Lenovo Y580 on hand, 9 Aug.295.93 so far the best driver Y580

rockccf
post Jul 23 2012, 05:38 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Jul 23 2012, 12:19 PM)
i think if im really doing all tht i'll be at home and an external monitor will serve me quite well with cheaper price..after all 23'' only 500+ only
Now I am still thinking to get either HD or FHD, have to see to compare.
'Cause I think I am not going to use the laptop to watch bluray as my PS3 will do the job.
But if the screen difference is big, I will go for FHD.
Worth it or not? We shall know soon.
rocktstrading
post Jul 23 2012, 05:48 PM

QUOTE(developer @ Jul 22 2012, 03:40 PM)
lenovo y580 with full hd 3699 but we can get at 3480 what..
Where to get at 3480?
Noobdao
post Jul 23 2012, 06:17 PM

126 posts

Is full HD version wor~~~
-kytz-
post Jul 23 2012, 08:24 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(rockccf @ Jul 23 2012, 05:38 PM)
Now I am still thinking to get either HD or FHD, have to see to compare.
'Cause I think I am not going to use the laptop to watch bluray as my PS3 will do the job.
But if the screen difference is big, I will go for FHD.
Worth it or not? We shall know soon.
On a 15.6" screen, I can guarantee you that the difference is like night and day biggrin.gif
mellovicious
post Jul 23 2012, 09:15 PM

469 posts

well i had this laptop for almost a 3 weeks now~ (its actually a month but i didnt touch it for a week)

so im giving my general impression of the notebook

- the built is actually very nice. its actually abit thicker than what i see in pictures but its doesnt matter at all. i like the design and material used. it really nice to look at really biggrin.gif . button layout is easy to get used to.

-the touchpad is big and have a nice surface but the button clicks is actually a part of the touchpad itself. sometimes when u click and your fingers move abit then the cursor moves abit making you click the wrong stuff. i think it takes time to get used too

- the screen... similar to any generic budget laptop screen... ptui~ 1366x786
and you can do your makeup with the screen.. if u get what i mean. oh well im aware of the fact before making the purchase so... meh.

-its somewhat convient for having the 2 usb on the top and bottom at the righside of the laptop (rather than 2 usb sidebyside). its only a personal reference really.

-sound.. speaker output is good. ive used a n55 before and it was only an inch better only. sound is direct yet echoish. the one theather auto chang setting with opening media, suckk that. (i dun know how to change the settings). thx god there was a dedicated key.

just be careful with the speaker grill. when dust goes inside really hard to clean. well its a common problem with direct faced laptop speakers i think. not biggie.

howevaa...

the audio processing is actually bad (same output you would hear on a 1k budget laptop). tried dolby and srs dsp manager and it will just ruined the audio further. plug in my fiio. nope not good enough since the source is bad to begin with. im so00 bothered by the sound until i had too buy a creative x-fi. ofcourse this is not an issue for the typical user but my shure and audio technica sounded like fake beats, its outrageoussss. even my phone sounds better lolllllll

-the battery.. i bring it to work today with a full charge. set it in power saver and 3 bars of brightness in the settings. no wifi no bluetooh. i use it for ms office work for the whole day. 100% at 930am goes down to 32% at 100pm.. its just what as i expected and im satified with it.

for most this is a gaming laptop but for me is and all purpose laptop really. work, games, music, and stuff,

im not gonna talk about the raw performance of the hardware, i'll leave it to the more knowledgeable taiko out there hehe

cheers
ck.chunkeat
post Jul 23 2012, 10:03 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(mellovicious @ Jul 23 2012, 09:15 PM)
well i had this laptop for almost a 3 weeks now~ (its actually a month but i didnt touch it for a week)

so im giving my general impression of the notebook

- the built is actually very nice. its actually abit thicker than what i see in pictures but its doesnt matter at all. i like the design and material used. it really nice to look at really  biggrin.gif . button layout is easy to get used to.

-the touchpad is big and have a nice surface but the button clicks is actually a part of the touchpad itself. sometimes when u click and your fingers move abit then the cursor moves abit making you click the wrong stuff. i think it takes time to get used too

- the screen... similar to any generic budget laptop screen... ptui~ 1366x786
and you can do your makeup with the screen.. if u get what i mean. oh well im aware of the fact before making the purchase so... meh.

-its somewhat convient for having the 2 usb on the top and bottom at the righside of the laptop (rather than 2 usb sidebyside). its only a personal reference really.

-sound.. speaker output is good. ive used a n55 before and it was only an inch better only. sound is direct yet echoish. the one theather auto chang setting with opening media, suckk that. (i dun know how to change the settings). thx god there was a dedicated key.

just be careful with the speaker grill. when dust goes inside really hard to clean. well its a common problem with direct faced  laptop speakers i think. not biggie.

howevaa...

the audio processing is actually bad (same output you would hear on a 1k budget laptop). tried dolby and srs dsp manager and it will just ruined the audio further. plug in my fiio. nope not good enough since the source is bad to begin with. im so00 bothered by the sound until i had too buy a creative x-fi. ofcourse this is not an issue for the typical user but my shure and audio technica sounded like fake beats, its outrageoussss. even my phone sounds better lolllllll

-the battery.. i bring it to work today with a full charge. set it in power saver and 3 bars of brightness in the settings. no wifi no bluetooh. i use it for ms office work for the whole day. 100% at 930am goes down to 32% at 100pm.. its just what as i expected and im satified with it.
for most this is a gaming laptop but for me is and all purpose laptop really. work, games, music, and stuff,

im not gonna talk about the raw performance of the hardware, i'll leave it to the more knowledgeable taiko out there hehe

cheers
nice review. rclxms.gif
Now that fhd is coming out,its kinda all rounded. tongue.gif
jayoscar
post Jul 24 2012, 07:26 PM

309 posts

Hey saw interesting method on cool down overall HDD heat issue.
http://ideapad.it168.com/forum.php?mod=vie...ead&tid=2232884

It seem need to punch some new hole to let Air flow in differently.

cslance
post Jul 24 2012, 07:28 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(jayoscar @ Jul 24 2012, 07:26 PM)
Hey saw interesting method on cool down overall HDD heat issue.
http://ideapad.it168.com/forum.php?mod=vie...ead&tid=2232884

It seem need to punch some new hole to let Air flow in differently.
bro, the link is spoil....how to read? sad.gif
jayoscar
post Jul 24 2012, 07:32 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(cslance @ Jul 24 2012, 07:28 PM)
bro, the link is spoil....how to read? sad.gif
Sorry here, it's in chinese, need webpage translate.
http: ideapad.it168.com/thread-2232884-1-1.html
cslance
post Jul 24 2012, 07:44 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(jayoscar @ Jul 24 2012, 07:32 PM)
Sorry here, it's in chinese, need webpage translate.
http:    ideapad.it168.com/thread-2232884-1-1.html
got it..but the picture like he remove all the protective and hdd sponge in order to get the wind flow...Also i dun like the way he puncture the laptop...i feel not nice and the laptop is my precious so not going to do tat as long as the temp not go too high then is enough ady....
jayoscar
post Jul 24 2012, 07:53 PM

309 posts

According to what's say, airflow inside the Y580/480 really need to take in count. anyway if u stay in a hot temp bedroom without any AC.... what's your lappy suck in still hot air...
cslance
post Jul 24 2012, 08:19 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(jayoscar @ Jul 24 2012, 07:53 PM)
According to what's say, airflow inside the Y580/480 really need to take in count. anyway if u stay in a hot temp bedroom without any AC.... what's your lappy suck in still hot air...
yes.. but currently my room condition is without aircon but i feel still ok ... smile.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 24 2012, 09:38 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Jul 23 2012, 03:56 PM)
750GB HDD 2 disc HDD. max rpm 5400 only.
what do u mean? i had seen other note book's 750gb with 7200 wor...

QUOTE(rocktstrading @ Jul 23 2012, 05:48 PM)
Where to get at 3480?
AP seller at garage?
ck.chunkeat
post Jul 24 2012, 10:22 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

i think theres one seller at garage sales selling fhd at 2999..duno whether its true or not..

Also,the chinese guy take off the sponge which is suppose to reduce shock to the hdd which i think is quite bad for the hdd..
Also,the thing he did is to cool down the palm area of the laptop..

Practically i think its a good thing to manage the airflow of the notebook but on the other hand i doubt many will want to open so many holes on their beloved notebook.. sweat.gif
cslance
post Jul 25 2012, 12:28 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Jul 24 2012, 10:22 PM)
i think theres one seller at garage sales selling fhd at 2999..duno whether its true or not..

Also,the chinese guy take off the sponge which is suppose to reduce shock to the hdd which i think is quite bad for the hdd..

Practically i think its a good thing to manage the airflow of the notebook but on the other hand i doubt many will want to open so many holes on their beloved notebook.. sweat.gif
is it fhd? i though only hd version in the garage and yes, that guy he remove the sponge where provide anti-shock for the hdd which is not good and another thing is he punture the hole with only heat up the screw and melt the case.. which is pretty sad for the laptop. if i do it, i would rather get a proper tools like drill or even do a planning before drill it or cut it so tat even make a hole but the laptop still seem like new... all just my 2 cents comments tongue.gif
Noobdao
post Jul 25 2012, 08:15 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Jul 24 2012, 10:22 PM)

I think that price is got it from US, as what we call AP set, the warranty is just only 1 year which is international warranty.
cslance
post Jul 25 2012, 09:05 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(Noobdao @ Jul 25 2012, 08:15 AM)
I think that price is got it from US, as what we call AP set, the warranty is just only 1 year which is international warranty.
ic. so there is lesser warranty compare to local set smile.gif
amir93
post Jul 25 2012, 03:12 PM

234 posts

International warranty but Lenovo Malaysia doesn't cover it? hmm.gif
Noobdao
post Jul 25 2012, 03:19 PM

126 posts

Got, only 1 year lo...
ck.chunkeat