130 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

SKYjack
post Jul 14 2012, 12:33 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Jul 13 2012, 07:44 PM)
Just got my car yesterday, did tinted film immediately.today got a quote for protective coat....rm2380..... Nano technology...5 years warranty... How many warranty for sierraglow?
That's rather expensive,is it that good?

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jul 14 2012, 12:42 PM
kejusan
post Jul 14 2012, 09:09 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 14 2012, 12:33 PM)
That's rather expensive,is it that good?
Don't know which brand is that, but the G'zox coating which I got voucher for is priced at RM2500 for medium sized car. That's why I opt for Sierraglow instead. IMHO, I better spend my RM2500 on a new coating if in any way it got damaged.
Termibait
post Jul 14 2012, 10:15 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Jul 14 2012, 09:09 PM)
Don't know which brand is that, but the G'zox coating which I got voucher for is priced at RM2500 for medium sized car. That's why I opt for Sierraglow instead. IMHO, I better spend my RM2500 on a new coating if in any way it got damaged.
Percentage surface technologies...claimed from Germany.

What does Sierraglow warranty covers?
Does this protective coat void original paint warranty?
Quality of the protective coat is as good as just polished a car?
SKYjack
post Jul 15 2012, 08:47 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Jul 14 2012, 10:15 PM)
Percentage surface technologies...claimed from Germany.

What does Sierraglow  warranty covers?
Does this protective coat void original paint warranty?
Quality of the protective coat is as good as just polished a car?
Yes it will void paint warranty. However paintjob is not much to worry about on our cars as they are off the assembly plant where a much more professional job would be done than any other ahbeng paint shop. Im more concerned with the plastic parts,bumpers and front side fenders, which are so easily damaged.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jul 15 2012, 08:49 AM
ckwong111
post Jul 15 2012, 07:48 PM

38 posts

I stop by Sunway Pyramid and a Kah Motor showroom not too long ago today. First stop, Ford Focus. The HB was on displayed, with Fiesta, Mondeo, Ranger and S-Max. Too bad the sedan is not on display, although I am eyeing the HB more.

Exterior wise, the HB is a looker, I feel the 408 front end is better looking than Focus, and I guess all the grille is required for their tech (e.g. Active Grille Shutter) but to me it looks like a toothless Darth Vader opening it's mouth shakehead.gif However, the slopping roofline all the way to the back to the tail light definitely makes it more sexier/sporty. My favs butt among the C-segments rclxms.gif 4 colors to choose from. Launching in September, date unknown.

Btw, the HB on display is a UK spec model. Interior, the fabric makes the cabin less exclusive than it is for a conti car. The HU to me is oversize, lack storage space for your PDA and I can't seem to locate a charging slot. Quality-wise, softer materials and plusher dashboard & door material are being used (compare to Civic 2012). Confirmed final specs will not have Navi and/or Reverse Cam option. Compare to 408T, you pay extra RM9K to get the following (from Ford FB response):-

1. Bi-Xenon Headlamps with daytime running lights, with headlamp jet washer
2. Auto Headlamps
3. Rain sensing wipers (Should be a std feature IMHO)
4. Cruise Control (Should be a std feature IMHO)
5. Sunroof
6. Cluster Meter Dimming
7. Follow Me Home Lighting (Should be a std feature IMHO)
8. Active Park Assist
9. Active City Stop (good safety features, too bad not a std option)

Downside of the Focus, cabin space is cramped, and the HU is oversize until I feel it is protruding into the driver and passenger seat. This is where 408 excel with a cleaner and sleeker looking HU. The Focus has no way (I think) to put in an aftermarket DVD+Reverse cam+Navi later as the HU and the MID panel placing leave it virtually impossible to fiddle without a big operation.

Civic 2012, what can I say which the forumers have not said many times over. Exterior doesn't look as sporty as the 8th Gen. Interior is all hard plastic. For the 1.8, retailing at RM116K, you have no leather seat, no BT, 2 airbags, etc. the HU design looks weird as Honda intentionally makes the HU crooked and slanting towards the driver. I feel that the HU was not well design and the MID doesn't cover up the ill design HU.

Consolation is the cabin space is more spacious, probably second only to 408. The 10K service and 5-Year warranty should please the die-hards. Cabin storage-wise design, yes, I feel more practical than most.

I have driven many Hondas and Toyotas but I have to say, what happen to the Japs? We know that Jap cars have always been under-specs but the new Gen of Civic and Camry designs seem to come from engineers that is doing a very lazy job and more like copy and paste job...disappointing! To get a decent specs, you need to pay RM132K for the 2.0S!!! Even at this price, also no BT...aaahhhhh!!!

I guess HE and 408 will still take some beating if we compare specs, price and performance without bias...(and RV) rclxm9.gif Next to the test drive...
pgsiemkia
post Jul 15 2012, 07:54 PM

472 posts

test drove the 408 turbo 2 weeks ago, felt engine a bit harsh sounding..Civic sounded better, then again its a Honda. Interior for Honda is nice only for the futuristic display, dun get the overpriced Navi unit, not that great. 408 has better layout, however no Navi..

(corrected spelling)

This post has been edited by pgsiemkia: Jul 16 2012, 04:15 PM
ckwong111
post Jul 15 2012, 09:24 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Jul 15 2012, 07:54 PM)

test drove the 408 turbo 2 weeks ago, felt engine a bit harsh sounding..Civic sounded better, then again its a Honda. Interior for Honda is nice only for the futuridtic display, dun get the overpriced Navi unit, not that great. 408 has better layout, however no Navi..
Yes I am looking forward to the test drive. I like the specs of 2.0S but unfortunately not the price. Bit out of my budget cry.gif I have driven the 408T but without test driving the new Civic, I don't think I can give a fair comment. Navi is nice to have, after seeing most of the new C-seg cars, if Navi is so important, I should be booking my HE now biggrin.gif
lowpro
post Jul 15 2012, 09:40 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(ckwong111 @ Jul 15 2012, 07:48 PM)
Compare to 408T, you pay extra RM9K to get the following (from Ford FB response):-

2. Auto Headlamps - 408 has
3. Rain sensing wipers (Should be a std feature IMHO) - 408 has
4. Cruise Control (Should be a std feature IMHO) - 408 has
5. Sunroof
6. Cluster Meter Dimming
7. Follow Me Home Lighting (Should be a std feature IMHO) - 408 has
8. Active Park Assist

rclxm9.gif Next to the test drive...
I think there are only 5 items in the list that the 408 does not have.
uturn
post Jul 16 2012, 09:39 AM

85 posts

I stop by Sunway Pyramid and a Kah Motor showroom not too long ago today. First stop, Ford Focus. The HB was on displayed, with Fiesta, Mondeo, Ranger and S-Max. Too bad the sedan is not on display, although I am eyeing the HB more.

Exterior wise, the HB is a looker, I feel the 408 front end is better looking than Focus, and I guess all the grille is required for their tech (e.g. Active Grille Shutter) but to me it looks like a toothless Darth Vader opening it's mouth  shakehead.gif  However, the slopping roofline all the way to the back to the tail light definitely makes it more sexier/sporty. My favs butt among the C-segments  rclxms.gif 4 colors to choose from. Launching in September, date unknown.

Btw, the HB on display is a UK spec model. Interior, the fabric makes the cabin less exclusive than it is for a conti car. The HU to me is oversize, lack storage space for your PDA and I can't seem to locate a charging slot. Quality-wise, softer materials and plusher dashboard & door material are being used (compare to Civic 2012). Confirmed final specs will not have Navi and/or Reverse Cam option. Compare to 408T, you pay extra RM9K to get the following (from Ford FB response):-

2. Auto Headlamps
5. Sunroof
6. Cluster Meter Dimming
8. Active Park Assist

Downside of the Focus, cabin space is cramped, and the HU is oversize until I feel it is protruding into the driver and passenger seat. This is where 408 excel with a cleaner and sleeker looking HU. The Focus has no way (I think) to put in an aftermarket DVD+Reverse cam+Navi later as the HU and the MID panel placing leave it virtually impossible to fiddle without a big operation.

Civic 2012, what can I say which the forumers have not said many times over. Exterior doesn't look as sporty as the 8th Gen. Interior is all hard plastic. For the 1.8, retailing at RM116K, you have no leather seat, no BT, 2 airbags, etc. the HU design looks weird as Honda intentionally makes the HU crooked and slanting towards the driver. I feel that the HU was not well design and the MID doesn't cover up the ill design HU.

Consolation is the cabin space is more spacious, probably second only to 408. The 10K service and 5-Year warranty should please the die-hards. Cabin storage-wise design, yes, I feel more practical than most.

I have driven many Hondas and Toyotas but I have to say, what happen to the Japs? We know that Jap cars have always been under-specs but the new Gen of Civic and Camry designs seem to come from engineers that is doing a very lazy job and more like copy and paste job...disappointing! To get a decent specs, you need to pay RM132K for the 2.0S!!! Even at this price, also no BT...aaahhhhh!!!

I guess HE and 408 will still take some beating if we compare specs, price and performance without bias...(and RV)  rclxm9.gif Next to the test drive...
I too went to inspect the FF2012.. a bit dissapointed when find out that the std model doesn't come with cruise control.. was told by the SA that diffence between standard vs plus spec is:
1. No Cruise control
2. No Active Park Assist
3. No Active City Stop
4. Std comes with 4 a/bags vs 6 a/bags of Plus spec.

On top of the 10K service and 5-Year warranty, ford also offer 60k km free service.. thumbup.gif
SKYjack
post Jul 16 2012, 12:29 PM

367 posts

I guess HE and 408 will still take some beating if we compare specs, price and performance without bias...(and RV)  rclxm9.gif Next to the test drive...
Japs are relying on brand name to bring them the sales. Friends of mine will only consider T & H. They can't understand why I bought a Pug! Even after I tell them about the technology advancement,they shake their head and walk away. In Malaysia people buy cars based on what uncle/aunty/friends say.

Even the Koreans are building better cars. I was very impressed with the K5,which makes the latest Camry shameful. However, apparently Camry has 8000 per launch bookings already! Put a T or H logo on any crap also can sell like hot cakes here!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jul 16 2012, 12:56 PM
ckwong111
post Jul 17 2012, 12:12 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 16 2012, 12:29 PM)
Japs are relying on brand name to bring them the sales. Friends of mine will only consider T & H. They can't understand why I bought a Pug! Even after I tell them about the technology advancement,they shake their head and walk away. In Malaysia people buy cars based on what uncle/aunty/friends say.

Even the Koreans are building better cars. I was very impressed with the K5,which makes the latest Camry shameful. However, apparently Camry has 8000 per launch bookings already! Put a T or H logo on any crap also can sell like hot cakes here!
What to do? A lot of people buy car like buying designer stuff. Don't compare material and price, just look at the brand, says the branded ones must be good. And, these buyer are usually not forumers and couldn't tell the difference between ESP and ABS. Furthermore, they have the nerve to laugh at you when you don't buy the "mainstream" accepted brand. As they say, ignorance is bliss rclxs0.gif

Not shameful to say that I always dream of a conti ride. Maybe I am just as kiasu as the rest because if I have >RM300K to buy a ride, it will be surely a conti brand. See Honda=Acura, Toyota=Lexus & Nissan=Infiniti. Think of it, the new 5-series Beemer is mouth watering or Audi A6 super spacious & classy.... drool.gif Maybe if Pug price at >RM200K will change the consumer mindset (designer=expensive=good)... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on July 17, 2012, 12:22 am
QUOTE(lowpro @ Jul 15 2012, 09:40 PM)
I think there are only 5 items in the list that the 408 does not have.
Exactly my point, do you want to pay RM9K extra to get the 5 items? Only item 1 and 9 is worth getting IMHO. The rest I can live without but the cabin space for 5 M to XL size adult very cramp lah... cry.gif

This post has been edited by ckwong111: Jul 17 2012, 12:22 AM
kenso77
post Jul 17 2012, 10:07 AM

179 posts

Exterior wise, the HB is a looker, I feel the 408 front end is better looking than Focus, and I guess all the grille is required for their tech (e.g. Active Grille Shutter) but to me it looks like a toothless Darth Vader opening it's mouth  shakehead.gif  However, the slopping roofline all the way to the back to the tail light definitely makes it more sexier/sporty. My favs butt among the C-segments  rclxms.gif 4 colors to choose from. Launching in September, date unknown.

2. Auto Headlamps
5. Sunroof
6. Cluster Meter Dimming
8. Active Park Assist

Completed an article on the Ford Focus here:

http://www.kensomuse.com/the-next-generati...ore-than-a-car/
shihian
post Jul 17 2012, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jun 17 2012, 05:55 PM)
Hehehe......I don't blame your wife bro. I felt exactly that at first look of the 408. 407 is so sleek and sexy. However when I test drove the turbo,instantly knew this is what I wanted. Especially the feel of the electro-hydraulic steering is superb,much better than light steering of the 407. The exterior slowly grows on you.
dear skyjack, i noticed you mentioned in several occasions that the 408 has the electro-hydraulic steering which you love so much while the 407 does not. if i'm not mistaken, the 407 also uses the electro-hydraulic steering. Do correct me if i'm wrong but when i bought my 407, i noticed that it was mentioned in the brochure.

http://www.autozine.org/Archive/Peugeot/new/508.html

Quote "Regarding driving dynamics, I am pleased to see it keeps the 407's electro-hydraulic power steering, even though switching to a pure electrical rack would have saved more money and boosted fuel economy by a couple of percentage. No wonder the 508 delivers excellent steering feel. Finally someone puts driving fun on top priority !"

http://www.autozine.org/Archive/Peugeot/old/407.html

Quote "For fuss-free cruising, the electro-hydraulic steering (luckily Peugeot did not switch to full electric assistance) is a little numb at straight-ahead. But once you push 407 into corners, it becomes alive! on lock, it directly connects the driver to the road, transmitting streams of information to the driver’s hands. The speed-sensitive assistance is well judged, well weighted. The 2.8 turns steering ratio is quick and responsive."

This post has been edited by shihian: Jul 17 2012, 02:24 PM
kejusan
post Jul 18 2012, 12:03 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(ckwong111 @ Jul 17 2012, 12:12 AM)
What to do? A lot of people buy car like buying designer stuff. Don't compare material and price, just look at the brand, says the branded ones must be good. And, these buyer are usually not forumers and couldn't tell the difference between ESP and ABS. Furthermore, they have the nerve to laugh at you when you don't buy the "mainstream" accepted brand. As they say, ignorance is bliss  rclxs0.gif

Not shameful to say that I always dream of a conti ride. Maybe I am just as kiasu as the rest because if I have >RM300K to buy a ride, it will be surely a conti brand. See Honda=Acura, Toyota=Lexus & Nissan=Infiniti. Think of it, the new 5-series Beemer is mouth watering or Audi A6 super spacious & classy....  drool.gif Maybe if Pug price at >RM200K will change the consumer mindset (designer=expensive=good)... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on July 17, 2012, 12:22 am
Exactly my point, do you want to pay RM9K extra to get the 5 items? Only item 1 and 9 is worth getting IMHO. The rest I can live without but the cabin space for 5 M to XL size adult very cramp lah... cry.gif
Well, an officemate of mine is suprised when I say that 408 only cost RM110k. He thought Peugeot's price is >RM200k brows.gif

So ckwong, after your extensive research, please share with us which car you choose. I believe your research should end with the launch of Focus right?
lowpro
post Jul 18 2012, 08:28 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(shihian @ Jul 17 2012, 02:23 PM)
dear skyjack, i noticed you mentioned in several occasions that the 408 has the electro-hydraulic steering which you love so much while the 407 does not. if i'm not mistaken, the 407 also uses the electro-hydraulic steering. Do correct me if i'm wrong but when i bought my 407, i noticed that it was mentioned in the brochure.

http://www.autozine.org/Archive/Peugeot/new/508.html

Quote "Regarding driving dynamics, I am pleased to see it keeps the 407's electro-hydraulic power steering, even though switching to a pure electrical rack would have saved more money and boosted fuel economy by a couple of percentage. No wonder the 508 delivers excellent steering feel. Finally someone puts driving fun on top priority !"

http://www.autozine.org/Archive/Peugeot/old/407.html

Quote "For fuss-free cruising, the electro-hydraulic steering (luckily Peugeot did not switch to full electric assistance) is a little numb at straight-ahead. But once you push 407 into corners, it becomes alive! on lock, it directly connects the driver to the road, transmitting streams of information to the driver’s hands. The speed-sensitive assistance is well judged, well weighted. The 2.8 turns steering ratio is quick and responsive."
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
ckwong111
post Jul 18 2012, 03:51 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Jul 18 2012, 12:03 AM)
Well, an officemate of mine is suprised when I say that 408 only cost RM110k. He thought Peugeot's price is >RM200k  brows.gif

So ckwong, after your extensive research, please share with us which car you choose. I believe your research should end with the launch of Focus right?
He he...already sign up for test drive, so plan to test drive 1st. Now 70% 408T and 30% FF2012. I need to take 5 adult size person in this car, and for FF2012 unfortunately it can't. However, if I can find a way to convince myself coz FF2012 HB damn cun (at the back)...

Dreaming yesterday, 408 Front-end, FF2012 HB back-end, Forte 2.0SX price, and Civic 2012 warranty and service... lust.gif
NeoMnemonic
post Jul 18 2012, 04:36 PM

760 posts

3:15am Jln Kelang Lama towards NPE/Sunway/PJ, front of BHP/Sime Tyres which is under the NPE bridge, a car has just crashed. It's a red colour Peugeot car plat number 'PJX x308' with 'P' sticker.

The driver and passenger is alive. The lady in the picture seems not serious, unconcious on a pillow.
I don't see any airbag, the pillow save their lives. Sure you want to buy a Peugeot?

This post has been edited by NeoMnemonic: Jul 19 2012, 01:59 PM
Termibait
post Jul 18 2012, 04:49 PM

71 posts

Facebook news reported both male n female aged 30's survived and its in icu.....speeding kills but safety features and car design saves lives..
Btw, I bought 408t n it's fun to drive...Resale value? I shall forget about it for now.

This post has been edited by Termibait: Jul 18 2012, 04:50 PM
takky
post Jul 18 2012, 04:55 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(NeoMnemonic @ Jul 18 2012, 04:36 PM)
3:15am Jln Kelang Lama towards NPE/Sunway/PJ, front of BHP/Sime Tyres which is under the NPE bridge, a car has just crashed. It's a red colour Peugeot car plat number 'PJX x308' with 'P' sticker.

Sure you want to buy a Peugeot?
Of course I will choose to buy Peugeot because the car crashed until like that, the driver and passenger both still survive!

This post has been edited by takky: Jul 18 2012, 04:55 PM
ckwong111
post Jul 18 2012, 05:01 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(NeoMnemonic @ Jul 18 2012, 04:36 PM)

Sure you want to buy a Peugeot?
Looking at the severity of the crash, the car must be doing easily 160km/hr and above. Not practical and cannot afford to buy a battle tank, anyway tank can't do 160km/hr...

What would you recommend? Pls lar, C-segment pricing one...

This post has been edited by ckwong111: Jul 18 2012, 07:39 PM

130 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:30 PM