Milk in Malaysia, Cheapeast Milk for the best protein

TSArmesh
post May 7 2012, 12:00 AM, updated 14y ago

1,493 posts

I love to drink milk because it is high in protein, has high quality protein, taste great, and fulling. I normally buy the Dutch Lady Full Cream Fresh Milk (1 litre). It cost be about RM 4 and it normally finished in 2 days. I drink around 2 glasses a day, 1 in the morning and 1 at night cause it is casein protein so it absorbs slowly through the day keeping the protein level in my blood balanced, especially at night when sleeping. So RM 4 for 4 cups finish in 2 days I reli feel it's too expensive.... So do anyone of you know any good cheap milk with high protein in Malaysia?

This post has been edited by Armesh: May 7 2012, 12:01 AM
sanji17
post May 7 2012, 12:07 AM

29 posts

milk given to primary school, brand dutch lady also, good quality

Dagger69
post May 7 2012, 12:11 AM

u no say?
1,196 posts

dutch lady? thats like 8g++ of protein per 250ml right? not that high. but you can use it to gain weight.

Im drinking HL Milk, gives 50g protein per liter. RM6.30..expensive compare to your RM4 milk. I plan to check out those 2 liters milk..i think around rm11-rm12.

There are plenty of milks out there..just go to the hypermarket and check out 1 by 1..and compare the prices.

This post has been edited by Dagger69: May 7 2012, 12:17 AM
ChipZ
post May 7 2012, 12:39 AM

1,330 posts

The price of HL milk actually fluctuate from time to time. I just bought mine at RM5.45 just now. And sometimes those mini marts is selling even cheaper than hypermarket
Dagger69
post May 7 2012, 12:42 AM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ May 7 2012, 12:39 AM)
The price of HL milk actually fluctuate from time to time. I just bought mine at RM5.45 just now. And sometimes those mini marts is selling even cheaper than hypermarket
Thats cheap. Where you got it? mini mart? RM6 is from jusco shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by Dagger69: May 7 2012, 12:43 AM
TSArmesh
post May 7 2012, 12:47 AM

1,493 posts

Even the Dutch Lady fresh Milk I buy also the price frequently fluctuates between 3.50-4.50.
ChipZ
post May 7 2012, 12:48 AM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(Dagger69 @ May 7 2012, 12:42 AM)
Thats cheap. Where you got it? mini mart? RM6 is from jusco  shakehead.gif
I got mine from Tesco. The price is not constant. I noticed 99 speedmart is always selling at RM5.49 from my observation from past 3 weeks
Dagger69
post May 7 2012, 12:50 AM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ May 7 2012, 12:48 AM)
I got mine from Tesco. The price is not constant. I noticed 99 speedmart is always selling at RM5.49 from my observation from past 3 weeks
I see. Well you reminded me of the kedai rakyat 1malaysia. Gonna check it out soon if they have HL milk.

Added on May 7, 2012, 12:51 am
QUOTE(Armesh @ May 7 2012, 12:47 AM)
Even the Dutch Lady fresh Milk I buy also the price frequently fluctuates between 3.50-4.50.
if you have extra cash, go for HL. Its a good source of ''cheap'' protein.

This post has been edited by Dagger69: May 7 2012, 12:51 AM
TSArmesh
post May 7 2012, 12:56 AM

1,493 posts

The way I count is protein/RM. So for Dutch Lady Full Cream Fresh Milk it's
7.5g/RM.
john123x
post May 7 2012, 12:57 AM

3,019 posts

are u guys healthy fanatics?
Kazz123
post May 7 2012, 12:58 AM

110 posts

shocking.gif yawn.gif
yeezai
post May 7 2012, 01:07 AM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

HL have the highest protein among all other brand..go see their label...no kidding..
sickboy
post May 7 2012, 06:39 AM

473 posts

Best price for HL

KK is RM5.20
99 speedmart is RM5.49

I'm buying one bottle of HL everyday now after evening workout and drink it half and another half during the next morning. No spending on whey.
mikehuan
post May 7 2012, 07:55 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(sickboy @ May 7 2012, 06:39 AM)
Best price for HL

KK is RM5.20
99 speedmart is RM5.49

I'm buying one bottle of HL everyday now after evening workout and drink it half and another half during the next morning. No spending on whey.
Why not? Whey is cheaper isnt it?
tineagle
post May 7 2012, 10:40 AM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ May 7 2012, 07:55 AM)
yup, price/gram of protein Whey and Eggs are best value. sadly not many people realize this.
reddevilchoo
post May 7 2012, 10:47 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ May 7 2012, 08:55 AM)
Whey is cheaper actually.

I was thinking whether to change whey into HL milk instead but after calculation, whey is still a better choice.
hermione86
post May 7 2012, 10:55 AM

HL is da best so far biggrin.gif
HonMun
post May 7 2012, 10:59 AM

Professor
1,052 posts

Try to drink milk at mamak shop see how much it cost ?
danielmattson
post May 7 2012, 11:17 AM

1,001 posts

I prefer to drink Nestle fresh Milk.. Its high quality and tasty.
krfan
post May 7 2012, 01:19 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ May 7 2012, 10:40 AM)
yup, price/gram of protein Whey and Eggs are best value. sadly not many people realize this.
QUOTE(reddevilchoo @ May 7 2012, 10:47 AM)
Whey is cheaper actually.

I was thinking whether to change whey into HL milk instead but after calculation, whey is still a better choice.
Of course whey protein is cheaper than what you can get directly from milk. However, you've got to remember that processed foods have got lower bioavailability. What i usually do is to incorporate both my protein powder and normal protein sources to meet my daily requirements.
-Dan
post May 7 2012, 01:29 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(krfan @ May 7 2012, 01:19 PM)
Of course whey protein is cheaper than what you can get directly from milk. However, you've got to remember that processed foods have got lower bioavailability. What i usually do is to incorporate both my protein powder and normal protein sources to meet my daily requirements.
Actually, whey has the highest bio availability value when it comes to protein.
entryman
post May 7 2012, 01:40 PM

2,179 posts

But you don't get the necessary fats by consuming whey alone.

So perhaps whey + milk? Or whey + eggs.
-Dan
post May 7 2012, 03:18 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ May 7 2012, 01:40 PM)

Well that's a given, but since we were talking about bioavailability alone.. yeah.
kicksense
post May 7 2012, 07:54 PM

285 posts

Yes i agree with Mike and Dan also. Whey is the best and value for money protein source.

Other than that, egg will do. Cheap. But hope u can 'tahan' to eat it everyday.
gnsumas
post May 7 2012, 10:38 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ May 7 2012, 01:40 PM)

Eat/drink all of 'em ahaha

I usually use a BB.com funnel and mix one scoop of protein with a carton of milk and drink the entire thing.

Things that come from cows ftw!
MugenK20A
post May 7 2012, 10:48 PM

1,244 posts

Which HL milk version? The low fat one? What's the biggest packing available?
kurtkob78
post May 7 2012, 11:01 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

why do you need the fat in themilk. its saturated fat. i tot its healthier to take some unsaturated fat. however milk is good for calcium source. does whey protein or skim milk contains calcium?
xHj09
post May 7 2012, 11:28 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

Best price for HL

KK is RM5.20
99 speedmart is RM5.49

KK labour day promotion ended. No longer RM5.19.
speedmart sells the cheapest HL Milk @ RM5.49. Been to all sorts of mini marts and hypermarket.
gnsumas
post May 8 2012, 02:03 AM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ May 7 2012, 11:01 PM)
why do you need the fat in themilk. its saturated fat. i tot its healthier to take some unsaturated fat. however milk is good for calcium source. does whey protein or skim milk contains calcium?
Skim milk contains calcium, but really, whole milk is better bang for your buck.
mikehuan
post May 8 2012, 07:57 AM

6,160 posts

That wasnt the point. The point was protein source. Youre comparing something else here.
darkseifer
post May 8 2012, 09:18 AM

255 posts

Why do you think that saturated fat is unhealthy?
kurtkob78
post May 8 2012, 01:24 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

reading from all the article saying saturated fat is unhealthy. are you saying saturated fat is not unhealthy?
darkseifer
post May 8 2012, 05:16 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ May 8 2012, 01:24 PM)
reading from all the article saying saturated fat is unhealthy. are you saying saturated fat is not unhealthy?
It is not inherently unhealthy. Depends on context. To simply say that it is unhealthy is oversimplification.
sickboy
post May 8 2012, 09:53 PM

473 posts

Sorry for bad maths

From my calculating, 500ml of HL gives you 26g protein and this goes for RM2.75

One scoop of whey, vary from 22g-26g protein normally cost for RM3.XX per scoope

Or are you guys comparing the quality of the protein here

Added on May 8, 2012, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(xHj09 @ May 7 2012, 11:28 PM)
KK labour day promotion ended. No longer RM5.19.
speedmart sells the cheapest HL Milk @ RM5.49. Been to all sorts of mini marts and hypermarket.
That sucks.

Either way, you can get price of RM5.20-RM5.30 from certain convenient stores. Eg those Chinese medicine convenient shops

This post has been edited by sickboy: May 8 2012, 09:56 PM
mikehuan
post May 9 2012, 12:53 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(sickboy @ May 8 2012, 09:53 PM)
Sorry for bad maths

From my calculating, 500ml of HL gives you 26g protein and this goes for RM2.75

One scoop of whey, vary from 22g-26g protein normally cost for RM3.XX per scoope

Or are you guys comparing the quality of the protein here

Added on May 8, 2012, 9:56 pm

That sucks.

Either way, you can get price of RM5.20-RM5.30 from certain convenient stores. Eg those Chinese medicine convenient shops
Taking ON Whey 5lbs as an example, other products might differ i dont know

80 servings per container @ RM175 = RM2.20 rounded up.
mmiau
post May 10 2012, 10:24 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ May 7 2012, 12:47 AM)
Dude, where you get your Dutch Lady milk. Quite cheap. I usually got mine around 4.90
adix4
post May 10 2012, 10:43 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

if i'm on keto i will use dutch lady Lol, dat dere fat and dat dere price
TSArmesh
post May 10 2012, 11:35 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(mmiau @ May 10 2012, 10:24 PM)
Dude, where you get your Dutch Lady milk. Quite cheap. I usually got mine around 4.90
Econsave
jonathandawn
post May 11 2012, 06:33 PM

13 posts

milk has more carbs, compared to whey which only has around 2g per scoop

Added on May 11, 2012, 6:38 pmcarrefour has offer for HL milk too, i bought for RM5.45

This post has been edited by jonathandawn: May 11 2012, 06:38 PM
yeezai
post May 11 2012, 07:25 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

QUOTE(jonathandawn @ May 11 2012, 06:33 PM)
milk has more carbs, compared to whey which only has around 2g per scoop

Added on May 11, 2012, 6:38 pmcarrefour has offer for HL milk too, i bought for RM5.45
last time when i was just starting out i down a litre of HL everyday for few mths...then i cant tahan ord i stop taking it for a while hahaha make me wanna puke...
jonathandawn
post May 11 2012, 07:39 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ May 11 2012, 07:25 PM)
last time when i was just starting out i down a litre of HL everyday for few mths...then i cant tahan ord i stop taking it for a while hahaha make me wanna puke...
some cant even drink milk due to lactose intolerant haha
kuanyu
post May 20 2013, 03:48 PM

46 posts

How come no one mentioned V-Soy? Tastes a lot better than milk <3
Kelv
post May 20 2013, 05:39 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(kuanyu @ May 20 2013, 03:48 PM)
How come no one mentioned V-Soy? Tastes a lot better than milk <3
V-Soy = Soya Bean.
kuanyu
post May 20 2013, 05:56 PM

46 posts

Soy Milk also milk biggrin.gif

But if it had to be from the cow.. the it's Dutch Lady. HL tastes a bit sweet.

This post has been edited by kuanyu: May 20 2013, 05:57 PM
zacharyseng
post May 24 2013, 12:54 AM

216 posts

milk is not a very reliable protein source but more of a fat source. drink as much as u like but dont make it your "main protein source"
Dagger69
post May 24 2013, 01:35 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

HL milk at KK mart RM5.90. @.@

How about Speedmart? Still RM5.49?

I just got back from overseas.
takkicom
post May 27 2013, 03:43 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ May 7 2012, 01:07 AM)
HL have the highest protein among all other brand..go see their label...no kidding..
icon_idea.gif
no wonder they taste like protein supplement

This post has been edited by takkicom: May 27 2013, 03:43 PM
Rev (^_^')
post May 27 2013, 06:24 PM

103 posts

How about powdered milk?
iCryz
post May 27 2013, 07:27 PM

112 posts

breast milk?haahaha
gonzalo20
post Sep 16 2013, 08:16 PM

Cuckoo Agent
927 posts

Best price for HL

KK is RM5.20
99 speedmart is RM5.49

effective?
helven
post Sep 20 2013, 01:30 AM

Doko Online
919 posts

Packed Soya Bean has damn lots of sugars, woo tasty huh? I suggest either you make your own soya bean or forget about that shit. Whey is best bang of buck and who says milk is not processed?

Despite everything, for milk, HL is the best.
nujikabane
post Oct 5 2013, 10:14 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

I have read the thread from the start, and it is funny how much the price can change in a year. Talk about the rise in the cost of living. Hidup Kerajaan!

By the way, I find HL a tad too sweet for my liking, and I prefer the Goodday fresh milk. Don't really care about the price/protein, as I am more concern on how the milk tastes biggrin.gif
GameFr3ak
post Oct 8 2013, 07:28 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Oct 5 2013, 10:14 PM)
I have read the thread from the start, and it is funny how much the price can change in a year. Talk about the rise in the cost of living. Hidup Kerajaan!

By the way, I find HL a tad too sweet for my liking, and I prefer the Goodday fresh milk. Don't really care about the price/protein, as I am more concern on how the milk tastes biggrin.gif
Ditch the milk, get whey yo...
Phc
post Oct 8 2013, 07:29 PM

104 posts

Unless you buy non fat MILK, if not you are consuming way more fats then protein from the milk...
CargoCult
post Oct 11 2013, 02:06 PM

230 posts

Fat is not the enemy. We need fat in our diet. 20-30% of our total calories should be fat.

Any chocolate milk fans? Chocolate milk is one of my food mainstays, love it! I chug a litre down in less than 10 mins whenever I buy a carton. Goodday chocolate milk is alright, marigold chocolate is the best.
SUSRazer_coc
post Feb 22 2019, 12:11 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(CargoCult @ Oct 11 2013, 02:06 PM)
Fat is not the enemy. We need fat in our diet. 20-30% of our total calories should be fat.

Any chocolate milk fans? Chocolate milk is one of my food mainstays, love it! I chug a litre down in less than 10 mins whenever I buy a carton. Goodday chocolate milk is alright, marigold chocolate is the best.
Other than these two do you recommend me any other brands of chocolate milk ? I used to drink HL and Dutch lady but to me they are a bit sweet
overfloe
post Mar 5 2019, 10:33 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,205 posts

Dutch Lady milk with extra protein: https://www.dutchlady.com.my/plusprotein/

Nutritional facts not published so need to check out in supermarket..

0.0357sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:43 PM