Credit Cards MACH by Hong Leong Bank Credit Card, The card that reflects your Lifestyle

Gen-X
post Jul 10 2012, 01:04 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 9 2012, 10:12 PM)
Waiting for review by Gen-X  tongue.gif
haha, no lah, this one I will skip a full review and do a mini here because it is too complicated rclxub.gif Can pay RM5 to add category some more. Really innovative. First of all there is an annual fee of RM160. And if a guy wants all categories it will cost RM45 every 3 months or RM180 per year. So total fee RM340/year (what a lousy number 340) sweat.gif

For general transactions, the card is just as bad at the card I awarded the Worst CC in Malaysia with 0.2% cash back. So I guess I should award this card the runner up to the worst credit card in Malaysia, hahaha.

And I not sure what jonjack88 meant in his example when he stated "ALL Cashback categories are capped at RM100 per 3 month"? Does this mean per category or total cash back earn FROM all categories is cap at RM100 every 3 months.

Moreover no points are awarded, which means once you hit the cap you earn nothing, who is so free to go keep track on their spending for 3 months? Then again we talking about GenY with Smart phone tongue.gif

Noted the annual income RM24K, this card (and the mach account comes with Personal Loan) all it does it entice GenYs to spend and spend more unnecessary. If you see the entire website of mach by HLB, it's all about spending money!!!

Like my article on titled Life - Pay Now with Credit Cards Earn Later or Save For Retirement , the younger GenYs can choose which way they want to go.

Having said that, the 5% Cashback for Dining and 2% shopping at Uniqlo and Cotton On looks good if the cap is RM100 every 3 months for each category. Say you get the card for dining, with a cap of RM100 every 3 months, that's pretty good because you can spend up to RM2K on food every 3 months to earn maximum cash back; but remember, there is an annual fee of RM160, so once again you are not earning 5% cash back.

But you know what, if the card is Free for the First Year, I might just get the card and earn 5% cash back for dining everyday smile.gif But with RM400 cash back cap per year and less GST I will only get maximum 4.375%.

For the other categories excluding movies, the Free For Life MBB 2 AMEX with 5X TP just as competitive or better. Actually the MBB 2 AMEX "better" at Red Box i.e. buy 3 get 1 free.

Come to think of it, maybe I should go do an article on this card and point out to GenYs that assuming they do earn RM100 every 3 months with cash back of 2.5% (say average), it means they need to spend RM4,000 or RM1,333 per month (on selected category) when they earning RM2-3K/month (if one earns RM3K above, they would have MBB 2 AMEX with OCBC TMC and earn 5% cash back from almost all categories offered by mach except for movies and some fashion outlets).

However for those who have overspend, getting unsecured loan is easy with HLB credit cards- click here to read my article Hong Leong Bank Credit Cards - What Are They Good For?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 6 2013, 04:07 PM
Gen-X
post Jul 10 2012, 08:46 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 10 2012, 07:38 AM)
STYLE category is 2% only... please edit accordingly.

Terms & Conditions : https://www.machbyhongleong.com/product-ter...ach-credit-card
Thanks for highlighting above.

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jul 10 2012, 07:44 AM)
Annual fee can be waived upon 12 swipes in a year BUT HLB customer service is the thing that stops me from applying this card
Bro, where you got this info? I can't seem to find it anywhere in the T&C.

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 10 2012, 07:55 AM)
HLB Mach's MCC Code range for Dining and Grocery is smaller compared to OCBC Titianium's
Bro, you go get this card and start a new thread - Places that Earn 5% for Dining with the mach by HLB smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 10 2012, 08:47 AM
Gen-X
post Jul 10 2012, 11:07 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jonjack88 @ Jul 10 2012, 10:21 AM)
AF Waiver is standard across all HLB cards.
What standard are you referring too? Please elaborate.

The auto annual fee waiver requirement for my HLB VS is spend RM30K and never heard of auto waiver for my Plat (yet to see this is true since I now got PB). BUT HLB very good, have been waiving my annual fee yearly for my Plat smile.gif
Gen-X
post Jul 10 2012, 12:42 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(benkocw @ Jul 10 2012, 11:35 AM)
I help clarify something:

For New to card customers, the GST "waiver" for 1st year concept is you must swipe your card one time within 45 days after getting your card and RM50 cash back will be credited back to your statement within 10 weeks time. However you still have to pay the RM50 on the first statement.

Second year onwards there is no GST waive.

For New to card customers, 1st year annual fee waiver are without conditions. It will automatically waived if you spend the card one time within 45 days. However, second year onwards every month you just spend one time you can enjoy the automatic annual fee waiver too. If you didn't spend for 12 times a year but total transactions have at least RM8000 and above also will enjoy this mechanism.

If didn't fulfill the above requirements, RM160 annual fee will be charged to your bill.

Thank you for the above info. Is the above stated on the application form? If yes good. If no, then what assurance does the customers have since it is not stated in the terms and conditions?

QUOTE(benkocw @ Jul 10 2012, 11:35 AM)
Just for information. JonJack88 and Me are colleague, from HLB PFC. not agent. smile.gif
You no need to say also can see from you guys' posting lah tongue.gif And you know what, you guys are not suppose to advertise your company's product, hahaha.

But if your colleague started this thread for discussion purposes, then it is okay in my opinion since it is good we have HLB staff here to assist LYN members on quires (like in CIMB Thread we have superwoman). I hope jonjack88 will update the first post frequently with info like what you provided above and also list the cons too and not make it like an advertisement for HLB whistling.gif

Gen-X
post Jul 10 2012, 04:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Bro, you got Essential right? From what I understand from above posts by our own "LYN HLB Relationship Team", you have to pay first year annual fee too lah.

The agent can say anything under the sun, but system sure can detect you not new to card customer tongue.gif

This post has been edited by hye: Jul 19 2012, 06:38 AM
Gen-X
post Jul 10 2012, 09:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jonjack88 @ Jul 10 2012, 06:07 PM)
Hi human nature.
Mach by Hong Leong bank is a separate division of Hong Leong Bank
Therefore they can't sell any products outside mach

As for priority pass you have to clarify with the branch personnel or customer service.
apologies that i cant help you on this matter
Well I have read Mach by HLB Customer Service Charter and it is basically the same as Hong Leong Bank Customer Service Charter where both hope to achieve 90% rating customer satisfactions, hahaha.

However, there is one place Mach needs improvement, that is provide 24/7 CS:

Mach Helpline at +603 7951 1988 to speak to our Customer Relationship Officers between the hours of 9:00 AM and 5:00 PM (Monday to Friday only).

This is also what was stated in mach website "For more details on our complaints procedure, please visit www.hlb.com.my. We will tell you how to make your complaint as well as our procedures for handling them fairly and quickly".

If you have enquiries, concerns or comments please call, write, e-mail or fax us at Mailing Address:
Service Quality Management - Customer Experience
Hong Leong Bank Berhad, Level 2, Wisma Hong Leong, 18, Jalan Perak, 50450 Kuala Lumpur.
Contact Centre : 03-7626 8899 Facsimile : 03-7946 8884 Email : HLOnline@hlbb.hongleong.com.my

Mach by Hong Leong Bank is not a separate division of HLBB but a part of HLBB and the customer uses HLB's Hong Leong Connect. And to add further, the HLG's personnel assigned to mach centres are "selling" (as you put it but I would rather use the word providing services so that they don't sound like salesmen) Hong Leong Bank Bhd's products such as Personal Loans, Car Hire Purchase and even the Credit & Debit Cards. If you refer to the mach's product T&C - Bank means Hong Leong Bank and not mach.

So coming back to your apology, since you are part of HLBB, don't apologize but go ask your superior if you don't know the answer as stated in your Customer Service Charter and give us satisfactory answer within the next working day. And if your immediate superior also does not know the answer, go ask the relevant department head and hopefully they reply you within 4 days so that you can share with us and keep to what is promised in the Customer Service Charter and help your bank achieve 90% satisfied customer ratings tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 10 2012, 09:42 PM
Gen-X
post Jul 10 2012, 09:52 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 10 2012, 04:26 PM)
What is PFC?
One way to define it is Salesman wink.gif Nowadays if one working in bank branches, the execs are required to meet quota for this and that. HLB tellers also under pressure where they also got quota on customer satisfaction (you can rate them and their bonus also depends on their rating from customers).

Anyone interested in applying of the position below to assist HLB get 90% customer rating satisfaction for mach centres? I want to apply but I worry no one will sign up for the mach card if I sell them.

http://www.jobstreet.com.my/jobs/2012/6/h/...674608.htm?fr=c

QUOTE(jonjack88 @ Jul 10 2012, 09:39 PM)
Love your response in regards to customer service..

Bro, HLBB paying you overtime ar to answer queries/comments here ? Or is it part of your scope of works?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 10 2012, 09:54 PM
Gen-X
post Jul 10 2012, 10:03 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jonjack88 @ Jul 10 2012, 10:00 PM)
Haha.. nice one.. we are hiring actually.. =D
as for why i work extra hours? partly because i want to go the extra mile, not because of the bank, but i feel as a customer we all deserve to know things which are kept from us, be it any industry..

is not part of my jobscope, i actually started this thread without my bosses acknowledgement, on my own consent. lets treat this as a discussion page shall we. =D
ya ya better don't let your boss know and hopefully your colleague don't accidentally mention it too. Your boss come here check and see you earning pocket money with WTS, habis, hahaha,
Gen-X
post Jul 11 2012, 02:03 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

AF Waiver is standard across all HLB cards.
QUOTE(jonjack88 @ Jul 11 2012, 07:19 AM)
as visa signature is considered an ex eon bank product till now, it will have certain different criterias that differs from other cards.

best is to directly inquire with customer service.
hahaha, noted you deleted your misleading statement you posted yesterday. And, the fact is today, if one sign up for the HLB VS, one is signing up with HLB and the card not issued from EBB. And what about the HLB Plat AF waiver mechanism, also the same standard apply as you claim? Oh, I forgot, since HLB Plat is not a mach product, call CS for further information. I guess that is what was trained to HLB PFC tongue.gif

For the benefit of all, you should post your reply below in post#1 and also clearly state the annual fee for the mach credit card so that you are providing a more complete picture of the product; and also to inform our members whom are existing HLB card holders not to waste their time going to mach centres if they not willing to pay the annual fee.

AF Waiver for mach card:

if you are new to bank then you will be able to enjoy this Waiver of 1 Swipe in 45 days for Ann Fees.
if you are existing EBB you still can enjoy this waiver mechanism
if you are existing to HLB (Essential/Gold/Business Plat etc) then you will not be able to enjoy this waiver mechanism.
However you get to apply this card with only your IC, as the card is shared limit with your existing HLB credit cards
As for the cash back based on your latest updated edited info below, besides the max RM100 cash back cap every quarter, there is no monthly cap for any category enrolled right?
so example: Dining Category. maximum cashback for 3 months is capped at RM100.
month 1: you spent RM1500 on dining: RM75
month 2: RM1000 on dining: RM25 cashback, the rest burned
month 3: RM800 on dining: no cashback as reached the treshold
month4: RM900 on dining: RM45 cashback (cycle is renewed)
The cash back is not just based on 3 months enrollment (when applicable) but preset to the 1st of each calendar quarter. So if one sign up for the mach in September, one is "entitled" to cash back up RM100 for the "first month" and on the "second month" he/she is once again entitled up to RM100 cash back smile.gif I think you should also highlight the quarter thingy to our members who are lazy to read the T&C tongue.gif

I like mach Product Disclosure Sheet opening statement - Read this Product Disclosure Sheet before you decide to take up the Hong Leong Mach Credit Card. Be sure to also read the general terms and conditions.

Can you give us link to the RM100 cap cash back for any category enrolled for every quarter. I just cannot seem to find anything stated on the cash back cap in the mach website nor in the T&C. Furthermore, what is there there to safe guard the consumer interest if HLB fail to credit the cash back combined from different category as per your example for the Dell purchase since this is also not stated in the T&C.

https://www.machbyhongleong.com/product-ter...ach-credit-card

One thing I must say HLB is really good to inform the below (which is a BNM ruling anyway) in the Product Disclosure Sheet https://www.machbyhongleong.com/downloads/M...osure_Sheet.pdf

Liability for Unauthorised Transactions
The Cardholder’s maximum liability for unauthorised transactions in the event of lost or stolen credit card, shall not exceed RM250, provided the Cardholder has not acted fraudulently and reported the lost/stolen card incidence as soon as possible.

QUOTE(jonjack88 @ Jul 11 2012, 01:14 PM)
Rich ppl would probably go for visa signature with cute ladies doing concierge services like Amex plat.
I'm sure the 100 bucks they save is only a speck of dust to the amount they earn..
This is what your MD said for mach- "We are aiming at the young upward professional and not the lower-income segment," adding that Mach would complement normal brick-and-mortar branches."

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Jul 11 2012, 12:26 PM)
Would be great if they do have a higher range.  I trust it would certainly be able to attract more applicants.
HLB so clever to kira, by introducing a "higher" range card means they have to provide more service which in turns will increase their cost. As it is now, mach by HLB has no 24/7 CS but from what I gather having their PFC multitask as being CS too.

The mach card with 5% cash back for Dining would attract most of us here if it was Free For Life tongue.gif
Gen-X
post Jul 12 2012, 12:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(unknowmaster @ Jul 12 2012, 12:09 PM)
Nice.. Perhaps another card for collection tongue.gif Maybe to use in Cinema to get back 10% lol.. Feel like applying.. tongue.gif Any agents in JB area? lol

Ps. It is pretty complicated >.<....
For GSC, if you got MasterCard Debit Card, you get FREE 1 for 1 movie ticket until end September this year.
Gen-X
post Jul 12 2012, 11:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 12 2012, 11:06 PM)
Tak nampak apa yang baru  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
haha, got lah minor changes on the quarterly cash back thingy and combo.

Anyone applied or visited MACH Card Centres and saw the disclosure sheet on actual amount for the cash back cap and combo thingy?
Gen-X
post Jul 12 2012, 11:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 12 2012, 11:09 PM)
You are a confusing little guy  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Each time you add one category you pay RM5 for the quarter... 9 category = RM45  which translate to 50% rebate gone... what's the point ?
that guy must be freaking rich and assumed he can 100% get high CL to be able to earn reasonable cash back from 9 extra categories within 3 months.

Gen-X
post Jul 12 2012, 11:41 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(unknowmaster @ Jul 12 2012, 11:33 PM)
I don't think it is hard to get RM 100 from dining in a month -.-... and keep it in drawer for 2 months lol
Bro, Dining with 5% easy lah to get RM100 cash back within 3 months also. But the rest we talking about 1-3%

For movie, if one really can earn RM100 cash back in 3 months, better go get Citibank Clear Card and get FREE 1 for 1 Movie Ticket.
Gen-X
post Jul 13 2012, 12:06 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jonjack88 @ Jul 12 2012, 11:49 PM)
Citibank Clear Card only B1Free1 in GSCs on Friday. other days no B1F1 >.<
Other than MACH Product which you have first hand knowledge, I suggest you go read all the articles in my blogs before you comment on other credit cards benefits, hahahaha.

Citibank Clear Card entitles the Cardholder FREE 1 for 1 Movie Ticket on Fridays at TGV, GSC and Cathay.
And on Saturdays, Citibank Clear Card entitles the cardholder FREE 1 for 1 Movie Ticket at TGV only until end of this year.

Bro, why no mention of annual fee in first post. Worry scare off potential customer ar?
Gen-X
post Jul 13 2012, 07:08 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 13 2012, 12:18 AM)
Who watches movies in cinema everyday ?
if a person watches movie everyday at TGV, besides getting FREE 1 for 1 movie Ticket on Friday and Saturdays with the Citibank Clear Card, from Sundays to Thursday ticket only cost RM10 which I believe is more than 10% discount. Click here for Citibank Credit Cards Promotions

Of if he or she goes to GSC, go get a MasterCard Debit card get get Free 1 fo1 Movie Ticket Everyday until end September. T&C applies.

Offers mentioned above are automatic, no need go online enroll and best of all, it is FREE smile.gif

However, if one watches 3D movies only, then maybe the Mach by HLB CC is good with 10% cash back (that is if you sign up for this category, and if you pay RM5, you need to spend above RM50 before you actually start to earn cash back) .

QUOTE(jonjack88 @ Jul 13 2012, 01:01 AM)

Thanks for taking the trouble to post above notworthy.gif But no mention of "for new to HLB card only" condition.

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 13 2012, 01:14 AM)
No mention of the GST at the form?
They cannot mention GST since the customer will have to pay for it and I guess but if there is any offer to offset GST, they can call it Cash Bonus.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 13 2012, 08:22 AM
Gen-X
post Jul 13 2012, 02:48 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(warkel @ Jul 13 2012, 11:34 AM)
Actually, my plan is this:
1. at start of month: add 9 categories
2. spend as per normal
3. right before quarterly bill date, remove 9 categories

I'm just thinking whether the system is smart enough to bill me for the 9 categories that i enjoyed since i've now deleted them.
cool2.gif
Bro please share when you get your statement. Maybe not, then HLB will know there is a loop hole. IF they charge you then report here. If they don't, please PM me, hehe
Gen-X
post Jul 13 2012, 10:28 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(andy_lyy @ Jul 12 2012, 11:55 AM)
can just try apply for shiok sendiri n keep as personal collection~

ocbc ti + mb2 amex will be simple the best for most ppl.
Agree with you biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 9 2012, 10:12 PM)
Waiting for review by Gen-X  tongue.gif
QUOTE(chocolatepallette @ Jul 11 2012, 09:42 AM)
Will somebody kind and hardworking enough to make a comparison between Mach cash back vs Citibank cash back vs UOB One card? Thank you blush.gif
And due to "popular demand", to read my latest article and review click >>> Mach by Hong Leong Bank for GenY - First Look

Gen-X
post Jul 19 2012, 07:00 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 19 2012, 01:05 AM)
Early Settlement Penalty
• RM70 will be charged if the Cardholder fully settles the Balance Transfer amount before the expiry of the chosen Balance Transfer period.

• RM25 will be charged if the Cardholder fully settles the Cash-on-Call amount before the expiry of the Cash-on-Call instalment period.
Above applicable to all HLB credit cards. Hong Leong Bank recently reduced the early penalty settlement fee to RM70 for their Balance Transfer Plan. It used to be RM100.

In my article Hong Leong Bank Credit Cards - What Are They Good For? there is an example comparing the charges if one settles prior to the expiry for the BT plan versus paying minimum until the very last day of the expiry date.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 19 2012, 08:28 AM
Gen-X
post Jul 21 2012, 08:55 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 21 2012, 02:30 AM)
Guys, pardon my ignorance... I'm particularly only interested in the Social package.

Based on the exemplary scenarios quoted in post 1, does that mean I die die also need to choose more than 1 package? hmm.gif
You need to choose 1 package when you sign up and each package has 3 categories in it. And after that you can sign up for any other category.

So say if you sign up for Social Package, you will be entitled to 10%, 2% and 3% cash back for Movies, Nightclubs and Events/Concerts categories respectively. All other transactions outside this mentioned 3 categories you only earn 0.2% cash back.

However, if you want the 5% cash back for dining, you can then add this particular category where a fee of RM5 will be charged for each calendar quarter. If you don't remove this category by end of the quarter, it will be automatically charged in the following quarter.

jonjack88, need your help to clarify further.

Say done above, i.e. Sign up Social Package and paid for dining category. Before end of calendar quarter, can I remove 1 of the category (say nightclubs since MBB 2 AMEX 5X TP better) in the Social Package? IF yes, it means I will have only 3 categories (Movies, Events and Dining) in the following calendar month; as such do I still need to pay RM5 for the Dining category?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 21 2012, 09:11 AM
Gen-X
post Jul 21 2012, 10:06 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 21 2012, 09:36 AM)
Here's my take on the above scenario

Quarter is calculated on 1 Jan, 1 Apr, 1 Jul, 1 Oct by HLB

Let's say your MACH is approved on 15-Jul with Social package.
On 16-Jul, you add Dining... and you will be charged RM5 on 16-Jul (or at least few days later depending on how efficient is HLB)
By 30-Sep, you remove Dining.
On 01-Oct, you won't be charged RM5 as you still on Social package without Add-ons.
If on 15-Nov, you decide to add Dining, you will pay RM5 on 15-Nov (or at least few days later depending on how efficient is HLB)

IMHO, you don't get to skip paying RM5 add-on category, right ?
Bro, what you mentioned above is adding and removing category outside the initial seleted package which is what this card is all about.

I am asking a completely different thing, i.e. can we remove a category from a selected package and replace with another category (paid RM5) before the following quarter. So in the new quarter, we only have 3 categories earning more than 0.2% CB. If answer to my question earlier is no, then no need to talk any further. If yes, then interesting.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 21 2012, 10:09 AM

0.2987sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:15 PM