Ivy Bridge Overclocking V1 | 3770K/3570K | Z77, Torture Your CPU, Post It Here!
Apr 29 2013, 07:02 PM
126 posts Joined: Feb 2012 From: Kota Kinabalu |
Alrite bro, thanks for the info. will post some updates on temps once got everything in order!
Apr 29 2013, 10:25 PM
2,827 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: MALAYSIA |
May 2 2013, 04:05 PM
588 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang | Puchong | Malacca |
Just got the 3770k yesterday, and installed today. Didn't even play with the 3570k as much as I had planned to. The i7 is a Malaysian batch but temps appear to be rather good. Just hope it OC's decently.
May 2 2013, 04:08 PM
12,000 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Banting, Puchong, KL |
PSPS, guys... should i change cooler coz casing seems warm like hell
so what cooling brand should i take? |
May 2 2013, 07:06 PM
May 2 2013, 07:08 PM
May 2 2013, 07:10 PM
Sounds bad
How many fans inside the casing, where are they located (and whether is intake or exhaust) and also what cooler you currently using for the cpu |
May 2 2013, 09:33 PM
10 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
May 3 2013, 06:52 AM
8,711 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Butterworth, PG / Machang, Kelantan |
QUOTE(souq @ May 2 2013, 09:33 PM) hehe. yup... pisau lipat... hehe Well done. Nothing wrong with the settings and temps except for the minimum ones.ok here is my latest OC.. i will stop here i maybe, enough voltage and temperature rise... tak berani to increase more voltage.. what do you guys think? Are they really your idle temps or you launched RealTemp during priming? Your CPU's vCore is like any other average chip. |
May 3 2013, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(raydenex @ May 2 2013, 07:10 PM) Sounds bad How many fans inside the casing, where are they located (and whether is intake or exhaust) and also what cooler you currently using for the cpu 1x at HDD 1x beside mobo.. so what's CPU cooler i get n mine i5 3570K clocked to 3.8Ghz This post has been edited by mudkipryan94: May 3 2013, 01:36 PM |
May 3 2013, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(owikh84 @ May 3 2013, 06:52 AM) Well done. Nothing wrong with the settings and temps except for the minimum ones. ouh.. nope.. the idle temp is around 36-40C only.. i launched RealTemp during priming.. huhuhuAre they really your idle temps or you launched RealTemp during priming? Your CPU's vCore is like any other average chip. tq |
May 3 2013, 04:55 PM
18,503 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: P.Jaya |
May 3 2013, 06:49 PM
May 3 2013, 08:27 PM
May 3 2013, 09:53 PM
164 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Kajang, Selangor |
Will a different in ram latency effect processor overclocking stability?
Today I just sold my i5 3570k(Malaysia) and bought another i5 3570k(Costa Rica) hoping to found a better chip than my previous 3570k. In the end, it is just the same. Need 1.356v for 4.4Ghz. My ram is Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz cl8 2x4GB. Will changing the latency from c8 to c9 improved stability? |
May 4 2013, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(spdboyz @ May 3 2013, 09:53 PM) Will a different in ram latency effect processor overclocking stability? Higher CAS and other timings if set correctly generally will improve stability, but at lower performance.Today I just sold my i5 3570k(Malaysia) and bought another i5 3570k(Costa Rica) hoping to found a better chip than my previous 3570k. In the end, it is just the same. Need 1.356v for 4.4Ghz. My ram is Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz cl8 2x4GB. Will changing the latency from c8 to c9 improved stability? A quick alternative to cut down the vCore is to grab the ASRock OC Formula and expect to get at least 0.06v lower than any Asus mobo. On your current board, you might try to increase the CPU PLL volt from 1.80v to 1.85v/1.90v. You might get lower vCore without hurting the performance. |
May 4 2013, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(souq @ May 3 2013, 08:27 PM) The temps look fine. Idle temps should be the same or slightly higher than room/ambient temp so I could see that you rig is running in a airconded room.Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra/ Pro would give you at least 10C than any normal thermal paste, this result applies for delidded chips only. |
May 4 2013, 10:40 AM
Bro owikh84, is it normal for these Ivy's to have such large differences of temp between the 4 cores? My current 3770k has the first core usually idling at 42*C with the rest of the 3 idling around 35/36*C (non-aircond room). But when under Linx load, all 4 are usually about equal 68/69*C. I've realised even since switching to Intel/Ivy I've been too anal and obsessed about temperatures.
May 4 2013, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(raydenex @ May 4 2013, 10:40 AM) Bro owikh84, is it normal for these Ivy's to have such large differences of temp between the 4 cores? My current 3770k has the first core usually idling at 42*C with the rest of the 3 idling around 35/36*C (non-aircond room). But when under Linx load, all 4 are usually about equal 68/69*C. I've realised even since switching to Intel/Ivy I've been too anal and obsessed about temperatures. The temp difference between core is normal since previous generations. You might even see one core is 10C hotter than the rest.The hottest core is usually the most active one, although at idle state. You might see the core temps change when changing to different thermal paste, heatsink/waterblock, mounting orientation etc. Check out post #2 there are submissions by others to compare with your temps. |
May 6 2013, 09:50 AM
164 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Kajang, Selangor |
QUOTE(owikh84 @ May 4 2013, 10:02 AM) Higher CAS and other timings if set correctly generally will improve stability, but at lower performance. My chip is still not stable at 4.5Ghz even after increasing CPU PLL volt to 1.90v and Vcore at 1.40x. At 1.33x Vcore, 4.4Ghz runs perfectly stable. A quick alternative to cut down the vCore is to grab the ASRock OC Formula and expect to get at least 0.06v lower than any Asus mobo. On your current board, you might try to increase the CPU PLL volt from 1.80v to 1.85v/1.90v. You might get lower vCore without hurting the performance. Is my chip is limited to 4.4Ghz? This post has been edited by spdboyz: May 6 2013, 10:07 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0358sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:06 PM |