70 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Videography All About Videography, HDSLR

TSocz
post May 8 2012, 01:09 AM, updated 7y ago

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Guys, i created this thread for us who is interested in HDSLR or Videography to discuss in detail and in depth about it.
No matter the gears used, technique, skill, or even equipment.

We can share the DIY tools too.

UPDATE

QUOTE(adrian11 @ Jun 8 2015, 08:38 PM)
Just sharing some of my favourite and recommended film equipment rental contacts for those who might be interested.

AFE (Asia Film Equipment) +6012 3730702 Yuen
More up to date electronics like Movi , Ronin and Red Dragon 5k , Pegasus crane. Pretty much everything.

MotionEye +6013 3323721 Ah Keong
Drone rental and technician for DJI S900 and Ronin

TRH (The Rental House) +6019 2224950 Ah.Pew  |  +6012 2768016 Ah.Foo
Cheap , tons of equipment ,  well maintained , offers best grips and gaffers I have met so far.  Ask for Ah.Foo's team if you need gaffers

I havent used CineRent yet , I have heard their rentals are really expensive.

And If you need a KL based cameraman / camera assistant (AC) can contact me through PM. hehe
This post has been edited by ocz: Jun 9 2015, 11:47 AM
EightPhantomz
post May 8 2012, 04:13 AM

1,766 posts

Interesting stuff. Mine share yours first? Am thinking of using my m43 camera to record some videos (youtube etc). A very low budget starter project for myself aka new hobby.

The quality is alright. Just need to get a separate proper microfon like Zoom H1 etc.

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: May 8 2012, 04:14 AM
goldfries
post May 8 2012, 03:44 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

did this video with M43 - recorded using a Panasonic Lumix GF3. smile.gif Paired with the Lumix G Vario 14-42mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH OIS lens.

So yeah it's a Panasonic recording a Panasonic.

Sliding effect done using GlideTrack Shooter SD.
EightPhantomz
post May 8 2012, 06:02 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 8 2012, 03:44 PM)

did this video with M43 - recorded using a Panasonic Lumix GF3. smile.gif Paired with the Lumix G Vario 14-42mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH OIS lens.

So yeah it's a Panasonic recording a Panasonic.

Sliding effect done using GlideTrack Shooter SD.
LOL. Saw your video before. I own a GF3 too. Thanks for sharing!
RayX
post May 8 2012, 07:08 PM

167 posts

I've been think to do a video like this . but i don't really know how they move from one shooting angle to another smoothly . any ideas?
Ultra Combo #3

This post has been edited by RayX: May 8 2012, 07:18 PM
EightPhantomz
post May 8 2012, 09:27 PM

1,766 posts

This looks nice. A small camera mover.
Check out the video.
http://vimeo.com/39029491

Added on May 8, 2012, 10:31 pm"I Didn't Come Here to Die" is the feature-length debut of director Bradley Scott Sullivan. The film was shot on the Panasonic Lumix GH1 HD-DSLR in and around Austin, TX."
Source

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: May 8 2012, 10:31 PM
goldfries
post May 9 2012, 07:27 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

QUOTE(RayX @ May 8 2012, 07:08 PM)
I've been think to do a video like this . but i don't really know how they move from one shooting angle to another smoothly . any ideas?
Ultra Combo #3
k, saw the vid.

1. I'm sure they're using stabilizer.
2. For some fast movement from far to close up, or side to side, many of it are done via post processing.

a lot of editing was done, with careful planning on the scenes, then later piece them together with various effects.

I like the video. smile.gif
jloi
post May 9 2012, 08:16 AM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

Oh nice biggrin.gif i just did a video last week and just release to youtube last 2 days.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zh5AmcAfbAg

80% of the shot are using my Olympus E-P3 paired with 12mm and 14-54mm lens and remaining 20% from Nikon D5100. Mostly on tripod and some handheld.

Your comment help alot on where should improve smile.gif sound? lighting?
goldfries
post May 9 2012, 08:35 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

Just the introduction seems dark. Other than that, looks nice. Meaningful video. What did you use for sliding? I notice it's a little jerky.

the scene at about 1 minute the living room, I think the angle needs work.

Work place so good allow you to take video?

Sales person speech was soft though.
deodorant
post May 9 2012, 08:39 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

random teddy bear video lol. still got lots to learn about lighting and color correction sad.gif ... like the few shots in the toilet, color all lari but dunno how to correct it back to "normal"
Kclee2002
post May 9 2012, 10:18 AM

5,134 posts

One of my earlier videos few years back done mostly handheld and tripod with a Pentax K-7 + 550D

Did this later on with a slider + stabilizer

jloi
post May 9 2012, 12:14 PM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 9 2012, 08:35 AM)
Just the introduction seems dark. Other than that, looks nice. Meaningful video. What did you use for sliding? I notice it's a little jerky.

the scene at about 1 minute the living room, I think the angle needs work.

Work place so good allow you to take video?

Sales person speech was soft though.
Thanks for ya comment senior biggrin.gif

1) was using chair to pan and yea, not smooth coz the chair wheel was abit wee wang wang
2) Intro was dark because we try to show they house always no people around, soulless. Well, I cant 100% say i manage to convoy that message to audiences X)
3) Work place we do ask permission adi smile.gif Thats explain why at d end of d credit we special thanks them.
4) sales person speech soft yea...i realize that too. Plus the place air cond blowing wind sound was so noisy ;/

we do not have any external mic. Would it be wise to invest? Not necessaries need to plug in with camera jack. Saw Nigel Sia did that for his commercial work.

Added on May 9, 2012, 12:15 pm
QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ May 9 2012, 10:18 AM)
One of my earlier videos few years back done mostly handheld and tripod with a Pentax K-7 + 550D

Nais biggrin.gif

Slider custom made or bought?

This post has been edited by jloi: May 9 2012, 12:15 PM
Kclee2002
post May 9 2012, 12:44 PM

5,134 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ May 9 2012, 12:14 PM)
Thanks for ya comment senior biggrin.gif

1) was using chair to pan and yea, not smooth coz the chair wheel was abit wee wang wang
2) Intro was dark because we try to show they house always no people around, soulless. Well, I cant 100% say i manage to convoy that message to audiences X)
3) Work place we do ask permission adi smile.gif Thats explain why at d end of d credit we special thanks them.
4) sales person speech soft yea...i realize that too. Plus the place air cond blowing wind sound was so noisy ;/

we do not have any external mic. Would it be wise to invest? Not necessaries need to plug in with camera jack. Saw Nigel Sia did that for his commercial work.

Added on May 9, 2012, 12:15 pm

Nais biggrin.gif

Slider custom made or bought?
Using Konova 80cm ball-bearing slider. The Igus one is cheaper/diy-able, but the weight load on the slider is quite low.
RayX
post May 9 2012, 07:31 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 9 2012, 07:27 AM)
k, saw the vid.

1. I'm sure they're using stabilizer.
2. For some fast movement from far to close up, or side to side, many of it are done via post processing.

a lot of editing was done, with careful planning on the scenes, then later piece them together with various effects.

I like the video. smile.gif
They're quite reputable for making video game-like action scenes .
Let's say i want to change from a viewing angle to another, do i call my actors to freeze and not to move till i started filming the 2nd angle?
goldfries
post May 9 2012, 08:06 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

i donno man, some scenes look like they have to freeze and such.
RayX
post May 9 2012, 08:26 PM

167 posts

haha , ok , thanks for the help anyway biggrin.gif
EightPhantomz
post May 9 2012, 08:58 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ May 9 2012, 10:18 AM)

Nice vids bro! Not much comment from me on the cinematography. Dont want to comment on the acting. LOL.

QUOTE(RayX @ May 9 2012, 07:31 PM)
They're quite reputable for making video game-like action scenes .
Let's say i want to change from a viewing angle to another, do i call my actors to freeze and not to move till i started filming the 2nd angle?
Yes alot of stops/freezes. I saw similar vids where they also showed the making.

Keep it coming guys. Love all the vids. Would appreciate it if you share the setups / settings aswell so we can learn with each other.
goldfries
post May 9 2012, 09:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

My Setup

----------------

My newbie-ish tip / guide on videography.

END HERE. I will edit this post (or 1st post, if it's ever placed there). Still considered newbie in the field.

EightPhantomz
post May 9 2012, 09:49 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 9 2012, 09:33 PM)
My Setup

----------------

My newbie-ish tip / guide on videography.

END HERE. I will edit this post (or 1st post, if it's ever placed there). Still considered newbie in the field.

Loads of expensive stuff there! whistling.gif

Anyway, thanks for sharing! thumbup.gif

jloi
post May 9 2012, 09:56 PM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

nice sharing session goldfries

70 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled