124 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, Bye Dirk Kuyt!

cherroy
post May 18 2012, 04:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(demio121 @ May 18 2012, 04:24 PM)
i don't think KD dismissal is entirely because of 1 season failure.  FSG is pure investor and they look at league and CL as our priority.  They sanction pretty large sum of transfer fund.  All these is against a target to get us back into CL where to FSG is where the ROI is.  Carling and FA would be bonus if we win.

Seeing how we struggle to stay in the CL contention so early, couple with the recent news that Carroll was offer as swap for Tevez, i think FSG just feel we need a new direction.  Honestly, i dun think FSG care much about our home losses so much like we do.  If we lost all our home match and yet made it to top 4, i think they wud just keep quiet while we rumble.

I juz dun think its was instant success where FSG expect us to win the tittle or all competition we enter but rather the manner we miss our target the club set early in the season.  If we were neck to neck fighting for 4th and miss it on the last day, KD would be around.  We were 17pts off 4th and 37pts off the champion.  Its a really huge gap there.
I think it is 2012 result and performance that matter, and not about how far from 4th spot.

Since 2011 year end, Liv has point tally of 18 out of 19 matches, and no sign or turn around even until the last match against Swansea that ended with 1-0 loss.

It is promising at the start of season, since after that, it seems like direction is loss, performance on the pitch start to go down.
At least beginning of the season, some match we can say it unlucky not to win.
But the later stage of the season, a lot of matches, performance was quite poor.

koolspyda
post May 18 2012, 05:30 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ May 18 2012, 05:38 PM)
Looks like we're approaching all the candidates in FSG's list. Martinez probably has equal chance of landing the job with the other candidates, so relax guys, he hasn't got the job yet. biggrin.gif
Save the trouble, Buy Swansea (players) tongue.gif cool2.gif

Bad joke vmad.gif shakehead.gif
elnino
post May 18 2012, 05:30 PM

124 posts

Rodgers snubs LFC approach
led_zep_freak
post May 18 2012, 05:38 PM

5,231 posts

Eye-opening interview with Ian Ayre. Looks like Rafa's not coming back.

Liverpool FC sacking Kenny Dalglish was right move to let owners realise vision for club, says Ian Ayre

IAN AYRE insists the sacking of Kenny Dalglish was necessary to enable Fenway Sports Group to realise their vision for Liverpool FC.

The Reds’ managing director has leapt to the owners’ defence in the face of criticism from supporters following the end of Dalglish’s 16-month reign on Wednesday.

Ayre revealed not even winning the FA Cup would have saved the Anfield legend as the club’s lowly eighth-placed finish in the Premier League ultimately made terminating his contract “a very simple decision” by FSG, who had targeted Champions League qualification.

He also dismissed talk of a crisis following the recent departure of so many high-profile officials which has left Liverpool with no manager, no director of football, no head of sports science, no commercial director and no head of communications.

Ayre, whose own future is secure after recently penning a new contract, says the cull is over and plans are well advanced to install a new structure at Anfield.

The search for the Reds’ fourth manager in two years is gathering pace and various other appointments will be confirmed by the end of the month.

“There are no plans to fire anyone else,” Ayre confirmed. “It was just part of a process. It is all part of wanting to get it right. The natural break point is at the end of a season. That is the time when you take stock of what people have achieved or what they haven’t achieved within a period.

“This view that there is a crisis and everyone is leaving is wrong, it’s just a time based thing. When anyone leaves you have to go through the process of finding a replacement and moving forward.

“It’s fair to say we are fairly imminent on a lot of positions that have exited. What you will see over the next two weeks is those new people arriving and a momentum of going forward.

“There will be new people arriving with new energy and new initiatives. For all the negativity that has existed in the last six to eight weeks, you will see a lot of positivity around the new appointments with their experience and what they will deliver.”

Director of football Damien Comolli, who was dismissed last month, won’t be directly replaced. FSG have come to the conclusion that his job, overseeing travel, medical care, scouting, player analysis and recruitment, was too wide-ranging. Instead those duties will be spread out and a number of new roles created.

Internal candidates are also being considered and could lead to more senior positions for highly-respected Academy duo Pep Segura and Rodolfo Borrell.

“The idea is rather than one person being responsible for all the elements Damien’s role took on, we will divide up the responsibilities,” Ayre said. “We will have a slightly different structure so there will be two or three positions within that. Running a big football club is a big challenge. It’s evident we need to focus on each area with a specialist who will deliver value in each area.”

The manager’s role will also change. FSG want Dalglish’s successor to be devoted solely to coaching, although he will still have the final say on signings. That kind of model rules out any possible return to the Anfield hot-seat for former manager Rafa Benitez.

Ayre says lessons have been learned from the damaging Luis Suarez-Patrice Evra race row which Dalglish was left to deal with publicly. The Scot was heavily criticised for his fierce defence of the striker in the wake of the FA’s guilty verdict.

“The model has always been developing and the plan has evolved,” Ayre said.

“As is always the case when you have a difficult situation, it highlights the shortcomings and issues around certain areas. Did we learn from the Suarez thing? Did we get some things wrong? Of course.

“But you move on. The important thing is you take the things that you get wrong and build to not get those things wrong again.

“I wouldn’t go as far as to say the manager’s job will only be a training ground role but absolutely the idea is to create a structure so that the manager doesn’t need to focus on too much else.

“You want the manager to be focused on getting the best out of his team. But what it absolutely isn’t about is bringing players in without the manager’s input.

“In the past a manager would be going to look at 20 or 30 different games just to find one player. Whereas with the right structure someone lines all of that up and the manager is just going to the final interview.

“We are trying to create as much resource and expertise in all the areas that serve the manager and the team rather than having one or two people trying to achieve everything. We not looking to copy any other club. It will have Liverpool’s own stamp and structure on it.”

Ayre will be handed more responsibility himself running the club on a day to day basis, while a new commercial chief, replacing Graham Bartlett who left in March, will be brought in to assist the MD.

“I’m the person here responsible for running the football club. I welcome that challenge and I’ll do the best job I can do,” Ayre said.

“What’s important is we’ve got the right structure to run the club in the right way. One of the announcements we will make in the next week or so will be about someone working with me to continue delivering the important revenue streams.

“We’ve done very well in growing our revenue in the last four or five years but it’s important to keep building on it.”

It was revenue streams which ultimately proved Dalglish’s undoing. Despite winning the Carling Cup and reaching the FA Cup final, the Reds’ failure to finish in the top four in the Premier League meant the club missed out on a potential windfall of around £40million from Champions League qualification.

“It was a very simple decision based on results and did we believe that was going to change,” Ayre said. “To be 37 points off the winner, 17 points off fourth, 14 losses…..

“Winning the FA Cup wouldn’t have made any difference – it was never about an individual result. It was always about taking a review of the season in full.

“The Carling Cup and The FA Cup don’t generate the revenue and the success that is needed to keep investing. If you want to be successful, you have got to keep investing. People don’t want to hear that football is a business. They want to see us put lots of money into the football team and win lots of trophies and games.

“But you have got to have both. You have got to have continued progress in the league. If you don’t do well in the league and you don’t get into the Champions League, you are writing cheques from your own pocket, aren’t you? That is not a sustainable way going forward.

“Kenny said publicly he thought it had been handled with dignity. Nobody was treated badly in this process.

“I agree you can’t keep changing (managers) and as long as what you expect in terms of moving forwards is achieved, of course you give that person the time and support they need. But there is a difference between that and failure. If you massively get it wrong then of course you have to make that change. You expect targets to be achieved.

“For the owners it’s been a process of bedding in, understanding and reviewing the entire structure of the business. We hope the people who come in as part of this new plan are there for the long term. What’s coming together now we believe is the way forward.”

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/liverpool-f.../#ixzz1vDEh4usE
Interesting bits bolded by me.

Feel free to dissect and discuss.
etseleste
post May 18 2012, 05:44 PM

202 posts

Haiz... who else would be touted next as potential candidate? K.Rajagopal? Dollah Salleh? Whoever he is, I will still back the club through thick and thin. Though Rafa gave us the fond memories of lifting 5th CL, I don't envisage him coming back. Plus I do find him losing the plot in his last season, kinda like Houllier in his final season too. Plus, he fared very poorly for Inter. And he is a control freak with poor man management and that doesn't bode well with FSG.

Pep would not come to Anfield, though I would like to have him around. He can command respect just like RMadrid players respect Mourinho. He would be very influential to the team on the pitch. However, don't see him coming here anytime soon. I could be wrong though, hopefully.

Would like to see Dalglish being given another year based on sentiment, but the way the team performs in the league in 2012 sums it all that KD couldn't inspire the team. We are not even a mediocre team, as results shown we were hovering near the relegation zone. Can't blame the owners for taking drastic and swift action.

Congrats to Hyypia for becoming manager of Leverkusen. Hopefully he does well. Maybe he will come manage us in a year or two if we are still in doldrums.
Duke Red
post May 18 2012, 05:54 PM

6,112 posts

The FA Cup is one of the oldest competitions in the world but is fast losing its prestige because of a lack of financial windfall. This just means that we can expect the top sides to field reserve teams in both the League and FA Cup? I have to say that this is one thing I hate about football today. All about the money it is.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/20...observer-debate

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theatre_of_Si...oul_of_Football
ALeUNe
post May 18 2012, 06:09 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ May 18 2012, 05:38 PM)
Eye-opening interview with Ian Ayre. Looks like Rafa's not coming back.
Interesting bits bolded by me.

Feel free to dissect and discuss.
"FSG want Dalglish’s successor to be devoted solely to coaching, although he will still have the final say on signings."
led_zep_freak
post May 18 2012, 06:13 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ May 18 2012, 06:09 PM)
"FSG want Dalglish’s successor to be devoted solely to coaching, although he will still have the final say on signings."
Rafa wanted control from the academy to the first team. It's not just signings.

With a DOF model, the DOF is in charge of overseeing the progress of the academy, reserves and first-team. The manager will be solely in charge of the first-team. He may contribute an input or 2 occasionally but the reserves and academy will have their own managers/leaders who would report directly to the DOF.
Rotuham
post May 18 2012, 06:14 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 18 2012, 05:54 PM)
The FA Cup is one of the oldest competitions in the world but is fast losing its prestige because of a lack of financial windfall. This just means that we can expect the top sides to field reserve teams in both the League and FA Cup? I have to say that this is one thing I hate about football today. All about the money it is.

We are guilty as well.We didn't really care about it until we found it hard to qualify for the CL.
I doubt we would be bothered about Fa cup and carling if we had qualified for CL.

Anyway,brendan rogers turned down the opportunity to talk to lfc according to espn.

This post has been edited by Rotuham: May 18 2012, 06:24 PM
TSsolstice818
post May 18 2012, 06:43 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

They keep restructuring lol... From having director of football to dismissing him and now splitting his jobs? FSG you must be kidding me
hfi
post May 18 2012, 06:48 PM

598 posts

What they are doing in restructuring the holy trinity. In all honesty that's not going to bode well with lots of supporters, especially the local scousers. But this is their first true test as the owner of Liverpool FC, i think it's only fair that they're given a fair shot at trying their own methods. But if they fail, there will be reckoning. Scousers do not easily forgive nor forget.

This post has been edited by hfi: May 18 2012, 06:49 PM
Adryan
post May 18 2012, 06:51 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 18 2012, 05:54 PM)

That the sad part ..

I don't think even the FA Cup win would have saved him from the sack. It was always about the league.

Anyways, for all we know, Kenny probably wasn't even their choice of manager. He was only given a 3 year contract because he did a good job after taking over from Roy.

It pisses me off when I see people saying Kenny prefers to win cups than Champions League. The truth is, Kenny has and will never choose cups over a 4th place finish. Obviously he wanted us to do well in cups and get a top four place but we struggled in the league.
hyperyouth_firepower
post May 18 2012, 07:19 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

Jen Chang of Sports Illustrated is now our Director of Communications.

Added on May 18, 2012, 7:24 pmi think from the description, the new manager is Ian Ayre. After all, the 'manager' is just a head coach.

This post has been edited by hyperyouth_firepower: May 18 2012, 07:24 PM
koolspyda
post May 18 2012, 07:29 PM

222 posts

Changes will be difficult.

Maybe amongst the bigger club, we are the most staunch, traditionalist. Of course we should still be on guard as to ensure that we don't lose our soul. Commercialisation will probably take precedence over some stuff we are used too.

As much as we no longer have Dalglish at the helm, abandoning Liverpool will the furtherst from his mind, & I think he would want us to support the board and their plans of what's ahead.

YNWA
Duke Red
post May 18 2012, 07:32 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ May 18 2012, 06:14 PM)
We are guilty as well.We didn't really care about it until we found it hard to qualify for the CL.
I doubt we would be bothered about Fa cup and carling if we had qualified for CL.

Anyway,brendan rogers turned down the opportunity to talk to lfc according to espn.
For sure. If more people watched the FA Cup, it will be more lucrative for sponsors, advertisers and broadcasters. These days the only trophies that matter are the league title and the CPL trophy. "Second tier competitions" like the League Cup, FA Cup and Europa are largely ignored. There was a time where the UEFA Cup was almost equally as illustrious as the CPL. The FA Cup is still pretty big in England. It's just fans worldwide who have no attachment to the English, care mostly about European glory. People only start to pay attention to the FA Cup towards the latter stages when big sides play one another. The G14 wanted a Super Super League pitting big clubs against one another regularly just so every match will have a massive following.
messy
post May 18 2012, 07:39 PM

64 posts

Hey guys whos the admin here? Its time to change the poll~
Adryan
post May 18 2012, 07:40 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 18 2012, 07:32 PM)
For sure. If more people watched the FA Cup, it will be more lucrative for sponsors, advertisers and broadcasters. These days the only trophies that matter are the league title and the CPL trophy. "Second tier competitions" like the League Cup, FA Cup and Europa are largely ignored. There was a time where the UEFA Cup was almost equally as illustrious as the CPL. The FA Cup is still pretty big in England. It's just fans worldwide who have no attachment to the English, care mostly about European glory. People only start to pay attention to the FA Cup towards the latter stages when big sides play one another. The G14 wanted a Super Super League pitting big clubs against one another regularly just so every match will have a massive following.
Glory hunting much then?

People say the Europa League or League Cup are mickey mouse trophies but for example, we had to overcome Stoke, Chelsea and City en route to Carling Cup glory. You can't say that three of those teams put their reserves them out there and only we put our best 11. Stoke away is never easy, what more Chelsea and City (and home) away.

We also had to beat Everton and Man United to face Chelsea in the FA Cup final. I doubt Everton and United thought of putting their kids out to play us as well.

Now, Man City and Man United are "apparently too good" for the Europa League after getting knocked out from the Champions League but you can't say that neither Mancini nor Ferguson didn't care about the Europa League.

If it was a mickey mouse cup (assuming they meant too easy), shouldn't it be easy for them to win it? And yet United got outplayed by Atletic Bilbao, the team who only finished 10th in the league.

Atletico Madrid, Juventus, Celtic, PSV Eindhoven .. these are not exactly easy teams and all were part of the Champions League before.
AnythingK
post May 18 2012, 07:41 PM

223 posts

Change the poll, to who do you prefer to take over King KENNY's position..?
Adryan
post May 18 2012, 07:51 PM

23 posts

Kenny Dalglish was to be paid by the owners 6.5 million when he left due to the remainder of his contract but he said

"No, use it on transfers instead".

Says alot about the man we call the King. He's just a class act. Pure and simple.
hyperyouth_firepower
post May 18 2012, 08:33 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

19 hours ago, Ian Rush tweeted this:

"*looks around, realises there's a rough lot of oppo fans about and wearing the FC Roberto Martinez scarf may not be the wisest move here*"

what do you make of this, fellow Redsmen?

124 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0537sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:23 PM