32 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

outdoor water filter

xavi5567
post May 6 2014, 10:04 AM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

normally if stay in condo... still possible to install an outdoor filtration system or not? if in taiwan i have shall 1 b4.. but here in malaysia wat will be the cost like? any1 did b4?
jmh33
post May 6 2014, 09:28 PM

60 posts

Anybody can share is the bacfree outdoor model good?
i saw in the fair, is expensive, but no worry on maintenance wit 5yr + water quality guarantee.

Also, those membrane filter that filter up 0.01, virus is removed, but what happen to good mineral?

Appreciate your reply.
jmh33
post May 7 2014, 12:33 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(kahming2u @ May 6 2014, 11:40 PM)
Hi jmh,

Yes sir, you are right, we are committed every 3 months services to our customer, service team will drop by to your house to doing the services example: checking the water pressure, doing cleaning for you filters.

Anyway i hope you can give me a call by tomorrow as i can explain to you in detail. smile.gif

Jayden 012-626 9220
Thanks, no offend, i would prefer to check out how is other users true experience first, instead the salesman tell how best is their own product.
If you don't mind, you may share the standard offer package here, others might interested, further discount or discussion, sure they will call you.
stevie_G
post May 16 2014, 06:08 PM

50 posts

[FONT=Arial]
Hi , I'm told by a seller that FRP tank will leach chemicals over time ? Can someone clarify ? Luckily haven't put up order.

sweat.gif
idoblu
post May 16 2014, 06:47 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Scud_eSpade @ Nov 17 2013, 02:42 PM)
Anyone have feedback on kinectico?
really interested in their electricless autobackwash
Good, trouble free
westlife
post May 17 2014, 09:39 PM

14,237 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Aug 12 2012, 08:12 AM)
3M is cheap (depending where u r buying it). We are having promotion for 3M water filter, indoor + outdoor water filter for less than RM 2k. This is how small the filter is

http://www.facebook.com/builders.hardware?sk=info
Do u sell in JB as well? 3M.
NightFelix
post May 17 2014, 11:55 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 17 2014, 09:39 PM)
Do u sell in JB as well? 3M.
He do provide free postage to your doorstep, you just need to find plumber to fix for you.
NightFelix
post May 17 2014, 11:57 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Mar 10 2014, 09:32 PM)
FRP vs. POE, Which is better for outdoor?
QUOTE(stevie_G @ May 16 2014, 06:08 PM)
[FONT=Arial]
Hi , I'm told by a seller that FRP tank will leach chemicals over time ? Can someone clarify ? Luckily haven't put up order.

sweat.gif
FRP is the material. POE is Point of Entry. Is two different things. sleep.gif
OneMoreDay
post May 18 2014, 12:30 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(stevie_G @ May 16 2014, 06:08 PM)
[FONT=Arial]

sweat.gif
I found this from a document on FRP tank specifications. Source: Here

"Potable (drinking) water has been a longstanding use for FRP. Apart from corrosion resistance with prevents damage or rust tastes, FRP surfaces are smooth to reduce areas which may harbor growth of algae or microorganisms. FRP can also avoid problems with certain potentially harmful trace metals.

The most important considerations for potable water is to use a resin with a composition deemed acceptable from a health or regulatory standpoint. The curing technique is extremely important, along with a good extent of cure to minimize styrene and other compounds which can infiltrate the water.

With the passage of the federal Clean Drinking Water Act, standards have become more stringent as well as more complicated to understand. Even though many certified standardized tests are used, the emphasis is now on risk assessment, where components and fabrication methods are scrutinized by third parties, such as NSF. The risk assessment involves not only resin constituents and extractables, but potential toxicity, mutagenicity, and carcenogenic aspects.

Increasingly, states are adopting the requirements of ANSI/NSF Standard 61. Currently DION® Impact 9102-00 holds a certified listing for use as a barrier material in accordance with Standard 61. This relates to tanks >10 gallons or piping > 6 inches in diameter at ambient temperature. Among other things, the requirements entail post-curing for 4 hours at 160oF, followed by 2 hours at 180oF.

Additionally DION® 9100 vinyl ester as well DION® 6631 series and Polylite® 33433-01 isophthalic resins, are approved in accordance with British Standard BS 6920.This standard is very stringent and tests effect of taste, appearance, growth of aquatic microorganisms, effects of organic extractions (monkey kidney cell vero), and trace metals. DION® 382 and DION® 9800 have also been approved by in Norway by Folkehelsa for use in drinking water applications involving North Sea oil platforms and ships.
"

I also found the following information on another site. Source: Here

"Due to the corrosion resistant nature of FRP, the tank can be made entirely from the composite, or a second liner can be used. In either case, the inner liner is made using different material properties than the structural portion
The liner, if made of FRP is usually resin rich and utilizes a different type of glass, called "C-Glass", while the structural portion uses "E-Glass". The thermoplastic liner usually is PE or ABS. This thermoplastic liner is not considered to contribute mechanical strength. The FRP liner is usually cured before winding.

Typical FRP temperature limits are almost depend on the resin use. The thermoplastic resin will suffer from creep at elevated temperatures and ultimately fail. The typical maximum is
49 degrees Celsius."
westlife
post May 18 2014, 07:49 AM

14,237 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ May 17 2014, 11:55 PM)
He do provide free postage to your doorstep, you just need to find plumber to fix for you.
Thanks for the reply.

May I know which package is the most worth it one?

http://xammax.my/3m-outdoor-water-filter-a...y-complete.html
http://xammax.my/3m-outdoor-water-filter-a...ap-dws1000.html
http://xammax.my/3m-outdoor-water-filter-a...ws2500t-cn.html
NightFelix
post May 18 2014, 12:26 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 18 2014, 07:49 AM)
Done some calculation. The old one still looks better deal in the run long compare to the new one.
SUSsupersound
post May 18 2014, 12:56 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(jmh33 @ May 6 2014, 09:28 PM)
Anybody can share is the bacfree outdoor model good?
i saw in the fair, is expensive, but no worry on maintenance wit 5yr + water quality guarantee.

Also, those membrane filter that filter up 0.01, virus is removed, but what happen to good mineral?

Appreciate your reply.
Getting pure water are good at any 1 time.
You will be happy on spending money on supplements and visit specialist often whistling.gif
I'm a cheapskate, I prefer to waste money on vacation, buying audio stuffs but never visit a specialist nor keep on buying supplements to stay healthy.
I only have a simple sand filter for outdoor unit and a carbon filter for drinking water(that boil it).
Everyday I wasted 30-45 minutes on nearby man made lake walking.
westlife
post May 18 2014, 06:00 PM

14,237 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ May 18 2014, 12:26 PM)
Done some calculation. The old one still looks better deal in the run long compare to the new one.
Thanks for the sharing.

Is this good enough? Rm15xx

3M Outdoor Water Filter AP902 + 3M Indoor Water Filter AP Easy Complete

Actually dun know what is the differences comparing to the rm22xx one..
sfim
post May 18 2014, 06:03 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 16 2014, 06:47 PM)
Good, trouble free
wrt kinetico....

how often does the auto-backwash occur? 2x a day?
if too often then the cost of backwashing will be high....
idoblu
post May 18 2014, 06:19 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(sfim @ May 18 2014, 06:03 PM)
wrt kinetico....

how often does the auto-backwash occur? 2x a day?
if too often then the cost of backwashing will be high....
auto backwash twice a day?

in my 7 years of using it, I think I have only seen it backwash twice maybe three times....
I am sure it is more than that, just that I wasnt around to witness it. my water usage is also very low
my water bill is zero every month biggrin.gif

the backwash is set according to how much water you use. you can reset it to more or less frequent

This post has been edited by idoblu: May 18 2014, 06:21 PM
stevie_G
post May 19 2014, 10:00 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(OneMoreDay @ May 18 2014, 12:30 AM)
I found this from a document on FRP tank specifications. Source: Here

"Potable (drinking) water has been a longstanding use for FRP. Apart from corrosion resistance with prevents damage or rust tastes, FRP surfaces are smooth to reduce areas which may harbor growth of algae or microorganisms. FRP can also avoid problems with certain potentially harmful trace metals.

The most important considerations for potable water is to use a resin with a composition deemed acceptable from a health or regulatory standpoint. The curing technique is extremely important, along with a good extent of cure to minimize styrene and other compounds which can infiltrate the water.

With the passage of the federal Clean Drinking Water Act, standards have become more stringent as well as more complicated to understand. Even though many certified standardized tests are used, the emphasis is now on risk assessment, where components and fabrication methods are scrutinized by third parties, such as NSF. The risk assessment involves not only resin constituents and extractables, but potential toxicity, mutagenicity, and carcenogenic aspects.

Increasingly, states are adopting the requirements of ANSI/NSF Standard 61. Currently DION® Impact 9102-00 holds a certified listing for use as a barrier material in accordance with Standard 61. This relates to tanks >10 gallons or piping > 6 inches in diameter at ambient temperature. Among other things, the requirements entail post-curing for 4 hours at 160oF, followed by 2 hours at 180oF.

Additionally DION® 9100 vinyl ester as well DION® 6631 series and Polylite® 33433-01 isophthalic resins, are approved in accordance with British Standard BS 6920.This standard is very stringent and tests effect of taste, appearance, growth of aquatic microorganisms, effects of organic extractions (monkey kidney cell vero), and trace metals. DION® 382 and DION® 9800 have also been approved by in Norway by Folkehelsa for use in drinking water applications involving North Sea oil platforms and ships.
"

I also found the following information on another site. Source: Here

"Due to the corrosion resistant nature of FRP, the tank can be made entirely from the composite, or a second liner can be used. In either case, the inner liner is made using different material properties than the structural portion
The liner, if made of FRP is usually resin rich and utilizes a different type of glass, called "C-Glass", while the structural portion uses "E-Glass". The thermoplastic liner usually is PE or ABS. This thermoplastic liner is not considered to contribute mechanical strength. The FRP liner is usually cured before winding.

Typical FRP temperature limits are almost depend on the resin use. The thermoplastic resin will suffer from creep at elevated temperatures and ultimately fail. The typical maximum is
49 degrees Celsius."
Thanks bro , I guess those tanks on sale in Malaysia are China-made. China can't even produce proper baby formula let alone FRP tanks I suppose. I'm just worry that over time the tank will leech toxins like those plastic drinking bottles.
jmh33
post May 19 2014, 03:17 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ May 18 2014, 12:56 PM)
Getting pure water are good at any 1 time.
You will be happy on spending money on supplements and visit specialist often whistling.gif
I'm a cheapskate, I prefer to waste money on vacation, buying audio stuffs but never visit a specialist nor keep on buying supplements to stay healthy.
I only have a simple sand filter for outdoor unit and a carbon filter for drinking water(that boil it).
Everyday I wasted 30-45 minutes on nearby man made lake walking.
That why i still prefer sand filter.
After some study, membrane technology is for "clean" water filtering, use for hospital (non-bacteria env) & certain industry that need "clean" water.
OneMoreDay
post May 19 2014, 06:28 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(stevie_G @ May 19 2014, 10:00 AM)
Thanks bro , I guess those tanks on sale in Malaysia are China-made. China can't even produce proper baby formula let alone FRP tanks I suppose. I'm just worry that over time the tank will leech toxins like those plastic drinking bottles.
As long as they're built to standard. After all, if large and well known brands outsource some of their manufacturing to China, they have to follow certain standards to maintain their brand's image.

On the baby formula thing, you're right I suppose. My relative was going to export New Zealand baby formula to China when the Chinese got strict on their baby formula standards and required manufacturers to be registered on their CNCA (Certification and Accreditation Administration) list if they wanted to export to China. So, while it is taking them some time because cheap mass manufacturing in a booming economy can't necessarily mean they're totally up-to-standard, they are slowly getting there.

Ask around. No harm in asking them for certification. You're a consumer and you have rights. Of course, if they'll give you the whole sales and marketing routine without any actual evidence to support their claims, you'll know to take your business elsewhere. smile.gif

P.s. Even BPA-free plastic is no longer safe. Glass or stainless steel bottles for me! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by OneMoreDay: May 19 2014, 06:33 PM
sapper
post May 19 2014, 08:19 PM

50 posts

Just fixed my outdoor water filter today - DIY. Normal FRP935 with 5 layers filtration. For ordinary household usage you do not need all those expensive filters. For indoor I have a 1st stage pensonic filter followed by a national filter. The water is very clean and I sometimes drink without boiling. I make ice straight from the filter. I do not think all those expensive brands will make the water any cleaner than my present setup. To set your mind at peace just boil the filtered water. My outdoor filter cost RM399. DIY RM25.
SUSsupersound
post May 19 2014, 09:28 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(jmh33 @ May 19 2014, 03:17 PM)
That why i still prefer sand filter.
After some study, membrane technology is for "clean" water filtering, use for hospital (non-bacteria env) & certain industry that need "clean" water.
For industrial use, indeed they need clean water.
As for hospital, it is for hygienic reason.
Our body need some contaminant to stay healthy.

32 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0463sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:57 PM