6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, Bye Dirk Kuyt!

TSsolstice818
post May 14 2012, 12:17 PM, updated 14y ago

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

~The Home Of Liverpool Supporters~

Liverpool Football Club

Founded: 1892

Founded by: John Houlding

Nickname: The Reds

Ground : Anfield

Chairman:
Tom Werner

League Champions -----> 18
1900-01 ; 1905-06 ; 1921-22 ; 1922-23 ; 1946-47 ; 1963-64 ; 1965-66
1972-73 ; 1975-76 ; 1976-77 ; 1978-79 ; 1979-80 ; 1981-82 ; 1982-83
1983-84 ; 1985-86 ; 1987-88 ; 1989-90

Division Two Winners -----> 4
1893-94 ; 1895-96 ; 1904-05 ; 1961-62

Lancashire League Winners -----> 1
1892-93

Football Association Challenge Cup Winners -----> 7
1964-65 ; 1973-74 ; 1985-86 ; 1988-89 ; 1991-92
2000-01 ; 2005-06

League Cup Winners -----> 8
1980-81 ; 1981-82 ; 1982-83 ; 1983-84 ; 1994-95
2000-01 ; 2002-03 ; 2011-12

Football Association Charity Shield Winners -----> 15
1964* ; 1965* ; 1966 ; 1974 ; 1976 ; 1977* ; 1979 ; 1980 ; 1982
1986* ; 1988 ; 1989 ; 1990* ; 2001 ; 2006 ( * shared)

European Cup Winners -----> 5
1976-77 ; 1977-78 ; 1980-81 ; 1983-84 ; 2004-05

UEFA Cup Winners -----> 3
1972-73 ; 1975-76 ; 2000-01

European Super Cup Winners -----> 3
1977 ; 2001 ; 2005

Super Cup Winners -----> 1
1985-86

Carlsberg Trophy -----> 3
1997-98 ; 1998-99 ; 1999-2000

Reserves Division One Winners -----> 16
1956-57 ; 1968-69 ; 1969-70 ; 1970-71 ; 1972-73 ; 1973-74 ; 1974-75
1975-76 ; 1976-77 ; 1978-79 ; 1980-81 ; 1981-82 ; 1983-84 ; 1984-85
1989-90 ; 1999-2000

FA Youth Cup Winners -----> 3
1995-96 ; 2005-06 ; 2006-07

This post has been edited by solstice818: Jun 3 2012, 11:20 PM
TSsolstice818
post May 14 2012, 12:18 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

The History

1959 - Shankly appointed manager

December 1st 1959 is a date that will forever be etched in the annals of Anfield history. For it was on this day that Liverpool Football Club announced Huddersfield Town boss Bill Shankly would be their new manager in succession to Phil Taylor.

On his appointment he released 24 players and began to reshape the team.Promotion to the First Division was achieved in 1961–62, and the club won the League for the first time in 17 years in 1963–64. Another League title followed in 1965–66, after the club had won their first FA Cup the previous season. The club won the League and UEFA Cup in 1972–73 and the FA Cup again a year later; after this, Shankly retired and was replaced by his assistant Bob Paisley.Paisley was even more successful than Shankly and the club won the League and UEFA Cup in 1975–76, his second season as manager. The following season they retained the League title, won the European Cup for the first time, but lost in the FA Cup final, narrowly missing out on a treble. Liverpool retained the European Cup the next season, and the season after won the League again with 68 points—a domestic record, conceding only 16 goals in 42 league matches.During the nine seasons Paisley managed the club, Liverpool won 21 trophies, including three European Cups, a UEFA Cup, six league titles and three consecutive League Cups. The only domestic trophy to elude him was the FA Cup.

Paisley retired in 1983 and (as Shankly had done) handed the reins to his assistant, veteran coach Joe Fagan. The succession of coaches came from the Anfield Boot Room where the Liverpool staff discussed strategy and allegedly stored gin.[10] Liverpool won three trophies in Fagan's first season in charge: the League, League Cup and European Cup, becoming the first English side to win three trophies in a season.Liverpool reached the European Cup final again in 1985. The match was against Juventus at the Heysel Stadium. Before kick-off, disaster struck: Liverpool fans breached a fence which separated the two groups of supporters and charged the Juventus fans. The resulting weight of people caused a retaining wall to collapse, killing 39 fans, mostly Italians. The match was played regardless and Liverpool lost 1–0 to Juventus. English clubs were consequently banned from participating in European competition for five years; Liverpool received a ten-year ban, which was later reduced to six years. Fourteen of their fans received convictions for involuntary manslaughter.
The statue of former manager Bill Shankly, outside Anfield

Fagan resigned after the disaster and Kenny Dalglish was appointed as player-manager.During his reign, the club won another three League Championships and two FA Cups, including a League and Cup "Double" in 1985–86. Liverpool's success was overshadowed by the Hillsborough Disaster: in an FA Cup semi-final against Nottingham Forest on 15 April 1989, hundreds of Liverpool fans were crushed. 94 fans died that day; the 95th victim died in hospital from his injuries four days later, and the 96th died nearly four years later without regaining consciousness. After the Hillsborough tragedy there was a governmental review of stadium safety. Known as the Taylor Report, it paved the way for legislation which required top-division teams to have all-seater stadiums. The report ruled that the main reason for the disaster was overcrowding due to a failure of police control.Dalglish cited the Hillsborough Disaster and its repercussions as the reason for his resignation in 1991. He was replaced by former player Graeme Souness. Apart from winning the FA Cup in 1992, Souness achieved little success and was replaced by a former member of the "Boot Room", Roy Evans. Evans fared little better: a League Cup victory in 1995 was his only trophy. Gérard Houllier was appointed as co-manager in 1998–99, but was left in sole charge after Evans resigned in November 1998.

In his second season in charge Liverpool won a unique treble of the FA Cup, League Cup and UEFA Cup.In the 2001-02 season, during which Houllier underwent major heart surgery, Liverpool finished second behind Arsenal.The following seasons failed to live up to expectations and Houllier was replaced by Rafael Benítez. The club finished fifth in his first season in charge but won the UEFA Champions League by beating Milan 3–2 in a penalty shootout after the match finished 3–3.The following season Liverpool finished third with 82 points—their highest total since 1988. They won the FA Cup as they had the Champions League victory the previous season, by beating West Ham United in penalty shootout after the match finished at 3–3. In 2006–07, the club's search for investment came to an end when American businessmen George Gillett and Tom Hicks became the owners of Liverpool in a deal which valued the club and its outstanding debts at £218.9 million. That season, the club reached another Champions League final, but this time lost 2–1 to Milan
TSsolstice818
post May 14 2012, 12:18 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

==> You'll Never Walk Alone <==

http://www.unbase.com/n/5853623009

When you walk through a storm hold your head up high
And don't be afraid of the dark.
At the end of a storm is a golden sky
And the sweet silver song of a lark.
Walk on through the wind,
Walk on through the rain,
Tho' your dreams be tossed and blown.
Walk on, walk on with hope in your heart
And you'll never walk alone,
You'll never, ever walk alone.

Walk on, walk on with hope in your heart
And you'll never walk alone,
You'll never, ever walk alone.

TSsolstice818
post May 14 2012, 12:19 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Summer Transfers 2012:

TSsolstice818
post May 14 2012, 12:20 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

*RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE*
TSsolstice818
post May 14 2012, 11:18 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

The news is all over reporting that KD and SC flew to boston for meeting. Guess we know their fate real soon. SC might stay but I doubt KD's chance after his latest outburst at the owners.
TSsolstice818
post May 15 2012, 02:34 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ May 15 2012, 02:26 PM)
It depends. There are some aspects to look at:

1) Is the manager making significant improvement and depth to the squad by adding quality players via shrewd purchases? It doesn't have to be big name players, you can make an average player to his strengths, (like how Rafa turned Igor Biscan into a monster) if the coach is good enough.

Most important of all, is the manager making the players play for him?

2) Tactical prowess and knowledge. Have the manager demonstrated any game changing subs or tactical swap that enables a team to snatch a victory from jaws of defeat?

3) Does the managers encounter bad streak eg losing 6 games on the trot?

4) Does the manager isolate and sell his good players and bringing crap into the squad?

5) Does the manager in any event demonstrated his lostness and haplessness by rubbing chins and sucking ziplines when trailing behind opposition?

At the end of the season, results is all that matters. The manager can finish fifth place and not qualify for Champions League but as long as you are not too far off from the league winners, isn't that a respectable achievement for a first season? That I can live with.

Look at things objectively. Look that the table standings.

People always think we are bashing King Kenny for no reason. If you compare KK's first season with Evans, HOullier and Rafa's first season...KK's season is horrible indeed. If it's not for the Carling Cup victory, the axe would have fall on him already. None of the coach mentioned above had a bad first season worse than what Kenny is experiencing now.
You have to take into aspect like those years, we were elite teams with quality players. While now, we have not much of quality players and people starting to call us mid table team. You have to know that the premier league is getting tougher and tougher each year. these things count. I, for one , think that I am ok with both idea of changing/sticking with manager. I do question some of KD's starting line up though. Just to clear things that I m neither pro KD or anti kd.

TSsolstice818
post May 15 2012, 03:15 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ May 15 2012, 02:44 PM)
I disagree with your opinion. I always thought we have good quality players in our squad but somehow the players aren't playing for King Kenny.

Andy Carroll was doing well for Newscastle before joining us, eventhough I don't believe he's worth that much. He has shown lots of improvement and hunger in that last few games. If he keeps on doing that, he will convert me into a believer.

Jordan Henderson, wasn't he an English youth team captain before? Again was showing lots of promise in Sunderland but not in Liverpool shirt!

Stuart Downing (Rotuham's favorite player) is a seasoned EPL veteran and natural winger? Played well for Boro and Villa but not in Liverpool shirt again!

Charlie Adam - carried the whole Blackpool team 2 seasons ago.

So, Players letting him down or the coach is failing in his job?
Let's be fair alright? True to certain extent, the boss pick the lineup. But on paper, we created enough chances. In this aspect, KD cannot be fault that the players prefer to hit the goalpost than into the net. Plus, the players also missed as much as 6-7 penalties this season. Whose fault is this? Again, KD can only do that much.

As for the point that each of the individuals mentioned above is classic star player in their own team, one only need to think that it is necessary for the players to take some time to gel together. Not everyone is a StevieG-Torres combo who clicked instantly. For now, it seems that after some time, Suarez and Carrol seems get pretty well playing together.

If you ask me, I would say, 30% KD's fault, 70% players fault. A coach can only do that much on the sidelines. At the end of the day, it's the players that need to deliver the goods on the pitch. If given chance, I m pretty sure KD would jump at the opportunity to take all those missed penalties himself. Unfortunately he cant... laugh.gif
TSsolstice818
post May 15 2012, 04:38 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ May 15 2012, 04:14 PM)
You raised another issue. King Kenny inherited a better team.
Who screwed it up?
I dont recall a side having Konchesky, Poulsen being a better side. When KD stepped in, Torres wanted to leave. Aquilani was already on loan... Jovanovich isn't his oldself...So, nope, I dont recall that being a better team than now.
TSsolstice818
post May 15 2012, 04:49 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ May 15 2012, 04:18 PM)
What's kenny's fault?

1)Narrowing his options to british players which has become irrelevant since early 90's.

Someone has to do it either way when the HG system come into force. KD took a bold move in implementing it first and now he gets the blame? Ouch

2)Practising favouritism with charlie adam.
Do tell me who else can we play in the middle with Gerrard out most of the time. Maxi playing in middle of the park? You must be kidding me. Henderson? We need a midfield general and being a general, you need experience. The prospect of Henderson and Spearing just wont work especially with Spearing so mistakes prone. And dont mention Shelvey, he was on loan before Adam got injured.

3)Failed plan to play henderson on the right wing ala ray houghton
Reminds me of those days Carra played everywhere from DM, RB to CB. Makes him a better player. Gerrard himself, played as DM, CM, RW, and even RB during early days too. At the end of the day, he is better at AM. All these switch helps to discover the best potential of the players. Versatility is also vital. See Valencia, Ferguson played him as RB!

4)Playing negative formation in the league too much. The 5-4-1 against stoke at anfield and the failed 4-5-1 formation with suarez as lone striker is a sight many times this season.

Argh, this...I mentioned before. People are forgetful. Isn't that the lineup, we played with 2 wingbacks the previous season where we whips in tonnes of goals? More strikers doesn't guaranteed you goals.Facts.

5)Blaming luck all the time instead of trying a different approach in tactics and training
''We'll keep doing what we have been doing all these and we'll get there with a wee bit of luck''-familiar mantra throughout the season.

Probably his management style? Of cos it will be stupid of him to bash the players in public? Eg: STUPID REINA FOR CONCEDING SO MUCH? Makes sense, no?

6)Insistence to play players on poor form and low in confidence.Charlie adam,stewart downing and henderson are undroppable.You can include reina and carragher if you like.
This I have to agree with you. He doesnt seem to trust the youngsters too much. Not sure why.

7)Failure to give the likes of kelly,doni and maxi time to play when he always talks about squad depth.
Kelly part is a bit hard isn't it especially when Glenny played pretty well throughout the season albeit one stupid backpass the other day. Doni doesnt grab his chances well when he was given one. No one but himself to blame. Maxi, hmm, not sure about him. His form seems on and off when he is on field. One thing disgust me about him is he tends to drop/fall at slightest touches in the penalty box. I however agree that he deserves more playtime.

8) The most important of all-failure to learn from most of the mistakes above by the end of the season.

I thought he learned? At least we din see spearing now. laugh.gif
My reply...
TSsolstice818
post May 15 2012, 05:02 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ May 15 2012, 04:54 PM)
Please stop talking sense Sols. You're just making people angrier.
I m not pro KD , not anti KD...I m neutral. If anyone disagree with my opinion, they are entitled to. As long as they dont throw in personal attacks and insult, any argument/discussion is welcomed.

On another note, hfi, are you ready for the day we have two wigan players/staff in our squad? Martinez as manager, Diame as midfield general. laugh.gif tongue.gif
TSsolstice818
post May 15 2012, 05:44 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Nilmar, Rossi, Machena, Senna, Musacchio, Lopez, Valero and Zapata... These players are decent players to be added.... Wonder why they can relegated with these players in their squad.
TSsolstice818
post May 15 2012, 05:45 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ May 15 2012, 05:41 PM)
thumbup.gif At least their players wont cost more than 20mil....Seriously if King Kenny can transform Yakubu or Stephen Fletcher into superstars, I really  don't mind if we raid those clubs.
Question is, can he?
I wan Fletcher actually... His goal ratio is not bad considering the services he got.... biggrin.gif
TSsolstice818
post May 15 2012, 05:52 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ May 15 2012, 05:50 PM)
If I'm J. Henry, I wont sanction any move to buy any English players. Expensive and overrated + we only have 20mil.

A move for Stephen Fletcher alone will dry up our coffers and wolves just caught a big sheep in Liverpool.

Will look for continental talents instead.

Haven't we learn our lesson already?
How about freebies? Like ba.... Apparently, Reo Coker can leave on free because of clause in his contract. Certainly, he is better than Spearing tongue.gif
TSsolstice818
post May 15 2012, 06:26 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ May 15 2012, 06:10 PM)
Raiding Spanish players? Think not hmm.gif

some might say they are good enough hence the relegation.  sweat.gif
But their salary.... I don't think any will be considered
Meh...If only Senna is a few years younger...I dont mind taking him... Add some steel to the sissy midfielders we have...
TSsolstice818
post May 15 2012, 06:34 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ May 15 2012, 06:28 PM)
Can't say i'll be thrilled but you never know. Valencia hired Rafa (after 3 other managers turned them down) when he had no experience managing the big clubs. Not saying we gonna win the league with someone like Martinez, but you just never know until you try. I've not seen Diame played so i've no idea what he's like. Have you seen much of him ?

Nope... On youtube he looks decent though. Then again, anyone can look like Messi in youtube. Eg, Downing. tongue.gif
TSsolstice818
post May 15 2012, 07:14 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

How about Joey Barton? Surely can get him cheap especially with him potentially ban for 10 matches. #troll
TSsolstice818
post May 15 2012, 08:07 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

On another note, Hyypia just get a new 3 years deal as permanent boss... smile.gif
TSsolstice818
post May 16 2012, 09:23 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ May 16 2012, 09:16 AM)
Yup i should answer to bellends like you who take the holier than thou stance.
You people are like children throwing tantrums.you won't support if kenny is not the manager.

Besides,you don't have to talk about carroll to me.I have been supporting him all these while when others were shouting for him to be sold.
I wonder where your liverpool way went when everyone called for roy to be sacked rolleyes.gif

I guess it's true after all when they say liverpool fans live in the past.
Dont mean to butt in but you compared Roy's relegation days with Kenny's 8th place. That shows how insightful you are.... sweat.gif

In case you forget, we was 17th once when Woy in charge....
TSsolstice818
post May 16 2012, 11:41 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ May 16 2012, 11:25 AM)
We was 17th at one point then we went to 12th.Our form in the second half of this season is relegation form only above wolves.You should check the premier league form guide.

Considering roy only had half a season,is it illogical to compare it with kenny's half season this year?

Now, it's funny then how you are supposed to pick KD's half season when he had one good and one bad. Plus, if you picked the bad half, it's different, it's at the end of the season where the relegation teams tend to play better than expected. Either way, it's unfair to compare two of them together...

Added on May 16, 2012, 11:42 am
QUOTE(Everdying @ May 16 2012, 11:36 AM)

wtf? damn traitor! making woy look good.
we were 19th once when woy was in charge...

This post has been edited by solstice818: May 16 2012, 11:42 AM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0853sec    0.87    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:16 AM