Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

ckwong111
post May 22 2012, 09:40 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(ferrari38 @ May 22 2012, 08:24 PM)
Did a test drive just now.
Tested the turbo version,it was powerful and impressive with the NVH thumbup.gif
Comfort wise so so...becoz of the sportier suspension setup,but I m ok with it tongue.gif
Overall is a valuable choice.
Wondering the cost of maintenance hmm.gif forgot to ask..
is anyone know roughly how much it is?
I am interested in getting the car (turbo) and before test drive, maybe I can help to test out certain features or issues not detected previously. Since you are the first to test drive, do you mind sharing where you test drive the car, distance of test drive and when you mean comfort wise so so, can you elaborate a little bit on the statement?

I like the front more than the back, but I am not looking for sporty design, else I would have selected elantra already. But, looking at 163hp and maximum torque is 240 Nm at 1,400 rpm...I bet the pick-up at traffic light is fantastic and would beat all C-segment drive. Further more top speed at 215 is no slow couch either and even on par with some D-segment drive.

Might not win on the best spec and cabin design, but sure the hell beats all the Jap cars. Furthermore, conti drive and handling wor, at RM126K, fuh yoh...

Now just wanting for someone to convince me on the reliability of the engine and after sales service... sad.gif
ckwong111
post May 22 2012, 10:03 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(simonhar @ May 22 2012, 09:24 PM)
Peugeot 408 is a pretty nice car, only the rear design is a letdown to the rather handsome exterior design.

Check out the night where the 408 is launched! http://www.simonhar.com/2012/05/peugeot-40...ty-or-nice.html
If anyone else is checking out the car anytime soon, can check whether the rear tail light having same issues with elantra, where only the most outer rear tail light is lighted and the inner part of the tail light is just a deco (no light).

At least elantra can go for mod with shops in Klang Valley to light up the entire rear light...

As for the rear, some after market mod can sure go a long way

Unlike 207 which is puke-invoking design!!! No offense to current 207 owners :-)
ckwong111
post May 22 2012, 10:32 PM

38 posts

sport mod...
ckwong111
post May 22 2012, 11:23 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(ferrari38 @ May 22 2012, 10:52 PM)
I was tested at bukit tinggi klang branch.
In fact I tested 308t b4 but I felt that 408t is more powerful.
The suspension is stiffer n some more due to the low profile tyre,thus, it was a bit bumpy..
The distance is about 5-6 km,there is 2 straight road for me to test the power tongue.gif in fact I can request for 1 more round but due to time constraint so didn't go for it wink.gif
I personally think that black color is a good choice, looks very nice matching with the chrome lining at the front n rear bumper. wub.gif
Cool! Bro did you ask the SA other questions like car delivery time, colour selection (which colour delivery time faster, etc.)?

You comment the NVH was very good, so when you were shooting down the straight road, at what speed were you driving? At the speed you were driving, you did not hear any wind or road/tyre noise?

Did you get to check the sound system? Is it 6 speakers or more like 4+2 tweeter?

Sorry ah, ask so much questions...will try to go for a test drive after the school holidays so want to do a checklist for comparison...

I guess now it's elantra 2012 vs 408 vs (coming soon) focus 2012 for me to confirm my new ride...
ckwong111
post May 23 2012, 10:58 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 23 2012, 10:15 AM)
I don't much feel good about the conti handling....where got conti handling these days? You drive 200+km/h on Malaysia roads with bumps seems like not worth the effort to make a car so fast.

Since I'm driving 308T I can tell you it beats almost all C segment you will find on the road...and most ppl after getting smoked seeing the Turbo badge will bow down to it...except if you encounter a Turbo Kancil..hehe..that one becareful.

Yes. can go 215km/h but not as easy as flooring the pedal. If you wanna know, there are many cases it can go only until 170km/h...this is because you always drive slow in traffic jam and very seldom do highway driving...so the car will adapt to it.
Some extreme cases you need to reset back the adaptive gearbox and hentam kaw - kaw then only can get 215km/h.
But seriously...215Km/h is really too fast for Malaysian highways for a standard car. Lorry, bus and slow moving cars always suddenly change lanes and travelling so fast, you will not have time to react. Even when travelling very fast on the back lanes, going up and down hill also you need to slow down because not sure on the road ahead.

The cabin is very nice..pictures don't do justice to it...so far no owner of the 308 have even negative comment of the dash...
Bro, thank you for your comment. This is my 1st time considering buying Peugeot car. Have never driven one, only see on the road. But price vs performance, I believe 408 offer the best. As for conti driving, only see from forum users many give good comments on conti cars handling, true or not, dunno yet.

As for highway driving, I use the MEX highway for daily driving from home to work (2-way), and I occasionally travel to North and South via NSE, traveling alone mostly, means to stay awake, I like to drive fast. Manage to borrow company's 323i recently and travel to North doing between 140km/h to 200km/h, great feeling, so alive! But, if one value their live and wants to drive fast, consideration like ESP, EBD, BA, etc. and 6 airbags can be a lifesaver. All presence on the 408T.

Driving in KL, you be lucky to be able to do 110km/hr (constantly) in the city center, and as I work nearby KLCC area, I fully agreed with your point. I assume you are driving a Peugeot rclxms.gif now, can you let me know what is "reset back the adaptive gearbox" means? Is it a lever, button, or menu which you can configure? Interesting...

You see, I am driving a current gen CRV (before facelift) and looking for something more powerful to trade car with the HM biggrin.gif

CRV is a good family car, but performance, road handling (esp. body roll) and NVH to me just ... sucks!

Anyone can share 308T FC? Since I believe 408T sharing the same engine, might give good indication of the FC. China market 408 says 8.2L/100km...dunno how true? My current FC on CRV with 50%/50% city/hw works out to about 10.1L/100km...(I am heavy footed)
ckwong111
post May 24 2012, 04:10 AM

38 posts

Thank you to all sifus, forum readers and current Peugeot owners for your feedback. Just arrive home after driving from Sintok to KL in my CRV. My ride home was floaty, lack acceleration and on uneven roads, the car is bouncy.

So hoping my next ride will feel more planted, with good pickup to zig-zag the lorries and road hoggers and a less bouncy ride. I know the best way is to test drive the car, but I doubt the 4-5 km test drive will tell the whole story. My point is, perhaps someone can share whether the 408 will meet most of my objectives.

From the elantra and K5 forums, the readers seem to provide red-hot feedback on their new ride. However, in the 408 forum, the response is lukewarm at best. I wonder if owing a Peugeot is an acquired taste hmm.gif Or the lukewarm response is base on past car experience or with NASIM that affect the people wanting to buy this car...

ckwong111
post May 24 2012, 06:21 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(stinger82 @ May 24 2012, 05:35 PM)
because there is another forum where those pug owner hang out.

and pug salesman is the best ( in you are looking for a test drive), you'll never failed to get a test drive from them.

the rest , dont even get me started.
Autoworld?
ckwong111
post May 28 2012, 08:26 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ May 28 2012, 08:13 PM)
Well first, it was leaking from the valve cover. After fixing the valve cover, it's now leaking from the cam head. Could be the gasket I guess?

Other potential issue is premature diverter valve tearing, and also premature timing chain tensioner failure. Oh and also depollution system faulty error.

Btw these failures can happen to any car that uses the turbo prince engine, including mini cooper s, and citroens
Woh! Scary...

I can understanding the oil leaking thing which you can detect looking the the puddle of oil in your car porch, but the rest, how did you detect the valve and timing chain problem? Does the problem happen bad enough to ground your car in the middle of the road?

And also depollution system faulty error, which is what many 308T owners complain, what effect does it have on the car?

My many, many moon ago Wira had a clutch problem, and ground me in the fast lane of LDP...and everyone passes by me stop and stare and make me feel like a mass murderer who has just killed an entire village blush.gif

I feel for you man, what a RM170K car, and only 6 months later....

Added on May 28, 2012, 8:38 pm
QUOTE(mav3rick @ May 28 2012, 04:33 PM)
bro.. fyi, you're comparing 2 different segment cars. the 407 is a d-segment car which is replaced by the 508. not the 408 smile.gif anyway am glad for your purchase.. how long before you get the car? 2 weeks? care to share/pm the details of your offer?
Me too, ah...thanks. If they can offer the "sport" mod to the the car (e.g. smoke headlamp, rear spoiler, and diffuser (black) with twin wind pipe) in a white/silver colour bod, I am sold...

Dunno, can get an after market HU upgrade with DVD+AVN, GPS, and 2 more speaker/woofer or not? If yes, I would say the best car of the C-segment in terms of performance vs price, but definitely not going to be low FC...so cannot get best of both worlds I guess...

All the low FC C-segment cars does not seem to have impressive performance at low torque/pick-up (yet to see review on Civic 2012 and Focus 2012 at low to mid-range torque comment)

This post has been edited by ckwong111: May 28 2012, 08:38 PM
ckwong111
post May 30 2012, 01:39 AM

38 posts

Just finish my work somewhere around Puchong area today and drop by their branch to check out the car in person. When I arrive it was around 6.30pm and one of their SA serve me. They had 2 showroom units, one M. Bronze in color and the other one under wrap was, A. Grey.

The interior was spacious, as they claim, best in C-segment. I think it's the width and height, that provides an interior spaciousness vision close to a D-segment Jap car. Always wonder why the conti couldn't have a rear flat floor design? unsure.gif

SA says 1 - 2 months delivery time, and I book a test drive with him at KESAS highway in 2 weekend's time. Ask him to quote a trade in price for my City which he gave a very low value so I didn't bother to ask him for any freebies. After the test drive only ask lar...

Overall design decent enough but if they could design their rear tail light to be longer like a Prassat CC, that would have been great. Btw, the rear tail light is fully lited. Interior leather looks better than the usual PU leather type but I think the Nappa leather type should be higher grade. On the dashboard design, it is better and classier design that the B-segment with softer plastic and certain C-segment, but if you like the futuristic type design, it's not. Specs wise nothing an after market accessories shop can't solve except you insist a sunroof is a must have.

Rear space is fantastic, I am abt 5"11 weighting abt 90kg, and to fit 3 of me at the back is no issue. I can lay my body back and still enjoy abt 2 - 3cm knee room. Boot space big but not my selection criteria as I have my CRV for ferrying large/more luggage around.

The SA have no idea how the 1U showcase can get the sport mod accessories and whether Nasim can offer the sport mod package at additional cost upgrade.

Can't wait to test drive in 2 weeks time and check out the performance, NVH and audio sound.... biggrin.gif
ckwong111
post May 30 2012, 10:46 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ May 30 2012, 01:47 PM)
what's this depollution thingy?? apologies for the noobie question. never owned a pug before..
See forumer "Sleepy" replies on the May 28 2012, 08:55 PM posting...

ckwong111
post May 31 2012, 12:00 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ May 30 2012, 11:15 PM)
I went with the 408 NA firmly in mind. In Seramban they only had the turbo unit,so tested it. The rest of the story you know la. After that I was not interested in the NA at all. Btw bro, the difference in monthly payment is oly $100+ don't forget road tax is $300 cheaper. So do consider the turbo seriously,and you may get tired of the NA due to it's low power.  rclxm9.gif

Added on May 30, 2012, 11:28 pm
Bro kenso kena Kau kau on the turbo already, now having nightmares la.....hehehe! Anyway after reading all the reports on 308 THP problems, I too firmly kept away form the turbo. Even after reading this THP as been given a serious make over and all issues settled,I was skecipital. If the problems still persist,then I guess I've made the wrong choice! I'll cross that bridge if I come to it. Hopefully not,touch wood!
The steering feel was one very strong reason for me to get this model. It was so precise and accurate!I'm not one who tears down the road,but good to know you have on the tap when you need it. whistling.gif
rclxms.gif You will feel the "rage" when encountering @#$hole doing 80km/hour on a fast lane on a 2-lane highway and hogging it, mod cars F1 wannabe, going uphill on the NSE highway, ferrying 3 - 4 person on a large sedan, going up Genting Highlands/Cameron Highlands, kena tiong by C or D segment cars when you are driving within the speed limits and on the middle lane of a 3-lane highway, impressing your alpha male frens, using old single lane highways dominated by lorries, and the list goes on ... rclxms.gif

Besides, the 408 is not a "new" as it was released in 2010 in the Latin Americas and OEM last year in China. Have tried searching the depollution problem on the 408, but so far have not seen any reports... hmm.gif
ckwong111
post May 31 2012, 12:24 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 31 2012, 12:02 AM)
What is ESP and what is 4 speed?

I drive pretty fast with my 308T, corner like crazy and the ESP only once lite up when I was going 30km/h (!) in Tesco parking after it rained.

4 speed is very crude compared to 6 speed, but then, what is 6 speed? I can only say it gives smoother acceleration/deceleration. The FC between 308T4 and 308T6 are very similar, cornering is also a problem with 6 speed...since they are so many gears, you will be changing it like crazy to find which is best for what. Tiptronic isn't actually similar to a manual stick....far from it. 4 speed cornering is easier, just drop 1 gear. And most importantly, 6 speed gearbox service cost is 10X more than 4 speed.
ESP (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_stability_control), saves you even when you are traveling at 30km/hr to avoid skidding. Imagine without ESP, and you are picking up speed on a slippery road... sweat.gif Without ESP, beast case scenario, you skidded and knock into a wall or object, car damage & repair$$$. Worst case scenario, heavy rain and you are coming down from the curvy, hilly Genting/Cameron Highlands and you skidded and plunge into ... oops.gif

As for having a 6-speed, it has more ratio for the engine to play with. Like you say, gives smoother acceleration/deceleration and thus enjoying better FC. As for performance and cornering, I doubt it helps much on improving the performance and handling part...

Just my 2cents... rclxms.gif
ckwong111
post Jun 2 2012, 11:27 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Jun 2 2012, 10:53 PM)
Tested the 2.0 this evening and immediately booked the car!  rclxms.gif

The reason why I choose 2.0 over turbo is mainly due to financial reason. As expected, the RPM is quite high when I floored the pedal but the power is sufficient for me. When switched to 'light footed' mode, the RPM is decent. Hopfully the FC wouldn't be so high.

ESP? Hopefully I will not need it. Defensive driving is the best safety device one could rely on.
Congrats! rclxms.gif Are you from KL? Can PM me any special package you got? Did you SA tell you when you can get your car? What colour did you choose?
ckwong111
post Jun 3 2012, 11:59 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Jun 3 2012, 11:12 AM)
You've got PM. I booked it from peugeot HQ and I pick the blue color. He told me car can be delivered in 3-4 weeks. U booked already?
Thanks bro, I think you got a fair deal. I also don't expect much seeing that Elantra SA also did not offer any good promo package for the new car.

No yet, this week school holidays so have to balik kampung. Can only test drive next weekend. I stay around Puchong, so will go back there as they promise test drive on the Kesas highway. Have you tested any other car before booking this 408?

Initially, was thinking of getting Elantra. I admit I was attracted by the design and tech, but now I am leaning more to 408. Dunno want to wait for Focus before deciding or not. I wasn't expecting 408 to price it at this price rclxms.gif. But, I am expecting the Focus to price at 408T price for the 2.0. Dilemma, dilemma...

From specs and price, Elantra has the slight edge. If they price at RM105K for the 1.8, I would have booked it. Forte 2.0 at 98K looks good but old engine tech. But, Elantra charge so much but no power food window (don't ask biggrin.gif), rear tail light not complete, tweeter pun mau tipu, a lousy quality HU and I doubt the ICE is decent.

At least, I am paying more to get a decent quality, conti car and brand. No need to mod kau2 and void warranty. Tint, floor mat & coating and you are good to go. Performance, cabin space and quality guaranteed rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on June 3, 2012, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jun 3 2012, 11:42 AM)
To your question if Peugeot parts made in China will be reliable. The answer is yes ,if it is  manufactured under the control of Peugeot,which it is. 
Many well established brands have their products made in China. Don't go too far,iPad is made in China. Is it unreliable cos made in China. If any thing demand outstrips supply. Parts are made under the same quality control as in the parent company. That is not to say everything made in China is good. There will always be imitation.
Will Independent spare parts shops come up,I don't see why not. Look at BMW,  there are so many spare parts and workshops in the last few years. As a result parts are reasonable. Peugeot is really investing good money to establish itself here in ASEAN. 36 new service centres are to opened nation wide. With this Peugeot is going to establish itself as a strong brand in Malaysia. 
When there's money to be made,business with thrive!
rclxms.gif thumbup.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ckwong111: Jun 3 2012, 12:01 PM
ckwong111
post Jun 3 2012, 11:12 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(d1rTyd6n @ Jun 3 2012, 09:34 PM)
I was at their roadshow at 1 Utama and I must say the turbo feels better than the 2.0. The SA said that we could opt for the touch screen HU with additional RM3k, and the sports skirting for RM2k+. The smoked headlamp and sport rims r excluded. I guess we will be able to get better looking rims from 3rd party shops. The sup-ed up 408T is so damn tempting man!!
Hi, interesting...can you PM the SA from which branch the offer you the touch screen HU and the sports skirting? I know, the sup-ed 408T is damn cun...
ckwong111
post Jun 4 2012, 12:38 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(d1rTyd6n @ Jun 4 2012, 12:21 AM)
I think the SA is Balan from Nasim. The TTDI branch. I wonder how much would the total mod cost.
Thanks, I am guessing 5 figures $$$ mod for all. The smoke lamp and rim, I am not so keen unless it's to change to HID+DRL. Rim for the 408T is acceptable for me, will consider after the stock tyre needs changing 2 - 3 years down the road.

If mod everything, the car becomes like close to RM140K, then might as well consider K5...it has almost everything except Kimchi brand and performance on the lower end of the torque because the car is more heavy...

Figure can do HU with DVD+GPS+Reverse Cam (if got option) first...got cash then mod later for the exterior parts...
ckwong111
post Jun 4 2012, 05:34 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(kevinboey86 @ Jun 4 2012, 02:17 PM)
So i guess there will be no more GPS touch screen option for 408. Thanks!
Cause the SA told me that there are no upgrade options for 408. Not even the sports kit.
You call up HQ? So this is official then? I was thinking of calling the Balan guy and check the full mod pricing...

Anyway, no HU option also good (if official), at least can "mati jantung" and no need "hati gatal" to think should or should not go for the HU and body kit upgrade at RM6K+

No choice, if HU upgrade must get from HQ/branch/authorized dealer, provided they provide warranty, else void warranty then really die looorrrr...

Added on June 4, 2012, 5:41 pmHi 408 test drivers, I seem to get the same feedback on the 408T, which is the tuning for the 408T is not so comfortable. Can I say the not so comfortable part is only going through road impurities, like bumps, potholes, roads under construction, etc.?

If yes, does it mean the car is bumpy and with each impact, your backside will feel the bumps even more?

This post has been edited by ckwong111: Jun 4 2012, 05:41 PM
ckwong111
post Jun 4 2012, 06:24 PM

38 posts

Hi all, check with HQ & 2 other branches. The mod car in 1U roadshow was "mod-up" on purpose to make the 408 more impressive. At this point in time, no option to upgrade the 408 other than with comes with stock right now...

Most popular colours being ordered now are white, black and blue. Personally, I like the Aster Grey...
ckwong111
post Jun 4 2012, 06:53 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jun 4 2012, 06:27 PM)
My 2nd choice is the K5. The is a D segment car and does cost a bit more. Don't look down on the Kimchi brand, they have walked over the Japs and are closing the Conti gap. I was very impressed! rclxms.gif
My only hesitation was the loud engine roar upon hard acceleration, infact this was rather uncomfortable. The 408t is silky smooth which convenced me to sign on the dotted line! biggrin.gif
I know, I have no issue with branding. For me to make a decision, it is research on Internet and forum feedback. You can sell me a car made in China, if you can combine all the tech in K5, NVH & FC of an Elantra, performance in 408T and cabin space, legroom and quality in Ford Mondeo at Forte 2.0 price rclxms.gif , but seriously you can only hope for the best to meet >80% of the above sad.gif

Seriously, there is no such thing as the "perfect" car with the perfect setup, else where will have new model and facelift version...and different segment as well?

Of course, after-sales service is also important so if a new China brand car tells me they only got 1 service center in each state in Malaysia, then of course I will only say thank you but no thank you...

Added on June 4, 2012, 7:01 pm
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jun 4 2012, 06:27 PM)
My 2nd choice is the K5. The is a D segment car and does cost a bit more. Don't look down on the Kimchi brand, they have walked over the Japs and are closing the Conti gap. I was very impressed! rclxms.gif
My only hesitation was the loud engine roar upon hard acceleration, infact this was rather uncomfortable. The 408t is silky smooth which convenced me to sign on the dotted line! biggrin.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 6:37 pm
Rumour has it the blue and gold may be discontinued due to low demand. Better get your order in, just in case the grey faces the same fate!
Always will have the safe choice...Silver! Less washing than White color...can last up to 1 week before the need to go to your friendly neighbourhood RM12 wash & vacuum center smile.gif

This post has been edited by ckwong111: Jun 4 2012, 07:01 PM
ckwong111
post Jun 4 2012, 08:16 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(wendyl1ng @ Jun 4 2012, 07:33 PM)
guys..need comments..now got 2 choices..mazda 3 2.0 RM116K and peugeot 408 RM109K..which one better ya?
Here's how I rank my selection:-

1. Budget
2. Tech (Engine, ICE and in-car gadgets)
3. Design
4. Performance
5. Cabin space & knee room
6. Brand
7. After-sales service
8. Warranty
8. 2nd hand value
9. Parts & Maint cost after warranty

Just a guideline, I am sure everyone is different...

0.0472sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:12 AM