection.

Please do remember that internet penetration is still low in this country, and laying fibres is costly, considering the topology of Malaysia. Hence why the price won't go down much in 10 to 20 years as TM slowly replacing their old copper lines with fibres. Malaysia is not just Klang Valley as much as most people living there wants to believe.
kimyee73
post Dec 13 2012, 02:46 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(JayC75 @ Dec 12 2012, 02:09 PM)
Which microtik wireless router u recommend? the product seem very enterprise grade, cheapest router already cost RM319. Very reliable and stable?
Be prepared to get very technical when getting Mikrotik as you need to configure everything yourself. Have been using it for quite sometime and very reliable. Instruction from klseet would not work as is for wireless model, some changes required. Also need to create your own script for updating DynDNS as there is no option for it. Quite challenging to setup but the thing you can do with it is up to your imagination.
chinkw1
post Dec 13 2012, 02:49 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Dec 13 2012, 02:46 PM)
Be prepared to get very technical when getting Mikrotik as you need to configure everything yourself. Have been using it for quite sometime and very reliable. Instruction from klseet would not work as is for wireless model, some changes required. Also need to create your own script for updating DynDNS as there is no option for it. Quite challenging to setup but the thing you can do with it is up to your imagination.
For TL1043, set up is easy, just run the cd and it guide you step by step.

May try Mikrotik if its better than TL1043.

BTW, which is the highest end model Mikrotik has (with wifi) for unifi ??

This post has been edited by chinkw1: Dec 13 2012, 03:00 PM
ivantheterrible
post Dec 14 2012, 05:06 PM

42 posts

Hi, just got onto the Unifi bandwagon as of last week. I was supplied with the Alcatel Lucent white modem. Does anyone know the login details for this modem (IP number, name and password) and whether it can be reconfigured like the Huawei unit?

gogetter83
post Dec 14 2012, 05:38 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Dec 13 2012, 02:26 PM)
There are only two companies in Malaysia that has fibre infrastructure, TM and TIME. Any other provider is piggybacking TM, since TIME keeps their line exclusive.

Also there are a few difference between Maxis Fibre and TM Unifi. For one Unifi comes with HyppTV, while Maxis does not have an IPTV service as of yet. And the reason WHY they don't have an IPTV is why they are cheap in the first place. You are not using a dedicated IP, but a shared IP among users in your area. That mean you won't be able to use direct connection to access your PC at home. Unifi gives an individual IP per user, which for me is quite important as I host quite a lot of stuffs on my home connection that i need to access from my home using direct connection.

Please do remember that internet penetration is still low in this country, and laying fibres is costly, considering the topology of Malaysia. Hence why the price won't go down much in 10 to 20 years as TM slowly replacing their old copper lines with fibres. Malaysia is not just Klang Valley as much as most people living there wants to believe.
A little off there, Maxis do have their own fibre footprint. Pretty small compared to their customers on TM access infra, which is why many might not know.
andrew9292
post Dec 14 2012, 06:11 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(ivantheterrible @ Dec 14 2012, 05:06 PM)
Hi, just got onto the Unifi bandwagon as of last week. I was supplied with the Alcatel Lucent white modem. Does anyone know the login details for this modem (IP number, name and password) and whether it can be reconfigured like the Huawei unit?

ALc units do not have configurable options via web interface. It is done by telnet. I dont think anyone knows the password as even the TM techs just run a script via telnet to configure it... you dont really need to configure it tho as replacement router options dont require you to touch BTU
M.I.N.S
post Dec 14 2012, 06:49 PM

43 posts

any1 keep getting dns unable to resolve this few weeks?
browsing half way suddenly dc
how to set custom dns on the black tm homemade router?
mat_salleh
post Dec 14 2012, 07:40 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(M.I.N.S @ Dec 14 2012, 06:49 PM)
any1 keep getting dns unable to resolve this few weeks?
browsing half way suddenly dc
how to set custom dns on the black tm homemade router?
My problem is the other way around... my dir-615 since yesterday can not resolve dns if using custom dns... Has to use default TM dns. The weird thing is if I set up manual dns entry in my own pc and do not use the router as the dns, I can use my custom dns server address. Anyone having similar issue?

techno_fanatics
post Dec 14 2012, 10:59 PM

-Retired OCers-
1,006 posts

QUOTE(mat_salleh @ Dec 14 2012, 07:40 PM)
My problem is the other way around... my dir-615 since yesterday can not resolve dns if using custom dns... Has to use default TM dns. The weird thing is if I set up manual dns entry in my own pc and do not use the router as the dns, I can use my custom dns server address. Anyone having similar issue?
i have this issue too..now using back TM dns.

BTW anyone had hypptv problem which video and audio not syncing?

what is the latest version of DIR615 firmware?
velarous
post Dec 14 2012, 11:36 PM

64 posts

anyone got list of sites they block? some ermm.. site i regularly visit is block. just only. bastards
mat_salleh
post Dec 15 2012, 04:33 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(techno_fanatics @ Dec 14 2012, 10:59 PM)
BTW anyone had hypptv problem which video and audio not syncing?
Yeah... have it some of the time... not always.

QUOTE(techno_fanatics @ Dec 14 2012, 10:59 PM)
what is the latest version of DIR615 firmware?
the latest I've seen is v7.15

zeronehza
post Dec 15 2012, 04:40 AM

Malaysian Real Madrid Supporter Club
1,704 posts

ive face this problem for a 3rd time this month.. my connection for internet is completely gone about 7-8 hours starting 10 pm onward.. but my iptv and phone line are stable and got no problem.. the connection will be ok in the morning..

anyone ever having this isssue before? this problem on tm site or my site? is my router defect? but tm staff just exchange to new one last two month...its really sick when i cant goes online.. my unifi propose 99% for online gaming... :sedih:

but whis this thing always happen on weekend.. when the time best for gaming?.. zzzzz

112 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:01 AM