Aug 12 2012, 11:41 AM
11,308 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
how expensive is bacfree?
Aug 12 2012, 05:20 PM
4,184 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Builders Hardware Enterprise 0362572412 |
Many people asked me, 3M filter is so small, how can it collect so much dirty without backwash? the answer is it has a big surface area to trap dirt. 3M AP902 is using pleated membrane and the membrane is more than 10 times the size of the filter.
Sep 17 2012, 10:00 PM
157 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Anyone heard of BWT (Best Water Technology, Germany) water filter before? Look like very advance...
Sep 18 2012, 08:44 AM
Here half of the length of 3M AP902 membrane
Sep 18 2012, 02:46 PM
3 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
hi,
I am a sand filter fixed in my home for abt 7 years now. I need to service it as the water pressure is very slow, even after weekly backwash. Do anyone has experience or offering service of changing the sand of an existing sand filter? Cld you provide me contacts/advise on how to go about doing this? Tnk you. |
Sep 18 2012, 05:29 PM
923 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: KL |
7 years? Perhaps its time to get a new one bro. Outdoor filters ain't that expensive these days.
My experience is that with sand filters, need to change the media (sand) every 3-5 years, depending on the quality of sand. Upgrade to membrane style so no need worry about backwash anymore haha |
Sep 18 2012, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(aztech05 @ Sep 18 2012, 02:46 PM) hi, This is the problem with sand filters. WHen u do the backwash, you c dirty water like cofee/teh tarik coming out, so you think the filter is doing a good job. Actually, dirt and sand has entered our house pipeline and water tank. Try removing one of the tap's aerator and you will c some dirt and sand. The media should be replaced and the filter should b serviced averagely 3 years once to maintain good filtration. I am a sand filter fixed in my home for abt 7 years now. I need to service it as the water pressure is very slow, even after weekly backwash. Do anyone has experience or offering service of changing the sand of an existing sand filter? Cld you provide me contacts/advise on how to go about doing this? Tnk you. ![]() This post has been edited by zheilwane: Sep 18 2012, 08:59 PM |
Sep 18 2012, 10:34 PM
289 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
Sep 19 2012, 01:19 AM
1,938 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: http://blog.saimatkong.com |
what about Nesh?
Sep 19 2012, 09:07 AM
From the video, they look alike but they are different.
1) 3M is using Pleated Membrane and the max length is 18ft (our video recorded 9ft which is half of the size). While diamond is using Filtron - high-density fibre (most probably 5-6ft only) 2) From Diamond website, their filter could filter upto 10 microns while 3M is 5 microns 3) Not sure about Diamond's warranty but 3M is like lifetime warranty as the product has 1 year warranty, when u replace the cartridge, it will renew the warranty. 4) YOu need to get Diamond's ppl to service it while 3M u can replace the cartridge urself after 370,000 litres of water in less than 10 sec. This post has been edited by zheilwane: Sep 19 2012, 09:09 AM |
Sep 19 2012, 09:58 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
No need so hard sell lah, good product and good service will sell by itself.
Sep 19 2012, 12:21 PM
1,701 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Setia Alam |
But this 3M is size so small able to filter our malaysia water? It looks interesting.
How is the warranty for its casing and filter? I understand that those water filter is not expensive things, probably is below 1k and there are many brands outside. But how good is their material quality always a doubt. Anyway, how is GE performance? It uses sand filter. Any difference using steel and those fiber type? |
Sep 19 2012, 02:36 PM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(smwah @ Sep 19 2012, 12:21 PM) But this 3M is size so small able to filter our malaysia water? It looks interesting. Is not about size, is about material used and build quality.How is the warranty for its casing and filter? I understand that those water filter is not expensive things, probably is below 1k and there are many brands outside. But how good is their material quality always a doubt. Anyway, how is GE performance? It uses sand filter. Any difference using steel and those fiber type? |
Sep 19 2012, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(smwah @ Sep 19 2012, 12:21 PM) But this 3M is size so small able to filter our malaysia water? It looks interesting. THere are quite many 3M users here and weikee is one of them. Why is it small? it is using pleated membrane and from the video i posted, u can c the length is 18ft. It would b best if u can drop by my showroom so that i can explain in detail and also difference between 3M and other filtersHow is the warranty for its casing and filter? I understand that those water filter is not expensive things, probably is below 1k and there are many brands outside. But how good is their material quality always a doubt. Anyway, how is GE performance? It uses sand filter. Any difference using steel and those fiber type? Added on September 19, 2012, 3:45 pm QUOTE(zheilwane @ Sep 19 2012, 03:44 PM) THere are quite many 3M users here and weikee is one of them. Why is it small? it is using pleated membrane and from the video i posted, u can c the length is 18ft. It would b best if u can drop by my showroom so that i can explain in detail and also difference between 3M and other filters. The casing is almost like lifetime warranty This post has been edited by zheilwane: Sep 19 2012, 03:45 PM |
Sep 26 2012, 03:23 PM
1,414 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 47300 |
recently, i went up and down to search the outdoor water with by sand filteration. the price that i saw from the range 699 - 1699. Some sales man mentioned that, actually this kind of POE filter has no difference with the brand, the sand inside actually all are the same. Is it true?
Sep 26 2012, 04:31 PM
not true.
Sep 26 2012, 04:35 PM
1,414 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 47300 |
can you explain more and into details?
Sep 26 2012, 10:21 PM
It is simple, u can check online. Some filter has many layers like
1) Activated carbon 2) Silica Sand 3) Gravel 4) Course sand 5) Zeolite 6) Etc. U can actually online google each of the media and c the pros and cons. I asked Perfect Steel sales person, why do we need so many layers? He say it is actually gimmicks and the media thatz really does the job is sand. Eg: You have 5 media. 1) Media 1 = FIlter 5 microns 2) Media 2= Filter 7 microns 3) media 3 = Filter 10 microns 4) Media 4 = FIlter 20 microns 5) Media 5 = Reduce Chlorine. So, do you think it is better to have Media 1 or 2 only rather than all 5? |
Oct 1 2012, 05:54 PM
266 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
What brand suitable for outdoor condo, auto cleaning? Thanks.
| Change to: | 0.0207sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:20 PM |