Photography Travel Photography, when travelling meets photography...
Mar 30 2012, 01:17 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
well, that's what I'm saying la.
Mar 30 2012, 01:25 PM
10,510 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Atlanta |
QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Mar 30 2012, 01:01 PM) Yes indeed... well, it is good as sometimes when I want to plan for a photography trip but I have no idea on the when where how... Let me give some places that is really for photographing.hopefully this thread here will be a bit of helpful for us And those pictures... are indeed very poisoning... Seoul!! Ho Chi Min!! Macau!! Japan!! France!! keep it going!! Bromo at Indonesia Angkor wat at Cambodia Lake inle at Myanmar Red Earth at China |
Mar 30 2012, 01:27 PM
11,811 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
travel picture shud be more of the local scenery?
Mar 30 2012, 01:56 PM
5,362 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Johor Bahru |
i think travel photography is more like scenic view + street photography. You can't take a nice scenic photo of Mt Fuji and say it is street photography. Of course you will still shoot some street actions when you are jalan-jalan.
So i dun think this thread is redundant to the street photography thread. Just my 2 sen. This post has been edited by Cynox: Mar 30 2012, 01:57 PM |
Mar 30 2012, 02:09 PM
3,239 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Nice. Thanks for the tips, especially sniper one for the Paris. I have upcoming trip (a first for me) to Europe.
Location: Sunderland, Manchester, London, Amsterdam, Paris, Naples, Rome, Pisa, Florence, Venice and few days for undecided locations around UK. Seeing all these photos make me more stress and will be more careful with planning lol |
Mar 30 2012, 02:18 PM
23,414 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taipei |
QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 30 2012, 02:09 PM) Nice. Thanks for the tips, especially sniper one for the Paris. I have upcoming trip (a first for me) to Europe. I can also do Amsterdam, Naples and Rome Location: Sunderland, Manchester, London, Amsterdam, Paris, Naples, Rome, Pisa, Florence, Venice and few days for undecided locations around UK. Seeing all these photos make me more stress and will be more careful with planning lol Added on March 30, 2012, 4:04 pmGot your PM but I think just reply here since the post became rather long.... so other people can tip in also. Amsterdam ![]() IMG_4321 by vmwt, on Flickr Gear: Standard focal range will do. Place to see and shoot: - Bicycles. Lots of bicycles. Most convenient is the huge bicycle parking area in front of Amsterdam main railway station. - Speaking of which, you can also join the yellow bike tour but photographically will be limited to point and shooting. Renting a bicycle is also an option but a dangerous one cos the local ride like giler wan. - Obviously the walk around the maze of canals for some scenic shots.. explore the boat houses and the architecture of senget townhouses next to the canals. The lighting condition is always awesome. - Bulldog "coffee shop" is always a colorful place. - Check out the bars... especially Old Sailor pub near the red light district. It could be very busy but if you're there on off peak hours...the boss/bartender is a retired sailor with LOTS of stories to tell. Don't ask him about rum varieties or you'll regret it - Speaking of red light district.. you can't take pictures there but what's Amsterdam without checking it out..besides... they have greatly reduced in numbers over the years and may dissappear soon. At least that's the city's plans la. Actually there's 2 red light district... there's another one for the local which is a little off the city center. This one more interesting.. can take silhoutte picture from opposite the road. I've yet to do it... maybe next visit. - For food.. Definately try the fries shop with different toppings and my personal fav.. Kam Yin surinam restaurant near the Red light district. Cheap and cheerful and as they open till late.. Its full of characters from locals to stoners to drug dealers to afterwork prostitutes Naples ![]() IMG_5854 by vmwt, on Flickr Gear: Standard and UWA preferred. Place to see and shoot: - City of rubbish piles... LOADs of rubbish piles every 10 meters, african immigrants selling fake Gucci's on the street, cracked shop windows and people trying to mug you (be careful at night) - Da Michele pizza is a local institution but personally speaking, forget it cos it's IMPOSSIBLE to get in. Expect to wait for hours. Try the Pizza Margherita (a protected DOC in the EU) in Ciro's instead. It's pricier but a nice dining experience.. - If you're looking for spectacular "wow" shots... Napoli itself is not the place though I recommend you choose a hotel on top of the hill like Hotel Paradiso... even if you do not fork out for full view room ( they have different catergory of view.. 25%, 50% etc).. you can always walk out and take the spectacular view of the bay of Naples with Mt.Vesuvius in the background. - Best thing to shoot in Naples is... take a short ~30minute ferry ride to Capri island instead... It's ABSOLUTELY DROP DEAD GORGEOUS. Expect charming, rustic small town with high end boutiques, expensive meals, blue sea, blue sky and beautiful people. No wonder a lot of celebrities (armani for one) has villas here. Take the round island boat trip... its worth it. In this case, a travel zoom with image stabilization works best. Also scenic trails which actually leads to people's homes that you can explore. Its a huge contrast with city of Naples. Expect one full day to be not enough. - Pompeii and Herculaneum is also a ~30min train ride away from Napoli. - I heard that Sorrento (about same distance) is also awesome but haven't checked it out yet. Rome ![]() IMG_0104 by vmwt, on Flickr Gear: UWA and travel zoom. Travel zoom cos sometimes need to zoom past the wall of fellow tourist. Place to see and shoot: - Run out of steam di writing this wall of text but essentially Rome is Rome... tourist capital of the world. Everywhere is full of tourist so boh pien... just visit the famous sites lo. - If absolutely MUST visit the Sistine Chapel...need to book waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay in advance. - The museums and Vatican is also anti-tripod. So be warned. This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Mar 30 2012, 04:48 PM |
Mar 30 2012, 04:21 PM
632 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Well, I think Travel Photography is about what you see when you travel... what you experience and feel about the place... I guess this is why we travel at the very first place, right? And the picture will be very much all about the place you visit!
Maybe for example the picture will be easily recognized by someone: "Ah! I know this is shot in XXX place!" or "I have been to this place before but shooting the same subject from a different perspective or different season". Street Photography is more like taking the moments, activities & people around the corner, which the attention is more towards the subject rather than location (IMHO). So Travel Photography should be a blend of all forms of photography... it is just that you are doing all that during your travel. For example when you visit Japan you can do street photograph on the old village, do some macro on the sakura, then take some landscape of Mount Fuji and seaside, then... and the list goes on! For me, I not just want to take pictures when I travel, I want to see, feel & understand on the things that will appear in my picture as well. So it will not just become "just another photo" at the end of the day... it will become a memory which I can treasure in years to come. Just my 2 cents... |
Mar 30 2012, 04:30 PM
Unfortunately most of my more memorable pics cannot post online wan.. Hahaha...
Mar 30 2012, 04:43 PM
For me, travel photography can be any type of photography la.
Landscape, nature, street, macro, even product and portraits. Sniper, why memorable pics cannot post online wan? You are 2nd Edison ah? keke |
Mar 30 2012, 04:46 PM
Mar 30 2012, 05:05 PM
3,239 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
sniper, anacapri also in my plan but did you manage to see the blue grotto? we initially plan to see it but after checking, seem like not worth the hassle. and i didnt know entry to sistine chapel requires ticket lol
this thread is awesome. travelling tips for photo enthusiasts |
Mar 30 2012, 05:10 PM
Mar 30 2012, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 30 2012, 05:05 PM) sniper, anacapri also in my plan but did you manage to see the blue grotto? we initially plan to see it but after checking, seem like not worth the hassle. and i didnt know entry to sistine chapel requires ticket lol I didn't manage to get into any of the grottos cos I was there during high tide... Regardless.. blue grotto visit is part of the round island boat trip and regardless whether can go in or not... I strongly recommend taking the boat trip (and bring a travel zoom... changing lens with seaspray is no no and you need some wides and some reach too... like for the villas and mountain goats).this thread is awesome. travelling tips for photo enthusiasts ![]() IMG_5154 by vmwt, on Flickr ![]() IMG_5029 by vmwt, on Flickr Added on March 30, 2012, 5:19 pm QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 30 2012, 05:10 PM) Lol. Yeah, he is one of the master level photographer, coz his photographs are so famous even just using PnS camera only. ya lor... ppl use PnS also can make world famous portraits featured in many magazine covers. This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Mar 30 2012, 05:19 PM |
Mar 30 2012, 05:20 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
Hatyai
Gear: 24-105mm equivalent will do. Place to see and shoot: - Floating market - Temples ![]() DSC09514 by zstan, on Flickr ![]() Pidgeon eggs by zstan, on Flickr ![]() Klonghae Floating Market by zstan, on Flickr ![]() Sushi by zstan, on Flickr ![]() Stainless Steel Pagoda by zstan, on Flickr ![]() DSC09758 by zstan, on Flickr ![]() The Buddha by zstan, on Flickr ![]() Coconut ice cream by zstan, on Flickr ![]() DSC00050 by zstan, on Flickr ![]() DSC00248 by zstan, on Flickr |
Mar 30 2012, 09:22 PM
2,847 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 30 2012, 01:25 PM) Let me give some places that is really for photographing. Im planing to plan my holiday this year, thanks for sharingBromo at Indonesia Angkor wat at Cambodia Lake inle at Myanmar Red Earth at China Anyone got better destination, please do share. Dont so expensive will do. |
Mar 30 2012, 09:24 PM
2,491 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: initrd |
Hey guys, I am going to travel Japan in Q4 this year. However, I might bringing my el-cheapo tripod to the trip too.
Wanna ask, normally you guys put the tripod in your luggage back or strap together with the camera backpack and put in the cabin? Anyway, my recent travel to Haiyat shot ![]() ![]() |
Mar 30 2012, 09:26 PM
2,847 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
![]() BARIO, SARAWAk! |
Mar 30 2012, 09:42 PM
632 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Here's some pics from my Jordan trip... it was a business trip and only has a few hours to walk around before leaving
Place to visit in Jordan: 1. Dead Sea ![]() ![]() 2. Walk around the town of Amman ![]() ![]() 3. Petra (no time to visit... but heard that it is a very nice place to go) Generally safe to walk around with your gears, people are quite friendly. Didn't really spend much time there and not really a travel trip on my own so nothing much I can comment... but I feel like going back again in the future Added on March 30, 2012, 9:53 pmAnother business trip to Papua New Guinea... to be honest, the country will give you a feel of not very developed, only a few tall buildings... and it is not safe at all to walk around even in the town... but this country is a hidden treasure. A lot of nice place with very nice view. If you travel here and arrange everything properly with a local guide, then it should be no problem. As long as you follow the local guide and do what they say you will be safe. I only spent... again, few hours walking around the area near to my hotel with the hotel security guard accompanying me as my bodyguard... feel awkward and therefore not much pictures taken, but the view is really really good P/S: it is damn expensive to travel there and to stay there though. My expenses over there for about 5 days is enough to cover your 1-2 weeks Europe trip with something to spare... ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by beelze_gpwk: Mar 30 2012, 09:54 PM |
Mar 30 2012, 10:20 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
@beelze_gpwk
what makes papua new guinea such an expensive place to visit? |
Mar 30 2012, 10:27 PM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i spent 4yrs in port moresby PNG a long time ago.
back then the currency was 1k to rm2.50 or so, ya malaysian currency was and still is pathetic. i'll probably go back again one day for a visit, tho i know nothing much has changed and has actually gotten worse since the 90s. |
| Change to: | 0.0426sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:26 AM |