89 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Interview, What to prepare...

Tenchu
post Sep 18 2006, 10:55 AM

69 posts

It is known that it is our disadvantages if we state our expected salary.

However, the interviewers these days, are also smart enough to "throw the ball" back to us. Infact they are insisting you to tell them ur expected salary.

How to avoid been giving out my expected salary in such case?

This post has been edited by Tenchu: Sep 18 2006, 10:55 AM
hans.excel
post Sep 18 2006, 11:19 AM

401 posts

QUOTE(Tenchu @ Sep 18 2006, 10:55 AM)

However, the interviewers these days, are also smart enough to "throw the ball" back to us. Infact they are insisting you to tell them ur expected salary.

i guess you should try to refrain from talking about the salary until you have entirely presented what you know and what you can do for the employer first. After that, you could always state your salary in a range format. for example, if you are really want RM2,000 , you could ranged it like this Rm1,950 to Rm2,200. But if you want a minimum of Rm2,000 , then you can try a range of rm2,000 to rm 2,300. a compant will usually have a standard salary scale, so you will have to start somewhere in the scale. and where you start depends on you abilities and the output that the employer perceived that they can get from you.

anyhow, remember when you want to buy a product like a tv, you would want to know about the features first right? and you are willing to pay for the features if you want them. it is the same case with negotiating salary, the more knowledge and skills you have, the employer will definately willing to pay a bit more for your services.
SUSvkeong
post Sep 19 2006, 02:20 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

<< MOVED to Standard Interview Questions >>

This post has been edited by vkeong: Sep 20 2006, 01:23 PM
TSMavik
post Sep 20 2006, 12:05 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Great information but I think it would be more suited for the other topic on Standard Interview Questions.

Mods, perhaps you could move it there?
TSMavik
post Sep 20 2006, 12:07 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Tenchu @ Sep 18 2006, 10:55 AM)

Nowadays companies are getting pretty strict in terms of salary negotiation. If you are coming in from another company, there are a lot of instances where they will ask you to bring a copy of your latest pay slip.

I guess you are right to say that the salary negotiation playing field has dwindled but it is a must from a company's point of view of ever increasing labour cost.
SUSvkeong
post Sep 20 2006, 01:23 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Sep 20 2006, 12:05 PM)
Great information but I think it would be more suited for the other topic on Standard Interview Questions.

Mods, perhaps you could move it there?
Oops

Sorry I will move it
cuebiz
post Sep 20 2006, 02:48 PM

992 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Sep 20 2006, 12:07 PM)
Nowadays companies are getting pretty strict in terms of salary negotiation. If you are coming in from another company, there are a lot of instances where they will ask you to bring a copy of your latest pay slip.

I guess you are right to say that the salary negotiation playing field has dwindled but it is a must from a company's point of view of ever increasing labour cost.
I would say you have find out what is the market rate salary for the job you are applying. Usually, this question will come up during the 2nd interview. They will ask you how much you are asking for and you need to give a figure. If they dun hire you, it is not necessary the salary that is the main factor that they make the decision.
goliath
post Sep 20 2006, 02:55 PM

5,532 posts

At times you have to state your expected salary in a given application form during the interview day.

Sometimes, interviewers will ask you for the minimum salary that you could go for.
bibi_dar
post Oct 10 2006, 11:50 PM

27 posts

Ok.. What happens after the interview? How long do we wait for a reply and how do we follow up? I do not want to wait by the phone rclxub.gif .. Any suggestions?
goliath
post Oct 11 2006, 11:37 AM

5,532 posts

After the interview session, write a thank you note to them via e-mail.

Interviewers will tell you how long to wait for a reply (normally it takes 2 to 3 weeks). But after a week or so, try to follow up with them. Send them an e-mail or give them a call to ask the status. At the mean time, look for more jobs as you wait for the results smile.gif
jdreamer
post Oct 21 2006, 06:14 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Btw, if they offer a salary which is not the expected salary of urs, is it okie for us to nego with them again?
goliath
post Oct 21 2006, 06:29 PM

5,532 posts

Yeah. Shouldn't be a problem. But most of the time, they will decide whether your requirements meet the expectation or not.
jdreamer
post Oct 21 2006, 07:04 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Okie, if they write in the application form that I need to work for 8 hours but when they called me for the interview and told me that I need to work for 9 hours, can I nego for higher salary since the salary they're offering is not what I expected while I need to work for more?
goliath
post Oct 21 2006, 07:08 PM

5,532 posts

If that's the case, you could ask for more. Sometimes they include OT, allowance etc which eventually sum up to your expected salary (or even more).

Don't keep your hopes high though as they have a pool of candidates to choose from. But as we all know, it is common to work more even if it is stated there 10 hours job or so. It is total crap that they will stick to their words. Only a few companies practice it.
jdreamer
post Oct 21 2006, 08:00 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Maybe I'll try to ask whether they include that as OT.
Canopies
post Nov 23 2006, 01:01 PM

2,733 posts

just be bold and be agressive
e-jump
post Nov 27 2006, 10:25 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

say, should one send a thank you email after attending a walk-in interview full of 300+ candidates?
igor_is300
post Nov 27 2006, 10:32 AM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Nov 27 2006, 10:25 AM)
say, should one send a thank you email after attending a walk-in interview full of 300+ candidates?
Not necessarily unless you were attending a close interview via a reccomendation from an insider.
ronaldoo
post Nov 29 2006, 03:10 AM

526 posts

I have a question leh. i attended interview yesterday. They asked for my previous manager contact as referee. should i give or should not. pls advise.

goliath
post Nov 29 2006, 05:18 PM

5,532 posts

Go ahead. Give them unless you have bad reputation in your previous company.

89 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:50 PM