52 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Y580/Y480/N56 Battlefield, Y480 3630QM+GT650m=2599, Y580 FHD 3630QM+GTX660m=2999,white, Win8

jammerlee711
post Jun 21 2012, 02:31 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Jun 20 2012, 06:15 PM)
Y580 vs N56 thermal design. Who is the winner?

[attachmentid=2904211][attachmentid=2904214]
shorter heat pipes means faster cooling??... but the design of Y580's board is buggy anyway
the HDD is like roti panggang ...TOASTED on both sides =.=
TSytlay
post Jun 21 2012, 08:00 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Jun 21 2012, 02:31 AM)
shorter heat pipes means faster cooling??... but the design of Y580's board is buggy anyway
the HDD is like roti panggang ...TOASTED on both sides =.=
Y580 with full copper heat sink and shorter heat pipes should provide better CPU & GPU cooling than N56.
Y580's HDD located at "oven" need to swap with DVD for better cooling. biggrin.gif
If gaming for long hour, open back cover blow with cooler for super cooling. thumbup.gif

jammerlee711
post Jun 21 2012, 10:22 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Jun 21 2012, 08:00 PM)
Y580 with full copper heat sink and shorter heat pipes should provide better CPU & GPU cooling than N56.
Y580's HDD located at "oven" need to swap with DVD for better cooling.  biggrin.gif
If gaming for long hour, open back cover blow with cooler for super cooling.  thumbup.gif
hmmm...but this will mean void warranty the moment you got your laptop~ rclxub.gif
TSytlay
post Jun 22 2012, 08:31 PM

1,087 posts

According to N56vz from notebook review here
Stress test with full load on CPU & GPU at temp 25.5C
CPU max at 97C, CPU throttle to 1.2Ghz sweat.gif
From HWiNFO64, its seem GPU also throttle to 350Mhz

Look like i7-3610QM really produce a lot of heat and i5 should be better. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Jun 21 2012, 10:22 PM)
hmmm...but this will mean void warranty the moment you got your laptop~ rclxub.gif
Just swap DVD with HDD when warranty claim, its still cover. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ytlay: Jun 22 2012, 08:40 PM
Acid_RuleZz
post Jun 22 2012, 08:34 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

^ imo those i5 will still be as hot as the i7 if turboboost is on.
jakuraz
post Jun 22 2012, 09:29 PM

need more stars. i luv em
582 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jun 22 2012, 08:34 PM)
^ imo those i5 will still be as hot as the i7 if turboboost is on.
is the turboboost i5 comparable to i7 in term of performance?
just asking biggrin.gif
Acid_RuleZz
post Jun 22 2012, 09:43 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

i have no idea.. hmm.gif for game like Starcraft 2/Skyrim which benefit more on CPU clock, the i5 will perform pretty good i guess.
jammerlee711
post Jun 22 2012, 11:17 PM

395 posts

i dun really think this is possible but will there be any slight possibility LENOVO will change it's PCB board design for future Y580??

Added on June 22, 2012, 11:19 pm
QUOTE(ytlay @ Jun 22 2012, 08:31 PM)

Just swap DVD with HDD when warranty claim, its still cover.  icon_rolleyes.gif
but there are those stcker thingy stick on the screw holes...those "warranty void if broken" stickers doh.gif

This post has been edited by jammerlee711: Jun 22 2012, 11:19 PM
TSytlay
post Jun 23 2012, 09:11 PM

1,087 posts

Added on June 23, 2012, 11:50 pmJust come across a killer spec with killer price in recommendation thread here.. rclxm9.gif
Oh! Lenovo really want to make other OEM sweat.gif . But its very good for consumer. thumbup.gif

Lenovo Y480 i7-3610QM, GT650M (GDDR5), 4GB, 500GB, DOS at RM23xx.

Someone oledi selling in garage sales.
Remember to upgrade the warranty for peace of mind.

There are so many concern on the high HDD temp on Lenovo Y580 on Chinese site. sweat.gif
Here is the answer from a forumer who claim that he is Lenovo researcher in Chinese site here.

Translate it below, excuse me if any miss translation. tongue.gif

According to the researcher, a simple solution to reduce the HDD heat is to wrap the HDD with heat insulator. Its like wrapping the chicken in the oven, is it effective??? rclxub.gif

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Jun 22 2012, 11:17 PM)
i dun really think this is possible but will there be any slight possibility LENOVO will change it's PCB board design for future Y580??

Added on June 22, 2012, 11:19 pm

but there are those stcker thingy stick on the screw holes...those "warranty void if broken" stickers  doh.gif
Imo, they will only change the layout may be next year for new generation Y series due to costing. The will use the heat insulator to reduce HDD temp. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ytlay: Jun 24 2012, 02:14 AM
yewMP5
post Jun 24 2012, 05:44 PM

499 posts

Y580 ...can I play dota 2 in high setting? I mean issit more than enough?

This post has been edited by yewMP5: Jun 24 2012, 05:44 PM
Fizzy-Fiz
post Jun 24 2012, 06:00 PM

696 posts

they want to fit the already hot temps specifications of the y580 into a 14inch?
deepcool0922
post Jun 24 2012, 06:02 PM

705 posts

i ran this last night 4.00am
jakuraz
post Jun 24 2012, 06:02 PM

need more stars. i luv em
582 posts

QUOTE(yewMP5 @ Jun 24 2012, 05:44 PM)
Y580 ...can I play dota 2 in high setting? I mean issit more than enough?
sure you can.
even my old nvidia 9600m gt also can play in highest settings
with super smooth fps thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jakuraz: Jun 24 2012, 06:09 PM
yewMP5
post Jun 24 2012, 06:10 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(jakuraz @ Jun 24 2012, 06:02 PM)
sure you can.
even my old nvidia 9600m gt also can play in highest settings
with super smooth fps  thumbup.gif
Wow thanks bro....the laptop...will it heat up super fast?
Fizzy-Fiz
post Jun 24 2012, 06:35 PM

696 posts

weird, I can't find a GT650M Y480 anywhere in their website.
BlueBaby
post Jun 24 2012, 08:00 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Fizzy-Fiz @ Jun 24 2012, 06:35 PM)
weird, I can't find a GT650M Y480 anywhere in their website.
They'll probably update their website in a few months time,got any questions just post em here! biggrin.gif
Fizzy-Fiz
post Jun 24 2012, 08:03 PM

696 posts

lol that's not right. US website is usually updated. Taken that, the original leaked specs for Y480 is this one, still, the price even FreeDos is too unbelievable.

Anyway lets discuss.

>14 inch
>GT650M GDDR5
>i7-3610
>Pre-existing heat issues with Y580

Reports of DV6-7XXX running GDDR5 version of GT650M going hot is quite popular on NBR. Fitting very much the same specs in a 14 inch, what would be the outcome?
deepcool0922
post Jun 24 2012, 08:12 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(Fizzy-Fiz @ Jun 24 2012, 08:03 PM)
lol that's not right. US website is usually updated. Taken that, the original leaked specs for Y480 is this one, still, the price even FreeDos is too unbelievable.
Anyway lets discuss.

>14 inch
>GT650M GDDR5
>i7-3610
>Pre-existing heat issues with Y580
Reports of DV6-7XXX running GDDR5 version of GT650M going hot is quite popular on NBR. Fitting very much the same specs in a 14 inch, what would be the outcome?
HP cooling is vey suck. Noisy fan.
yewMP5
post Jun 24 2012, 08:17 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Jun 24 2012, 08:12 PM)
HP cooling is vey suck. Noisy fan.
My 2 year old pavilion dv4 now sounds like a jet during start up =_=
deepcool0922
post Jun 24 2012, 08:21 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(yewMP5 @ Jun 24 2012, 08:17 PM)
My 2 year old pavilion dv4 now sounds like a jet during start up =_=
even my bro 3 months old dv6 during diablo 3, very lound sound from the fan.

52 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0252sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:16 AM