Denai Alam, A Place To Belong

Bert Rizal
post Aug 23 2012, 08:55 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(soph @ Aug 23 2012, 04:31 PM)
Hi....i'm a fern lane owner too. Just to share, i have claimed my LAD...not much, about 10k. Also, any recommendation for house grills? Want to get some simple designs as i wont be residing in myself.
Welcome Soph! Who will be residing ur unit then? smile.gif

Riz Quattro
post Aug 27 2012, 01:41 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(Bert Rizal @ Aug 23 2012, 08:55 PM)
Welcome Soph! Who will be residing ur unit then? smile.gif
Went to see the house last weekend and as usual there was a stream of contractors trying to canvass for jobs.

Eventually, we opted for one who looked liked he knew what he was talking about and the price was reasonable to do some work at the kitchen,grill and fencing.

He was so desperate to lock in a job in FL to get a track record so we gave him a try.

Name was Desmond from Territory Construction (macam nama company Ah Long shocking.gif )

Anyone heard of him?
numbertwo
post Aug 27 2012, 01:49 PM

1,790 posts

I heard that klang has plenty of gangster contractors who warn outside contractors for getting jobs in their territories, does that happen in DA?
Riz Quattro
post Aug 27 2012, 02:17 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Aug 27 2012, 01:49 PM)
I heard that klang has plenty of gangster contractors who warn outside contractors for getting jobs in their territories, does that happen in DA?
It happens in all new development housing areas.

Apparently, there is a race to put up their banners on the house to say its being "chop". Like territorial pissing la.

As long as they do a good job with a reasonable price, I'm OK with it.

I told him, you screw up my house, and the whole DA will know about it and vice versa brows.gif
HisokaKoga
post Aug 27 2012, 04:53 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Riz Quattro @ Aug 27 2012, 02:17 PM)

I told him, you screw up my house, and the whole DA will know about it and vice versa  brows.gif
HAHAHA... well said! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
TSXai-V-iaX
post Aug 27 2012, 11:00 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(Riz Quattro @ Aug 27 2012, 02:17 PM)
It happens in all new development housing areas.

Apparently, there is a race to put up their banners on the house to say its being "chop". Like territorial pissing la.

As long as they do a good job with a reasonable price, I'm OK with it.

I told him, you screw up my house, and the whole DA will know about it and vice versa  brows.gif
LoL...Good one mate.... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Anyways, any of ya'll have ID/Architects with good cables with MBSA for renovation approvals and etc? hmm.gif
Kent3888
post Aug 28 2012, 12:19 AM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

Wat are the disadvantage/consequences of not getting MBSA approval for renovation/extension?
TSXai-V-iaX
post Aug 28 2012, 12:26 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Aug 28 2012, 12:19 AM)
Wat are the disadvantage/consequences of not getting MBSA approval for renovation/extension?
From what I can gather, if you were to do renovations that requires MBSA approval without their consent - they have all the rights to tear down the said renovations with notice provided. nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif
Kent3888
post Aug 28 2012, 12:33 AM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Aug 28 2012, 12:26 AM)
From what I can gather, if you were to do renovations that requires MBSA approval without their consent - they have all the rights to tear down the said renovations with notice provided.  nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif
Okay, anyone here got contact for good runner to get MBSA application can pls share here yea rclxms.gif
TSXai-V-iaX
post Aug 28 2012, 12:39 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Aug 28 2012, 12:33 AM)
Okay, anyone here got contact for good runner to get MBSA application can pls share here yea rclxms.gif
Its BEST to get an architect that has good 'cables' in terms of approvals and etc rather than just a runner.

An architect himself/herself would be able to advice on the type of renovations/extensions that may have problems in getting approvals thus saving us a lot in the initial design itself as compared to getting a runner.
Riz Quattro
post Aug 28 2012, 08:44 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Aug 28 2012, 12:39 AM)
Its BEST to get an architect that has good 'cables' in terms of approvals and etc rather than just a runner.

An architect himself/herself would be able to advice on the type of renovations/extensions that may have problems in getting approvals thus saving us a lot in the initial design itself as compared to getting a runner.
I asked my friend, an architect from SD who was a part of the DA Development team.

He basically said any erection of concrete beams and pillars would need building approval from the council and a buffer of 2ft needs to be retained at the back.

If you want to extend right to the back without approval, it can only be done for "temporary structures" without the erection of concrete pillars right up to the top. This is quite common for kitchens.

That's why some houses just add roofing supported with metal pillars and add grills from the 6ft brick fence wall to the top to to circumvent this requirement. So that's exactly what I'm doing.

This info should reliable and correct as he is now the GM for Sime Darby-Brunsfield so takkan dia nak tipu kot sweat.gif

But besides this, yes you do.

jeghui
post Aug 28 2012, 08:47 AM

2,934 posts

Erection?
TSXai-V-iaX
post Aug 28 2012, 09:22 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(jeghui @ Aug 28 2012, 08:47 AM)
Erection?
Was wondering on that bit too tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Added on August 28, 2012, 9:27 am
QUOTE(Riz Quattro @ Aug 28 2012, 08:44 AM)
I asked my friend, an architect from SD who was a part of the DA Development team.

He basically said any erection of concrete beams and pillars would need building approval from the council and a buffer of 2ft needs to be retained at the back. 

If you want to extend right to the back without approval, it can only be done for "temporary structures" without the erection of concrete pillars right up to the top. This is quite common for kitchens.

That's why some houses just add roofing supported with metal pillars and add grills from the 6ft brick fence wall to the top to to circumvent this requirement. So that's exactly what I'm doing.

This info should reliable and correct as he is now the GM for Sime Darby-Brunsfield so takkan dia nak tipu kot  sweat.gif

But besides this, yes you do.
Well you got it spot right on what I was explaining earlier for the approved extensions and renovations BUT mind you its not limited to extensions only. Any sort of renovation that deters the original setup of the house may require approval as well.

This post has been edited by Xai-V-iaX: Aug 28 2012, 09:27 AM
Riz Quattro
post Aug 28 2012, 09:29 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Aug 28 2012, 09:22 AM)
Was wondering on that bit too  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Tsk....tsk....tsk...now now....easy boys. I thought this is a PG rated forum? whistling.gif

numbertwo
post Aug 28 2012, 09:30 AM

1,790 posts

I believe so long as the original architect drawing of our house, perimeter of the build-up area remains intact then we are OK.. Otherwise it has to get approval kot..
TSXai-V-iaX
post Aug 28 2012, 09:36 AM

1,516 posts

Anyways, I managed to get hold of this one architect + ID via my usual contractor. He says this guy has got some strong links inside MBSA and approvals shouldn't be a prob (for the major reno works)...

I shall talk to him first and maybe arrange a meet-up with him prior to sharing his contact here (Just to filter his real capability & business ethics)...
Riz Quattro
post Aug 28 2012, 09:53 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Aug 28 2012, 12:33 AM)
Since we are on the topic of renovation, you all should check out the Bina Warehouse 40th anniversary sale near Jalan Templer PJ. It ends this Sunday.

They got some good bargains on Italian brands for bathrooms and kitchens stuff. Apparently, I found out that some italian and german brands have already relocated to China so the quality is not exactly the same anymore. They stock brands like Duravit, Hansgrohe and Foster.

They still have stock of the non-China made ones though. Got my Foster Sink, and Hansgrohe Faucets and Showers.

I also finally realised that Grohe which common is actually the ciplak version of Hansgrohe. Patutlaa the price difference and the funny looks I got when I asked.

Also CIMA lighting on the same road is having a warehouse sale. I got my security lights there. Its Philips but really cheap.

Habis la duit aku....double whammy - Raya and Renovation doh.gif rclxub.gif
TSXai-V-iaX
post Aug 28 2012, 10:51 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(Riz Quattro @ Aug 28 2012, 09:53 AM)
Since we are on the topic of renovation, you all should check out the Bina Warehouse 40th anniversary sale near Jalan Templer PJ. It ends this Sunday.

They got some good bargains on Italian brands for bathrooms and kitchens stuff. Apparently, I found out that some italian and german brands have already relocated to China so the quality is not exactly the same anymore. They stock brands like Duravit, Hansgrohe and Foster.

They still have stock of the non-China made ones though. Got my Foster Sink, and Hansgrohe Faucets and Showers.

I also finally realised that Grohe which common is actually the ciplak version of Hansgrohe. Patutlaa the price difference and the funny looks I got when I asked.

Also CIMA lighting on the same road is having a warehouse sale. I got my security lights there. Its Philips but really cheap.

Habis la duit aku....double whammy -  Raya and Renovation doh.gif      rclxub.gif
...and that's where I shall head to this weekend rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
feezar25
post Aug 28 2012, 12:00 PM

521 posts

How much you guys spend for renovation?..I can only spare like 50k the most. Dont know what would be the outcome with that tiny budget..based on HMs idea ..we need atleast 400k..I said..daffuqq?!
TSXai-V-iaX
post Aug 28 2012, 12:03 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(feezar25 @ Aug 28 2012, 12:00 PM)
How much you guys spend for renovation?..I can only spare like 50k the most. Dont know what would be the outcome with that tiny budget..based on HMs idea ..we need atleast 400k..I said..daffuqq?!
If you leave the decision with the HM - even 400k would seem midget... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

126 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:20 AM