70 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Videography All About Videography, HDSLR

kadajawi
post Jul 15 2015, 07:30 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Jul 4 2015, 12:32 AM)
It records video, it has superior codecs that people love shooting with, it's sick for film making....But everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Why not just stick with a canon since it has a bigger apsc sensor as compared m4/3 to get that "bokeh" that people overtly love? hehehe
Canon hasn't improved their video functionality for something like 5 years now... they are selling oldtimers.

If anything, look for the Samsung NX1. APS-C sensor, 4K video, good AF, even shoots DCI 4K. Apparently some Korean drama shows now use the NX1. Constant firmware updates that significantly improve the camera (better AF, features useful for video shooting, ...). Only problem is it is so advanced that today's computers can't handle its files. You will need to convert before you can edit them. If you need to churn out your videos as fast as possible, it sadly is too advanced. Otherwise no problem.

I like CLS in JB, great shop, great people.

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Jul 15 2015, 07:33 PM
z1lch
post Jul 16 2015, 12:54 AM

172 posts

Guys any idea where could i get lanparte hhg-01 3-axis handheld gimbal in KL/PJ area?
kayFX
post Jul 16 2015, 12:46 PM

i got title 0.o
913 posts

QUOTE(z1lch @ Jul 16 2015, 12:54 AM)
Guys any idea where could i get lanparte hhg-01 3-axis handheld gimbal in KL/PJ area?
Dg color mutiara complex.. For mobile phone or gopro?
Rice_Owl84
post Jul 16 2015, 07:44 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 15 2015, 07:30 PM)
Canon hasn't improved their video functionality for something like 5 years now... they are selling oldtimers.

If anything, look for the Samsung NX1. APS-C sensor, 4K video, good AF, even shoots DCI 4K. Apparently some Korean drama shows now use the NX1. Constant firmware updates that significantly improve the camera (better AF, features useful for video shooting, ...). Only problem is it is so advanced that today's computers can't handle its files. You will need to convert before you can edit them. If you need to churn out your videos as fast as possible, it sadly is too advanced. Otherwise no problem.

I'm using Canon and waiting to see what their up coming full frames have to offer. If its video quality and flat profile being behind with other brands then I agree. Video functions Canon has some functions that are ahead. 70D and 7D mk2 with STM lenses has very advance smooth and accurate AF that no other brand has caught up yet.

Canon users are very aware of other brands having 4K. Envy at times. But then yet again 1080p IPB already takes up a ton of memory. Already have several 1TB external hard disks to archive those 1080p footages. Now thinking if it was 4K i would have a draw full of external hard disks.

If there's a brand that at times makes me wish to jump ship its Sony. That damn attractive full frame Sony A7 series. Now that the Sony RX10 mk2 has 4K i think the one replacing the a6000 will also have 4k.

But there's plenty of other things that improve video like lights, movement tools like glidecam, jib etc. Its almost endless buying so don't get too focused on spending everything on just the camera.

LegendLee
post Jul 16 2015, 11:48 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Jul 16 2015, 07:44 PM)
I'm using Canon and waiting to see what their up coming full frames have to offer.  If its video quality and flat profile being behind with other brands then I agree.  Video functions Canon has some functions that are ahead.  70D and 7D mk2 with STM lenses has very advance smooth and accurate AF that no other brand has caught up yet. 

Canon users are very aware of other brands having 4K.  Envy at times.  But then yet again 1080p IPB already takes up a ton of memory.  Already have several 1TB external hard disks to archive those 1080p footages.  Now thinking if it was 4K i would have a draw full of external hard disks. 

If there's a brand that at times makes me wish to jump ship its Sony.  That damn attractive full frame Sony A7 series.  Now that the Sony RX10 mk2 has 4K i think the one replacing the a6000 will also have 4k.

But there's plenty of other things that improve video like lights, movement tools like glidecam, jib etc.  Its almost endless buying so don't get too focused on spending everything on just the camera.
If canon 5D4 doesn't have 4k, I'm probably jumping ship to Sony A7 RII

I'm also waiting for CFast to be widely implemented.

kadajawi
post Jul 17 2015, 07:39 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Jul 16 2015, 07:44 PM)
I'm using Canon and waiting to see what their up coming full frames have to offer.  If its video quality and flat profile being behind with other brands then I agree.  Video functions Canon has some functions that are ahead.  70D and 7D mk2 with STM lenses has very advance smooth and accurate AF that no other brand has caught up yet. 

Canon users are very aware of other brands having 4K.  Envy at times.  But then yet again 1080p IPB already takes up a ton of memory.  Already have several 1TB external hard disks to archive those 1080p footages.  Now thinking if it was 4K i would have a draw full of external hard disks. 

If there's a brand that at times makes me wish to jump ship its Sony.  That damn attractive full frame Sony A7 series.  Now that the Sony RX10 mk2 has 4K i think the one replacing the a6000 will also have 4k.

But there's plenty of other things that improve video like lights, movement tools like glidecam, jib etc.  Its almost endless buying so don't get too focused on spending everything on just the camera.
Canon wants you to buy Cinema EOS. That's why they limit their regular EOS cameras. Eventually they will offer 4K, but they will try to find ways to make you rather buy a Cinema EOS. I think that the 70D has that nice AF is because it's seen more as a consumer feature. Anything professional will be missing, if they can at all help it.

Samsung should have smooth AF, IIRC it's said to be spot on, since the latest firmware update also in low light situations. You can also change the AF speed. Log is there IIRC. Of course DCI 4K etc., using a highly efficient codec (my computer can't play it back though, not at 4K). Lens selection (with AF and IS) is a bit small, but otherwise that is one hell of a camera.

Personally I'm happily shooting Pentax, especially because of MJPEG and the wonderful internal SR. Not having to carry lots of gear to stabilize the video is a god sent, IMHO.
adrian11
post Jul 18 2015, 03:33 AM

152 posts

Finally got a call from Canon that I can collect my 7D II already after 1 month biggrin.gif
Apparently my motherboard inside got fried , how? IDK.. Atleast they didn't charge me a singe cent for warranty rclxms.gif
gerald7
post Jul 18 2015, 12:07 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(orenji @ Jul 14 2015, 08:12 PM)
My recent work, helping friend out, nth much equipment.

https://vimeo.com/133441588
nice one bro. We did a pre-wedding thingy similarly two years ago. so far never had the chance to try again. maybe we were that bad. haha!

check ours out https://vimeo.com/59141913 the bride also Sabrina smile.gif
gerald7
post Jul 18 2015, 12:09 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

this is the 2nd teaser

rolleyes.gif made error w/ the sound. need to remember to bring sound recorder!
VinceCheong
post Jul 18 2015, 04:46 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 15 2015, 08:30 PM)

On the contrary, canon has actually vastly improved their video functionality for the consumer. The question now is whether should they decide to push forward their improvements and implement them in their current market line up, or proceed with just a 'force-acceptance' market strategy.

Regardless, no doubt the Samsung NX1, or A7II or other end consumer cameras are rolling in and pushing in low-light capability with 4K capabilities, in the end of the day, it's still for end consumers. If you want something to churn out images (for example wedding rushes or just for web preview materials), you'd want something quick and efficient, and 4k for this would be a luxury option. Don't forget to take into account of harddisc/data real estate. Even I'm shooting on CineformRAW, I'm already churning out footages of 1GB per minute, and I've not began to think of shooting projects in 4K cDNG or CineformRAW.

On the side note, no one edits in the native format and resolution of the rushes, it's all transcoded into an intermediary codec either with a smaller bitrate or 1080p resolution for the offline edits, once they've locked it down, then they'll move on with the online edits, which technically doesn't really require any realtime playback.
kadajawi
post Jul 18 2015, 09:15 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Jul 18 2015, 04:46 PM)
On the contrary, canon has actually vastly improved their video functionality for the consumer. The question now is whether should they decide to push forward their improvements and implement them in their current market line up, or proceed with just a 'force-acceptance' market strategy.

Regardless, no doubt the Samsung NX1, or A7II or other end consumer cameras are rolling in and pushing in low-light capability with 4K capabilities, in the end of the day, it's still for end consumers. If you want something to churn out images (for example wedding rushes or just for web preview materials), you'd want something quick and efficient, and 4k for this would be a luxury option. Don't forget to take into account of harddisc/data real estate. Even I'm shooting on CineformRAW, I'm already churning out footages of 1GB per minute, and I've not began to think of shooting projects in 4K cDNG or CineformRAW.

On the side note, no one edits in the native format and resolution of the rushes, it's all transcoded into an intermediary codec either with a smaller bitrate or 1080p resolution for the offline edits, once they've locked it down, then they'll move on with the online edits, which technically doesn't really require any realtime playback.
Hm... how? I'm not a big Canon follower, all I hear is the whining of Canonians about the crappy video... apart from AF I don't recall any improvements. Even their sensors are stuck in the dark ages. Unless you refer to Magic Lantern, which is quite amazing. But that doesn't come from Canon.

You can always convert the 4K HEVC down to 1080p ProRes or so, and then quickly edit that. Only converting the footage may take some time. But you'll still get incredibly sharp footage, sharper than you'd get by shooting 1080p in the first place. And since the original files are HEVC, they aren't particularly big (my Pentax churns out bigger 1080p files), so you can archive them and, if necessary revisit later.
VinceCheong
post Jul 20 2015, 12:39 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 18 2015, 10:15 PM)
Hm... how? I'm not a big Canon follower, all I hear is the whining of Canonians about the crappy video... apart from AF I don't recall any improvements. Even their sensors are stuck in the dark ages. Unless you refer to Magic Lantern, which is quite amazing. But that doesn't come from Canon.

You can always convert the 4K HEVC down to 1080p ProRes or so, and then quickly edit that. Only converting the footage may take some time. But you'll still get incredibly sharp footage, sharper than you'd get by shooting 1080p in the first place. And since the original files are HEVC, they aren't particularly big (my Pentax churns out bigger 1080p files), so you can archive them and, if necessary revisit later.
I don't know if this is ignorance but their sensors are pretty decent that surpasses the needs of any basic consumer here. The sensor does not churn out rubbish images, it's how it's debayered directly from the camera that gives you 'crappy' images, but stunning to the majority. So why fix an issue if there isn't any issue to begin with? ML hacks still receives stunning 14-bit images from these 'dark age' sensors and surpasses BMCC's standards.

Yes I know we can transcode and downscale 4K h.265 to any other intermediary codecs, but if the source can only hold so much information, downscaling it would only make I just sharper but still reside with the same colour space. Anyways I don't get what you're trying to tell me about 4K HEVC anyway, it's still a power hungry codec that requires a lot of CPU power to play. Lol
kadajawi
post Jul 20 2015, 03:45 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Jul 20 2015, 12:39 AM)
I don't know if this is ignorance but their sensors are pretty decent that surpasses the needs of any basic consumer here. The sensor does not churn out rubbish images, it's how it's debayered directly from the camera that gives you 'crappy' images, but stunning to the majority. So why fix an issue if there isn't any issue to begin with? ML hacks still receives stunning 14-bit images from these 'dark age' sensors and surpasses BMCC's standards.

Yes I know we can transcode and downscale 4K h.265 to any other intermediary codecs, but if the source can only hold so much information, downscaling it would only make I just sharper but still reside with the same colour space. Anyways I don't get what you're trying to tell me about 4K HEVC anyway, it's still a power hungry codec that requires a lot of CPU power to play. Lol
My phone gives me decent photos. tongue.gif Of course the Canons are good enough. Just not as good as competitors...

ML is pretty amazing, yes.

IIRC downscaling from 4k 8 bit to 1080p will also give you 10 bit video...

You just made it a huge deal to work with the NX1 files, but transcode anyway, and this is just temporary. The next gen GPUs will support 4K HEVC decoding, I believe the latest Intel Core generation does too?
VinceCheong
post Jul 20 2015, 11:45 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 20 2015, 04:45 AM)
My phone gives me decent photos. tongue.gif Of course the Canons are good enough. Just not as good as competitors...

ML is pretty amazing, yes.

IIRC downscaling from 4k 8 bit to 1080p will also give you 10 bit video...

You just made it a huge deal to work with the NX1 files, but transcode anyway, and this is just temporary. The next gen GPUs will support 4K HEVC decoding, I believe the latest Intel Core generation does too?
I didn't make it a huge deal in working with NX1 files, never done it before, don't think I would anytime soon in the future. I'm already complaining working in 4k DNGs now hahahah lol.

Mathematically yes you can up convert to 4k RGB then down covert to 10bit 4:4:4 sampling.
But if the condition you shoot at isn't great, doing this process doesn't really help thaaaat much. But I'll only apply this workflow with the GH4.

On the other hand, HEVC is generally performed as a end delivery process, same as H.264, and would probably be torn apart under heavy grading.
babysmile
post Jul 21 2015, 10:33 AM

DiY da BesT
554 posts

Want to ask those who have use Ronin or Ronin M gimbal.

I am having slight trouble on balancing the roll axis . I am using Canon 60D with 17-55 F2.8 IS. I have use manfrotto quick plates.

If I am using Manfrotto 323 photo base plate, I can able to get all balanced up.
If I am using Manfrotto 577 video base plate, I have trouble to balance the roll axis. The camera will automatically go back to center if i turn the camera angle.

I try to fine tune Advanced Roll section but it is kinda pain to troubleshoot. I need to understand is it too heavy when I put with manfrotto 577 plate? What is your setup then ?

Also anyone have using wireless focus when pairing with ronin M ? Which model do you feel is comfortable with value and performance ?
megatdanial
post Jul 21 2015, 12:05 PM

63 posts

Want to ask if there is a thread where a noob like me ask for help. Planning to learn videography and hopefully venture into this business. What are the essential things that i need to learn? and do i need to buy all the equipment or its better to rent? planning to shoot for weddings and events. Currently have a canon 7d
kayFX
post Jul 21 2015, 01:01 PM

i got title 0.o
913 posts

QUOTE(babysmile @ Jul 21 2015, 10:33 AM)
Want to ask those who have use Ronin or Ronin M gimbal.

I am having slight trouble on balancing the roll axis . I am using Canon 60D with 17-55 F2.8 IS. I have use manfrotto quick plates.

If I am using Manfrotto 323 photo base plate, I can able to get all balanced up.
If I am using Manfrotto 577 video base plate, I have trouble to balance the roll axis. The camera will automatically go back to center if i turn the camera angle.

I try to fine tune Advanced Roll section but it is kinda pain to troubleshoot. I need to understand is it too heavy when I put with manfrotto 577 plate? What is your setup then ?

Also anyone have using wireless focus when pairing with ronin M ? Which model do you feel is comfortable with value and performance ?
should have no problem iinm.. and what do you mean by "The camera will automatically go back to center if i turn the camera angle." ? the roll axis will always stay level.. im just using the universal plate provided..

so far there is one person in here using follow focus but with the original ronin.. you can try find the post a few pages back.. for ronin-m u need to buy extra parts --> Ronin - Follow Focus Mount (15mm) (Ronin/Ronin-M)
i think original ronin does come with it..

anyone ordered the thumb controller?

QUOTE(megatdanial @ Jul 21 2015, 12:05 PM)
Want to ask if there is a thread where a noob like me ask for help. Planning to learn videography and hopefully venture into this business. What are the essential things that i need to learn? and do i need to buy all the equipment or its better to rent? planning to shoot for weddings and events. Currently have a canon 7d
i watch a lot of youtube tutorial and try to get results by trying to replicate the video.. still in a learning process.. sweat.gif sifu VinceCheong can share some workflow involve and TS ocz maybe can update the first page with tips and tricks..
megatdanial
post Jul 21 2015, 02:05 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(kayFX @ Jul 21 2015, 01:01 PM)

i watch a lot of youtube tutorial and try to get results by trying to replicate the video.. still in a learning process.. sweat.gif sifu VinceCheong can share some workflow involve and TS ocz maybe can update the first page with tips and tricks..
Thanks for your reply. I would also like to know what brand of monopod that i could get to help me shoot easily for events? and can monopod be a stabilizer starter since buying a stabilizer is costly so i kinda wanna get experience first.
babysmile
post Jul 21 2015, 02:28 PM

DiY da BesT
554 posts

kayFX
I just add quick plate to make it "quick" swap to tripod or monopod to the dslr. The issue I have imagine if you turn your camera left or right like 45 degree , after release it will come back to center, not like will stay on that same position. When I turn on everything is fine for me, just I want to make it as perfect balance as possible but doesn't know the root cause on this.

now i have to practice my walking / running movement cause I can see my clip does like walking up down a bit.

I haven't get the thumb controller but I feel it is a great tool for solo shooter.

kayFX
post Jul 21 2015, 02:46 PM

i got title 0.o
913 posts

QUOTE(megatdanial @ Jul 21 2015, 02:05 PM)
Thanks for your reply. I would also like to know what brand of monopod that i could get to help me shoot easily for events? and can monopod be a stabilizer starter since buying a stabilizer is costly so i kinda wanna get experience first.
can use monopod as well to stabilize your video.. any monopod with a good video head will do the job fine.. investing on a glidecam is always good since you want to do wedding and event as well because you need to shoot and move at the same time.. for renting equipment i think they got contact on the first page..

70 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:31 AM