129 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V16, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 26 2012, 02:48 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Jul 26 2012, 02:43 PM)
Actually, I mentioned of good warranty support was just in case that it kaput and I need to bring it in for servicing. Especially the fact that this is a purchase sponsored by her company, she will have a hard time explaining to the boss if her laptop breaks down and I can't get people to fix it, haha.

If you have the choice, which one will you shoot for? MBA? Zenbook? XPS? Or any other ultrabook?
I understand what you mean. Dell and Apple would be the best in this case, where the former will involve on-site servicing (within 1-2 working days) + complete cover. Apple involves carry-in and complete cover.

For other manufacturers, you need to carry-in, opt for pick up... and depending on the severity of the problem, might take up to 2 months for repairs. This will result in quite a lot of loss... hmm.gif

Feedbacks on Asus's warranty support : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2337458
ik3da
post Jul 26 2012, 03:14 PM

Poisoned, broken, and definitely poorer.
545 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 26 2012, 02:48 PM)
I understand what you mean. Dell and Apple would be the best in this case, where the former will involve on-site servicing (within 1-2 working days) + complete cover. Apple involves carry-in and complete cover.

For other manufacturers, you need to carry-in, opt for pick up... and depending on the severity of the problem, might take up to 2 months for repairs. This will result in quite a lot of loss...  hmm.gif 

Feedbacks on Asus's warranty support : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2337458
Damn, most of the stories are recent ones as well sweat.gif Guess that is a no for Asus then, will go check out XPS and MBA at the local shops later. It is a pity though, I was really tempted to get the Zenbook Prime, hahaha.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 26 2012, 03:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Jul 26 2012, 03:14 PM)
Damn, most of the stories are recent ones as well  sweat.gif  Guess that is a no for Asus then, will go check out XPS and MBA at the local shops later. It is a pity though, I was really tempted to get the Zenbook Prime, hahaha.
Many are (including me) because its relatively cheaper, and the screen is really tempting brows.gif
But for most people, its better to have good warranty support I guess sad.gif
ik3da
post Jul 26 2012, 04:23 PM

Poisoned, broken, and definitely poorer.
545 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 26 2012, 03:36 PM)
Many are (including me) because its relatively cheaper, and the screen is really tempting brows.gif
But for most people, its better to have good warranty support I guess  sad.gif
You gotten a Prime already? How's it so far?

Checked the XPS 13 on Dell:

Do you have devour's spec and pricing for Prime? Want to see/compare if the spec/price difference is worth to risk any warranty issues smile.gif
deadmeat2012
post Jul 26 2012, 05:35 PM

155 posts

need help sifu ~ 4gb 1600mhz ram should i get get this kingston worth rm100 or there are other recomandation? for y480

This post has been edited by deadmeat2012: Jul 26 2012, 06:39 PM
NeoOdyssey
post Jul 26 2012, 06:35 PM

Brand: None

Budget: less than 3K

Usage: Nothing in particular, everyday work/gaming?

Preferred screen: 14"~15.6"

Actually i was aiming for either the A45VM-VX029V or N56VZ-S3088V but their chipset info i found on the net is very very confusing or rather different from site to site, so i was wondering if someone can help me with this...

PhungTM
post Jul 26 2012, 06:40 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(NeoOdyssey @ Jul 26 2012, 06:35 PM)
Brand: None

Budget: less than 3K

Usage: Nothing in particular, everyday work/gaming?

Preferred screen: 14"~15.6"

Actually i was aiming for either the A45VM-VX029V or N56VZ-S3088V but their chipset info i found on the net is very very confusing or rather different from site to site, so i was wondering if someone can help me with this...
If you're okay with 15", then go for the N56VZ between the two. It's more worth it.
What do you mean by chipset info? hmm.gif

For other brands,

Lenovo
Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2499[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, FreeDOS

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional

NeoOdyssey
post Jul 26 2012, 06:53 PM

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Jul 26 2012, 06:40 PM)
If you're okay with 15", then go for the N56VZ between the two. It's more worth it.
What do you mean by chipset info?  hmm.gif

For other brands,

Lenovo
Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2499[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, FreeDOS

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional
Well i read on net the chipset for the N56VZ is Intel HM76 while the chipset for the A45VM is Intel HM65. Im not a pro on comp but i have read the differences between the two on wiki and it look like Intel HM76 is newer and better(?). Not sure if this chipset info shown on net is accurate and if it will have a big impact on the laptop performance?

This post has been edited by NeoOdyssey: Jul 26 2012, 07:09 PM
elune88
post Jul 26 2012, 07:53 PM

15 posts

Heyy guys,

Brand : None

Budget : Below 3k

Usage : Mostly listening to songs & Surfing + SLIGHT gaming : fighting games eg. Street Fighter 4, & RE 5.

Screen : 14~15.6

Additional Preferences : Global Warranty a MUST, at least 2 years. Intel i5. Clear screens.

Currently I'm looking into Asus N56. Is there any other models for me to compare with?? The Speaker and subwoofer are the main attractions but if I could get a cheaper laptop with similar specs, it could be compensated with good-quality earphones.

Thanks a million smile.gif

syafiq0211
post Jul 26 2012, 10:17 PM

184 posts

hai sifus biggrin.gif

brand : asus,dell,acer,toshiba

budget : 2-2.5k

usage : for unni works,some light games eg. pes,nfs,counter strike,cod

screen size : 14 inches

been following the thread for a while now,but still cnt make the right choice icon_question.gif
xDingx
post Jul 26 2012, 11:19 PM

613 posts

dear all pro here, im looking for an ultrabook, kindly recommend me...lthanks...

Brand: Asus, Dell, Acer

Usage: Movie, music, surf net, light gaming (mostly online game), light document work.

Special Requirement: Mobility, thin, good display screen, good speaker maybe.

Screen Size: 11-14"

Budget: below rm3500

Thank u.

chotalent
post Jul 26 2012, 11:33 PM

51 posts

Hi sifus,

1. Preferred Brand : dell, asus, acer, hp
2. Budget : below RM1500
3. Usage : work and light gaming such as the sims
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14" and 15.6"
5. Prefer Intel i3 and with OS.
6. If possible can list out as many models that suit.

TQ!

firefake
post Jul 27 2012, 06:14 AM

42 posts

Wanna ask which one is better?

1)V3-571G-73614G1T, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899[2.6kg], 4GB, 1TB
2)Aspire 5755G-72674G1T i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT630M(2GB)@RM2899, 1TB

Comparing this two, what is the big different between'em?? smile.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 27 2012, 09:34 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(NeoOdyssey @ Jul 26 2012, 06:53 PM)
Well i read on net the chipset for the N56VZ is Intel HM76 while the chipset for the A45VM is Intel HM65. Im not a pro on comp but i have read the differences between the two on wiki and it look like Intel HM76 is newer and better(?). Not sure if this chipset info shown on net is accurate and if it will have a big impact on the laptop performance?
Not sure about the chipset, but I don't think you'll see much of a difference in laptops? hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 27 2012, 09:35 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(elune88 @ Jul 26 2012, 07:53 PM)
Heyy guys,

Brand : None

Budget : Below 3k

Usage : Mostly listening to songs & Surfing + SLIGHT gaming : fighting games eg. Street Fighter 4, & RE 5.

Screen : 14~15.6

Additional Preferences : Global Warranty a MUST, at least 2 years. Intel i5. Clear screens.

Currently I'm looking into Asus N56. Is there any other models for me to compare with?? The Speaker and subwoofer are the main attractions but if I could get a cheaper laptop with similar specs, it could be compensated with good-quality earphones.

Thanks a million smile.gif
The N56 would be a good pick, otherwise, its the Lenovo Y480; it also comes with 2 years international warranty iinm (you can extend the warranty if you want, of course nod.gif)
14"
Lenovo Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2499[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, FreeDOS

The graphic card in the Y480 is slightly better than the one in the N56
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 27 2012, 09:37 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xDingx @ Jul 26 2012, 11:19 PM)
dear all pro here, im looking for an ultrabook, kindly recommend me...lthanks...

Brand: Asus, Dell, Acer

Usage: Movie, music, surf net, light gaming (mostly online game), light document work.

Special Requirement: Mobility, thin, good display screen, good speaker maybe.

Screen Size: 11-14"

Budget: below rm3500
Thank u.
Better gaming experience:
13"
Asus ZenBook [Ultrabook] UX32VD-R3001V, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB SSD + 500GB HDD@RM2999[1.3kg], 4GB, W7HP

14"
Dell
[Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i5-3317U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2599[1.87kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm) *no VGA port
[Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i7-3517U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2899[1.87kg], 8GB, 500GB(5400rpm) *no VGA port

HP Pavilion G4-2006/2007/2008TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM2199[2.19kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HP *this one has the strongest graphic card

For the best screen- IPS and FullHD:
13"
Asus ZenBook [Ultrabook] UX31A-R4005V, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920 x 1080)@RM3499[1.3kg], 4GB, W7HP

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jul 27 2012, 09:38 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 27 2012, 09:40 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(chotalent @ Jul 26 2012, 11:33 PM)
Hi sifus,

1. Preferred Brand : dell, asus, acer, hp
2. Budget : below RM1500
3. Usage : work and light gaming such as the sims
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14" and 15.6"
5. Prefer Intel i3 and with OS.
6. If possible can list out as many models that suit.

TQ!
I guess this one would be the best pick although its a bit dearer:
14"
HP Pavilion G4-2026TX/2027TX, i3-2350M + AMD HD7670M@RM1699, 4GB, 640GB(5400rpm), W7HP; colors: black/red

The other alternatives mostly do not come with OS/ not as good as the HP sad.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 27 2012, 09:41 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(firefake @ Jul 27 2012, 06:14 AM)
Wanna ask which one is better?

1)V3-571G-73614G1T, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899[2.6kg], 4GB, 1TB
2)Aspire 5755G-72674G1T i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT630M(2GB)@RM2899, 1TB

Comparing this two, what is the big different between'em?? smile.gif
(1) is newer compared to (2), particularly in terms of CPU and GPU.
(1) is also more powerful than (2) in terms of CPU and GPU performance.
(2) is already EOL-ed iinm, so (1) would be the better pick nod.gif
ic3rock
post Jul 27 2012, 12:58 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 27 2012, 09:41 AM)
(1) is newer compared to (2), particularly in terms of CPU and GPU.
(1) is also more powerful than (2) in terms of CPU and GPU performance.
(2) is already EOL-ed iinm, so (1) would be the better pick  nod.gif
What is EOL-ed iinm? Wonder why v3 with 3rd gen i7 + better GPU will cheaper than (2)?
PhungTM
post Jul 27 2012, 01:27 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Jul 27 2012, 12:58 PM)
What is EOL-ed iinm? Wonder why v3 with 3rd gen i7 + better GPU will cheaper than (2)?
EOL means End of Line/Life. It is not in production anymore. iinm means If I'm Not Mistaken.

New laptops tend to have attractive prices compared to older ones. That's why it is better to get the newer one smile.gif

129 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0161sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:59 PM